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The information provided in this publication is supplemental and is intended to serve as
a quick answer guide for common questions for those pursuing licensure as a Licensed
Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC). The Board’s Statutes and Requlations contain
the official legal code sections. The Board encourages you to thoroughly read the
Statutes and Regulations pertaining to the professional clinical counseling profession.

Not a registered Associate yet? Start here: Handbook for Future LPCCs

A. ASSOCIATE REGISTRATION; LAW AND ETHICS EXAM

1. If  want to become dually licensed as an LPCC and LMFT, do | need to register
as an Associate for both [iCense types? ...........uuuiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii e 3

2. What coursework will | need when | apply for Associate registration?................... 3

3. Can | count hours of experience after | graduate but before | receive an Associate
registration number? What is the “90-day rule”?..........cooovrrriiiii i 3

4. When can | begin working in a private practice or professional corporation? ........ 3

5. Are there any limitations on working in a private practice or professional
(o7 ] 010 ] =1 1 e o 1P 3

6. Now that my Associate registration has been issued, can | start practicing
independently or open my own OffiCe7 .........oovviiiiiiiiiiiiiiii 4


http://www.bbs.ca.gov/
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lpcc_handbook.pdf

7. When am | required to renew my Associate registration? What must | do to

P W 7 e e e s 4

8. When do | need to take the Law and Ethics Exam? What happens if | don'’t take it

] 01 =Y RS RE 4
9. How do | apply to take the California Law and Ethics Exam? ..., 4
10. What happens if | don’t pass the California Law and Ethics Exam? .................... 5
11. What happens if | haven’t passed the Law and Ethics Exam by my registration’s
B-year time lIMit? ... e e e e e anaes 5
12. How do | obtain a second or third (subsequent) Associate registration number,
and can | count experience hours gained under a subsequent number? ............. 5
13. Can | work in a private practice or professional corporation under a subsequent
Associate registration NUMDEr? ... 5
14. What happens once | pass the Law and Ethics Exam? ............ccccooeiiii. 5

. EXPERIENCE HOURS, SUPERVISION & EMPLOYMENT

15.

16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24.
25.
26.
27.
28.

29.

What is the breakdown for the required hours of experience to become a LPCC?

............................................................................................................................. 6
What is triadiC SUPEIVISIONT? ........oiiiiieieeeeee e 6
What is the definition of “telehealth counseling™?........... 7
How many telehealth hours can 1 gain? ... 7
How far back can experience hours be counted? What is the 6-year rule? ......... 7
How do | determine the amount of supervision | need each week?..................... 7
What is the required ratio of supervision to client contact hours? ........................ 7
Can | be paid as a 1099 / independent contractor? ............coooeveeeiiiiiiieeeeiiiieeeees 8
Can | be employed as @ VOIUNTEEI? ...........uuiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeees 8
Who is eligible to supervise Associates? .........coooeviiiiiiiiiiiieee e 8
How many supervisees can participate in a session of group supervision?......... 9
Can group supervision be broken into one-hour increments?............ccccoeeeeeeeenns 9
Can | receive supervision via videoconferencing or over the telephone? ............ 9
What happens if my supervisor is temporarily unavailable to provide

S]] 01T Y] o] o I 10
Do my supervisor and | have to be employed by the same employer?.............. 10

1



30. Does my supervisor need to be ON Site? ... 10
31. Where can | find more information about supervision?.............ccccceeeeiviiieennnnn. 11
32. What forms do | use to record my experience hours and supervision?.............. 12

33. How do I fill out Experience Verification forms or Weekly Logs if | have more
than one supervisor in the same work setting?...........ccooooiiiiiii, 12

34. When do | need to send in supervision-related forms?............covveeiiiiiieeeeennnn. 13

35. What do | need to do if | want to become dually licensed as an LPCC and
1Y N IR SPPPRRURT 13

C. APPLYING FOR LICENSURE

36. What can cause my file to be closed? What happens when a file is closed?..... 14

37. What additional training do | need to complete before applying for licensure? .. 14

38. What type of employment documentation does the Board require with my
APPIICAtioN fOr LICENSUIE? ..........cccceeeeeeeeeeeee et 15

