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Subject: Mandatory Fingerprinting Regulations; Modified Text , Title 16 California Code
of Regulations, Section 1815

At its February 26, 2009 meeting the Board directed staff to file the final rulemaking package for the
proposed regulatory changes to Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR), Section 1815 and
1886.40 related to mandatory fingerprinting for all Board licensees.

The final rulemaking package was submitted with the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) on April 9, 2009.

In response to concerns expressed by OAL, it is hecessary to make the following changes to the proposed
regulatory language:

1. Section 1815(a) delete “...as directed by the Board...”
2. Section 1815(d),amend to read “ Licensees and registrants shall pay the actual costs for furnishing the
fingerprints and conducting the searches in compliance with subdivision(a).”

Staff Recommendation: Direct staff to take all steps necessary to complete the rulemaking process,
including preparing modified text for an additional 15-day comment period. If after the 15-day public
comment period, no adverse comments are received, authorize the Executive Officer to make any non-
substantive changes to the proposed regulations before completing the rulemaking process, and adopt 16
CCR Section 1815 of the proposed regulations with the modified text.
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BOARD FO BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES
Modified Text

Changes to the originally proposed language are shown by double underline for new text
and underline with strikeout for deleted text.

81815 FINGERPRINT SUBMISSION

(a) All licensees and registrants who have not previously submitted fingerprints as a condition
of licensure or registration or for whom an electronic record of the licensee’s fingerprints does
not exist in the Department of Justice’s criminal offender record identification database shall
successfully complete a state and federal level criminal offender record information search
conducted through the Department of Justice by the licensee’s or registrant’s renewal date that
occurs on or after October 31, 2009-oras-directed-by-the-board.

(b) Failure of a licensee or registrant to comply with subdivision (a) is grounds for disciplinary
action by the board against the license or registration.

(c) Licensees and registrants shall retain, for at least three years, as evidence of their having
complied with subdivision (a) either a receipt showing that he or she has electronically
transmitted his or her fingerprint images to the Department of Justice or, for those licensees or
registrants who did not use an electronic fingerprinting system, a receipt evidencing that the
licensee’s or registrant’s fingerprints were taken.

d) Licensees and registrants shall pa j the actual

costs for furnishing the fingerprints and conducting the searches in compliance with subdivision
(@.

(e) As a condition of petitioning the board for reinstatement of a revoked or surrendered license
or reqistration, an applicant shall comply with subsection (a).

(f) The board may waive the requirements of this section for licensees or reqgistrants who are
actively serving in the United States military. The board may not return a license or registration
to active status until the licensee or reqistrant has complied with subdivision (a).

Note: Authority cited: Sections 4990.16, 4990.18, 4990.20 and 4996.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 4982(a), 4989.54(a), 4992.3(a), and 4996.6, Business and Professions Code; and Sections 11105(b)(10),
and 11105(e), Penal Code.

§1886.40. AMOUNT OF FINES

(a) For purposes of this section, a “citable offense” is defined as any violation of the statutes and
regulations enforced by the Board of Behavioral Sciences, including Chapters 13 and 14 of
Division Two of the Business and Professions Code and Title 16, Division 18, California Code of
Regulations.

(b) The executive officer of the board may assess fines for citable offenses which shall not
exceed two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) for each investigation except as otherwise



provided in this section. The executive officer shall not impose any duplicate fines for the same
violation.

(c) The executive officer of the board may assess fines for citable offenses which shall not
exceed five thousand ($5,000) for each investigation if the violation or count includes one or more
of the following circumstances:

(1) The cited person has a history of two or more prior citations for similar violations, except for
citations withdrawn or dismissed after appeal.

(2) The citation involves multiple violations that demonstrate a willful disregard of the statutes
or regulations.

(3) The citation is for a violation or violations involving a minor, elder or dependent adult, or a
person with a physical or mental disability as defined in Section 12926 of the Government Code.

(4) The citation involves unlicensed practice.
(5) The citation involves an unlawful or unauthorized breach of confidentiality.

(6) The citation is for failure to submit fingerprints to the Department of Justice as required by
the Board.

(d) The executive officer of the board may assess fines which shall not exceed five thousand
dollars ($5,000) for each violation or count if the violation or count involves fraudulent billing
submitted to an insurance company, the Medi-Cal program, or Medicare.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 125.9, 148, 149, 4980.60, 4987-and 4990.14, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Sections 123, 125, 125.9, 136, 141, 148, 149, 480, 651, 654.2, 703, 728, 4980, 4980.02, 4980.30,
4980.43, 4980.44, 4980.45, 4980.46, 4980.48, 4982, 4982.25, 4984, 4986-10, 498650, 4986.70, 4987.7, 4987.8,
4987.9. 4988, 4988.1, 4988.5; 4992.3, 4992.36, 4996, 4996.5, 4996.7, 4996.8, 4996.9, 4996.16, 4996.18, 4996.19,
4996.20, 4998.2, 4998.3, 4998.4, Business and Professions Code; and Section 15630, Welfare and Institutions
Code.



TwoO BUDGET SCENARIOS
FACED WITH Two POTENTIAL DEFICIT NUMBERS THE GOVERNOR IS PREPARED TO TACKLE BOTH

“Californians have a right to know the truth about the problems our state is facing and the steps we would have to
take to solve our deficit.” (Gov. Amold Schwarzenegger, 5/14/09)

The global recession has caused California’s revenues to continue their plummet, leaving our state with a $15.4
billion shortfall that could get worse in a matter of days. If the $5.8 billion in February budget solutions are
rejected on the May 19 ballot, our budget deficit will increase to $21.3 billion - forcing unprecedented actions
that will affect every Californian.

Today, the Governor is releasing two May Revision proposals because he believes the people deserve to know
what steps must be taken to balance our budget in both scenarios. While both will be painful, if Propositions
1A-1F fail, California will be faced with a worst-case scenario that will force more severe cuts, borrowing from
local governments and the release of undocumented immigrant inmates.

SCENARIO NUMBER 1: May 19 Ballot Propositions Pass And California Faces A $15.4 Billion Problem
Regardless of the May 19 election, California has a multi-billion budget deficit that must be addressed
with difficult but necessary actions that the Governor is pained, but prepared, to take.

> In addition to government efficiency measures, reducing the state workforce and selling state assets, the

Governor is proposing a mix of cuts, borrowing and other options to close a certain $15.4 billion deficit.

Some examples include:

e California will borrow up to $6 billion through a Revenue Anticipation Warrant (RAW): The
RAW will help avoid deeper cuts to vital state programs and services.

e Health and Human Services makes up the second largest part of California’s General Fund,
meaning the state must find savings in social, developmental and health care services. Examples
include: reducing funding for Healthy Families, rolling back the rate increase for Family Planning
Services and reducing Medi-Cal payments to private hospitals by 10 percent.

e When California’s revenues fall, so does the formula for education spending, translating to a $3
billion reduction in education spending. This could mean a school year shortened by five days.

e Delay all repairs to the State Capitol for one year.

SCENARIO NUMBER 2: May 19 Ballot Propositions Fail And California Faces A $21.3 Billion Problem

If the Propositions fail, an additional $5.8 billion will be tacked on to the current budget deficit - forcing
far more severe cuts on top of those proposed in scenario 1. A $21.3 billion budget deficit is a worst-case
scenario for California and would leave the Governor no choice but to make deeper cuts and take unprecedented
actions.

» A $21.3 billion deficit would force even deeper cuts to state programs and services. Some examples include:

e Education funding would be cut by an additional $2.3 billion. A $5.4 billion cut could force schools
to shorten the school year by 7.5 days, increase class sizes and layoff teachers to absorb the reduced
funding levels.

e Qutreach funding for UC and CSU would be fully eliminated.

e Funding for public health and social service programs would be cut even further. These cuts would
cut off approximately 225,000 children from the Healthy Families Program and entirely eliminate
funding for Substance Abuse Treatment and Crime Prevention and HIV Education and Prevention.

> Even those cuts wouldn’t be enough to fill an additional $5.8 billion gap and California would be forced to
take further action. Some examples include:




e Borrow $2 billion from local governments. The Governor has fought to protect the coffers of local
governments throughout his administration, but a $21.3 billion budget deficit leaves the Governor no
choice.

e Release thousands of undocumented immigrant inmates. With an additional $5.8 billion problem, the
Governor would be forced to release thousands of undocumented immigrant inmates directly into
federal custody.

The Governor knows these cuts affect real lives, but the numbers don’t lie and this is the reality of the

crisis California faces. State government can only spend what it has, and no matter what scenario, we have

less. It is the government’s responsibility to make the tough decisions to keep California solvent and

functioning no matter what the budget problem.

> While the deep spending cuts are necessary to avoid a cash crisis, the Governor knows that every
Californian is sacrificing and cutting back, so he is taking action to ensure government does the same. To
see a list of what the Governor is doing to tighten the state government’s belt click here.
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o ' STATE BUDGET MAY REVISE 2009-10:

SAVINGS IN STATE GOVERNMENT
GOVERNOR PROPOSES MEASURES TO FIRM UP STATE GOVERNMENT

“We’re going to make government more efficient and we’re going to get rid of that waste and abuse and fraud.”
(Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger, 1/7/09)

California is again facing a budget shortfall due to the global recession, and today the Governor is proposing
measures that, regardless of the outcome of the May 19 election, will help root out waste and redundancy in
government, allow the state to take better advantage of its real estate assets to help balance the budget, and
improve government efficiency. These measures will help ensure that state government is cutting back and
making the necessary sacrifices to balance its budget like every other Californian.

California remains in fiscal crisis due to the economy and the Governor is taking action to make certain
the state tightens its belt along with every Californian, while utilizing every available state resource. The
Governor wants to do everything he can to minimize the pain of another multi-billion budget deficit on
hardworking Californians, so he has proposed the following measures to achieve savings within government:

UTILIZE STATE ASSETS:

California’s real estate is one of our greatest assets and by selling off state property, we could raise over
$1 billion. The Governor is proposing the sale of seven state-owned properties to help get our budget in balance
including:

e Cal Expo e Del Mar Fairgrounds e Ventura County Fair Grounds

e San Quentin State Prison e Orange County Fairgrounds e Los Angeles Coliseum

e Cow Palace

REDUCE THE STATE WORKFORCE:

The Governor is calling for the state workforce to be immediately reduced by 5,000 employees. The

Governor has directed his agency secretaries to take action to reduce their staffing levels of General Fund

employees.

» Every single Californian is struggling and sacrificing to make ends meet and with a multi-billion dollar
deficit we have no choice but to join the rest of the state’s residents in cutting back.

MAKE GOVERNMENT MORE EFFICIENT:

The Governor is committed to making government more efficient through the following measures:

» Streamline and Reorganize Energy Functions. Consolidate and reorganize functions from 12 different
entities into a single Department of Energy with a cabinet-level Secretary of Energy.

» Eliminate the following: the Integrated Waste Management Board, the Inspection and Maintenance Review
Committee, the Landscape Architects Technical Committee (LATC), the Bureau of Naturopathic Medicine,
the Telephone Medical Advice Services Bureau and the Court Reporter Board.

» Consolidate Postsecondary Education Commission, Student Aid Commission and Decentralize Cal Grants

» Eliminate and transfer the functions of the following: the Office of Environmental Health Hazard
Assessment to the Department of Public Health, Community Services and Development at Health and
Human Services Agency to the Department of Social Services and the new Department of Energy and the
Department of Boating and Waterways to the Department of Parks and Recreation.

» Merge the Franchise Tax Board (FTB), the Board of Equalization (BOE), and Employment Development
Department (EDD) tax collection operations.

