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Information for Subsequent (2nd or 3rd) 
Associate Clinical Social Worker (ASW) Registration Applicants 

 
1. Private Practice Restriction:  ASWs issued a subsequent registration are prohibited from 

working in a private practice pursuant to Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 
4996.28(b). There are no exceptions. 

2. Applicants Must PASS the LCSW California Law and Ethics Exam as follows: 

Subsequent Registration 
Application Postmark Date 

 
Exam Requirement 

Between January 1, 2016 and  
December 31, 2016 

You must PASS the LCSW California Law and 
Ethics Exam before you will be permitted to 
RENEW your subsequent registration. 

On or after January 1, 2017 You must PASS the LCSW California Law and 
Ethics Exam before the Board can ISSUE your 
subsequent registration. 

 
There are no exceptions to the above requirements, which are mandated by BPC section 
4992.09. If you do not pass, you can retake the exam in 90 days. Submit your re-exam form 
and fee early, as the Board’s processing time will vary based on the volume of applications 
received. 
 

3. Name Changes:  If you have changed your legal name and have not yet notified the Board, 
submit a Notification of Name Change form with your application along with the required 
documentation. 
 

4. Application Requirements:  Applicants must meet all requirements for ASW registration that 
area in effect at the time the subsequent registration application is submitted. Use the 
scenarios below as a guide to determine the steps needed to complete your application. For 
questions please contact the Board at (916) 574-7830 or BBS.ASW@dca.ca.gov. 
 
Scenario A:  Applicant’s ASW number has been cancelled, and the Board has already 

approved the applicant’s supervised experience. The following are required: 

• Subsequent ASW Registration 
Number Application 

• 2x2 passport size photo 
• $75.00 Application Fee 

  

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/change_name.pdf


Revised 05/2016 

Scenario B:  Applicant has a current and valid ASW number that is due to expire or has been 
expired no longer than 30 days. The following are required: 

• Subsequent ASW Registration 
Number Application 

• 2x2 passport size photo 
• $75.00 Application Fee 

 
Scenario C:  Applicant’s ASW number has been cancelled or expired for over 30 days, and the 

applicant’s supervised experience has not yet been approved by the Board. The 
following are required: 

• Subsequent ASW Registration 
Number Application 

• Official Transcripts 

• 2x2 passport size photo 
• $75.00 Application Fee 
• Live Scan Fingerprints 

 
Frequently Asked Questions 

ASW Subsequent Registration Applicants 
 
1. If I apply for a second number, will I lose all of my hours because they were gained 

under my first number? 

Not necessarily, but all hours of experience must be gained within the most recent six (6) 
years from the time the Board receives your Application for LCSW Licensure and 
Examination. Hours older than six (6) years at the time you apply will not count. For 
example:  The Board receives Susan’s Application for Licensure and Examination, 
postmarked on 4/27/2016. All of the hours she gained (under all ASW numbers) between 
4/27/2010 and 4/27/2016 will be acceptable. 

 
2. Can I work in a private practice setting under my second (or third, etc.) ASW 

registration number? 

No, an applicant issued a subsequent ASW number is prohibited from working in a 
private practice setting. All other work settings are permissible. 

 
3. My supervised experience hours have been approved. Do I need to hold a current 

ASW number to continue testing? 

Once your hours have been approved, you are no longer required to retain an ASW 
registration. However, you are required to maintain an active and current registration if 
you are continuing to gain hours or if you are working in any setting OTHER THAN a 
school, a government agency, or an institution that is both nonprofit and charitable. Also, 
you may want to check with your employer to see if they require you to remain 
registered. 
 

4. Where can I get more information about the California Law and Ethics exam? 

See the Board’s Examination News page for information about the LCSW California Law 
and Ethics exam, including exam content, requirements and answers to frequently asked 
questions. The Request for Examination form is available on the Board’s website. 

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/exams/exam_news.shtml
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/forms.shtml#exam_related
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ASSOCIATE CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER 

REGISTRATION APPLICATION 

SUBSEQUENT ASW REGISTRATION NUMBER 

 
$75 FEE MUST ACCOMPANY THIS FORM 
Make check payable to - Behavioral Sciences Fund 

 
Type or print clearly in ink 

1.  Legal Name*:  Last First Middle 

2. If you have ever been known by another name, list the full name(s) and 
dates of use below (attach additional names and dates): ATTACH A  

PHOTOGRAPH TAKEN 

WITHIN 60 DAYS 

OF FILING 

THIS APPLICATION 

(Head and 

Shoulders Only) 

Full Name Dates of Use (to/from): 
 

Full Name Dates of Use (to/from): 
 

3. Address of Record** Number and Street 
 

 City State Zip Code 
 

4.  Business Telephone 5.  Residence Telephone 

6. E-Mail Address (OPTIONAL) 
 

7.  Birth Date:  mm/dd/yyyy 8.  SSN or ITIN*** 9.  Sex 
 

10.  Education: (Qualifying Degree) 
 

11.  Name of School, College or University 
 

12. Have you ever served in the United States 
Armed Forces or the California National 
Guard (OPTIONAL)? 

Yes, Currently   Yes, Previously  No   

For Office Use Only 
 
Cashiering No.  
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Applicant Name:              Last First Middle 

 
 
13. Have you ever applied for or been issued a license, registration or 

certificate to practice clinical social work or any other healing art in 
California or any other state? 

