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APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

ASSOCIATE CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER REGISTRATION 
 
 
Submit completed application to:  Board of Behavioral Sciences 

1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200 
Sacramento, CA 95834 
 
 

Carefully read the following instructions to ensure an accurate and complete application 
package and that all required original documents are furnished to the Board. All items 
are mandatory. Any omission may result in the application being deficient or delayed. 
 
NOTE:  If you are applying for a subsequent (second or third) ASW registration, please use the 
ASW Subsequent Registration Number application. 
 
 

 A. APPLICATION 
• Complete all sections of the application in ink. 

• You must use your legal name. Your “legal name” is the name established 
legally by your birth certificate, marriage or domestic partnership certificate, or 
divorce decree (for example). 

• The application must have your original signature in ink. 

 
 

  B. PHOTOGRAPH 
Should measure approximately 2" X 2" and be taken within 60 days of the filing of 
this application.  The photograph must be of passport quality of your head and 
shoulders only.  Attach the photograph to the application in the space provided. 

 
 

  C. FEE 
Submit a $75.00 check or money order made payable to the Behavioral Sciences 
Fund. The fee is NOT REFUNDABLE. 

  

 
 

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lcs/aswapp_2reg.pdf
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  D. FINGERPRINTS 

The Board requires a Department of Justice (DOJ) and Federal Bureau of 
Investigation (FBI) criminal history background check on all applicants. 
 
If you currently reside in California:  Please download the Request for Live 
Scan Service Applicant Submission form (Form BCII 8016) from our web site. 
The information on this form must match the information you provide on your 
application. The second copy of this form, with box 6 completed, must be 
submitted with your application.  Note:  DO NOT COMPLETE FINGERPRINTS 
MORE THAN 60 DAYS PRIOR TO SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION. 
FINGERPRINT RESULTS WITHOUT AN APPLICATION ON FILE WILL ONLY BE 
HELD FOR 6 MONTHS. 

 
If you currently reside out of state:  You must use the "hard card" fingerprint 
method. To request fingerprint hard cards, send an email to 
BBS.Fingerprint@dca.ca.gov with "Fingerprint Hard Cards" in the subject line, 
and we will mail them to you. DO NOT SUBMIT YOUR FINGERPRINTS TO 
THE BOARD UNTIL YOU HAVE SUBMITTED YOUR APPLICATION – we are 
unable to process them until your application is received. The DOJ processing 
time for hard card fingerprints is a minimum of 8 to 12 weeks. To avoid 
processing delays and additional costs that result from invalid fingerprint cards, 
fingerprints must be taken at a law enforcement agency in the state of residence. 

 
 

  E. VERIFICATION OF EDUCATION 
Provide official transcript(s) verifying your master’s degree from a program 
accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. The degree title and date of 
conferral must be posted. TRANSCRIPTS MUST BE IN AN ENVELOPE SEALED 
BY THE EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION. An applicant with a degree from a 
program which is a candidate for accreditation by the Council on Social Work 
Education is eligible for ASW registration. 
 

 
  F. COURSEWORK IN CALIFORNIA LAW AND PROFESSIONAL ETHICS  

All applicants are required to complete coursework in California Law and 
Professional Ethics for Clinical Social Workers, as follows: 

• In-state applicants:  No documentation is required.  All accredited social work 
schools in California have notified the Board that their graduates have met this 
requirement. 

• Out-of-state applicants (those with out-of-state education or licensure):  
Attach a certificate of completion for 18 hours of coursework that covers all of 
the following content:  

  

mailto:BBS.Fingerprint@dca.ca.gov
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a. Contemporary professional ethics and statutes, regulations, and 

court decisions that delineate the scope of practice 

b. The therapeutic, clinical, and practical considerations involved in 
legal and ethical practice, including family law 

c. The current legal patterns and trends in the mental health 
professions 

d. The psychotherapist-patient privilege, confidentiality, dangerous 
patients, and the treatment of minors with and without parental 
consent 

e. A recognition and exploration of the relationship between a 
practitioner’s sense of self and human values, and his or her 
professional behavior and ethics 

f. Differences in legal and ethical standards for different types of work 
settings 

g. Licensing law and process 
 
 

 G. DEGREE EARNED OUTSIDE OF THE UNITED STATES 
If your degree was earned from a school in another country, you must obtain a 
comprehensive evaluation of your degree in order to determine equivalency to a 
master's from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. 
The Board has the right to request additional information and to make the final 
determination of whether a degree meets all requirements including coursework, 
regardless of evaluation or accreditation. MUST BE IN AN ENVELOPE SEALED 
BY THE AGENCY THAT EVALUATED YOUR DEGREE. In addition to the 
evaluation, a transcript is required as stated in #E above. 