» Consolidate the following: the Board of Geologists and Geophysicists to the State Mining and Geology
Board, the Professional Fiduciaries Bureau under the Board of Accountancy, Consolidate the Board of




Behavioral Sciences, the Board of Psychology, and the oversight of psychiatric technicians duties of the
Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians to a new Board of Mental Health, the nursing
oversight functions of the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians to the Board of
Registered Nursing, and the Hearing Aid Dispensers Bureau to the Speech-Language Pathology and
Audiology Bureau.

» Merge Department of Corporations, Department of Financial Institutions, Department of Real Estate and
Department of Real Estate Appraisers.

> Seek private entity to take over operations of the Science Center.




CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES
BiLL ANALYSIS

BiLL NUMBER: SB 707 VERSION: AMENDED APRIL 22, 2009

AUTHOR: DESAULNIER SPONSOR: DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOL AND

DRUG PROGRAMS

RECOMMENDED POSITION: NONE

SUBJECT: ALCOHOL AND OTHER DRUG
COUNSELOR LICENSING

Existing Law:

1) Current Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs (Department) regulations specify the
following:

By April 1, 2010, at least 30% of counselors in licensed facilities shall be in
compliance with certification requirements and all other counseling staff shall be
registered with a certifying organization (9 CCR §13010).

Any individual who was certified to provide counseling services in an alcohol or
other drug program by a certifying organization as of April 1, 2005, is deemed to
be certified pursuant to the requirements of the regulation. (9 CCR §13020)

Until April 1, 2007, any certifying organization may issue a certificate to any
individual employed as an alcohol or other drug program counselor as of April 1,
2005 if the individual is certified and has achieved a score of at least 70% on an
approved oral/written examination and has either been providing counseling
services for 40 hours a week for a minimum of five years between April 1, 1995
and April 1, 2005 or possesses an Associates of Arts, Bachelor of Arts, or Master
of Arts degree in the study of chemical dependency.(9 CCR §13025)

By October 1, 2005 or within six months of the date of hire, whichever is later, all
non-licensed or non-certified individuals providing counseling services in an
alcohol or other drug program must be registered to obtain certification as an
alcohol or other drug program counselor. (9 CCR 813035 (f))

Registrants shall complete certification as an alcohol or other drug program
counselor within five years from the date of registration. (9 CCR 813035 (f)(1))

In order for a certifying organization to issue alcohol or other drug program
counselor certification, their certification requirements must meet Department
minimum standards. These standards include: completing a minimum of 155
hours of formal classroom alcohol or other drug program counselor education, as
defined, completing a minimum of 160 documented hours of supervised alcohol
or other drug program counseling, completing 2,080 or more documented hours
of work experience, and obtaining a score of at least 70% on an exam approved
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by the certifying organization. (9 CCR §13040)

2) Defines a psychotherapist as a physician and surgeon specializing in psychiatry or
practicing psychotherapy, a psychologist, a clinical social worker, a Marriage and Family
Therapist (MFT), a psychological assistant, a MFT registered intern or trainee, or an
associate clinical social worker.

3) Establishes the following general requirements for licensure of psychotherapists:

e A graduate degree from an accredited school in a related clinical field;

e Extensive hours of supervised experience gained over years;

e Registration with a regulatory Board while gaining the supervised experience;
and,

e Standard and Clinical Vignette licensing examinations.

This Bill:

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

7

8)

Creates the Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor Licensing and Certification Act (Act). Health
and Safety Code Section 11975.10)

Provides that the Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs (Department) shall administer
and enforce the Act (HSC §11975.20(a)) and adopt all rules and regulations necessary to do
so. (HSC §11975.25(a))

Defines a “Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor” (CAODC) as a person certified by
the Department to practice alcohol and drug counseling under clinical supervision in a
program licensed or certified by the Department. (HSC §11975.15(a))

Defines Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor — Advanced” (CAODC-A) as a person
certified by the Department to practice alcohol and drug counseling in a program licensed or
certified by the Department. (HSC §11975.15(b))

Defines Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor - Clinical Supervisor” (CAODC-CS) as
a person certified by the Department to practice alcohol and drug counseling in a program
licensed or certified by the Department and who may provide clinical supervision to
registrants, CAODCs, and CAODC-As. (HSC §11975.15(c))

Defines Licensed Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor” (LAODC) as a person certified by the
Department to practice alcohol and drug counseling who may provide clinical supervision to
any other person licensed, certified or registered pursuant to this bill and who may maintain
an independent counseling practice. (HSC §11975.15(d))

Defines “Registrant” as an uncertified or unlicensed person who is in the course of
completing the requirements for certification or licensure pursuant to the Act, and is
registered with the Department and who has completed no less than 12 semester units or
18 quarter units of education required by the Act. (HSC §11975.15(g))

Requires the Department to develop standards for certification and licensure of alcohol and
other drug counselors, including those persons presently certified pursuant to current
Department regulations. (HSC §11975.25(b))
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9) Requires the Department to issue licenses, certifications and registrations beginning
January 1, 2011. (HSC §11975.25(c))

10) Requires the Department to certify or license, at the appropriate level, each person who the
Department determines was certified as a counselor on December 31,2010, in accordance
with regulations of the Department in effect on that date. (HSC §11975.30(a))

11) States that licenses issued pursuant to # 10 above shall remain in effect for at least two
years, but no more than four years, as determined by the Department. (HSC §11975.30(b))

12) Requires the Department, beginning January 1, 2011, to issue CAODC certificates to
persons that meet all of the following requirements: (HSC §11975.35(a))

a. Meet one of the following education requirements:
i. Possesses a high school diploma or GED and completes 350 hours of
education in all of the following areas, provided by an accredited institution of

higher learning or other provider approved by the Department:

1. Addiction Counseling Competencies, as defined; (HSC
811975.45(a)(1))

2. Competencies for Substance Abuse Treatment Clinical Supervision,
as defined; and, (HSC 8§11975.45(a)(2))

3. Other material, sources, and requirements in addition to, or in lieu of,
the above. (HSC §11975.45(a)(3))

iil. Posses an earned Associates of Arts, Associates of Science in alcohol and
drug counseling, or other major or equivalent degree. (HSC §11975.35(a)(2))

b. Passes any or all of the following tests as determined by the Department: (HSC
§11975.35(b))

i. The written examination offered by the International Certification &
Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol & Other Drug Abuse, Inc.;

ii. An alternate or additional test developed by the Department; and/or,
iii. An alternate or additional test the Department may approve.

c. Completes 250 hours of supervised experience. (HSC §11975.35(c))

d. Completes 2,080 hours of work experience. (HSC §11975.35(d))

e. Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record information search.
(HSC 811975.35(e))

13) Requires the Department, beginning January 1, 2011, to issue CAODC-A certificates to
persons that meet all of the following requirements: (HSC §11975.37)

a. Meets either of the following: (HSC §11975.37(a))



i. Possesses an earned Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science in alcohol and
drug counseling or other major or an equivalent degree; or,

ii. Completes 10,000 hours of work experience, in a qualifying work setting,
within a period not exceeding 10 years prior to the date the application for
certification was filed and posses a high school diploma.

b. Passes any or all of the following tests as determined by the Department: (HSC
§11975.37(b))

i. The written examination offered by the International Certification &
Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol & Other Drug Abuse, Inc.;

ii. An alternate or additional test developed by the Department; and/or,
iii. An alternate or additional test the Department may approve.

c. Completes 400 hours of supervised experience. (HSC §11975.37(c))

d. Completes 2,080 hours of work experience. (HSC §11975.37(d))

e. Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record information search.
(HSC 8§11975.37(e))

14) Requires the Department, beginning January 1, 2011, to issue CAODC-CS certificates to
persons that meet all of the following requirements: (HSC §11975.39)

a. Meets either both the following: (HSC §11975.39(a))

i. Possesses an earned Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science in alcohol and
drug counseling or other major or an equivalent degree; and

ii. Completes a 40 hour course of education specifically directed to the
competencies of clinical supervision.

b. Passes any or all of the following tests as determined by the Department: (HSC
§11975.39(b))

i. The written examination offered by the International Certification &
Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol & Other Drug Abuse, Inc.;

ii. An alternate or additional test developed by the Department; and/or,
iii. An alternate or additional test the Department may approve.

c. Completes 550 hours of supervised experience. (HSC §11975.39(c))

d. Completes 2,080 hours of work experience. (HSC §11975.39(d))

e. Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record information search.
(HSC 8§11975.39(e))

15) Requires the Department, beginning January 1, 2011, to issue a LAODC license to persons
that meet all of the following requirements: (HSC §11975.41)

4



a. Possesses an earned Master of Arts, Master of Science in alcohol and drug
counseling, psychology, or social work, or other major or an equivalent degree
recognized by the Department by regulation. (HSC §11975.41(a))

b. Completes a 40 hour course of education specifically directed to the competencies of
clinical supervision. (HSC §11975.41(b))

c. Passes any or all of the following tests as determined by the Department: (HSC
§11975.41(c))

i. The written examination offered by the International Certification &
Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol & Other Drug Abuse, Inc.;

ii. An alternate or additional test developed by the Department; and/or,
iii. An alternate or additional test the Department may approve.

d. Completes 2,000 hours of supervised experience. (HSC §11975.41(d))

e. Completes 6,000 hours of work experience. (HSC §11975.41(e))

f. Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record information search.
(HSC §11975.41(f))

16) Provides for a grandparenting period for each type of certificate beginning January 1, 2011
through December 31, 2013. (HSC 8§ 11975.36, 11975.38 and 11975.40)

17) Requires the Department, from January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2013, to issue a
LAODC/Previously Certified Counselor License to each person who was certified as a
counselor on December 31, 2010 and who meets all of the following requirements: (HSC
§11975.42)

a. Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record search no later than
June 30, 2011; and

b. Possesses an advanced certification issued by one of the certifying organizations
recognized by the department under its regulations in effect on December 31, 2010.
18) Sets forth standards for supervised experience gained to meet the certification and licensure
requirements of this bill. (HSC §11975.55)
19) Requires experience to be gained only in settings that lawfully and regularly provide alcohol
and other drug counseling and that provide oversight to ensure the supervisee’s work meets
specified requirements and is within the scope of practice for the profession. (HSC

§11975.55(d))

20) Provides that licensure and certification is not needed to practice of alcohol and drug
counseling in the following settings, by the following individuals: (HSC §11975.70)

a. An employee or volunteer of the State of California.

b. In Custody services of the California Department of Corrections.



f.

An employee or volunteer of an agency of the united State Government.

Peer or self-help group if the person is an unpaid member who performs peer group
or self-help activities and does not use the title stating or implying that he or she is
certified or licensed by the State.

A cleric or other religious leader who provides advice and guidance to members of
his or her congregation free of charge.

A director of a live-in alternative to incarceration rehabilitation program.

21) States that nothing in this Act shall constrict, limit or withdraw the Marriage and Family
Therapist Act or the Clinical Social Worker Practice Act. (HSC 8§11975.65)

22) Defines the practice of alcohol and drug counseling to mean the performance of any of the
following services for the purpose of treating alcohol and drug abuse: (HSC §11975.75)

a.

b.

J.

K.

Initial intake

Assessment

Orientation

Treatment planning

Alcohol and drug counseling, including individual, group and significant others
Case management

Crisis intervention

Client education

Referral

Reports and record keeping

Consultation with other professionals with regard to client treatment or services.

23) Provides that the Department may deny, revoke, suspend, or impose conditions upon a
license, certification, or registration for unprofessional conduct and outlines activities that is
deemed unprofessional conduct. (HSC §11975.95)

24) Requires the Department to deny or revoke a license, certification or registration if the
person meets one or more of the following:

a.

Has been convicted of five or more criminal offenses within a 30-month period
ending two years or less prior to the date of the Department’s determination;

Is required to register as a sex offender; or,

Has been convicted of a violent felony within three years prior to the date of the
Department’s determination.



