
 
 
 
 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA         BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES 
CITATION ORDER 1625 NORTH MARKET BLVD., SUITE S200 

 SACRAMENTO, CA 95834 
        TELEPHONE:(916) 574-7830  TDD:(916) 322-1700 
        WEBSITE ADDRESS: http://www.bbs.ca.gov 

 
 
CITATION NUMBER:  MF-2010-878 
  
DATE OF ISSUANCE: August 6, 2010 
 
NAME: Judy Kim Whitson 
 
ADDRESS:   11317 Mountain View Drive #173 
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA  91730 
 
Pursuant to Sections 125.9 of the Business and Professions Code, and Title 16, California Code of 
Regulations Section 1886, KIM MADSEN issues this citation in her official capacity as the Executive Officer for 
the Board of Behavioral Sciences (hereinafter referred to as the “Board”). 
 
Registration/Licensing History 
 
The records of the Board reflect that on December 21, 2000, the Board issued Marriage and Family Therapist 
license number MFC 37363 to Judy Kim Whitson.  Said license expires on November 30, 2010, unless 
renewed. 
 
Citation 
 
A citation containing a fine and Order of Abatement is hereby issued to you in accordance with Title 16, 
California Code of Regulations Sections 1886, 1886.20, 1886.30, and 1886.40 for the violation(s) described 
below. 
 
Applicable Statutes and Regulations 
 
Violation of section 4982(e) of the Business and Professions Code which reads as follows: 
 
“…Violating, attempting to violate, or conspiring to violate any of the provisions of this chapter or any regulation 
adopted by the board...” 
 
Violation of section 4982(r) of the Business and Professions Code which reads as follows:  
 
“…Any conduct in the supervision of any registered intern, associate clinical social worker, or trainee by any 
licensee that violates this chapter or any rules or regulations adopted by the board…” 
 
Violation of section 1870(a)(4)(A) of the California Code of Regulations, which reads as follows:  
 
“…Persons licensed by the board who provide supervision shall have a minimum of fifteen (15) contact hours 
in supervision training…” 
 
Violation of section 1870(a)(5) of the California Code of Regulations, which reads as follows:  
 
“…The supervisor knows and understands the laws and regulations pertaining to both supervision of 
associates and the experience required…” 
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Cause for Citation 
 
Investigation revealed that you provided supervision to a registered associate clinical social worker 
(Registrant)1 from approximately November 18, 2008, through August 2009, without having taken the required 
15 hour supervision training.   
 
On March 1, 2010, Board staff requested a response to the allegations.  On or about March 15, 2010, the 
Board received your response.  You indicated that you signed the Responsibility Statement for Supervisors of 
an Associate Clinical Social Worker, and that you did not complete the 15 hour supervision training.  You 
stated, “…I was unaware of the change in this rule for ASW supervision.”  
 
It was found that you signed, under penalty of perjury, the Responsibility Statement for Supervisors of an 
Associate Clinical Social Worker, which certified that you knew and understood the statutes and regulations 
pertaining to supervision of the registrant, and met the criteria stated on the form.  Said form was signed and 
dated November 18, 2008. 
 
Based on your own admission, you did not know and understand the statutes and regulations governing 
supervised practice at the time you signed the responsibility statement.   
 
Cause exists for the Board to take enforcement action against your license.  Accordingly, a citation, which 
includes a fine, has been ordered for these violations of the Business and Professions Code and California 
Code of Regulations. 
 
Orders  
 
(1) Order of Abatement: 
 
The Board of Behavioral Sciences orders you to: 
 
1. Familiarize yourself with the statutes and regulations governing the supervision of trainees, interns and 

associates;  
2. Cease supervising until you have met the requirements of California Code of Regulations 1870; and, 
3. Obey all laws governing your license as a Marriage and Family Therapist.   
 