  H. BACKGROUND QUESTIONS (A - D) 
If you answered YES to application questions A, B, C or D, complete the 
Background Statement, available on the Board’s website. Please be aware that 
your processing time will be longer than normal and will be dependent on your 
providing all information required by the Board. 
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IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

FOR 
ASSOCIATE CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER APPLICANTS 

 
1. VETERANS HONORABLY DISCHARGED RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW 

The board is required to expedite the licensure process for an applicant who is a 
honorably discharged veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces. Download the request form 
from the Board’s website and include it ON TOP OF your application. 

 
2. SPOUSES OR PARTNERS OF PERSONS ON ACTIVE MILITARY DUTY RECEIVE 

EXPEDITED REVIEW 
The board is required to expedite the licensure process for an applicant whose spouse 
or partner is an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces and meets other criteria 
pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 115.5. Please download the 
request form from the Board’s website and include it ON TOP OF your application. 

 
3. RECEIPT OF APPLICATION 

Please do not contact the Board to check the status of your application. If you would like 
to know whether the Board has received your application, mail your application in a 
manner that includes tracking. You can also check with the bank to see if your check or 
money order has been cashed. Another option is to include a self-addressed stamped 
postcard or envelope ON TOP OF your application, which will be mailed back to you 
upon receipt. 

 
4. EXAM REQUIREMENT FOR RENEWAL OF REGISTRATION 

Registrants Must Take a California Law and Ethics Exam to Renew: 
After your ASW registration is issued, you will be required to take a California Law and 
Ethics Exam. Your registration will not be renewable until the exam has been taken. 
You will be given instructions on applying for this exam once your registration has 
been issued. 

About the California Law and Ethics Exam 
The California Law and Ethics Exam is designed to assess an applicant's knowledge 
of and ability to apply legal and ethical standards relating to clinical practice. It consists 
of 75 multiple-choice questions administered over a two-hour period. See the Board’s  
Examination News page for more information. 

 
 

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/forms.shtml
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/forms.shtml
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/exams/exam_news.shtml
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5.  MAXIMUM RENEWALS AND ISSUANCE OF SUBSEQUENT REGISTRATIONS 

Your registration can be renewed five (5) times, for a total six (6)-year length. If you 
need to retain a registration after this time, you will need to apply for a subsequent 
registration number. A subsequent registration can only be issued to applicants who 
have passed the LCSW California Law and Ethics Exam. 

 
6. POST-DEGREE EXPERIENCE 

Please be advised that post-degree hours of experience will only begin accruing from 
the issuance date of your associate registration. Experience gained prior to the issuance 
date of your registration will not be credited. 

 
7. ABANDONMENT OF APPLICATION 

In accordance with Title 16, California Code of Regulations (CCR) section 1806, an 
application shall be deemed abandoned in either of the following circumstances:  

• Applicant does not submit evidence that he or she has cleared the deficiencies 
specified in the deficiency letter within one (1) year from the date of the initial 
deficiency letter 

 OR 

• Applicant does not complete the application within one (1) year after it has been 
filed. 

 
To re-open an abandoned application, you must submit a new application, fee and all 
required documentation, as well as meet all current requirements in effect at the time 
the new application is submitted. 

 
8. PUBLIC ADDRESS and CHANGE OF ADDRESS 

The address you enter on any Board form is public information and will be placed on the 
Internet pursuant to Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 27. If you do not 
want your home or work address available to the public, use an alternate mailing 
address, such as a post office box. California law requires all persons regulated by the 
Board to notify the Board in writing within 30 days of any change of address. 