25) Allows an applicant who fails the written or oral examination to retake the examination within
one year from the notification date, without further application. Thereafter the applicant shall
not be eligible for further examination until he or she files a new application. (HSC
§11976.40)

26) Requires all applicants for licensure, certification or registration pursuant to this Act to
consent to a state and federal level criminal offender record information search. (HSC
§11976.45(a)and (b))

27) Sets forth provisions for renewing an unexpired certificate or license, including the
completion of 40 hours of continuing education, as approved by the Board. (HSC
§11976.50 (b)((3))

28) Prohibits an expired license from being restored, reinstated, or reissued if it has not been
renewed within three years after its expiration. Allows an individual to apply for and obtain a
new license or certificate is specified requirements are met. (HSC §11976.65)

29) Allows the Department to issue a license or certification to any person who at the time of
application has held a valid active alcohol and drug counseling license or certification by a
corresponding authority in any state and passes the licensing examination required by this
Act. (HSC §11976.97)

30) Establishes the Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor License Fund in the State Treasury for
the collection of all fees and fines collected by the Department pursuant to this Act. (HSC
§11977.10)

31) Sets specified fees for licensure, certification, or registration and allows the Department to
establish different fees by regulation. (HSC §11977.15)

Comment:

1) Author’s Intent. According to the Author’s office, there is no specific statutory authority for
the Department to certify or license an alcohol or other drug counselor or provide oversight
and monitoring of California’s counselor certification process. The Department has
inadequate authority to develop regulations to ensure consumer protections for persons
receiving counseling services or impose sanctions for unethical behavior of a counselor in
the Department’s current alcohol and other drug treatment delivery system.

2) Previous Legislation and Board Action. Previous legislation has been considered by this
Committee and the Board related to licensure of alcohol and other drug counselors. Most
recently the Committee reviewed AB 239 (DeSaulnier) of 2008 that created a licensing
scheme for individuals providing alcohol and other drug counseling outside of state licensed
facilities. The Committee did not make a recommendation to the Board on a formal position,
and at its May 30, 2008 meeting the Board voted unanimously to take no action on the
legislation. AB 239 was ultimately vetoed by the Governor. In his veto message the
Governor directed the Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs to work with the
Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) and stakeholders to craft uniform standards for all
alcohol and drug counselors to ensure all individuals seeking treatment are offered the
same quality of care across all sectors.

3) How SB 707 Differs from Previous Legislation. The bill before the Committee today, SB
707, provides for the certification of three levels of practitioner that practices within a
program licensed or certified by the Department. This bill additionally provides for a Masters
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4)

5)

6)

— level licensed practitioner that may practice drug and alcohol counseling outside of a
facility or program and who may maintain an independent counseling practice. The most
recent alcohol and drug counselor licensure bill attempted to regulate practitioners practicing
in the private sector only.

Scope of Practice of Certificate and License Holder. Individuals certified or licensed to
practice alcohol and other drug counseling pursuant to the provisions of this bill may perform
any of the following services for the purpose of treating alcohol and drug abuse:

- Initial intake

- Assessment

- Orientation

- Treatment planning

- Alcohol and drug counseling, including individual, group, and significant others

- Case management

- Crisis intervention

- Client education

- Referral

- Recordkeeping and reports

- Consultation with other professionals with regard to client treatment or services.

A licensed individual may perform the above services independently and outside of a public
facility. These services are not defined in this bill and therefore it is unclear if licensure is
needed to perform some for these services, such as initial intake, orientation and
recordkeeping) and if the prescribed education and experience is sufficient to perform other
services, such as assessment, treatment planning and crisis intervention. Because this bill
does not provide parameters for the above listed services, it is uncertain the actual activities
that may be performed within the scope of an alcohol and other drug counselor.

Additionally, although the bill states that the provisions contained therein shall not limit the
scope of LCSWs and MFTs, many of these activities can be perceived to be within the
scope of those licensees, bringing into question if the education and training for an LAODC
is sufficient for the work performed. Additionally, it is unclear what activities can be
performed as “alcohol and drug counseling, including individual, group and significant
others” and how this may differ from activities within the scope of practice of Board
licensees.

Single Diagnosis Practitioner. This bill proposes to regulate the practice of drug and
alcohol counseling in both licensed facilities and private practice by creating standards for
certification and licensure as an alcohol and other drug counselor. As discussed in the
previous section, alcohol and drug counseling as defined in this bill, is a number of specified
activities performed for the purpose of treating alcohol or other drug problems only. This
creates a license to treat only one diagnosis. An LAODC would therefore have to be able to
differentiate between an issue that is solely attributed to alcohol and drug abuse problems
and symptoms and issues that may be attributable to a diagnosis outside the scope of
practice of the LAODC. And, with such a narrow focus of a LAODC (performance of service
to treat alcohol and drug problems only), it is unclear how effective this licensee would be in
treating the individual. One underlying issue may in determining where alcohol and other
drug problems end and another distinct diagnosis begins.

Reciprocity Provision. This bill allows the Department to issue a license or certificate to
any person that at the time of application has held an active alcohol and other drug
counseling license or certification issued in any other state, provided that person passes the
licensing examination and background check required by this bill. However, this section of
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7)

8)

9)

the bill does not require that the license or certificate have substantially equivalent
requirements to those contained in this bill. The requirements for licensure and certification
vary widely from state to state, and without assurances that a licensee would have to meet
the education and experience requirements of California to practice in this state, the
standard of care from California licensed and certified counselors may be compromised.

Grandparenting provision for LAODC’s. This bill provides that from January 1, 2011
through December 31, 2013 the Department must issue a LAODC/Previously Licensed
Certified Counselor license to each person who meets the following requirements:

e The individual was certified as a counselor on December 31, 2010 in accordance
with the Department regulations in effect at that time;

e Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record information search and
passes the background check as specified in the bill (see discussion on criminal
convictions below); and,

e Possesses an advanced certification issued by one of the certifying organizations
recognized by the Department, which certification the Department determines by
regulation makes the holder eligible for licensure as an LAODC.

This grandparenting provision would allow individuals to provide services as an LAODC in a
private practice setting without possessing a degree from a post-secondary educational
institution.

Process for Appealing an Adverse Decision. This bill specifies that a person who has
applied for or received a license, certification or registration has the right to appeal an
adverse decision of the Department with regard to his or her application, license, certificate,
or registration. Unless the department specifies different due process provisions in
regulation, this appeal must be determined in accordance with the adjudication provisions of
the Administrative Procedures Act (APA). This provision would require the Department to
conduct an appeal through the APA process, not just for a denial, suspension or revocation
of a license or application, but for any adverse decision made by the Department. For
instance, if the Department notifies an applicant of deficiencies related to his or her
application, under this bill, the APA process would be triggered, which could include a formal
hearing with an Administrative Law Judge.

Criminal Convictions. This bill requires the Department to deny or revoke a license,
certification or registration to a person who has been convicted of five or more criminal
offenses within a 30-month period ending two years or less prior to the date of the
Department’s determination. Similarly, the Department must deny or revoke a license,
certification or registration if an individual has been convicted of a violent felony within three
years prior to the date of the Department’s determination.

The bill only specifies parameters for a violent felony conviction, and therefore, all other
convictions (except one that requires registration as a sex offender) would not necessarily
preclude licensure pursuant to this bill. An individual could have up to four related
convictions in a 30 month period proceeding application and still be eligible for licensure.
Additionally, an applicant could have more than five convictions if those convictions
happened over a period of time more than 30 months, and/or if those convictions were more
than two years prior to the time of the Department’s determination.



Additionally, this bill allows the Department to establish additional criteria to implement this
provision of the bill including, standards, exemptions and terms of rehabilitation.

10) Support and Opposition.

Support:

Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs (sponsor)

The American Federation of State, County and

Municipal Employees, Local 260 (if amended)

California Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors
(if amended)

California Association of Alcohol and Drug Program Executives

County Alcohol and Drug Program Administrators

Association of California

Drug Policy Alliance Network

Opposition: A. K. Bean Foundation
California Association of Addiction Recovery Resources
California Association for Alcohol/Drug Educators
(unless amended)
California Association of Marriage and Family
Therapists (unless amended)
California Psychological Association
California Psychiatric Association
California Therapeutic Communities
Northeast Valley Hospital Association
San Francisco Women's Rehabilitation Foundation
Numerous individuals

11) History
2009
May 1
Apr. 30

Apr. 22

Apr. 17
Apr. 15
Apr. 3

Apr. 1

Mar. 25
Mar. 23
Mar. 19
Mar. 2

Feb. 28
Feb. 27

Set for hearing May 11.

From committee: Do pass, but first be re-referred to Com. on
APPR.(Ayes 7. Noes 2. Page 730.) Re-referredto Com. APR.
From committee with author's amendments. Read second time.
Amended. Re-referred to Com. on HEALTH.

Set for hearing April 29.

Set, second hearing. Hearing canceled at the request of author
Set for hearing April 22.

Set, first hearing. Hearing canceled at the request of author.
Set for hearing April 15.

Withdrawn from committee. Re-referred to Com. on HEALTH.
To Coms. on B.,P. & E.D. and HEALTH.

Read first time.

From print. May be acted upon on or after March 30.
Introduced. To Com. on RLS. for assignment. To print.
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AMENDED IN SENATE APRIL 22, 2009

SENATE BILL No. 707

Introduced by Senator DeSaulnier
(Coauthor: Assembly Member Beall)

February 27, 2009

An act to add Part 4 (commencing with Section 11975.10) to Division
10.5 of, and to repeal Section 11975.30 of, the Health and Safety Code,
to amend Section 11165.7 of the Penal Code, and to amend Section
15630 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, relating to public health.

LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL’S DIGEST

SB 707, as amended, DeSaulnier. Alcohol and other drug counselor
licensing and certification.

Existing law provides for the licensure, registration, and certification
of the various healing arts professionals, including, but not limited to,
setting forth the scope of practice, establishing the regulatory boards,
department, or bureaus, and setting forth the powers and duties of these
entities.

This bill would establish similar licensure, registration, and
certification provisions relating to alcohol and other drug counselors
to be administered by the State Department of Alcohol and Drug
Programs, and would authorize the department to commence issuing
these licenses, registrations, and certificates on January 1, 2011. The
bill would make a violation of these provisions a crime. The bill would
authorize the department to assess related fees, and would require
deposit of the fees into the Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor License
Fund, which the bill would establish for expenditure for the purposes
of this bill, upon appropriation by the Legislature.
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By establishing a new crime, this bill would impose a state-mandated
local program.

The California Constitution requires the state to reimburse local
agencies and school districts for certain costs mandated by the state.
Statutory provisions establish procedures for making that reimbursement.

This bill would provide that no reimbursement is required by this act
for a specified reason.

Vote: majority. Appropriation: no. Fiscal committee: yes.
State-mandated local program: yes.

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Part 4 (commencing with Section 11975.10) is
added to Division 10.5 of the Health and Safety Code, to read:

LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION

1

2

3

4 PART 4. ALCOHOL AND OTHER DRUG COUNSELOR

5

6

7 CHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

8

9 11975.10. (a) This part shall be known, and may be cited, as
10 the Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor Licensing and Certification
11 Act.
12 (b) This part shall be liberally construed to achieve its objectives.
13 11975.15. For purposes of this part, the following terms have
14  the following meanings:
15 (a) “Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor” or “CAODC”
16 means a person certified by the department pursuant to-subdivision
17 {ayefSection11975:35 Section 11975.35 or 11975.36 to practice
18 alcohol and drug counseling under clinical supervision in a program
19 licensed or certified by the department under this division.
20 (b) “Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor-Advanced”
21 or “CAODC-A” means a person certified by the department
22 pursuant to-subdivision{b)-efSeetion11975:35 Section 11975.37
23 or 11975.38 to practice alcohol and drug counseling in a program
24 licensed or certified by the department under this division.
25 (c) “Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor-Clinical
26  Supervisor” or “CAODC-CS” means a person certified by the

27 department pursuant to-subdivision{e)-ofSeetion-11975:35 Section
28 11975.39 or 11975.40 to practice alcohol and drug counseling in
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a program licensed or certified by the department under this
division, and who may provide clinical supervision to registrants,
CAODCs, and CAODC-As.