 
If YES, provide the information requested below (continue on an 
additional sheet if needed): 

 

 
Yes    

 
No   

State Type of License, 
Registration or 

Certificate 

Approximate 
Date of 

Application 

License, 
Registration or 

Certificate Number 

Date 
Issued 

Status 

      

      

      

      

   

14. Out-of-State Applicants (those with an out-of-state degree): 

Have you completed an 18-hour course in California Law and 
Professional Ethics for Clinical Social Workers that covered ALL 
of the topics listed in the application instructions item #F as 
required by Business and Professions Code section 4996.17? 

If YES, enclose a certificate of completion. 

Note:  Applicants with a degree earned in California have already 
met this requirement and no documentation is necessary. 

Yes   No   N/A   
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Applicant Name:              Last First Middle 

 
BACKGROUND QUESTIONS 

A.   Have you been convicted of, pled guilty to, or pled nolo 
contendere to any misdemeanor or felony in the United 
States, its territories, or a foreign country? Convictions 
dismissed under sections 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 1203.41 of 
the Penal Code (or equivalent non-California law) must be 
disclosed. If you have obtained a dismissal of such a 
conviction, submit a certified copy of the court order. 
 

DO NOT INCLUDE: 
• Convictions prior to your 18th birthday, unless you were 

charged as an adult; 

• Charges dismissed under section 1000.3 of the Penal 
Code; 

• Convictions under sections 11357(b), (c), (d), (e) or 
section 11360(b) of the Health and Safety Code which 
are two (2) years or older; 

• Traffic violations for which a fine of $500 or less was 
imposed; or 

• Infractions 

Yes    No   

If YES, you must complete Part A of 
the “Background Statement” form, 
available on the Board’s website. 
You must disclose convictions even if 
previously reported to the Board.  
However, it is not necessary for you 
to resubmit documentation previously 
on file. Instead, provide a written 
statement indicating that you believe 
the information is already on file.  

B.   Is any criminal action pending against you, or are you 
currently awaiting judgment and sentencing following 
entry of a plea or jury verdict? DO NOT INCLUDE: 

• Traffic violations for which a fine of $500 or less was 
imposed 

• Infractions 

Yes    No   

If YES, you must complete Part B of 
the “Background Statement” form, 
available on the Board’s website. 

 

C.   Have you ever been denied a professional license 
(“license” includes registrations, certificates, or other 
means to engage in practice) OR had a professional 
license privilege suspended, revoked, or otherwise 
disciplined, OR voluntarily surrendered any such license 
in California or any other state or territory of the United 
States, or by any other governmental agency or a foreign 
country? 

Yes    No   

If YES, you must complete Part C of 
the “Background Statement” form, 
available on the Board’s website. 
Disclosure is required even if 
previously reported to the Board.  
However, it is not necessary for you 
to resubmit documentation previously 
on file. Instead, provide a written 
statement indicating that you believe 
the information is already on file. 
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Applicant Name:              Last First Middle 

 
 

D.   Does your current use of chemical substances in any 
way impair or limit your ability to conduct with safety to the 
public the practice of clinical social work? 

Yes    No        N/A   

 If YES, you must complete Part D of 
the “Background Statement” form, 
available on the Board’s website. 

 

NOTE:  Knowingly providing false information or omitting pertinent information may be 
grounds for denial of this application. The board has the right to refuse to issue any 
registration or license, or may suspend or revoke the license or registration of any registrant 
or licensee if the applicant secures the license or registration by fraud, deceit, or 
misrepresentation. 

 
Signature of Applicant:  ________________________________________ Date: ____________ 

 
* You must use your legal name. Your “legal name” is the name established legally by a court order, 
birth certificate, marriage or domestic partnership certificate, or divorce decree (for example). 

 
** The address you enter on this application is public information and will be placed on the 
Internet pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 27. All correspondence from the 
Board will be sent to this address. If you do not want your home or work address available to 
the public, use an alternate mailing address. 

 
*** Disclosure of your tax identification number is mandatory. You may provide either your Social 
Security Number, Federal Employer Identification Number, or Individual Taxpayer Identification 
Number, as applicable. This number must match the number you provide on your fingerprint forms. 
 Section 30 of the Business and Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USCA 405 (c) (2) (c)) 
authorizes collection of your tax identification number, which will be used exclusively for tax 
enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgment or order for family support in 
accordance with section 17520 of the Family Code, or for verification of licensure or examination 
status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national examination and where licensure 
is reciprocal with the requesting state.  If you fail to disclose your tax identification number, your 
application for initial or renewal license will not be processed AND you will be reported to the 
Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a $100 penalty against you. 
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