 
9. STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 

To obtain a copy of the Board’s Statutes and Regulations, please download it from the 
Board’s website or submit a written request to the Board. 

  

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/change_address.pdf
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/forms.shtml
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10. AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT 

The Board does not discriminate on the basis of disability in employment or in the 
admission and access to its programs or activities. The Executive Officer of the Board 
has been designated to coordinate and carry out this agency’s compliance with the 
nondiscrimination requirements of Title II of the ADA. Information concerning the 
provisions of the ADA, and the rights provided hereunder, are available from the ADA 
coordinator. 

 
11. ADDITIONAL TRAINING OR COURSEWORK 

Verification of training or coursework can be submitted with this application OR with the 
application for licensure as a clinical social worker.  Only coursework that meets the 
criteria specified by law will be accepted. For more information, see the Board’s website. 

 
Course Required of: Length Content Required 

Child Abuse Assessment and 
Reporting All applicants 7 hours 

• See Title 16, 
CCR section 
1807 

• Course must be 
based on 
California law 

Human Sexuality All applicants 10 hours 16 CCR section 
1807.2 

Alcoholism and Chemical 
Substance Abuse & Dependency All applicants 15 hours 16 CCR section 

1810 

Aging, Long Term Care and 
Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse 

Applicants who 
entered a MSW 
program after 1/1/2004 

10 hours 
 

BPC section 
4996.25(a) 

California Law and Professional 
Ethics 

Out-of-State applicants 
ONLY 18 hours BPC section 

4996.17 

Spousal/Partner Abuse 
Assessment, Detection, and 
Intervention (OUT-OF-STATE) 

All applicants with out-
of-state education 15 hours BPC 4996.2(f) 

 
(continued on next page)  
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Course Required of: Length Content 

Required 

Spousal/Partner Abuse 
Assessment, Detection, 
and Intervention 
(IN-STATE) 

All in-state applicants 
EXCEPT for those 
who entered a MSW 
program prior to 
01/01/1995 

• No specific number of hours 
for those who entered a MSW 
program prior to 12/31/03, but 
must be of sufficient length to 
cover the topics of 
assessment, detection and 
intervention 

• 15 hours for those who 
entered a MSW program after 
1/1/2004 

BPC 
section 
4996.2(f) 

 
12. MANDATORY REPORTER 

Under California law each person licensed by the Board of Behavioral Sciences is a 
“mandated reporter” for both child, elder and/or dependent adult abuse or neglect 
purposes. California Penal Code section 11166 and Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 15630 require that all mandated reporters make a report to an agency specified 
[generally law enforcement, state, and/or county adult protective services agencies, 
etc… ] in Penal Code section 11165.9 and Welfare and Institutions Code section 
15630(b)(1) whenever the mandated reporter, in his or her professional capacity or 
within the scope of his or her employment, has knowledge of or observes a child, elder 
and/or dependent adult whom the mandated reporter knows or reasonably suspects has 
been the victim of child abuse or elder abuse or neglect.  
 

The mandated reporter must make a report of such abuse or neglect immediately, or as 
soon as practically possible, in the manner specified in Penal Code section 11166 (for 
child abuse or neglect) or in Welfare and Institutions Code section 15630 (for elder or 
dependent adult abuse or neglect). Failure to comply with the requirements of section 
11166 and section 15630 is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in a county 
jail, by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both imprisonment and fine. For 
further details about these requirements, consult Penal Code sections 11164 and 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 15630, and subsequent sections.  

 
13. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OR OTHER TAXPAYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER 

Disclosure of your tax identification number on your application is mandatory. You 
may provide either your Social Security Number, Federal Employer Identification 
Number, or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, as applicable. Section 30 of 
the Business and Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USCA 405 (c) (2) (c)) 
authorizes collection of these tax identification numbers.  Your tax identification 
number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of  
compliance with any judgment or order for family support in accordance with section 
17520 of the Family Code, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a   
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licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national examination and where 
licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state.  If you fail to disclose your tax 
identification number, your application for initial or renewal license will not be 
processed AND you will be reported to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a 
$100 penalty against you. 