(d) “Licensed Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor” or “LAODC”
means a person licensed by the department pursuant to Section
1197540 11975.41 or 11975.42 to practice alcohol and other drug
counseling, and who may provide clinical supervision to any other
person licensed, certified, or registered under this part and who
may maintain an independent counseling practice.

(e) “Clinical supervision” means the ongoing process in which
the supervisor participates with one or more supervisees to ensure
gquakity—are high quality service delivery across domains of
counselor development, professional and ethical standards,
program development, quality assurance, performance evaluation,
and administration, as described in “Competencies for Substance
Abuse Treatment Clinical Supervisors,” Technical Assistance
Publication Series No. 21-A, 2007, published by the United States
Department of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and
Mental Health Services Administration Center for Substance Abuse
Treatment, or other sources as the department may specify by
regulation.

(F) “Advertise” includes, but is not limited to, the issuance of
any card, sign, or device to any person, or the causing, permitting,
or allowing of any sign or marking on or in any building or
structure, or in any newspaper or magazine or in any directory, or
any printed matter, with or without any limiting qualification. It
also includes business solicitations communicated by radio or
television broadcasting, the Internet, or any other electronic
medium.

(g) “Registrant” means an uncertified or unlicensed person who
is in the course of completing the requirements for certification or
licensure under this part and is registered with the department who
has completed no less than 12 semester units or 18 quarter units
of the education required under this part.

(h) “Supervision” means responsibility for, and control of, the
quality of alcohol and other drug counseling services being
provided. Consultation or peer discussion shall not be considered
to be supervision. “Supervisee” means a registrant or certified or
licensed counselor under this part, as the case may be, who is
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seeking to meet the supervised experience requirements of this
part.

CHAPTER 2. ADMINISTRATION

11975.20. (a) The department shall administer and enforce
this part.

(b) The department may enter into an agreement with any
governmental agency or other entity, public or private, to
administer any portion of this part.

11975.25. In order to carry out the provisions of this part, the
department shall do, but shall not be limited to, all of the following:

(a) Adopt rules and regulations as necessary to administer and
enforce this part. The adoption, amendment, and repeal of those
rules and regulations shall be made in accordance with the
rulemaking provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act
(Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of
Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code).

(b) Develop standards for-eertification registration, certification,
and licensure of alcohol and other drug counselors, including those
persons presently certified pursuant to regulations adopted by the
department so that they have an opportunity for certification or
licensure under this part with appropriate credit for the education,
training, and experience obtained prior to the department’s
implementation of this part. The department shall establish
standards for multiple levels of alcohol and other drug counselors
and may establish subspecialties with distinct requirements.

(c) Issue licenses, certificates, and registrations beginning
January 1, 2011, to those who meet the qualifications of this part
and any regulations promulgated pursuant to this part.

(d) Take disciplinary action against counselors where
appropriate, including reprimand or probation, suspension, or
revocation of the license, certificate, or registration, issuance of
administrative citations, or imposition of administrative fines not
to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000), or any combination of
these.

(e) Establish continuing education requirements.

(f) Establish procedures for the receipt, investigation, and
resolution of complaints.
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(g) Establish criteria to determine whether the curriculum of an
educational institution satisfies the requirements imposed by this
part.

(h) Establish parameters of unprofessional conduct that are
consistent with generally accepted ethics codes for the profession.

(i) Establish reinstatement procedures for an expired or revoked
certificate or license.

(j) Establish registration and supervision requirements for
registrants, including those persons presently registered pursuant
to regulations adopted by the department, so that they have an
opportunity for registration, certification, and licensure under this
part with appropriate credit for the education, training, and
experience obtained prior to the department’s implementation of
this part.

(k) Develop or adopt one or more examinations for
administering to prospective certificants and licensees. The test
may be administered by the department or by any public or private
entity selected by the department.

(I) Maintain a database of certified and licensed counselors and
registrants, including the individual’s status, any public record of
discipline, and other information as the department may require.

CHAPTER 3. LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION

11975.30. (@) The department shall-previsienally-certifyasa

certify or license, at
the appropriate level specified in Section 11975.36, 11975.38,
11975.40, or 11975.42, as applicable, each person who the
department determines was certified as a counselor onJaruary-1t;
December 31, 2010, in accordance with regulations of the
departmentir-effectimmediately-priorto-January-1,-2010 in effect
on that date.

(b) Previstenal-certification-Certification or licensure provided
pursuant to this section shall be in force for at least two, but not
more than four, years, as the department may determine by
regulation and shall, thereafter, be renewable in the same manner
as any other certlflcatlon or Ilcensure pursuant to thls part.
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(c) The registration, certification, or licensure issued pursuant
to this section shall be subject to all of the same actions to deny,
suspend, revoke, or condition-a any other registration, certificate,
or license under this part.

(d) The department shall specify by regulation the conditions
under which persons registered to become certified, pursuant to
the department’s regulations in effecttmmediately-priorto-January
1 on December 31, 2010, may be eligible to be registered or
certified under this part and receive appropriate credit for
education, supervised experience, and work experience previously
completed.

5 T ionshell reminineff o 17

98



O©Coo~No oIk~ WwWwN PR

98



SB 707 —8—

Ooo~NOoO Ok~ WN PR

(e) The department shall not issue a registration, certification,
or license pursuant to this section unless a complete application
is received by December 31, 2013.

11975.35. Commencing January 1, 2011, the department shall
issue a Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor (CAODC)
certificate to each person who meets all of the following
requirements:

(a) Meets either of the following:

(1) Completes 350 hours of education as specified in Section
11975.45 and possesses a high school diploma or GED.

(2) Possesses an earned Associate of Arts, Associate of Science
in alcohol and drug counseling, or other major or an equivalent
degree recognized by the department by regulation, from an
institution of higher learning accredited by the Western Association
of Schools and Colleges or an equivalent regional accrediting
agency approved by the United States Department of Education.

(b) Passes the test specified in Section 11975.50.

(c) Completes 250 hours of supervised experience as specified
in Section 11975.55.

(d) Completes 2,080 hours of work experience as specified in
Section 11975.60.

(e) Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record
information search and passes both background checks as specified
in Section 11976.45.

(f) Pays the required fees as set by the department.

(9) Completes the application for a certificate and satisfies all
other requirements of this part for certification as a CAODC.

11975.36. Commencing January 1, 2011, and ceasing with the
disposition of all complete applications actually received by the
department by December 31, 2013, the department shall issue a
Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor (CAODC)/ Previously
Certified certificate pursuant to Section 11975.30 to each person
who the department determines was certified as a counselor on
December 31, 2010, in accordance with regulations of the
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department in effect on that date, and who meets all of the
following requirements:

(a) Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record
information search not later than June 30, 2011, and passes both
background checks as specified in Section 11976.45.

(b) Pays the required fees as set by the department.

(c) Completes the application for a certificate.

11975.37. Commencing January 1, 2011, the department shall
issue a Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor-Advanced
(CAODC-A) certificate to each person who meets all of the
following requirements:

() Meets either of the following:

(1) Possesses an earned Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science
in alcohol and drug counseling, or other major or an equivalent
degree recognized by the department by regulation, from an
institution of higher learning accredited by the Western Association
of Schools and Colleges or an equivalent regional accrediting
agency approved by the United States Department of Education.

(2) Completes 10,000 hours of work experience as specified in
Section 11975.60, within a period not exceeding 10 years prior to
the date the application for certification was filed and possesses
a high school diploma or GED.

(b) Passes the test specified in Section 11975.50.

(c) Completes 400 hours of supervised experience as specified
in Section 11975.55. Up to 250 hours credited to obtain a CAODC
certificate may be applied toward this requirement.

(d) Completes 2,080 hours of work experience as specified in
Section 11975.60.

(e) Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record
information search and passes both background checks as specified
in Section 11976.45.

(f) Pays the required fees as set by the department.

(g) Completes the application for a certificate and satisfies all
other requirements of this part for certification as a CAODC-A.

11975.38. Commencing January 1, 2011, and ceasing with the
disposition of all complete applications actually received by the
department by December 31, 2013, the department shall issue a
Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor-Advanced
(CAODC-A)/ Previously Certified certificate pursuant to Section
11975.30 to each person who the department determines was
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certified as a counselor on December 31, 2010, in accordance
with regulations of the department in effect on that date, and who
meets all of the following requirements:

(a) Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record
information search not later than June 30, 2011, and passes both
background checks as specified in Section 11976.45.

(b) Pays the required fees as set by the department.

(c) Completes the application for a certificate.

(d) PriortoJanuary 1, 2011, meets the requirements of Section
11975.37, or possesses an advanced certification issued by one of
the certifying organizations recognized by the department under
its regulations in effect on December 31, 2010, which certification
the department determines by regulation makes the holder eligible
for certification at the CAODC-A level.

11975.39. Commencing January 1, 2011, the department shall
issue a Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor-Clinical
Supervisor (CAODC-CS) certificate to each person who meets all
of the following requirements:

(2) Meets both of the following:

(1) Possesses an earned Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science
in alcohol and drug counseling, or other major or an equivalent
degree recognized by the department by regulation, from an
institution of higher learning accredited by the Western Association
of Schools and Colleges or an equivalent regional accrediting
agency approved by the United States Department of Education.

(2) Completes 40 hours of continuing education specifically
directed to the competencies of clinical supervision, as approved
by the department.

(b) Passes the test specified in Section 11975.50.

(c) Completes 550 hours of supervised experience as specified
in Section 11975.55. Up to 400 hours credited to obtain a
CAODC-A certificate, that may include up to 250 hours credited
to obtain a CAODC certificate, may be applied toward this
requirement.

(d) Completes 2,080 hours of work experience as specified in
Section 11975.60.

(e) Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record
information search and passes both background checks as specified
in Section 11976.45.

(f) Pays the required fees as set by the department.
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(g) Completes the application for a certificate and satisfies all
other requirements of this part for certification as a CAODC-CS,
including any additional requirements specified by the department
related to clinical supervision.

11975.40. Commencing January 1, 2011, and ceasing with the
disposition of all complete applications actually received by the
department by December 31, 2013, the department shall issue a
Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor-Clinical Supervisor
(CAODC-CS)/ Previously Certified certificate pursuant to Section
11975.30 to each person who the department determines was
certified as a counselor on December 31, 2010, in accordance
with regulations of the department in effect on that date, and who
meets all of the following requirements:

(a) Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record
information search not later than June 30, 2011, and passes both
background checks as specified in Section 11976.45.

(b) Pays the required fees as set by the department.

(c) Completes the application for a certificate.

(d) PriortoJanuary1,2011, complies with all of the following:

(1) Meets the requirements of Section 11975.39.

(2) Possesses an advanced certification issued by one of the
certifying organizations recognized by the department under its
regulations in effect on December 31, 2010, which certification
the department determines by regulation makes the holder eligible
for certification at the CAODC-CS level.

(3) (A) Completes 10,000 hours of work experience in clinical
supervision as specified in Section 11975.60, within a period not
exceeding 10 years prior to the date the application for certification
was filed.

(B) Completes 40 hours of continuing education specifically
directed to the competencies of clinical supervision, as approved
by the department.