39. How can | provide verification of my experience if my supervisor is deceased or

Tplor=]oF=Tod] £ (=T 1RO 16
40. What should | do if my supervisor refuses to sign for my hours?...................... 16
41. Do | need to resubmit fingerprints with my Application for Licensure?............... 17
42. What happens once | submit my Application for Licensure?...............cccccouu...... 17

43. Do | need to maintain a current Associate registration number to participate in
the clinical examinationN? .............i i 17

44. Must | continue to have supervision after my experience hours have been
E=] 0] 0] (0 )V =0 1SR 18

45. Once | pass both exams, can | start practicing independently? ......................... 18



A. ASSOCIATE REGISTRATION; LAW AND ETHICS EXAM

1. If | want to become dually licensed as an LPCC and LMFT, do | need to register
as an Associate for both license types?

Yes, you will need to register as both an APCC and as an AMFT to count hours toward
both licenses. See question 35 for additional requirements.

2. What coursework will | need when | apply for Associate registration?

Please see the Application for Reqistration as an Associate Professional Clinical
Counselor (go to www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LPCC>Forms/Pubs) for a list of required
coursework.

3. Can | count hours of experience after | graduate but before | receive an
Associate registration number? What is the “90-day rule”?

If the Board receives your application for an Associate registration within 90 days of
your degree award date, and you are thereafter issued an Associate registration, all
post-degree hours of supervised experience may be credited. Hours gained under this
“90-day rule” must comply with all experience and supervision requirements in order to
count toward licensure.

For Applicants who Graduated on or After January 1, 2020:

Hours may only be accepted under the “90-day-rule” described above IF the hours are
obtained at a workplace that, prior to your gaining hours, required Live Scan
fingerprinting. You must provide documentation to the Board from your employer
consisting of a copy of the processed “State of California Request for Live Scan
Service” form. This form must be submitted with your application for licensure for hours
gained between graduation and registration issuance to be accepted. A copy of the
processed form is the ONLY acceptable documentation specified in law. There are no
exceptions. See the FAQ (go to www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LPCC>Forms/Pubs) about
the 90-day rule for more information.

Statute cited: Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 4999.46

4. When can | begin working in a private practice or professional corporation?

5. Are there any limitations on working in a private practice or professional
corporation?

You may not work in a private practice or professional corporation until your Associate
registration has been issued by the Board. You may work in private practice or
professional corporation for a maximum of six (6) years, until your first Associate
registration has met its maximum length. There are no exceptions.

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4999.46 and 4999.46.1
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6. Now that my Associate registration has been issued, can | start practicing
independently or open my own office?

No. Independent practice cannot begin until you are issued an LPCC license.
Independent practice (or opening your own office) is considered unlicensed practice and
is subject to disciplinary action by the Board. You are also prohibited from billing clients
directly until you are licensed.

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4999.30 and 4999.90

7. When am | required to renew my Associate registration? What must | do to
renew?

Registrations expire annually and have a total 6-year time limit. Your registration’s
expiration date will be printed on your registration certificate. You will be mailed a
courtesy renewal notice 90 days prior to the expiration date. The Board encourages
renewing online as it takes effect instantly as long as all renewal requirements are met.

To qualify for renewal, you must complete three hours of continuing education in
California Law and Ethics during your renewal cycle (the one-year period prior to your
registration’s expiration date). See the Regqistrant Continuing Education Brochure (go to
www.bbs.ca.gov>Licensees>Continuing Education>Mandatory Coursework) for more
information. In addition, if you have not yet passed the LPCC California Law and Ethics
exam, you must take it during your renewal cycle to be permitted to renew.