 
14. STATE TAX OBLIGATION – EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012 

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 31(e), the State Board of 
Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board may share taxpayer information with the 
Board. If a registrant does not pay his or her state tax obligation, the individual’s ASW 
registration may be suspended. 

 
15. NOTICE OF COLLECTION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION: 
 The Board of Behavioral Sciences of the Department of Consumer Affairs collects the 

personal information requested on this form as authorized by Business and 
Professions Code sections 4996.2, 4996.17, 4996.18, Article 2 of Chapter 14 
(commencing with section 4992), Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations 
sections 1805 and 1806, and the Information Practices Act. The Board uses this 
information principally to identify and evaluate applicants for licensure, issue and renew 
licenses, and enforce licensing standards set by statutes and regulations. 

 
 Mandatory Submission. Submission of the requested information is mandatory. The 

Board cannot consider your application for registration, licensure or renewal unless you 
provide all of the requested information. 

 
 Access to Personal Information. You may review the records maintained by the 

Board of Behavioral Sciences that contain your personal information, as permitted by 
the Information Practices Act. See below for contact information. 

 
  Possible Disclosure of Personal Information. We make every effort to protect the 

personal information you provide us. The information you provide, however, may be 
disclosed in the following circumstances: 

• In response to a Public Records Act request (Government Code section 6250 
and following), as allowed by the Information Practices Act (Civil Code section 
1798 and following); 

• To another government agency as required by state or federal law; or 
• In response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant. 

 
Contact Information. For questions about this notice or access to your records, you 
may contact the Board at (916) 574-7830 or by email at BBS.info@dca.ca.gov. For 
questions about the Department of Consumer Affairs’ privacy policy or the Information 
Practices Act, you may contact the Department of Consumer Affairs, 1625 North 
Market Blvd., Sacramento, CA 95834, (800) 952-5210 or email dca@dca.ca.gov. 
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ASSOCIATE CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER 

REGISTRATION APPLICATION 
 
 

$75 FEE MUST ACCOMPANY THIS FORM 
Make check payable to - Behavioral Sciences Fund 

 
Type or print clearly in ink 

1.  Legal Name*:  Last First Middle 

2. If you have ever been known by another name, list the full name(s) and 
dates of use below (attach additional names and dates): ATTACH A  

PHOTOGRAPH TAKEN 

WITHIN 60 DAYS 

OF FILING 

THIS APPLICATION 

(Head and 

Shoulders Only) 

Full Name Dates of Use (to/from): 
 

Full Name Dates of Use (to/from): 
 

3. Address of Record** Number and Street 
 

 City State Zip Code 
 

4.  Business Telephone 5.  Residence Telephone 

6. E-Mail Address (OPTIONAL) 
 

7.  Birth Date:  mm/dd/yyyy 8.  SSN or ITIN*** 9.  Sex 
 

10.  Education: (Qualifying Degree) 
 

11.  Name of School, College or University 
 

12. Have you ever served in the United States 
Armed Forces or the California National 
Guard (OPTIONAL)? 

Yes, Currently   Yes, Previously  No   

For Office Use Only 
 
Cashiering No.  
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Applicant Name:              Last First Middle 

 
 
13. Have you ever applied for or been issued a license, registration or 

certificate to practice clinical social work or any other healing art in 
California or any other state? 

 
If YES, provide the information requested below (continue on an 
additional sheet if needed): 

 

 
Yes    

 
No   

State Type of License, 
Registration or 

Certificate 

Approximate 
Date of 

Application 

License, 
Registration or 

Certificate Number 

Date 
Issued 

Status 

      

      

      

      

   

14. Out-of-State Applicants (those with an out-of-state degree): 

Have you completed an 18-hour course in California Law and 
Professional Ethics for Clinical Social Workers that covered ALL 
of the topics listed in the application instructions item #F as 
required by Business and Professions Code section 4996.17? 

If YES, enclose a certificate of completion. 

Note:  Applicants with a degree earned in California have already 
met this requirement and no documentation is necessary. 