11975:40-

11975.41. Commencing January 1, 2011, the department shall
issue an-EASGDBE Licensed Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor
(LAODC) license to a person who meets all of the following
requirements:

(@) Possesses an earned Master of Arts, Master of-Seienee
Science, or Doctorate degree in alcohol and drug counseling,
psychology, or social work, or other major or an equivalent degree
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recognized by the department by regulation, from an institution
of higher learning accredited by the Western Association of
Schools and Colleges or an equivalent regional accrediting agency
approved by the United States Department of Education.

(b) Completes a course of education as specified in paragraph
(3) of subdivision (b) of Section 11976.50 specifically directed to
the competencies of clinical supervision.

(c) Passes the test specified in Section 11975.50.

(d) Completes 2,000 hours of supervised experience as specified
in Section 11975.55.

(e) Completes 6,000 hours of work experience as specified in
Section 11975.60.

(f) Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record
information search and passes both background checks as specified
in Section 11976.45.

(g) Pays the required fees as set by the department.

(h) Completes the application for a license and satisfies all other
requirements of this part for licensure as an LAODC.

11975.42. Commencing January 1, 2011, and ceasing with the
disposition of all complete applications actually received by the
department by December 31, 2013, the department shall issue a
Licensed Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor (LAODC)/ Previously
Certified Counselor license pursuant to Section 11975.30 to each
person who the department determines was certified as a counselor
on December 31, 2010, in accordance with regulations of the
department in effect on that date, and who meets all of the
following requirements:

(a) Submits to a state and federal level criminal offender record
information search not later than June 30, 2011, and passes both
background checks as specified in Section 11976.45.

(b) Pays the required fees as set by the department.

(c) Completes the application for a certificate.

(d) PriortoJanuary 1, 2011, meets the requirements of Section
11975.41, or possesses an advanced certification issued by one of
the certifying organizations recognized by the department under
its regulations in effect on December 31, 2010, which certification
the department determines by regulation makes the holder eligible
for licensure as an LAODC.

11975.45. The i .
1197540 educational qualifications required for registration,
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certification, or licensure pursuant to this part shall meet both of
the following requirements:

(@) The curriculum shall include all of the following:

(1) For all counselors, “Addiction Counseling Competencies,”
Technical Assistance Publication Series No. 21, 2006, published
by the United States Department of Health and Human Services,
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration,
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment.

(2) For counselors at the CAODC-CS or LAODC level,
“Competencies for Substance Abuse Treatment Clinical
Supervisors,” Technical Assistance Publication Series No. 21-A,
2007, published by the United States Department of Health and
Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
Administration, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment.

(3) Other materials, sources, and requirements in addition to,
or in lieu of, the above, including, but not limited to, more specific
subject matter requirements, as the department may specify by
regulation.

(b) Education provided by—either any of the following, as
applicable:

(1) Aninstitution of higher learning accredited by the Western
Association of Schools and Colleges or an equivalent regional
accrediting agency approved by the United States Department of
Education.

(2) Other providers as approved by the department, whether
individually, through accreditation by another entity recognized
by the department, or otherwise as the department may specify by
regulation.

(3) An education provider accredited in the alcohol and other
drug counseling field by the National Commission for Certifying
Agencies, provided that any education delivered on or after
January 1, 2011, shall be recognized by the department only if it
has been validated to effectively cover the curriculum specified
pursuant to this part.
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11975.50. The department shall develop or recognize a test
for each level of certification or licensure provided in this part. A
test recognized by the department shall meet all of the following
criteria, as determined by the department:

(a) Nationally recognized.

(b) Validated to cover the curriculum specified pursuant to this
part.

(c) Administered at a frequency and under conditions providing
reasonable access and security.

11975.55. The supervised experience required-for-certification
under-Seetions-11975:35-and-119+5-40 by this part shall meet all
of the following criteria:

(@) The required supervised experience may be gained under
the clinical supervision of a CAODC-CS, an LAODC, or another
licensed mental health professional specified by the department
by regulation. This experience shall consist of all of the following:

(1) A minimum of 70 percent of the required hours shall be
face-to-face individual or group counseling provided to clients in
the context of alcohol and other drug services, unless the
department modifies this requirement by regulation.

(2) A maximum of 30 percent of the required hours may be in
case management, client-centered advocacy, consultation,
evaluation, and research, unless the department modifies this
requirement by regulation.

(3) The required hours of supervised experience shall be
obtained over a period of not less than one year and shall have
been gained within the six years immediately preceding the date
on which the application for certification or licensure was filed.

(4) Experience shall not be credited for more than 40 hours in
any week.
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(b) (1) Priortothe commencement of supervision, a supervisor
shall comply with all requirements for supervisors as established
by the department by regulation.

(2) A supervisee shall receive an average of at least one hour
of direct supervisor contact for every week in which more than 10
hours of face-to-face counseling is performed in each setting where
experience is gained. No more than five hours of supervision,
whether individual or group, shall be credited during any single
week. For purposes of this section, “one hour of direct supervisor
contact” means one hour of face-to-face contact on an individual
basis or two hours of face-to-face contact in a group, of not more
than eight persons receiving supervision, addressing the substance
of the supervisory plan required in subdivision (c).

(c) The supervisor and the supervisee shall develop a supervisory
plan that describes the goals and objectives of supervision. These
goals shall include the ongoing assessment of strengths and
limitations and the assurance of practice in accordance with the
laws and regulations. The supervisee shall submit to the department
the initial original supervisory plan upon application for licensure
or certification.

(d) Experience shall be gained only in a setting that meets both
of the following:

(1) Lawfully and regularly provides alcohol and other drug
counseling.

(2) Provides oversight to ensure that the supervisee’s work at
the setting meets the experience and supervision requirements set
forth in this part and is within the scope of practice for the
profession as defined in Section 11975.75.

(e) Experience shall not be gained-unti-the-apphicant-has-been
registered-as-a-supervisee: prior to becoming a registrant.

(f) A supervisee may be either a paid employee or a volunteer.
Employers are encouraged to provide fair remuneration to
supervisees.

(9) A supervisee shall not receive any remuneration from
patients or clients, and shall be paid only by his or her employer.
A supervisee shall not have any proprietary interest in the
employer’s business.

(h) A supervisee may receive supervision from a person not
employed by the supervisee’s employer if that person has signed
a written agreement with the employer to take supervisory
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responsibility for the supervisee’s alcohol and other drug
counseling.

(i) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a supervisee
shall receive a minimum of one hour of supervision per week for
each setting in which he or she is working.

(1) The department may limit, by regulation, the number of
registrants that any one supervisor may supervise, the number of
registrants that may be supervised in any given program or setting,
and the proportion of the workforce in any given program or setting
which may be comprised of registrants, or any of these.

11975.60. The-supervised work experience required by-Seetiens
11975:35-and-11975:40 this part shall meet all of the following
criteria:

(@) Not more than 40 hours of work in any seven consecutive
days shall be recognized.

(b) No hours of experience may be gained more than six years
prior to the date the application for registration, certification, or
licensure, as applicable, was filed, except as—provided—in

notbe-gained-asanindependenteontractor: specifically otherwise
provided in this part.

(c) Work experience shall not be gained as an independent
contractor.

(1) Supervision shall include at least one hour of direct
supervisor contact in each week for which experience is credited
in each work setting, as specified.

(2) For purposes of this section, “one hour of direct supervisor
contact” means one hour of face-to-face contact on an individual
basis or two hours of face-to-face contact in a group of not more
than eight persons.
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(d) Work experience may be completed in any setting that meets
all of the following:

(1) Lawfully and regularly provides alcohol and other drug
counseling.

(2) Provides oversight to ensure that the registrant’s work at the
setting meets the requirements set forth in this part and is within
the scope of practice for the profession as defined in Section
11975.75.

(3) Experience may be gained solely as part of the position for
which the individual volunteers or is employed. Employers are
encouraged to provide fair remuneration to registrants.

(e) Except to the extent that the department provides otherwise
by regulation, all persons shall register with the department in
order to be credited for the work experience necessary for licensure
or certification.

(f) Aregistrant shall not receive any remuneration from patients
or clients, and shall be paid only by his or her employer.

11975.65. Nothing in this part shall be construed to constrict,
limit, or withdraw the Medical Practice Act (Chapter 5
(commencing with Section 2000)), the Nursing Practice Act
(Chapter 6 (commencing with Section 2700)), the Psychology
Licensing Act (Chapter 6.6 (commencing with Section 2900)), the
Marriage and Family Therapist Act (Chapter 13 (commencing
with Section 4980)), or the Clinical Social Worker Practice Act
(Chapter 14 (commencing with Section 4991)) of Division 2 of
the Business and Professions Code.

11975.70. This part shall not apply to any of the following,
provided that this exception shall not preclude the department from
considering any conduct in any setting in its determination of
fitness for registration, certification, or licensure or in any
disciplinary matter:

(@) A person who engages in the practice of alcohol and drug
counseling exclusively for any of the following:

(1) For in-custody services of the California Department of
Corrections and Rehabilitation.

(2) As an employee or volunteer of the State of California.

(3) As an employee or volunteer of an agency of the United
States government.

(b) A person who is an unpaid member of a peer or self-help
group who performs peer group or self-help activities if the person
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does not use a title stating or implying that he or she is a licensed
alcohol and drug counselor or any other designation listed in
Section 11975.85.

(c) A cleric or other religious leader who provides advice and
guidance to members of his or her congregation or order free of
charge.

(d) A director, officer, or staff member of a program described
in Section 8001 of the Penal Code.

11975.75. (a) An individual licensed or certified under this
part may engage in the practice of alcohol and drug counseling.
For purposes of this part, the “practice of alcohol and drug
counseling” means performing any of the following services for
the purpose of treating alcohol and drug abuse:

(1) Initial intake.

(2) Assessment.

(3) Orientation.

(4) Treatment planning.

(5) Alcohol and drug counseling, including individual, group,
and significant others.

(6) Case management.

(7) Crisis intervention.

(8) Client education.

(9) Referral.

(10) Reports and recordkeeping.

(11) Consultation with other professionals with regard to client
treatment or services.

(b) A counselor or registrant may perform the acts listed in this
section only for the purpose of treating alcohol and other drug
problems.

11975.80. The department shall issue a license or certification
to each applicant meeting the requirements of this part, which
license or certification permits the holder to engage in alcohol and
other drug counseling as defined in Section 11975.75, entitles the
holder to use the title of licensed or certified alcohol and other
drug counselor, as applicable, and authorizes the holder to hold
himself or herself out as qualified to perform the functions
delineated by this part, subject to any limitations relating to the
level of the license or certification or other conditions that may be
imposed by the department. The form and content of the license
or certification shall be determined by the department.
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11975.85. A person who has received a certificate or license
under this part may use the title “Certified Alcohol and Other Drug
Counselor” or “CAODC,” “Certified Alcohol and Other Drug
Counselor — Advanced” or "CAODC-A,” “Certified Alcohol and
Other Drug Counselor — Clinical Supervisor” or “CAODC-CS,”
or “Licensed Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor” or “LAODC,”
in accordance with the type of certificate or license possessed.
Every person who styles himself or herself or who holds himself
or herself out to be a Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor,
Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor—Advanced, Certified
Alcohol and other Drug Counselor-Clinical Supervisor, or Licensed
Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor without holding a license or
certification in good standing under this part, is guilty of a
misdemeanor.

11975.90. Itis unlawful for a person to engage in the practice
of alcohol and other drug counseling unless at the time of so doing
the person holds a valid, unexpired, and unrevoked certificate or
license under this part.