Statute cited: BPC sections 4999.46.1 and 4999.76

8. When do | need to take the Law and Ethics Exam? What happens if | don’t take
itin time?

Associates who have not yet passed the LPCC California Law and Ethics Exam MUST
have taken this exam during their renewal cycle in order to renew. There are no
exceptions. It is critical that you apply to take the exam early in your renewal cycle
and schedule your exam well in advance of your expiration date to ensure your
ability to renew on time. If you wait until the last minute to take the exam, you risk
delaying your ability to renew. Your employer is unlikely to allow you to work with an
expired registration, and you won’t be able to count any experience hours toward
licensure during the time your registration lapsed. Exam applications can take up to 6
weeks for processing. The test administrator may not have immediate test dates
available so be sure to allow enough time for scheduling.

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4999.46 and 4999.55

9. How do | apply to take the California Law and Ethics Exam?

To apply for the exam, download the exam application from the Board’s website and
mail it in with the required fee. Allow 4-6 weeks for processing. See the FAQs about the
Law and Ethics Exam for more information (access the above documents at
www.bbs.ca.gov>Exams>LPCC>Forms/Pubs).
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10. What happens if | don’t pass the California Law and Ethics Exam?

You do not need to pass the exam in order to renew; you just need to have taken it. You
may retake the exam after at least 90 days have passed from the date you last took the
exam. See the Request for Re-Examination for more information (go to
www.bbs.ca.gov>Exams>LPCC>Forms/Pubs).

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.55; Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1805.05

11. What happens if | haven’t passed the Law and Ethics Exam by my
registration’s 6-year time limit?

California law permits a registration to be renewed a maximum of five (5) times before
being cancelled. Associates may apply for a subsequent (second or third) registration
number. You cannot be granted a subsequent number unless you have passed the
LPCC Law and Ethics Exam. There are no exceptions.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46.1

12. How do | obtain a second or third (subsequent) Associate registration
number, and can | count experience hours gained under a subsequent
number?

13. Can | work in a private practice or professional corporation under a
subsequent Associate registration number?

Submit the APCC Subsequent Registration application (go to www.bbs.ca.gov>
Applicant> LPCC> Forms/Pubs) with the required fee. Be sure to submit it in advance of
your registration’s expiration date to allow time for processing and to avoid a lapse in
your registration. You may continue to count hours of experience under your
subsequent Associate number; however, your hours may only be up to six years old at
the time you apply for licensure, as explained in question 19.

Only those who have been issued a first Associate registration number may work in a
private practice or professional corporation. Associates issued a subsequent registration
may NOT work in a private practice or professional corporation. There are no
exceptions. All other work settings are permissible.

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4999.46.1 and 4999.55

14. What happens once | pass the Law and Ethics Exam?

If you are still earning hours of supervised experience, you will continue as a registrant
until you have completed your hours. No further exams are required until you apply for
licensure. You may submit your Application for Licensure once you have met all
education and experience requirements. Upon approval of your Application for
Licensure, you will be required to take and pass the National Clinical Mental Health
Counseling Exam (NCMHCE) offered by the National Board for Certified Counselors
(NBCC). Once you have passed the NCMHCE, you will submit an Application for Initial
License Issuance and fee.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.50; Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1822.50
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B. EXPERIENCE HOURS, SUPERVISION AND EMPLOYMENT

15. What is the breakdown for the required hours of experience to become an
LPCC?

California law requires 3,000 hours of supervised post-degree professional experience,
including 104 supervised weeks, in order to qualify for LPCC licensure.

The supervised work experience categories break down into just two overall types:
e Direct counseling experience (Minimum 1,750 hours)

e Non-clinical experience (Maximum 1,250 hours)

o May consist of direct supervisor contact, administering and evaluating
psychological tests, writing clinical reports, writing progress or process notes,
client centered advocacy, and workshops, seminars, training sessions, or
conferences directly related to professional clinical counseling.