Yes   No   N/A   
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Applicant Name:              Last First Middle 

 
BACKGROUND QUESTIONS 

A.   Have you been convicted of, pled guilty to, or pled nolo 
contendere to any misdemeanor or felony in the United 
States, its territories, or a foreign country? Convictions 
dismissed under sections 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 1203.41 of 
the Penal Code (or equivalent non-California law) must be 
disclosed. If you have obtained a dismissal of such a 
conviction, submit a certified copy of the court order. 
 

DO NOT INCLUDE: 
• Convictions prior to your 18th birthday, unless you were 

charged as an adult; 

• Charges dismissed under section 1000.3 of the Penal 
Code; 

• Convictions under sections 11357(b), (c), (d), (e) or 
section 11360(b) of the Health and Safety Code which 
are two (2) years or older; 

• Traffic violations for which a fine of $500 or less was 
imposed; or 

• Infractions 

Yes    No   

If YES, you must complete Part A of 
the “Background Statement” form, 
available on the Board’s website. 
You must disclose convictions even if 
previously reported to the Board.  
However, it is not necessary for you 
to resubmit documentation previously 
on file. Instead, provide a written 
statement indicating that you believe 
the information is already on file.  

B.   Is any criminal action pending against you, or are you 
currently awaiting judgment and sentencing following 
entry of a plea or jury verdict? DO NOT INCLUDE: 

• Traffic violations for which a fine of $500 or less was 
imposed 

• Infractions 

Yes    No   

If YES, you must complete Part B of 
the “Background Statement” form, 
available on the Board’s website. 

 

C.   Have you ever been denied a professional license 
(“license” includes registrations, certificates, or other 
means to engage in practice) OR had a professional 
license privilege suspended, revoked, or otherwise 
disciplined, OR voluntarily surrendered any such license 
in California or any other state or territory of the United 
States, or by any other governmental agency or a foreign 
country? 

Yes    No   

If YES, you must complete Part C of 
the “Background Statement” form, 
available on the Board’s website. 
Disclosure is required even if 
previously reported to the Board.  
However, it is not necessary for you 
to resubmit documentation previously 
on file. Instead, provide a written 
statement indicating that you believe 
the information is already on file. 

 



37A-520 (Revised 07/2016) Page 4 of 4 

 

Applicant Name:              Last First Middle 

 
 

D.   Does your current use of chemical substances in any 
way impair or limit your ability to conduct with safety to the 
public the practice of clinical social work? 

Yes    No        N/A   

 If YES, you must complete Part D of 
the “Background Statement” form, 
available on the Board’s website. 

 

NOTE:  Knowingly providing false information or omitting pertinent information may be 
grounds for denial of this application. The board has the right to refuse to issue any 
registration or license, or may suspend or revoke the license or registration of any registrant 
or licensee if the applicant secures the license or registration by fraud, deceit, or 
misrepresentation. 

 
Signature of Applicant:  ________________________________________ Date: ____________ 

 
* You must use your legal name. Your “legal name” is the name established legally by a court order, 
birth certificate, marriage or domestic partnership certificate, or divorce decree (for example). 

 
** The address you enter on this application is public information and will be placed on the 
Internet pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 27. All correspondence from the 
Board will be sent to this address. If you do not want your home or work address available to 
the public, use an alternate mailing address. 

 
*** Disclosure of your tax identification number is mandatory. You may provide either your Social 
Security Number, Federal Employer Identification Number, or Individual Taxpayer Identification 
Number, as applicable. This number must match the number you provide on your fingerprint forms. 
 Section 30 of the Business and Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USCA 405 (c) (2) (c)) 
authorizes collection of your tax identification number, which will be used exclusively for tax 
enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgment or order for family support in 
accordance with section 17520 of the Family Code, or for verification of licensure or examination 
status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national examination and where licensure 
is reciprocal with the requesting state.  If you fail to disclose your tax identification number, your 
application for initial or renewal license will not be processed AND you will be reported to the 
Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a $100 penalty against you. 
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Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834 

Telephone: (916) 574-7830  TTY: (800) 326-2297 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR LIVE SCAN FINGERPRINTING 

Live Scan Fingerprinting is available only in California. Live Scan fingerprint results will be 
submitted to the Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
(FBI) electronically. 

