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Dear Applicant:

Thank you for your interest in becoming a California Licensed Clinical Social
Worker (LCSW). Included in this packet are:
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. Application Instructions

2. Important Information for Applicants

3. Information for Out of State LCSW Applicants

4. LCSW Application for Licensure and Examination
5. In-State Experience Verification

6. Out-of-State Experience Verification

7. Out-of-State License or Registration Verification

8. Examination Security Notice
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APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS
LICENSED CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER
APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE AND EXAMINATION

Submit a completed application to: Board of Behavioral Sciences
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200
Sacramento, CA 95834

Carefully read the following instructions to ensure an accurate and complete application
package and that all required original documents are furnished to the Board. All items
are mandatory unless otherwise indicated. Any omission may result in the application
being deficient or delayed.

[]  A.APPLICATION
e Complete all sections of the application in ink.
e The application must have your original signature.

e You must use your legal name. Your “legal name” is the name established legally
by your birth certificate, marriage or domestic partnership certificate, or divorce
decree (for example).

e Name Change: If you have registered with the Board previously and have
changed your legal name without notifying the Board, complete and submit
Notification of Name Change form with your application packet along with
required documentation.

e Email Address: Though providing your email address is optional, the Board
strongly recommends submission to facilitate communication.

[] B. PHOTOGRAPH

Should measure approximately 2" X 2" and be taken within 60 days of the filing of this
application. Photograph must be of passport quality of your head and shoulders only.
Attach the photograph to the application in the space provided.
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L] C. EXAMINATION SECURITY AGREEMENT

The Examination Security Agreement must be completed and signed in ink. Failure to
complete the notice will affect your eligibility to take the examination.

[] D. FEE

Submit a $100.00 check or money order made payable to the Behavioral Sciences
Fund. This application fee is an earned fee for evaluation of your application and is
NOT REFUNDABLE. Out-of-state applicants — see section G.4. for information about

examination fees.

L] E. VERIFICATION OF REQUIRED TRAINING

Provide proof of completion of the following required courses with your application,
unless the training is identified on transcripts previously submitted for ASW registration.

Course Required of: Length Content Required
1. Child Abuse Assessment All applicants 7 hours e See Title 16, CCR
and Reporting section 1807
e Course must be
based on California
law
2. Human Sexuality All applicants 10 hours 16 CCR section
1807.2
3. Alcoholism and Chemical All applicants 15 hours 16 CCR section 1810
Substance Abuse &
Dependency
4. Aging, Long Term Care Applicants who 10 hours BPC section
and Elder/Dependent Adult | entered a MSW 4996.25(a)
Abuse program after
1/1/2004
5. California Law & OUT-OF-STATE | 18 hours BPC section 4996.17
Professional Ethics applicants ONLY
6. Spousal/Partner Abuse OUT-OF-STATE | 15 hours BPC 4996.2(f)

Assessment, Detection, applicants
and Intervention
(continued on next page)
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Course Required of: Length Content

Required
6. Spousal/Partner Abuse ALL IN-STATE e No specific number | BPC
Assessment, Detection, applicants EXCEPT for | of hours for those section
and Intervention those who entered a who entered a 4996.2(f)
. MSW program prior to MSW program prior
continued
(continued) 01/01/1995 to 12/31/03, but
must be of

sufficient length to
cover the topics of
assessment,
detection and
intervention

¢ 15 hours for those
who entered a
MSW program after
1/1/2004

L] F. IN-STATE APPLICANTS: VERIFICATION OF SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE

1) IN-STATE EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION: Each supervisor of your experience
hours must verify your experience. An In-State Experience Verification form is
provided in this packet for this purpose. Supervised post-degree work experience
must total at least two years (104 weeks) and 3,200 hours. The supervised
experience must have been obtained within the six (6) years immediately
preceding the date on which your LCSW Application for Examination and
Licensure is received by the Board.

2) WRITTEN AGREEMENT: If your employer did not employ your supervisor, attach
a copy of the signed written agreement as required by BPC section 4996.23(n). A
sample agreement is available on the Board’'s website.