11975.95. The department may deny, revoke, suspend, or
impose conditions upon a license, certification, or registration for
unprofessional conduct. Unprofessional conduct, includes, but is
not limited to, any of the following:

(@) The conviction of a crime which permits denial of a license,
certification, or registration pursuant to Section 11976.45.

(b) Securing a-lieense license, certification, or registration by
fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation on any application submitted
to the department, whether engaged in by an applicant for a-license

licensure-erregistration: license, certification, or registration, or

in support of any application by another.

(c) Administering to himself or herself any controlled substance
as defined in Section 4021 of the Business and Professions Code,
or using any of the dangerous drugs or devices specified in Section
4022 of the Business and Professions Code or using any alcoholic
beverage to the extent, or in a manner, as to be dangerous or
injurious to the person applying for a—registration-ortHeense-of

i istrati i license, certification, or
registration, or holding a license, certification, or registration
under this part, or to any other person, or to the public, or, to the
extent that the use impairs the ability of the person applying for
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or holding a—registration—er—teense; license, certification, or
registration, to conduct with safety to the public the counseling
authorized by-theregistration-or-ticense this part. The department
may deny an application for a-registration-orticense-errevoke-the
license-orregistration

license, certification, or registration, or may
revoke the license, certification, or registration of any person who
uses or offers to use a controlled substance as defined in Section
4021 of the Business and Professions Code, a dangerous drug or
device specified in Section 4022 of the Business and Professions
Code, or alcohol in the course of performing alcohol and other
drug counseling. This provision does not apply to any person also
licensed as a physician and surgeon under Chapter 5 (commencing
with Section 2000) of the Business and Professions Code or the
Osteopathic Act who lawfully prescribes drugs to a patient under
his or her care.

(d) Gross negligence or incompetence in the performance of
alcohol and other drug counseling.

(e) Violating, attempting to violate, or conspiring to violate this
part or any regulation adopted by the department.

(f) Misrepresentation as to the type or status of a license,
certification, or registration held by the person, or otherwise
misrepresenting or permitting misrepresentation of his or her
education, professional qualifications, or professional affiliations
to any person or entity.

(9) Impersonation of another by any counselor or registrant, or
applicant for a-Heense license, certification, or registration, or, in
the case of a counselor, allowing any other person to use his or
her-tieense license, certification, or registration.

(h) Aiding or abetting any unlicensed, uncertified, or
unregistered person to engage in conduct for which a license,
certification, or registration is required under this part.

(i) Intentionally or recklessly causing physical or emotional
harm to any client.

(J) The commission of any dishonest, corrupt, or fraudulent act
substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of a
counselor or registrant.

(k) Engaging-Soliciting or engaging in sexual relations with a
client or with a former client within two years from the termination

date of-therapy-with-the-client,—seliciting-sexual-relations-with-a
chient,-orcommitting-an-actofsexual-abuse-orsexualmisconduct
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lifications_functions—ordities ot an alcohel and-ot
eounselor: treatment.

() Engaging in a social or business relationship for personal
gain with a current client, a current client’s family member, or
other persons significant to a client.

(m) Performing, or holding oneself out as being able to perform,
or offering to perform, or permitting any licensee under supervision
to perform any professional services beyond the scope of the
license authorized by this part.

i

(n) Failure to maintain confidentiality, except as otherwise
required or permitted by law, including, but not limited to, Part 2
(commencing with Section 2.1) of Subchapter A of Chapter 1 of
Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

)

(0) Prior to the commencement of treatment, failing to disclose
to the client or prospective client the fee to be charged for the
professional services, or the basis upon which that fee will be
computed.

(e}

(p) Paying, accepting, or soliciting any consideration,
compensation, or remuneration, whether monetary or otherwise,
for the referral of professional clients. All consideration,
compensation, or remuneration shall be in relation to professional
counseling services actually provided by the licensee. Nothing in
this subdivision shall prevent collaboration among two or more
licensees in a case or cases. However, no fee shall be charged for
that collaboration, except when disclosure of the fee has been made
in compliance with subdivision-(#) (0).

e

(g) Advertising or using a name in a manner that is false,
misleading, or deceptive.

(&

(r) Conduct in the supervision of any individual licensed,
certified, or registered counselor that violates this part or rules or
regulations adopted by the department.

7
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(s) Failure to keep records consistent with sound professional
judgment, the standards of the profession, and the nature of the
services being rendered.

(t) Failure to comply with the child abuse reporting requirements
of Section 11166 of the Penal Code.

(u) Failure to comply with the elder and dependent adult abuse
reporting requirements of Section 15630 of the Welfare and
Institutions Code.

(v) Willful denial of access to client records as otherwise
provided by law.

11976.10. The department shall revoke a license, certification,
or registration issued under this part upon a decision made in
accordance with the procedures set forth in the adjudication
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 5
(commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title
2 of the Government Code) that contains any finding of fact that
the counselor or registrant engaged in any act of sexual contact,
as defined in Section 729 of the Business and Professions Code,
when that act is with a client, or with a former client when the
relationship was terminated primarily for the purpose of engaging
in that act. The revocation shall not be stayed by the administrative
law judge or the department.

11976.15. The department may deny an application, or may
suspend or revoke a license, certification, or registration issued
under this part, for denial of licensure, revocation, suspension,
restriction, or other disciplinary action imposed by another state
or territory of the United States, or by any other governmental
agency, on a license, certificate, or registration to practice alcohol
and other drug counseling or other healing art. A certified copy of
the disciplinary action decision or judgment shall be conclusive
evidence of that action.

11976.20. The director may temporarily suspend a license,
certification, or registration prior to a hearing when, in the opinion
of the director, the action is necessary to protect a client from
physical or mental abuse, abandonment, or other substantial threat
to health or safety. The director shall give notice of the temporary
suspension and the effective date of the temporary suspension and,
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at the same time, shall serve an accusation. Upon receipt of a notice
of defense to the accusation, the director shall, within 15 days, set
the matter for hearing, and the hearing shall be held as soon as
possible. The temporary suspension shall remain in effect until the
time the hearing is completed and the director has made a final
determination on the need for the temporary suspension to remain
in place pending resolution of the accusation. However, the
temporary suspension shall be deemed vacated if the director fails
to make a final determination on the merits within 30 days after
the hearing, if the director hears the matter personally or within
30 days after the department receives the proposed decision from
the Office of Administrative Hearings, or if the matter is heard by
a hearing officer.

11976.25. (a) A person-ticensed,—certified—orregistered-by
who has applied for or received a license, certification, or
registration from the department under this part has the right to
appeal an adverse decision of the department with regard to his or
her application, license, certificate, or registration.

(b) Unless the department specifies additional or different due
process provisions by regulation, an appeal shall be determined in
accordance with the adjudication provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act (Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of
Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code).

11976.30. The department may impose reasonable terms,
conditions, or restrictions on a disciplinary action to protect the
health, safety, and welfare of the public.

11976.35. A person may request reinstatement of a license or
certification, or a reduction of discipline, by applying for
reinstatement or reduction pursuant to Section 11522 of the
Government Code.

11976.40. Anapplicant who fails a written or oral examination
administered by or on behalf of the department may within one
year from the notification date of failure retake that examination
at the next regularly scheduled examination date, without further
application, upon payment of the required examination fees.
Thereafter, the applicant shall not be eligible for further
examination until he or she files a new application, meets all
current requirements, and pays all required fees.

11976.45. (a) An applicant for a license, certification, or
registration under this part shall consent to a state and federal level
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criminal offender record information search as part of a criminal
history background check. Refusal to consent to the criminal
history background check, as delineated in this section, shall result
in denial of the license, certification, or registration.

(b) The following procedure shall be followed for criminal
offender record information searches:

(1) The department shall submit to the Department of Justice
fingerprint images and related information required by the
Department of Justice of all alcohol and other drug counselor
licensure, certification, or registration applicants, as defined by

Section 11975.25,and-al-employees-and-velunteers-efprograms;
racitities. oo i | od b the d o
may-have-tRsupervised-eontact-with-chents for the purposes of

obtaining information as to the existence and content of a record
of state or federal convictions and state or federal arrests and also
information as to the existence and content of a record of state or
federal arrests for which the Department of Justice establishes that
the person is free on bail or on his or her own recognizance pending
trial or appeal.

(2) When received, the Department of Justice shall forward to
the Federal Bureau of Investigation requests for federal summary
criminal history information received pursuant to this section. The
Department of Justice shall review the information returned from
the Federal Bureau of Investigation and compile and disseminate
a response to the department.

(3) The Department of Justice shall provide a response to the
department pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (p) of Section
11105 of the Penal Code.

(4) The department shall request from the Department of Justice
subsequent arrest notification service, as provided pursuant to
Section 11105.2 of the Penal Code, for persons described in
paragraph (1).

(5) The Department of Justice shall charge fees sufficient to
cover the cost of processing the request described in this section.
The applicant shall be responsible for payment of these fees.

98



—25— SB 707

(6) The applicant shall pay the fingerprint image rolling -
electronic submission fee charged by the Live Scan device operator.

(c) Before issuing a registration, certification, or license-te-an

, the department shall ensure that the
state and federal level criminal history of the applicant is reviewed.

Ooo~No ok~ WwWwN R
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(d) The department shall deny or revoke a license, certification,
or registration to an individual if, at the time of the department’s
determination, the person meets one or more of the following:

(1) Has been convicted of five or more criminal offenses within
a 30-month period ending two years or less prior to the date of
the department’s determination.

(2) Is required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section
290 of the Penal Code.

(3) Has been convicted of a violent felony, as defined in Section
667.5 of the Penal Code, within three years prior to the date of
the department’s determination.

(e) The department may establish by regulation additional
criteria to implement subdivision<g)} (d), which may include, but
not be limited to, standards, exemptions, and terms of
rehabilitation, and may include rebuttable presumptions with regard
to any of those.

() This section shall become operative July 1, 2010.

11976.50. (a) Licenses or certifications issued under this part
shall expire within two years after the issue date. The expiration
date of the original license or certification shall be set by the
department.

(b) Torenew an unexpired license or certification, the counselor
shall, on or before the expiration date of the license or certification,
complete the following actions:

(1) Apply for arenewal on a form prescribed by the department.

(2) Pay atwo-year renewal fee prescribed by the department.

(3) Complete at least 40 hours of continuing education, as
approved by the department.
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(4) Notify the department whether he or she has been convicted,
as defined in subdivision (a) of Section 11975.95 of a misdemeanor
or felony, or whether any disciplinary action has been taken by
any regulatory or licensing board in this or any other state,
subsequent to the licensee’s last renewal.

(c) To renew an expired license or certification within three
years of its expiration, the counselor shall, as a condition precedent
to renewal, do all of the following:

(1) Apply for renewal on a form prescribed by the department
within three years of the expiration date of the license.

(2) Pay the renewal fees that would have been paid if the license
had not been delinquent.

(3) Pay all delinquency fees.

(4) Complete the applicable continuing education requirements.

(5) Notify the department whether he or she has been subject
to, or whether another department or board has taken, disciplinary
action since the last renewal.

(d) A license or certification that is not renewed within three

years after its expirationdsprehibited-from-being-renewed;restored;

forinitiaHicense-orcertificationssuanee: may be reinstated if the
counselor satisfies requirements set forth in regulation.

11976.55. A counselor shall display his or her license or
certification in a conspicuous place in the counselor’s primary
place of business. The current renewal receipt shall be displayed
near the license.

11976.60. A licensed alcohol and other drug counselor who
conducts a private practice under a fictitious business name shall
not use a name that is false, misleading, or deceptive, and shall
inform the patient, prior to the commencement of treatment, of the
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name and license designation of the owner or owners of the
practice.