If you need to have your fingerprints taken in another state, you must use the "hard card" 
fingerprint method. To request hard cards and instructions, send an email to 
BBS.Fingerprint@dca.ca.gov with "Fingerprint Hard Cards" in the subject line, and include 
your mailing address. Please be advised that the DOJ processing time for hard card 
fingerprints is a minimum of 8 to 12 weeks, or longer. In order to avoid processing delays 
and additional costs that result from invalid fingerprint cards, fingerprints must be taken at a 
law enforcement agency in the state of residence. 

Fingerprint Fees - Paid to Live Scan Site 
If you have your prints taken via Live Scan, you must pay the fingerprint fees below 
directly to the site where you have your Live Scan fingerprints taken: 

DOJ FINGERPRINT PROCESSING FEE: $32.00 
FBI FINGERPRINT PROCESSING FEE: $17.00 

In addition to these processing fees, there may be a service charge associated with 
the Live Scan site you visit. The Live Scan service site will collect the above fees at the 
time you are fingerprinted. The Live Scan service charge may vary from location to 
location. 

Complete the Request for Live Scan Service Form 

You must complete and submit the attached Request for Live Scan Service form at the 
Live Scan site. Make sure that the information provided in Section 3 of the form matches 
the information on your application. Once your fingerprints have been scanned, the Live 
Scan Operator will complete Box 6 of this form and return the second and third copies to 
you. 

The second copy of this form, with Box 6 completed by the Live Scan Operator, must 
be MAILED to the BBS in order to retrieve your fingerprint results from the DOJ. 
Retain the third copy for your records as a proof of payment. 

37A-648 (Rev. 04/2016) 1 
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Live Scan Fingerprint Locations 

You must visit an approved Live Scan Service Site. Most local Police and Sheriff 
Departments offer the Live Scan fingerprinting service. Some large school districts, 
passport services, and stores with generalized fingerprinting expertise may also offer Live 
Scan. A current listing of Live Scan sites is available on the DOJ website at 
http://ag.ca.gov/fingerprints/publications/contact.php 

Consider calling the Live Scan service provider for hours of operation, fees, and 
appointment times if necessary. You must present valid photo identification (i.e., driver’s 
license, military ID, or passport) at the Live Scan site. 

Filling Out Your Live Scan Form 
To facilitate prompt and accurate processing, please TYPE or print legibly 

SECTION 1: Job Title or Type of License, Certification or Permit: 
Check the box for the applicable license, or registration you are applying for with the BBS. If 
you are a Licensee with multiple licenses, only check your most used license type. Your 
fingerprint results will be put towards ALL licenses you hold. You will not need to pay and/or 
be fingerprinted for each individual BBS license you hold. CHECK THE BOX FOR ONLY 
ONE LICENSE TYPE. 

SECTION 2: This section is already completed. 

SECTION 3: 
Name of Applicant: Enter your full name 

Alias: Indicate all other names used 

Date of Birth: Indicate your month/day/year of birth 

Sex: Place an “X” in the appropriate box 

Height: Indicate your height in feet and inches 

Weight: Indicate your weight in pounds (lbs.) 

Eye Color: Indicate eye color abbreviation: 

BLK - Black GRY - Gray MAR - Maroon BLU - Blue GRN - Green 
PNK – Pink BRO - Brown HAZ - Hazel MUL - Multicolor 

Hair Color: Indicate hair color abbreviation: 

BAL - Bald BRO - Brown SDY - Sandy BLK - Black 
GRY - Gray WHI - White BLN - Blonde RED - Red 

37A-648 (Rev. 04/2016) 2 
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Place of Birth: Indicate the state or country of birth 

Social Security Enter your SSN or individual taxpayer ID number. Must match the 
Number: number provided on your application. 

Driver’s License Enter your Driver’s license number if you have one 
No: 

Address: Enter a mailing address of your choice. You may use a business 
address, your home address, or any current address. This 
address will not be viewable by the public, and will be used 
solely for the BBS’ records. 

SECTION 4: 
Your number: 
Enter your current BBS license or registration number. Enter all that apply. If you are a brand 
new applicant and do not currently hold an identifying number, leave this line blank. 

