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ADDITIONAL TRAINING OR COURSEWORK REQUIRED FOR ASWs 
 
Verification of training or coursework can be submitted with the Associate Clinical Social Worker 
(ASW) Registration application or with the LCSW Licensure application. Only coursework that meets 
the requirements specified in law will be accepted. All training verifications should be included with 
your application unless the training is identified on your transcripts previously submitted for associate 
registration. 
 
A. Child Abuse Assessment and Reporting (BPC Section 4996.2(h)) - 7 contact hours of training 

or coursework. 

B. Human Sexuality (BPC Section 4996.2(g)) - 10 hours of training or coursework. 

C. Alcoholism and Chemical Substance Dependency (BPC Section 4996.2(e); Section 1810 of 
Title 16, California Code of Regulations) - 15 hours of training or coursework. 

D. Spousal or Partner Abuse Assessment, Detection, and Intervention (BPC Sections 4996.2(f) 
and 4996.17). Required for applicants who began graduate training on or after January 1, 1995 as 
follows: 

• No specific number of hours required for those who began graduate training prior to 
12/31/2003, but course must adequately cover assessment, detection and intervention. 

• For those who began graduate training on or after January 1, 2004, and for out-of-state 
applicants (regardless of when graduate training began) this coursework or training must 
be 15 hours. 

E. Aging, Long-term Care and Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse (BPC Section 4996.25) - 10 hours 
of training or coursework. Required for applicants who began graduate training on or after January 
1, 2004. 

F. California Law and Professional Ethics for Clinical Social Workers (ONLY required for 
applicants with out-of-state education per BPC Section 4996.17) – 18 hours of training or 
coursework that includes all of the following subjects: 

• Advertising 
• Scope of practice 
• Scope of competence 
• Treatment of minors 
• Confidentiality, including state and federal laws 
• Dangerous patients 
• Psychotherapist-patient privilege 
• Recordkeeping 
• Patient access to records 
• Dual relationships 

  



• Child, elder and depended adult abuse 
• Online Therapy 
• Insurance reimbursement 
• Civil liability 
• Disciplinary actions and unprofessional conduct 
• Ethics complaints and ethical standards 
• Termination of therapy 
• Standards of care 
• Relevant family law 
• Therapist disclosures to patients 
• Differences in legal and ethical standards in different types of work settings 
• Licensing law and process 