11976.70. A suspended license or certification is subject to
expiration and may be renewed as provided in this part, but the
renewal does not entitle the counselor, while it remains suspended
and until it is reinstated, to engage in the activity to which the
license or certification relates, or in any other activity or conduct
in violation of the order or judgment by which it was suspended.

red Wt ; X
of the-Gevernment-Cote:

11976.80. A licensed or certified alcohol and other drug
counselor may apply to the department to request that his or her
license or certification be placed on inactive status. A person who
holds an inactive license or certification shall pay a biennial fee
of one-half of the active renewal fee and shall be exempt from
continuing education requirements specified in paragraph (3) of
subdivision (b) of Section 11976.50, but shall otherwise be subject
to this part and shall not engage in the practice of alcohol and other
drug counseling in this state. A counselor on inactive status who
has not committed any acts or crimes constituting grounds for
denial of licensure or certification may, upon his or her request,
have his or her license or certification to practice alcohol other
and drug counseling placed on active status. A person requesting
his or her license or certification to be placed on active status at
any time during a renewal cycle shall pay a pro rata portion of the
renewal fees. A person requesting to reactivate from an inactive
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status whose license or certification will expire less than one year
from the date of the request shall be required to complete 20 hours
of continuing education for license renewal. A person requesting
to reactivate from an inactive status whose license or certification
will expire more than one year from the date of the request shall
be required to complete 40 hours of continuing education for
license or certification renewal.

11976.85. A person licensed, certified, or registered under this
part shall comply with both of the following:

(@) Provide written notice to the department within 30 days of
any change of address.

(b) Provide written notice to the department within 30 days of
a name change giving both the old and the new names along with
a copy of the legal document authorizing the name change,
including, but not limited to, a court order or marriage license.

11976.90. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this part, an
accusation filed pursuant to Section 11503 of the Government
Code against a person licensed, certified, or registered under this
part shall be filed within three years from the date the department
discovers the alleged act or omission that is the basis for
disciplinary action or within seven years from the date the alleged
act or omission that is the basis for disciplinary action occurred,
whichever occurs first.

(b) An accusation filed against a person licensed, certified, or
registered alleging the procurement of a license, certification, or
registration by fraud or misrepresentation is not subject to the
limitations set forth in subdivision (a).

(c) An accusation alleging sexual misconduct shall be filed
within three years after the department discovers the act or
omission alleged as the grounds for disciplinary action or within
10 years after the act or omission alleged as the grounds for
disciplinary action occurred, whichever occurs first.

(d) Ifan alleged act or omission involves a minor, the seven-year
limitation period provided for by subdivision (a) and the 10-year
limitation period provided for by subdivision (d) shall be tolled
until the minor reaches the age of majority.

(e) The limitation period provided by subdivision (a) shall be
tolled during any period if material evidence necessary for
prosecuting or determining whether a disciplinary action would
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be appropriate is unavailable to the department due to an ongoing
criminal investigation.

(f) For purposes of this section, “discovers” means the latest of
the occurrence of any of the following with respect to each act or
omission alleged as the basis for disciplinary action:

(1) The date the department received a complaint or report
describing the act or omission.

(2) The date, subsequent to the original complaint or report, on
which the department became aware of any additional acts or
omissions alleged as the basis for disciplinary action against the
same individual.

(3) The date the department receives from the complainant a
written release of information pertaining to the complainant’s
diagnosis and treatment.

11976.95. Nothing in this part shall apply to any alcohol and
other drug counselor from outside this state, when in actual
consultation with a licensed practitioner of this state, or when an
invited guest of a professional association, or of an educational
institution for the sole purpose of engaging in professional
education through lectures, clinics, or demonstrations, if he or she
is at the time of the consultation, lecture, or demonstration licensed
to practice alcohol and other drug counseling in the state or country
in which he or she resides. These alcohol and other drug counselors
shall not open an office or appoint a place to meet clients or receive
calls from clients within the limits of this state.

11976.97. (a) Education, supervised experience, and work
experience gained outside of California may be accepted toward
the licensure or certification requirements if it is substantially the
equivalent of the requirements of this part.

(b) The department may issue a license or certification to any
person who, at the time of application, meets all of the following
requirements:

(1) Has held a valid active alcohol and other drug counseling
license or certification issued by a board of alcohol and other drug
counseling examiners or corresponding authority of any state.

(2) Passes the-hicensing-examinations-as-specified—n-Section
11975:35-6r-11975-40- current applicable examination.

(3) Pays the required fees.

(4) Passes the required background check.
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(5) Is not subject to denial of licensure or certification under
this part.

CHAPTER 4. FiscaL ProvISIONS

11977.10. The Alcohol and Other Drug Counselors License
Fund is hereby established in the State Treasury. All fees and fines
collected by the department in accordance with this part shall be
deposited in this fund. The money in the fund shall be available,
upon appropriation by the Legislature, for the purpose of supporting
the counselor licensing activities of the department.

11977.15. (a) Until the department establishes different fees
by regulation, the department shall assess the following fees
relating to the licensure, certification, or registration of alcohol
and other drug counselors:

(1) The application fee for registration as a registrant shall be
seventy-five dollars ($75).

(2) The fee for renewal of a registration shall be seventy-five
dollars ($75).

(3) The fee for application for examination eligibility shall be
one hundred dollars ($100).

(4) The fee for a written examination administered by or on
behalf of the department shall be one hundred fifty dollars ($150).

(5) The fee for an oral examination, if any, administered by or
on behalf of the department, shall be one hundred dollars ($100).

(A) An applicant who fails to appear for an examination, after
having been scheduled to take the examination, shall forfeit the
examination fee.

(B) This subdivision shall not establish or limit the examination
fee charged for the examination recognized in subdivision (a) of
Section 11975.50 or any other examination that is recognized by
the department but not administered by or on behalf of the
department.

(6) The fee for rescoring an examination shall be twenty dollars
($20).

(7) The fee for issuance of an initial license or certification shall
be one hundred fifty-five dollars ($155).

(8) The fee for a license or certification renewal shall be one
hundred fifty-five dollars ($155).
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(9) The fee for an inactive license or certification renewal shall
be seventy-seven dollars and fifty cents ($77.50).

(10) The renewal delinquency fee shall be seventy-five dollars
($75). A person who permits his or her license or certification to
expire is subject to the delinquency fee.

(11) The fee for issuance of a replacement registration, license,
or certificate shall be twenty dollars ($20).

(12) The fee for issuance of a certificate or letter of good
standing shall be twenty-five dollars ($25).

(13) The fee for department review of the criminal records
information shall be thirty dollars ($30).

(14) The fee for the state level criminal offender record
information search shall be set by the Department of Justice and
the fee for the federal level criminal offender record information
search shall be set by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

(b) The department may establish fees based on other categories
or classifications that the department deems necessary or
convenient to maintain an effective and equitable fee structure.
However, the total fees collected by the department pursuant to
this part shall not exceed the total cost to the department of
administering this part.

(c) Unless funds are specifically appropriated from the General
Fund in the annual Budget Act or other legislation to support the
activities of the department pursuant to this part, those activities
shall be supported entirely by federal funds and special funds.

SEC. 2. Section 11165.7 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

11165.7. (a) As used in this article, “mandated reporter” is
defined as any of the following:

(1) A teacher.

(2) An instructional aide.

(3) A teacher’s aide or teacher’s assistant employed by any
public or private school.

(4) A classified employee of any public school.

(5) Anadministrative officer or supervisor of child welfare and
attendance, or a certificated pupil personnel employee of any public
or private school.

(6) An administrator of a public or private day camp.

(7) An administrator or employee of a public or private youth
center, youth recreation program, or youth organization.
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(8) An administrator or employee of a public or private
organization whose duties require direct contact and supervision
of children.

(9) Any employee of a county office of education or the State
Department of Education, whose duties bring the employee into
contact with children on a regular basis.

(10) A licensee, an administrator, or an employee of a licensed
community care or child day care facility.

(11) A Head Start program teacher.

(12) A licensing worker or licensing evaluator employed by a
licensing agency as defined in Section 11165.11.

(13) A public assistance worker.

(14) Anemployee of a child care institution, including, but not
limited to, foster parents, group home personnel, and personnel of
residential care facilities.

(15) A social worker, probation officer, or parole officer.

(16) An employee of a school district police or security
department.

(17) Any person who is an administrator or presenter of, or a
counselor in, a child abuse prevention program in any public or
private school.

(18) A district attorney investigator, inspector, or local child
support agency caseworker unless the investigator, inspector, or
caseworker is working with an attorney appointed pursuant to
Section 317 of the Welfare and Institutions Code to represent a
minor.

(19) A peace officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing
with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2, who is not otherwise
described in this section.

(20) A firefighter, except for volunteer firefighters.

(21) A physician, surgeon, psychiatrist, psychologist, dentist,
resident, intern, podiatrist, chiropractor, licensed nurse, dental
hygienist, optometrist, marriage, family and child counselor,
clinical social worker, or any other person who is currently licensed
under Division 2 (commencing with Section 500) of the Business
and Professions Code.

(22) Any emergency medical technician | or Il, paramedic, or
other person certified pursuant to Division 2.5 (commencing with
Section 1797) of the Health and Safety Code.
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(23) A psychological assistant registered pursuant to Section
2913 of the Business and Professions Code.

(24) A marriage, family, and child therapist trainee, as defined
in subdivision (c) of Section 4980.03 of the Business and
Professions Code.

(25) An unlicensed marriage, family, and child therapist intern
registered under Section 4980.44 of the Business and Professions
Code.

(26) A state or county public health employee who treats a minor
for venereal disease or any other condition.

(27) A coroner.

(28) A medical examiner, or any other person who performs
autopsies.

(29) A commercial film and photographic print processor, as
specified in subdivision (e) of Section 11166. As used in this
article, “commercial film and photographic print processor” means
any person who develops exposed photographic film into negatives,
slides, or prints, or who makes prints from negatives or slides, for
compensation. The term includes any employee of such a person;
it does not include a person who develops film or makes prints for
a public agency.

(30) A child visitation monitor. As used in this article, “child
visitation monitor” means any person who, for financial
compensation, acts as monitor of a visit between a child and any
other person when the monitoring of that visit has been ordered
by a court of law.

(31) An animal control officer or humane society officer. For
the purposes of this article, the following terms have the following
meanings:

(A) “Animal control officer” means any person employed by a
city, county, or city and county for the purpose of enforcing animal
control laws or regulations.

(B) “Humane society officer” means any person appointed or
employed by a public or private entity as a humane officer who is
qualified pursuant to Section 14502 or 14503 of the Corporations
Code.

(32) A clergy member, as specified in subdivision (d) of Section
11166. As used in this article, “clergy member” means a priest,
minister, rabbi, religious practitioner, or similar functionary of a
church, temple, or recognized denomination or organization.
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(33) Any custodian of records of a clergy member, as specified
in this section and subdivision (d) of Section 11166.

(34) Any employee of any police department, county sheriff’s
department, county probation department, or county welfare
department.

(35) An employee or volunteer of a Court Appointed Special
Advocate program, as defined in Rule 1424 of the California Rules
of Court.

(36) A custodial officer as defined in Section 831.5.

(37) Any person providing services to a minor child under
Section 12300 or 12300.1 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

(38) Analcohol and other drug counselor or supervisor licensed,
certified, or registered under Part 4 (commencing with Section
11975.10) of Division 10.5 of the Health and Safety Code.
However, alcohol or drug abuse, or both alcohol and drug abuse,
is not in and of itself a sufficient basis for reporting child abuse or
neglect.

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (35) of subdivision (a),
volunteers of public or private organizations whose duties require
direct contact with and supervision of children are not mandated
reporters but are encouraged to obtain training in the identification
and reporting of child abuse and neglect and are further encouraged
to report known or suspected instances of child abuse or neglect
to an agency specified in Section 11165.9.