Within thirty (30) days from the date of this citation, but no later than September 5, 2010, you must submit 
proof that you have brought yourself into compliance with the order imposed by the Board of Behavioral 
Sciences as stated above.  Proof of compliance should be sent to the Board to the attention of the 
Enforcement Unit at 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834. 
 
(2) Order to Pay Administrative Fine: 
 
In addition, you must pay an administrative penalty (fine) in the amount of $500.00, within thirty (30) days from 
the date this citation was served, but no later than September 5, 2010.  In assessing this penalty, the Board 
considered that you are not currently supervising ASW registrants in California, you cooperated with the 
investigation, and that you have no prior history of said violations. 
 
 

                                                 
1 The Board has previously notified you of the name of the Registrant.  The Board will provide you with the Registrant’s full name upon 
request. 
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Payment of the administrative penalty should be made to the Board of Behavioral Sciences (BBS), 1625 North 
Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834.  Please note your citation number on the check or money 
order. 
 
You may contest this citation, or any portion thereof, by requesting either an Informal Citation Conference or a 
Formal Administrative Hearing, or both (Title 16, CCR Section 1886.70).  Any request you make either for the 
formal or informal hearing or for both of them must be in writing and must be submitted to the Board within (30) 
calendar days after service of the citation.  If you request both an Informal Citation Conference and a Formal 
Administrative Hearing, and an Informal Citation Conference is held, your request for a Formal Administrative 
Hearing shall be deemed withdrawn.  Following the conclusion of the Informal Citation Conference, the 
Executive Officer shall either, affirm, modify or dismiss the citation.  If the citation is affirmed or modified, you 
will then have the opportunity to contest it by filing a written request with the Board for a Formal Administrative 
Hearing within (30) calendar days after service of the affirmed or modified citation.  The Formal Administrative 
Hearing shall be held pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 
11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.  (Please refer to the enclosed Instructions to 
Cited Person for additional appeal information.)   
 
You may withdraw a Request for Informal Citation Conference at any time prior to the date of the conference.  
You may withdraw a Request for Administrative Hearing at any time prior to the date of the hearing. 
 
Failure to request an Informal Citation Conference or Administrative Hearing in a timely manner will 
waive your right to contest this citation. If the citation is not contested, or if the citation is contested 
and you do not prevail, failure to abate the violation or to pay the assessed fine within the time allowed 
shall constitute a violation and a failure to comply with the citation or order of abatement.   
 
Further, failure to timely comply with an order of abatement or pay an assessed fine may result in disciplinary 
action being taken by the board or other appropriate judicial action being taken against you. If you have been 
issued an order of abatement and you are unable to complete the correction(s) within the time set forth in the 
citation because of conditions beyond your control after the exercise of reasonable diligence, you may request 
an extension of time in which to complete the correction from the executive officer of the board. Such a request 
shall be in writing and shall be made within the time set forth for abatement. (Title 16, CCR section 1886.60.) 
 
Pursuant to Business and Professions code section 125.9, if you do not request a formal Administrative 
Hearing, payment of the fine does not constitute an admission of the violation(s) alleged.  Further, where a fine 
is paid to satisfy an assessment based on the finding of a violation, payment of the fine shall be represented as 
satisfactory resolution of the matter for purposes of public disclosure. 
 
IF YOU NEITHER PAY THE FINE NOR REQUEST AN INFORMAL CITATION CONFERENCE OR 
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING WITHIN THE ALLOTTED TIME FRAME, YOUR LICENSE WILL NOT BE 
RENEWED FOR THE NEXT RENEWAL PERIOD UNTIL THE FINE IS PAID. 
 
 
Original Signed By 
________________________      Date: August 6, 2010 
KIM MADSEN        
Executive Officer 
 
Attachments: Statement of Rights 
 Section 125.9, Business and Professions Code 
 Section 1886.70, Title 16, California Code of Regulations 
 Notice of Appeal 
 Acknowledgment Receipt of Citation form 
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