If resubmission, list the Original ATI No. 
This is only used for a second fingerprinting due to a prior fingerprint rejection. The ATI No. 
allows you to be re-fingerprinted without paying the DOJ and FBI processing fee (service 
charges may still apply.) 

SECTION 5: Leave this section blank. 

SECTION 6: To be completed by the Live Scan operator. 

37A-648 (Rev. 04/2016) 3 



 
 

 
 

 
  

     
 

    

   

    

  

  

  

              

      
     
 

  

 
     

 
                                                      

     
      

         
 

 

      

  
 

   

 
                         

 

  

  

         

               

            
   

      
                                             

      
                                                                                           

  
   

       
                                                                                                                              

     

 

   
 

 

  

   

State of California 
REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE 
BCII 8016 (1/11) APPLICANT 
Applicant Submission 

SECTION 1 

ORI: _A0462 Type of Application: LIC/CERT/PERMIT
(Code assigned by DOJ) 

Job Title or Type of License, Certification or Permit: (Only One Title) 
Marriage and Family Therapist 

Educational Psychologist 

Clinical Social Worker 

Professional Clinical Counselor 

SECTION 2 

Agency Address Set Contributing Agency Mail Code: 01484 

Board of Behavioral Sciences______  Contact Name: Fingerprint Unit 
1625 North Market Blvd. Suite S-200 Contact Phone: (916) 574-7859 
Sacramento, CA 95834 ___________ 

SECTION 3 

Name of Applicant:  ___ 
(Please print) 

__________________________________________________________________
 Last First MI 

Alias:  _____  Driver’s License No: _________________ 
Last First 

Date of Birth:  _____________  SEX: 

___________________________________ 

Male Female   Misc. No. BIL: APPLICANT MUST PAY 
Agency Billing Number 

Height: _ Weight: _ 

Eye Color:  _ Hair Color: _______________ Address: __________________________ 

_______________________________________ 
Street No. 

__________________________

 _______________________________ 
City State  Zip 

______________ 

_________________ _________________

 _______________________________ 

  _________________ Level of Service DOJ FBI 

SECTION 5 Employer:  (Additional response for agencies specified by statute) 

____________________________________________ LEAVE THIS SECTION BLANK 
Employer Name 

_____________________________________________   ____________________________ 
Street No. Street or PO Box Mail Code (assigned by DOJ) 

_____________________________________________ ____________________________ 
City  State Zip Code Agency Telephone No. (optional) 

SECTION 6 
Live Scan Transmission Completed By: ________________________________________ Date:  ______________ 

___________________________________________   ___________________   ________________________ 
Transmitting Agency  ATI No. Amount Collected/Billed 

BBS Applicant: Please mail a copy of this form 
to the address in Box 2 upon completion. 

Place of Birth: 

Social Security Number: 

SECTION 4 

Your Number 
BBS File Number (Example: 103123) 

If resubmission, list Original ATI No. 

ORIGINAL- Live Scan Operator SECOND COPY- Requesting Agency    THIRD COPY- Applicant 

37A-649 (Rev. 04/2016) 



 
 

 
 

 
  

     
 

    

   

    

  

  

  

              

      
     
 

  

 
     

 
                                                      

     
      

         
 

 

      

  
 

   

 
                         

 

  

  

         

               

            
   

      
                                             

      
                                                                                           

  
   

       
                                                                                                                              

     

 

   
 

 

  

   

State of California 
REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE 
BCII 8016 (1/11) APPLICANT 
Applicant Submission 

SECTION 1 

ORI: _A0462 Type of Application: LIC/CERT/PERMIT
(Code assigned by DOJ) 

Job Title or Type of License, Certification or Permit: (Only One Title) 
Marriage and Family Therapist 

Educational Psychologist 

Clinical Social Worker 

Professional Clinical Counselor 

SECTION 2 

Agency Address Set Contributing Agency Mail Code: 01484 

Board of Behavioral Sciences______  Contact Name: Fingerprint Unit 
1625 North Market Blvd. Suite S-200 Contact Phone: (916) 574-7859 
Sacramento, CA 95834 ___________ 

SECTION 3 

Name of Applicant:  ___ 
(Please print) 

__________________________________________________________________
 Last First MI 

Alias:  _____  Driver’s License No: _________________ 
Last First 

Date of Birth:  _____________  SEX: 