(c) Employers are strongly encouraged to provide their
employees who are mandated reporters with training in the duties
imposed by this article. This training shall include training in child
abuse and neglect identification and training in child abuse and
neglect reporting. Whether or not employers provide their
employees with training in child abuse and neglect identification
and reporting, the employers shall provide their employees who
are mandated reporters with the statement required pursuant to
subdivision (a) of Section 11166.5.

(d) School districts that do not train their employees specified
in subdivision (a) in the duties of mandated reporters under the
child abuse reporting laws shall report to the State Department of
Education the reasons why this training is not provided.

(e) Unless otherwise specifically provided, the absence of
training shall not excuse a mandated reporter from the duties
imposed by this article.
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(f) Public and private organizations are encouraged to provide
their volunteers whose duties require direct contact with and
supervision of children with training in the identification and
reporting of child abuse and neglect.

SEC. 3. Section 15630 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:

15630. (a) Any person who has assumed full or intermittent
responsibility for the care or custody of an elder or dependent
adult, whether or not he or she receives compensation, including
administrators, supervisors, and any licensed staff of a public or
private facility that provides care or services for elder or dependent
adults, or any elder or dependent adult care custodian, health
practitioner, clergy member, or employee of a county adult
protective services agency or a local law enforcement agency, is
a mandated reporter. An alcohol and other drug counselor or
supervisor licensed, certified, or registered pursuant to Part 4
(commencing with Section 11975.10) of Division 10.5 of the
Health and Safety Code is also a mandated reporter.

(b) (1) Any mandated reporter who, in his or her professional
capacity, or within the scope of his or her employment, has
observed or has knowledge of an incident that reasonably appears
to be physical abuse, as defined in Section 15610.63, abandonment,
abduction, isolation, financial abuse, or neglect, or is told by an
elder or dependent adult that he or she has experienced behavior,
including an act or omission, constituting physical abuse, as defined
in Section 15610.63, abandonment, abduction, isolation, financial
abuse, or neglect, or reasonably suspects that abuse, shall report
the known or suspected instance of abuse by telephone immediately
or as soon as practicably possible, and by written report sent within
two working days, as follows:

(A) Ifthe abuse has occurred in a long-term care facility, except
a state mental health hospital or a state developmental center, the
report shall be made to the local ombudsperson or the local law
enforcement agency.

The local ombudsperson and the local law enforcement agency
shall, as soon as practicable, except in the case of an emergency
or pursuant to a report required to be made pursuant to clause (v),
in which case these actions shall be taken immediately, do all of
the following:
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(i) Report to the State Department of Public Health any case of
known or suspected abuse occurring in a long-term health care
facility, as defined in subdivision (a) of Section 1418 of the Health
and Safety Code.

(if) Report to the State Department of Social Services any case
of known or suspected abuse occurring in a residential care facility
for the elderly, as defined in Section 1569.2 of the Health and
Safety Code, or in an adult day care facility, as defined in paragraph
(2) of subdivision (a) of Section 1502.

(iii) Report to the State Department of Public Health and the
California Department of Aging any case of known or suspected
abuse occurring in an adult day health care center, as defined in
subdivision (b) of Section 1570.7 of the Health and Safety Code.

(iv) Report to the Bureau of Medi-Cal Fraud and Elder Abuse
any case of known or suspected criminal activity.

(v) Report all cases of known or suspected physical abuse and
financial abuse to the local district attorney’s office in the county
where the abuse occurred.

(B) If the suspected or alleged abuse occurred in a state mental
hospital or a state developmental center, the report shall be made
to designated investigators of the State Department of Mental
Health or the State Department of Developmental Services, or to
the local law enforcement agency.

Except in an emergency, the local law enforcement agency shall,
as soon as practicable, report any case of known or suspected
criminal activity to the Bureau of Medi-Cal Fraud and Elder Abuse.

(C) If the abuse has occurred any place other than one described
in subparagraph (A), the report shall be made to the adult protective
services agency or the local law enforcement agency.

(2) (A) A mandated reporter who is a clergy member who
acquires knowledge or reasonable suspicion of elder or dependent
adult abuse during a penitential communication is not subject to
paragraph (1). For purposes of this subdivision, “penitential
communication” means a communication that is intended to be in
confidence, including, but not limited to, a sacramental confession
made to a clergy member who, in the course of the discipline or
practice of his or her church, denomination, or organization is
authorized or accustomed to hear those communications and under
the discipline tenets, customs, or practices of his or her church,
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denomination, or organization, has a duty to keep those
communications secret.

(B) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to modify or
limit a clergy member’s duty to report known or suspected elder
and dependent adult abuse when he or she is acting in the capacity
of a care custodian, health practitioner, or employee of an adult
protective services agency.

(C) Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, a clergy
member who is not regularly employed on either a full-time or
part-time basis in a long-term care facility or does not have care
or custody of an elder or dependent adult shall not be responsible
for reporting abuse or neglect that is not reasonably observable or
discernible to a reasonably prudent person having no specialized
training or experience in elder or dependent care.

(3) (A) A mandated reporter who is a physician and surgeon,
a registered nurse, or a psychotherapist, as defined in Section 1010
of the Evidence Code, shall not be required to report, pursuant to
paragraph (1), an incident where all of the following conditions
exist:

(i) The mandated reporter has been told by an elder or dependent
adult that he or she has experienced behavior constituting physical
abuse, as defined in Section 15610.63, abandonment, abduction,
isolation, financial abuse, or neglect.

(i) The mandated reporter is not aware of any independent
evidence that corroborates the statement that the abuse has
occurred.

(iii) The elder or dependent adult has been diagnosed with a
mental illness or dementia, or is the subject of a court-ordered
conservatorship because of a mental illness or dementia.

(iv) In the exercise of clinical judgment, the physician and
surgeon, the registered nurse, or the psychotherapist, as defined
in Section 1010 of the Evidence Code, reasonably believes that
the abuse did not occur.

(B) This paragraph shall not be construed to impose upon
mandated reporters a duty to investigate a known or suspected
incident of abuse and shall not be construed to lessen or restrict
any existing duty of mandated reporters.

(4) (A) Ina long-term care facility, a mandated reporter shall
not be required to report as a suspected incident of abuse, as defined
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in Section 15610.07, an incident where all of the following
conditions exist:

(i) The mandated reporter is aware that there is a proper plan
of care.

(i) The mandated reporter is aware that the plan of care was
properly provided or executed.

(iii) A physical, mental, or medical injury occurred as a result
of care provided pursuant to clause (i) or (ii).

(iv) The mandated reporter reasonably believes that the injury
was not the result of abuse.

(B) This paragraph shall not be construed to require a mandated
reporter to seek, nor to preclude a mandated reporter from seeking,
information regarding a known or suspected incident of abuse prior
to reporting. This paragraph shall apply only to those categories
of mandated reporters that the State Department of Public Health
determines, upon approval by the Bureau of Medi-Cal Fraud and
Elder Abuse and the state long-term care ombudsperson, have
access to plans of care and have the training and experience
necessary to determine whether the conditions specified in this
section have been met.

(c) (1) Any mandated reporter who has knowledge, or
reasonably suspects, that types of elder or dependent adult abuse
for which reports are not mandated have been inflicted upon an
elder or dependent adult, or that his or her emotional well-being
is endangered in any other way, may report the known or suspected
instance of abuse.

(2) If the suspected or alleged abuse occurred in a long-term
care facility other than a state mental health hospital or a state
developmental center, the report may be made to the long-term
care ombudsperson program. Except in an emergency, the local
ombudsperson shall report any case of known or suspected abuse
to the State Department of Public Health and any case of known
or suspected criminal activity to the Bureau of Medi-Cal Fraud
and Elder Abuse, as soon as is practicable.

(3) If the suspected or alleged abuse occurred in a state mental
health hospital or a state developmental center, the report may be
made to the designated investigator of the State Department of
Mental Health or the State Department of Developmental Services
or to a local law enforcement agency or to the local ombudsperson.
Except in an emergency, the local ombudsperson and the local law
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enforcement agency shall report any case of known or suspected
criminal activity to the Bureau of Medi-Cal Fraud and Elder Abuse,
as soon as is practicable.

(4) If the suspected or alleged abuse occurred in a place other
than a place described in paragraph (2) or (3), the report may be
made to the county adult protective services agency.

(5) If the conduct involves criminal activity not covered in
subdivision (b), it may be immediately reported to the appropriate
law enforcement agency.

(d) When two or more mandated reporters are present and jointly
have knowledge or reasonably suspect that types of abuse of an
elder or a dependent adult for which a report is or is not mandated
have occurred, and when there is agreement among them, the
telephone report may be made by a member of the team selected
by mutual agreement, and a single report may be made and signed
by the selected member of the reporting team. Any member who
has knowledge that the member designated to report has failed to
do so shall thereafter make the report.

(e) Atelephone report of a known or suspected instance of elder
or dependent adult abuse shall include, if known, the name of the
person making the report, the name and age of the elder or
dependent adult, the present location of the elder or dependent
adult, the names and addresses of family members or any other
adult responsible for the elder’s or dependent adult’s care, the
nature and extent of the elder’s or dependent adult’s condition, the
date of the incident, and any other information, including
information that led that person to suspect elder or dependent adult
abuse, as requested by the agency receiving the report.

(f) The reporting duties under this section are individual, and
no supervisor or administrator shall impede or inhibit the reporting
duties, and no person making the report shall be subject to any
sanction for making the report. However, internal procedures to
facilitate reporting, ensure confidentiality, and apprise supervisors
and administrators of reports may be established, provided they
are not inconsistent with this chapter.

(9) (1) Whenever this section requires a county adult protective
services agency to report to a law enforcement agency, the law
enforcement agency shall, immediately upon request, provide a
copy of its investigative report concerning the reported matter to
that county adult protective services agency.
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(2) Whenever this section requires a law enforcement agency
to report to a county adult protective services agency, the county
adult protective services agency shall, immediately upon request,
provide to that law enforcement agency a copy of its investigative
report concerning the reported matter.

(3) The requirement to disclose investigative reports pursuant
to this subdivision shall not include the disclosure of social services
records or case files that are confidential, nor shall this subdivision
be construed to allow disclosure of any reports or records if the
disclosure would be prohibited by any other provision of state or
federal law.

(h) Failure to report, or impeding or inhibiting a report of,
physical abuse, as defined in Section 15610.63, abandonment,
abduction, isolation, financial abuse, or neglect of an elder or
dependent adult, in violation of this section, is a misdemeanor,
punishable by not more than six months in the county jail, by a
fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both
that fine and imprisonment. Any mandated reporter who willfully
fails to report, or impedes or inhibits a report of, physical abuse,
as defined in Section 15610.63, abandonment, abduction, isolation,
financial abuse, or neglect of an elder or dependent adult, in
violation of this section, where that abuse results in death or great
bodily injury, shall be punished by not more than one year in a
county jail, by a fine of not more than five thousand dollars
($5,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment. If a mandated
reporter intentionally conceals his or her failure to report an
incident known by the mandated reporter to be abuse or severe
neglect under this section, the failure to report is a continuing
offense until a law enforcement agency specified in paragraph (1)
of subdivision (b) of Section 15630 discovers the offense.

(i) For purposes of this section, “dependent adult” shall have
the same meaning as in Section 15610.23.

SEC. 4. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
Section 6 of Article XI11B of the California Constitution because
the only costs that may be incurred by a local agency or school
district will be incurred because this act creates a new crime or
infraction, eliminates a crime or infraction, or changes the penalty
for a crime or infraction, within the meaning of Section 17556 of
the Government Code, or changes the definition of a crime within
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1 the meaning of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California
2 Constitution.
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