Limitations on Experience Hours:

e Maximum 40 hours of experience earned in any week between all settings

e Maximum six (6) hours of individual, triadic or group supervision in any week

104 Supervised Weeks Required:

Each of these 104 weeks must contain:

e One (1) hour of individual or triadic supervision, or two (2) hours of group
supervision during any week in which experience is claimed

e 52 weeks in which the applicant received at least one (1) hour of individual or
triadic supervision

An applicant for licensure cannot be approved to sit for the clinical exam without
completing both the 3,000 hours of experience AND 104 supervised weeks.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46; Regulation cited: Title 16 CCR section 1820

16. What is triadic supervision?

Triadic supervision is defined as face-to-face supervision consisting of one supervisor
and two supervisees. It is counted under the law as equivalent to individual supervision.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46.2




17. What is the definition of “telehealth counseling”?

18. How many telehealth hours can | gain?

Telehealth refers to the mode of delivering health care services and public health via
information and communication technologies to facilitate the diagnosis, consultation,
treatment, education, care management, and self-management of a patient’s health
care while the patient is at the originating site and the health care provider is at a distant
site. Supervisees are encouraged to familiarize themselves with the “Standards of
Practice for Telehealth,” available in the Board’s Statutes and Requlations (go to
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant then scroll to the bottom of the page).

There is no limit on the number of telehealth hours that can be counted toward the
supervised experience requirements.

Statutes cited: BPC sections 2290.5 and 4999.46; Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1815.5

19. How far back can experience hours be counted? What is the 6-year rule?

The Board cannot accept hours of experience (including workshops, training or
conferences) that are older than six (6) years from the date the Board receives your
Application for Licensure.

For example, the Board receives an Application for Licensure on 03/24/2022. The Board
can only accept hours earned by this applicant between 03/24/2016 and 03/24/2022.

It is important to note that if your Application for Licensure is closed (also known as
abandonment), you will be required to re-apply. Your six-year period will be recalculated
to six years back from the date your new application is received, so it is important that
you understand how the actions you take could result in file closure/abandonment. For
more information on file closure/abandonment, see question 36.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46

20. How do | determine the amount of supervision | need each week?

21. What is the required ratio of supervision to client contact hours?

“One unit” of supervision = one (1) hour of individual or triadic supervision OR two (2)
hours of group supervision

Supervisees must receive one (1) unit of supervision, as defined above, during any
week in which experience is gained in each work setting.

In addition, if the supervisee provides more than 10 hours of direct clinical counseling in
a single week in his or her work setting, the supervisee must receive one (1) additional
unit of supervision in that same week in that setting.



http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant

EXAMPLE #1: A supervisee works one job and provides 25 hours of direct clinical
counseling during a single week. This supervisee must receive two (2) units of
supervision during that week.

EXAMPLE #2: A supervisee works two jobs, and provides 12 hours of direct clinical
counseling at Job A and nine (9) hours at Job B during the same week. This supervisee
must receive a total of three (3) units of supervision during that week - two (2) units at
Job A and one (1) unit at Job B.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46.2

22. Can | be paid as a 1099 / independent contractor?

23. Can | be employed as a volunteer?

You must either be a paid W-2 employee or a volunteer employee. You may also not bill
clients directly. There are limited circumstances under which you may be paid under a
1099. If you work as a volunteer and receive reimbursement for expenses actually
incurred, receiving a 1099 for those reimbursements is acceptable. If you have received
a stipend or educational loan repayment from a program designed to encourage
demographically underrepresented groups to enter the profession, or to improve
recruitment and retention in underserved regions or settings, a 1099 for the stipend or
loan repayment is acceptable. Those paid under a 1099 may be audited by the Board to
ensure the payment was for one of the above purposes.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46.3

24. Who is eligible to supervise Associates?

Only licensed mental health professionals can supervise Associates and Associate
applicants. Licensed mental health professionals include any of the following:

e Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFT)
e Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW)

e Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors (LPCC)
e Licensed Clinical Psychologists

e Licensed Educational Psychologists (LEP) (Note: LEPs may only supervise up to
1,200 hours, which must consist of educationally related mental health services
that are consistent with the LEP scope of practice described in BPC section

4989.14)

e Licensed Physicians certified in Psychiatry by the American Board of Psychiatry
and Neurology

