IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR ALL REGISTRANTS
e NEW ANNUAL CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR
REGISTRATION RENEWAL
e CHANGES TO THE CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS RE-EXAM PROCESS
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2023

Effective January 1, 2023, AB 1759 (Chapter 520, Statutes of 2022), makes two
important changes that all registrants need to be aware of:

1. New annual continuing education requirements for registration renewal

2. Changes to the California law and ethics re-exam process
The changes are detailed below.

. NEW ANNUAL CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTRATION
RENEWAL

All registrants who renew their registration or whose registration expires on or after
January 1, 2023 must take a minimum of 3 hours of continuing education (CE)
coursework in California law and ethics during each renewal period to be eligible to
renew their registration.

How do | certify completion of this coursework?

You will be required to sign under penalty of perjury as part of your registration renewal
that you have completed the coursework. The coursework must be taken before you
renew, and must have been taken within the past year of your renewal expiration date.

You will not be required to submit your records of course completion to the Board at the
time of your registration renewal, but you will be required to submit them if the Board
audits you. Therefore, we strongly encourage you to gather the documentation now,
and save it in a safe place, so that you have it easily accessible when needed.

Where can | take coursework?

CE coursework must be taken from one of the acceptable providers listed below;
otherwise the course will not count:

e An accredited school, college or university that meets the accreditation
requirements specified in Business and Professions Code 84980.54 (for LMFTSs),
84989.34 (for LEPSs), 84996.22 (for LCSWS), or 84999.76 (for LPCCs);

e Aschool, college or university approved by the CA Bureau for Private
Postsecondary Education;


https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4980.54.&lawCode=BPC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4989.34.&lawCode=BPC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4996.22.&lawCode=BPC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4999.76.&lawCode=BPC

e A Board-recognized approval agency as provided in Title 16, California Code of
Regulations section 1887.4.1(a);

e A provider who has been approved by a Board-recognized approval agency; OR

e An organization, institution, association or entity that is recognized by the Board
as a CE provider, as provided in Title 16, California Code of Regulations section
1887.4.3(a)(3).

What if | have already passed the California law and ethics exam?

All registrants are required to take this coursework each renewal period, before
registration renewal, regardless of whether or not they have passed the California law
and ethics exam, in order to ensure they stay current with law changes and best
practices for their profession.

How often do | need to take this coursework?

The coursework must be taken during each one-year registration renewal period, before
your registration renewal.

If | have two registrations with the Board, do | need to take two 3 hour courses?

No. You may apply your 3 hours of continuing education to both registrations AS LONG AS
the coursework you completed relates to both scopes of practice.

How long do | need to save my records of course completion?

You are required to save your records of course completion for at least two years from
the date of the registration renewal for which the course was completed.

. CHANGES TO THE CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS RE-EXAM PROCESS

Effective January 1, 2023, registrants who have failed the California law and ethics
examination no longer need to take a 12 hour course in California law and ethics in
order to take the exam again in their next renewal period.

Do | still need to take the California law and ethics exam each renewal period?

Yes. In order to renew your registration, you are required to attempt the California law
and ethics exam each renewal period until passed. However, if you fail the exam, you
no longer need to complete a 12 hour California law and ethics course to be eligible to
take the exam again in the next renewal period.

Why did the bill delete the requirement for the 12 hour California law and ethics
course?


https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I3BCF79601D2D11EDA241AA96C643818F?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I311C37601D2D11EDA3128544D958009D?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)

The requirement to take the 12 hour California law and ethics course for those who
failed the exam was deleted because all registrants are now required to take 3 hours of
continuing education in California law and ethics each year before registration renewal.

What if | need a subsequent registration number?

The law has not changed in this regard; if you need a subsequent registration number
(after 5 renewals, a registration number can no longer be renewed, and a subsequent
number is needed) you must have passed the California law and ethics exam.
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