Registrant Renewal Information
Registrations for Marriage and Family Therapist Interns, Associate Clinical Social Workers and Professional Clinical Counselor Interns expire annually. The expiration date appears on the original registration and renewal registration documents.
Renewing on time is critical, so renew early. Approximately 100 days in advance of a registrant's expiration date, a courtesy renewal reminder is mailed to the registrant's address of record. Manual Registrant Renewal Applications are available in Forms and Publications in case you do not receive a courtesy renewal reminder.
The most frequent cause of delay in renewal processing is an incomplete renewal application. Be sure to double-check that the renewal form is complete. Before mailing, check to see that the conviction declaration question is answered and the form is signed.
Please allow 4-6 weeks from the date the Board receives the renewal application for processing.
Expiration occurs if a renewal application is not processed by the Board before the registration expiration date. Be sure to send in your renewal to allow sufficient time for processing before your expiration date. Registrants cannot accrue supervised work experience towards licensure under an expired registration.
There is no delinquent fee for registrants.
Six - Year Registration
Registrants can file for renewal of their registration annually for a maximum of five years after initial registration. The initial registration period is one year, and after that, the registrant can renew up to five times.
Subsequent Registration Numbers
If a registrant is approaching the end of their registration’s 6-year life span, he or she may apply for a subsequent registration number. Many registrants apply for a second (or third, etc.) registration number to gain additional supervised work experience or for employment purposes while in the examination process.
Registrants cannot work in a private practice setting with a subsequent registration number.
IMPORTANT: Effective January 1, 2016, the requirements for obtaining a subsequent registration will change as follows:
Application for Subsequent Registration postmarked PRIOR TO January 1, 2016:
- Applicants may be issued a subsequent registration without passing the Law and Ethics Exam.
Application for Subsequent Registration postmarked BETWEEN January 1, 2016 and January 1, 2017:
- Applicants may be issued a subsequent registration without passing the California Law and Ethics Exam. However, these applicants must PASS THE EXAM PRIOR TO THE FIRST RENEWAL of the subsequent registration. The registration cannot be renewed until the exam has been passed.
Application for Subsequent Registration postmarked AFTER January 1, 2017:
- Applicants must PASS the California Law and Ethics Exam before a subsequent registration can be issued.
For more specific information on these changes, see the Exam Restructure FAQs.
Social Security or Other Taxpayer Identification Number Requirement
Disclosure of a licensee or registrant's taxpayer identification number is mandatory. You may provide either your Social Security Number, Federal Employer Identification Number, or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, as applicable. Your taxpayer identification number will be used for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgment or order for family support, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state.
Failure to disclose your taxpayer identification number will prevent issuance of a renewal license or registration.
Family Support Program
The Department of Consumer Affairs is working with the Department of Social Services, as well as other appropriate agencies, to administer the State Licensing Match System Program. This program prohibits the issuance and renewal of a permanent professional license to individuals who are delinquent in their court-ordered child support payments. In place of the permanent license, a 150-day temporary license or registration may be issued.
State Tax Obligation: EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012
Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 31(e), the State Board of Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board may share taxpayer information with a board. A licensee must pay his or her state tax obligation and his or her license may be suspended if the state tax obligation is not paid.