Additionally, the supervisor must meet all of the following:

e Complete the supervisor training and continuing professional development
required by law (Licensed Clinical Psychologists and Psychiatrists are exempt
from these requirements); and
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¢ Maintain a current and active California license that is not under suspension or
probation. (You can check your supervisor’s status any time on the Department
of Consumer Affairs License Search here); and

e Have been licensed in California or any other state for at least two (2) years out
of the last five (5) years prior to the commencement of supervision; and

e Have practiced psychotherapy during at least two (2) years out of the last five (5)
years prior to the commencement of supervision (or, if an LEP, has provided
psychological counseling pursuant to BPC section 4989.14); OR

e Provided direct supervision to Associate Professional Clinical Counselors,
Marriage and Family Therapist Trainees, Associate Marriage and Family
Therapists, or Associate Clinical Social Workers who perform psychotherapy
during at least two (2) years out of the last five (5) years prior to the
commencement of supervision. Supervision of psychotherapy performed by a
student (social work intern or a professional clinical counselor trainee) shall be
accepted if the supervision performed is substantially equivalent to the
supervision required for registrants.

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4989.14 and 4999.12

25. How many supervisees can participate in a session of group supervision?

Group supervision sessions shall include no more than eight (8) persons receiving
supervision, even if there are two or more supervisors present. Group supervisors must
ensure that the amount and degree of supervision is appropriate for each supervisee.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46.2

26. Can group supervision be broken into one-hour increments?

Group supervision can be broken into one-hour sessions, as long as both increments
(full two hours) are provided in the same week as the experience being claimed.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46.2

27. Can | receive supervision via videoconferencing or over the telephone?

You may be able to obtain supervision via live two-way videoconferencing if your
supervisor determines that it is appropriate to do so. The supervisor is responsible for
ensuring that the client confidentiality is preserved. For more information see the AB
1758 FAQ (go to www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>Law Changes).

Supervision provided over the telephone will not count toward licensure because the
law requires supervision to have a face-to-face component.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46.2



https://search.dca.ca.gov/
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=4989.14.
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/ab1758_faq.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/ab1758_faq.pdf
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>Law

28. What happens if my supervisor is temporarily unavailable to provide
supervision?

Alternative supervision must be arranged. The substitute supervisor must meet all
regular supervisor qualifications. In addition:

e The substitute supervisor must sign your weekly log.
e You and the substitute supervisor must sign a Supervision Agreement.

e The substitute supervisor and your employer must sign a Written Oversight
Agreement if one is required.

If the substitute will be supervising you for MORE than 30 consecutive calendar
days:

¢ A new supervisory plan is also required, and

e The substitute supervisor must sign an Experience Verification form for hours
earned under their supervision.

If the substitute will be supervising you for 30 consecutive calendar days or
LESS:

e A new supervisory plan is not required.

e Your regular supervisor may sign an Experience Verification form that includes
the experience gained under the substitute.

Regulation cited: 16 CCR section 1821.1

29. Do my supervisor and | have to be employed by the same employer?

30. Does my supervisor need to be on site?

If the registered associate will be working in a private practice or professional
corporation, the supervisor must (1) be employed by or contracted by the associate’s
employer, or be an owner of the practice, and (2) either provide psychotherapeutic
services to clients for the associate’s employer or have a written contract with the
associate’s employer that provides the supervisor with the same access to the
associate’s clinical records as is provided to employees of the associate’s employer.

In any work setting, the supervisor may be employed by the supervisee’s employer on
either a paid or volunteer basis. If the supervisor is not employed by the supervisee’s
employer or is a volunteer, a written oversight agreement that addresses the
supervisor's and employer’s responsibilities must be signed by the supervisor and the
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employer prior to commencement of supervision. Please see the Board’s website (go to
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LPCC>Forms/Pubs) for a sample written oversight
agreement.

In any work setting, supervisees may only perform services at the places where their
employers permit business to be conducted, which may include performing services at
other locations, so long as the services are performed in compliance with the laws
pertaining to supervision.