___________________________________ 

Male Female   Misc. No. BIL: APPLICANT MUST PAY 
Agency Billing Number 

Height: _ Weight: _ 

Eye Color:  _ Hair Color: _______________ Address: __________________________ 

_______________________________________ 
Street No. 

__________________________

 _______________________________ 
City State  Zip 

______________ 

_________________ _________________

 _______________________________ 

  _________________ Level of Service DOJ FBI 

SECTION 5 Employer:  (Additional response for agencies specified by statute) 

____________________________________________ LEAVE THIS SECTION BLANK 
Employer Name 

_____________________________________________   ____________________________ 
Street No. Street or PO Box Mail Code (assigned by DOJ) 

_____________________________________________ ____________________________ 
City  State Zip Code Agency Telephone No. (optional) 

SECTION 6 
Live Scan Transmission Completed By: ________________________________________ Date:  ______________ 

___________________________________________   ___________________   ________________________ 
Transmitting Agency  ATI No. Amount Collected/Billed 

BBS Applicant: Please mail a copy of this form 
to the address in Box 2 upon completion. 

Place of Birth: 

Social Security Number: 

SECTION 4 

Your Number 
BBS File Number (Example: 103123) 

If resubmission, list Original ATI No. 

ORIGINAL- Live Scan Operator SECOND COPY- Requesting Agency    THIRD COPY- Applicant 

37A-649 (Rev. 04/2016) 



 
 

 
 

 
  

     
 

    

   

    

  

  

  

              

      
     
 

  

 
     

 
                                                      

     
      

         
 

 

      

  
 

   

 
                         

 

  

  

         

               

            
   

      
                                             

      
                                                                                           

  
   

       
                                                                                                                              

     

 

   
 

 

  

   

State of California 
REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE 
BCII 8016 (1/11) APPLICANT 
Applicant Submission 

SECTION 1 

ORI: _A0462 Type of Application: LIC/CERT/PERMIT
(Code assigned by DOJ) 

Job Title or Type of License, Certification or Permit: (Only One Title) 
Marriage and Family Therapist 

Educational Psychologist 

Clinical Social Worker 

Professional Clinical Counselor 

SECTION 2 

Agency Address Set Contributing Agency Mail Code: 01484 

Board of Behavioral Sciences______  Contact Name: Fingerprint Unit 
1625 North Market Blvd. Suite S-200 Contact Phone: (916) 574-7859 
Sacramento, CA 95834 ___________ 

SECTION 3 

Name of Applicant:  ___ 
(Please print) 

__________________________________________________________________
 Last First MI 

Alias:  _____  Driver’s License No: _________________ 
Last First 

Date of Birth:  _____________  SEX: 

___________________________________ 

Male Female   Misc. No. BIL: APPLICANT MUST PAY 
Agency Billing Number 

Height: _ Weight: _ 

Eye Color:  _ Hair Color: _______________ Address: __________________________ 

_______________________________________ 
Street No. 

__________________________

 _______________________________ 
City State  Zip 

______________ 

_________________ _________________

 _______________________________ 

  _________________ Level of Service DOJ FBI 

SECTION 5 Employer:  (Additional response for agencies specified by statute) 

____________________________________________ LEAVE THIS SECTION BLANK 
Employer Name 

_____________________________________________   ____________________________ 
Street No. Street or PO Box Mail Code (assigned by DOJ) 

_____________________________________________ ____________________________ 
City  State Zip Code Agency Telephone No. (optional) 

SECTION 6 
Live Scan Transmission Completed By: ________________________________________ Date:  ______________ 

___________________________________________   ___________________   ________________________ 
Transmitting Agency  ATI No. Amount Collected/Billed 

BBS Applicant: Please mail a copy of this form 
to the address in Box 2 upon completion. 

Place of Birth: 

Social Security Number: 

SECTION 4 

Your Number 
BBS File Number (Example: 103123) 

If resubmission, list Original ATI No. 

ORIGINAL- Live Scan Operator SECOND COPY- Requesting Agency    THIRD COPY- Applicant 

37A-649 (Rev. 04/2016) 
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