Whether a supervisor is required to be on site depends on the situation. Supervisors
must consider their responsibilities as defined in the LPCC statutes and regulations,
which includes taking responsibility for, and control of, the quality of services being
provided. Among other responsibilities, supervisors are required to do all of the
following, whether they are on site or off site:

e Ensure that the extent, kind and quality of counseling performed by the
supervisee is consistent with the education, training and experience of the
supervisee.

e Monitor and evaluate the supervisee’s assessment, diagnosis and treatment
decisions and providing regular feedback.

e Monitor and evaluate the ability of the supervisee to provide services at the
site(s) where he or she will be practicing and to the particular clientele being
served.

¢ Monitoring and addressing clinical dynamics, including, but not limited to,
countertransference-, intrapsychic-, interpersonal-, or trauma-related issues that
may affect the supervisory or the practitioner-patient relationship.

e Ensure compliance with all laws governing the practice of professional clinical
counseling.

¢ Reviewing the supervisee’s progress notes, process notes, and other patient
treatment records, as deemed appropriate by the supervisor.

e With the client’s written consent, providing direct observation or review of audio
or video recordings of the supervisee’s counseling or therapy, as deemed
appropriate by the supervisor.

Upon request by the Board, a supervisor is required to provide the Board with
documentation that verifies the supervisor’'s compliance with all requirements.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46.4; Regulations cited: Title 16, CCR sections 1820 and 1821

31. Where can | find more information about supervision?

Please see the Guide to Supervision for APCCs (go to www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>
LPCC>Forms/Pubs).
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32. What forms do | use to record my experience hours and supervision?

While gaining your hours of experience, use the following forms, available on the
Board’s website (go to www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LPCC>Forms/Pubs):

o Weekly Summary of Experience Hours (“Weekly Log”): Log your hours on this form
on a weekly basis and have your supervisor sign weekly. You will retain the original
logs. Do not submit Weekly Logs to the Board except upon request.

e Experience Verification: This form is completed upon the termination of your
supervised experience with your supervisor, and must indicate the total hours
completed in each category under your supervisor, your supervisor’s license
information and certain information about your employer. Your supervisor will sign
the form and provide you with the original for submission with your Application for
Licensure.

For Supervisory Relationships that Commenced BEFORE January 1, 2022:

o Responsibility Statement for Supervisors of an APCC: Your supervisor must have
signed this form prior to commencing supervision and provide you with the original.
Retain for future submission with your Application for Licensure.

e Supervisory Plan: Your supervisor must have signed this form prior to commencing
supervision and provide you with the original. Retain for future submission with your
Application for Licensure.

For Supervisory Relationships that Commenced ON OR AFTER January 1, 2022:

e Supervision Agreement: You and your supervisor must sign this form, which
includes a collaboratively developed Supervisory Plan, within 60 days of
commencing supervision. Retain for future submission with your Application for
Licensure.

Submission of forms as directed in the licensure application instructions will
lessen the possibility that the licensing evaluator will need to request additional
information from you, thus delaying the approval of your application.

33. How do I fill out Experience Verification forms or Weekly Logs if | have more
than one supervisor in the same work setting?

If you are receiving supervision from two individuals in one employment setting, the
board recommends that you record all hours under your primary supervisor, with one
exception. Any actual supervision hours that you received under your secondary
supervisor must be recorded and signed for by your secondary supervisor on separate
weekly logs and a separate Experience Verification form (your primary supervisor is not
permitted to sign for supervision hours provided by another supervisor). However, all of
your work experience hours in that setting may be recorded and signed for by your
primary supervisor. Recording your experience in this manner will lessen the probability
that the Board will need to request additional information from you when reviewing your
Application for Licensure.
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34. When do | need to send in supervision-related forms?

All supervision-related forms must be submitted with your Application for Licensure. Do
not send the Weekly Summary of Experience Hours (“Weekly Log”) form unless
requested by the Board.

35. What do | need to do if | want to become dually licensed as an LPCC and
LMFT?

First, you must have a degree that qualifies for both license types. If so, you will be able
to count hours toward both license types if you do all of the following:

Register as both an APCC and AMFT (separate applications and fees).

Ensure that both registrations are active while you are gaining hours of
experience (or if you are gaining hours under the “90-day rule” as described in
question 3, ensure that you have submitted both applications within the 90-day-
period after graduation).

Take the California Law and Ethics Exam for both license types to ensure your
ability to renew (separate applications, fees and exams).

Ensure that the hours you gain are within the scope of practice for both license
types.

Ensure that the hours you gain fit within the categories required and the
minimums and maximums allowed for both license types.
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36. What can cause my file to be closed? What happens when a file is closed?

File closure (also known as abandonment) could have major consequences, such as
losing experience hours that are too old. Once a file is closed, an applicant may reapply,
but must pay a new application fee and meet all current requirements. One of those
requirements is that your hours are less than six (6) years old.

If your Application for Licensure is closed (abandoned), you would lose any hours
of experience that are more than six (6) years old, based on the date the Board
receives the new Application for Licensure. See question 19 for more information
about the six-year rule.

In accordance with Title 16, California Code of Regulations section 1806, an application
shall be deemed abandoned, and the file closed, in any of the following circumstances:

e Applicant does not submit the remaining documents or information requested in the
application deficiency letter within one (1) year from the date of the deficiency letter

e Applicant does not complete the application within one (1) year after it has been
filed.

e Applicant who has submitted experience hours does not sit for an examination within
one (1) year after being notified of initial eligibility to take the examination.

e Applicant who has submitted experience hours does not take an examination within
one (1) year from the date the applicant was notified of failing an examination

e The applicant fails to pay the initial license fee within one (1) year after notification
by the Board of successful completion of LPCC licensing requirements.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46; Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1806

37. What additional training do | need to complete before applying for licensure?

If you have an out-of-state degree, see the Out-of-State Application for Licensure (go to
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LPCC>Forms/Pubs) for additional required courses.

The below courses are required of ALL applicants:

Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention

Applicants for licensure must have 6 hours of training in “Suicide Risk Assessment and
Intervention”. This may be taken as a course; or, if this content was included within your
supervised experience and you can obtain a written certification from the program’s
director of training, or from your primary supervisor, stating that the training was
included within your supervised experience, it may be accepted in lieu of a course.
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Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention (continued)

If this content was included within your qualifying degree program, you will need to
obtain a written certification from the registrar or training director of your school or
program stating that this coursework was included within the curriculum required for
graduation, or within the coursework that was completed by you (if you submitted an
Associate application after January 1, 2020, your Degree Program Certification may
have already included this verification). Otherwise, this requirement may be met by
taking a six-hour course from a school that holds a regional or national institutional
accreditation recognized by the USDE, a school approved by the BPPE, or an
acceptable continuing education provider.

Provision of Mental Health Services via Telehealth

If you are applying for licensure on or after July 1, 2023, 3 hours of coursework is
required, which must include law and ethics related to telehealth. If 3 hours of telehealth
training was included within your qualifying degree program, you will need to obtain a
written certification from the registrar or training director of your school or program. The
certification must state that this coursework was included within the curriculum required
for graduation, or within the coursework that was completed by you. If you apply for
licensure prior to July 1, 2023, this content will be required for renewal of your license.

Statute cited: BPC sections 4999.66 and 4999.67

38. What type of employment documentation does the Board require with my
Application for Licensure?

If a Paid Employee: You must provide a copy of your W-2 for each year of paid
employment in each work setting, for all tax years during which you gained experience,
with your Application for Licensure. If your W-2 is not available, you must obtain a
duplicate W-2, which may be obtained from your employer. It is also available from the
Social Security Administration or Internal Revenue Service for a fee (allow for
processing time). No other types of documents will be accepted in place of a W-2, with
one exception for the current tax year, where you will need to include a photocopy of
your most recent pay stub. Originals are not required - photocopies are acceptable.

If a Volunteer Employee: You must provide a letter from your employer verifying-your
status as a volunteer with your Application for Licensure. A sample letter verifying
volunteer status is available on the Board’s website (go to www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>
LPCC>Forms/Pubs). Note: The letter from your employer must either be on the
employer’s letterhead or via email from your employer from a verifiable email address.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46.3
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39. How can | provide verification of my experience if my supervisor is deceased
or incapacitated?

The Board will review documentation on a case-by-case basis in order to make a
determination. However, we recommend that you submit all of the following:

e Evidence that your supervisor is deceased or incapacitated. For example: A
copy of an obituary or death certificate if deceased; a doctor’s note, letter of
conservatorship, or letter from the employer if incapacitated.

e All supervision documentation which had previously been signed by the
supervisor, including:

o The previously signed Supervisor Responsibility Statement or Supervision
Agreement;

o The previously signed Supervisory Plan; and
o The previously signed Weekly Log forms.
e Documentation from the employer verifying employment of the supervisor and

supervisee. A letter from the employer will suffice. Other documentation will be
reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

e The written oversight agreement if your supervisor was not employed by your
employer.

Note: Any letter from your employer must either be on the employer’s letterhead or via
email from your employer from a verifiable email address.

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4999.46.3 and 4999.46.4; Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR sections 1815.8
and 1820

40. What should | do if my supervisor refuses to sign for my hours?

The first step is to contact your supervisor and inform them that they are obligated by
law to sign for hours that you completed. The law (reference below) states, "A
supervisor shall give at least one (1) week's prior written notice to a supervisee of the
supervisor's intent not to sign for any further hours of experience for such person. A
supervisor who has not provided such notice shall sign for hours of experience obtained
in good faith where such supervisor actually provided the required supervision." If the
supervisor continues to refuse to sign for your hours, you may then file a complaint with
the Board. You may file your complaint electronically at www.breeze.ca.gov.

Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1821
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41. Do | need to resubmit fingerprints with my Application for Licensure?

Applicants do not need to resubmit fingerprints if one or more of the following applies at
the time the Board receives the application:

e Applicant still possesses a current Associate registration number; or

e Applicant’s Associate number has been cancelled for less than 30 days.

Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1815

42. What happens once | submit my Application for Licensure?

The Board will evaluate your application and notify you either that:

e There are one or more deficiencies in your application. You will have one (1) year
from the date of the initial deficiency notice to clear all deficiencies. If you do not
clear your deficiencies within one year, your file will be closed (see question 36 for
implications of file closure/abandonment).

OR

¢ You have been found eligible for examination, and will be provided with information
on how to register.

Once you pass both required exams: Download the Request for Initial License
Issuance form (go to www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LPCC>Forms/Pubs) and submit it with
the required fee. Your license will be issued within 30 business days from the date of
receipt.

Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1806

43. Do | need to maintain a current Associate registration number to participate in
the clinical examination?

The Board encourages all individuals to maintain a current Associate registration and to
continue recording experience hours until licensed as an LPCC, as a safeguard in the
event that some of the hours submitted are unable to be accepted by the Board either
now or in the future due to application closure/abandonment and/or the “six-year rule”
(see question 36 for more information).

Whether you are required by law to maintain a registration, however, will depend on the
type of setting you are working in. If working in a non-exempt setting, you are required
to maintain a current Associate registration until your LPCC license has been issued. If
you are working in an exempt setting (an institution that is both non-profit and
charitable, a school or a governmental entity), you are not required to maintain a
registration once you have submitted your experience hours. However, your employer
may require it as a condition of employment.

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4999.22 and 4999.46.1; Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1806
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44. Must | continue to have supervision after my experience hours have been
approved?

Once the required number of experience hours are gained, you must receive a
minimum of one hour of direct supervisor contact per week for each practice setting in
which direct clinical counseling is performed. Once the required number of experience
hours are gained, further supervision for nonclinical practice shall be at the supervisor’s
discretion.

Statute cited: BPC section 4999.46

45. Once | pass both exams, can | start practicing independently?

No. A successful examinee still must submit a Request for Initial License Issuance form
(go to www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LPCC>Forms/Pubs) and fee before the Board will
issue a LPCC license. Submit this form and fee upon completion of all licensure
requirements — do not submit sooner as it will be rejected. Your license will be issued
within 30 business days from the date of receipt. Independent practice cannot begin
until the Board issues a license. Otherwise it is considered unlicensed practice, which is
subject to disciplinary action by the Board.

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4999.30 and 4999.90
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