3) W-2s: If you were employed, you must submit copies of your W-2s for each year
you are claiming experience and for each employer. If W-2s are not available for
this current year, attach a copy of a current pay stub. If your W-2 statement does
not match the name of your employer as stated on your verification of experience,
an explanation is required.

4) VOLUNTEER LETTER: If you volunteered, attach a copy of the letter from your
employer verifying your voluntary status. Be sure that the letter states the time
frame (date range) during which you volunteered.

5) SUPERVISOR RESPONSIBILITY STATEMENT: Submit the original Supervisor
Responsibility Statement from each supervisor.
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6) SUPERVISORY PLAN: Submit the initial original Supervisory Plan from each
initial supervisor.

G. OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS

1)

2)

3)

FINGERPRINTING

Disreqgard this section if you are or were previously registered as a California
Associate Clinical Social Worker. The Board requires a Department of Justice
(DOJ) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) criminal history background
check on all applicants, as follows:

If you currently reside in California: Download the Request for Live Scan
Service Applicant Submission from our web site. The information on this form
must match the information you provide on your application. The second copy
of this form, with box 6 completed, must be submitted with your application. DO
NOT COMPLETE FINGERPRINTS MORE THAN 60 DAYS PRIOR TO
SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION. Fingerprint results without an application on
file will only be held for 6 months.

If you currently reside out of state: You must use the "hard card" fingerprint
method unless you can access a California Live Scan Service operator. To
request fingerprint hard cards, send an email to BBS.Fingerprint@dca.ca.qgov
with "Fingerprint Hard Cards" in the subject line, and we will mail them to you.
DO NOT SUBMIT YOUR FINGERPRINTS TO THE BOARD UNTIL YOU HAVE
SUBMITTED YOUR APPLICATION — we are unable to process them until your
application is received. The DOJ processing time for hard card fingerprints is a
minimum of 8 to 12 weeks. To avoid processing delays and additional costs that
result from invalid fingerprint cards, the Board recommends fingerprints be
taken at a law enforcement agency in the state of residence.

VERIFICATION OF EDUCATION

If you never registered with the Board as an Associate Clinical Social Worker
(ASW), you must provide official transcript(s) verifying your master's degree from
a program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the Council on
Social Work Education. The degree title and date of conferral must be posted.
TRANSCRIPTS MUST BE IN AN ENVELOPED SEALED BY THE
EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION.

DEGREE EARNED OUTSIDE OF THE UNITED STATES

If you never registered with the Board as an Associate Clinical Social Worker,
you must obtain a comprehensive evaluation of your degree in order to
determine equivalency to a master's from a program accredited by the Council
on Social Work Education. The Board has the right to request additional
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information and to make the final determination of whether a degree meets all
requirements including coursework, regardless of evaluation or accreditation.
THE EVALUATION MUST BE IN AN ENVELOPE SEALED BY THE
EVALUATING AGENCY. In addition to the evaluation, a transcript is required
as stated in #2 above.

4) EXAMINATIONS
e CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS EXAMINATION

Include an additional $100 fee for the California Law and Ethics
examination.

e ASSOCIATION OF SOCIAL WORK BOARDS’ (ASWB) CLINICAL
LEVEL EXAMINATION

If you already took the ASWB Clinical Exam for another state, the Board
may accept your passing score as follows:

o If you do not currently hold a license in another state, your passing score
must be less than seven (7) years old;

o If you currently hold a license in another state and the license is in good
standing, a passing score of any age will be accepted,;

0 You must provide the Board official proof to verify your passing score.
Download an Official Score Transfer Request form from the Association
of Social Work Boards’ website. Your score verification must arrive in an
envelope that has been SEALED by the ASWB.

If you have not yet taken the ASWB Clinical exam, see the “Examination”
section of the attached Important Information for LCSW Applicants.

5) OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE OR REGISTRATION VERIFICATION
Include a certified statement from each state where you have held a license to
practice clinical social work, or a registration for the purpose of gaining
supervised experience. An Out of State License or Registration Verification form
is provided in this packet for this purpose. This verification may be sent to the
Board directly or enclosed with the application. Either way, the verification must
be IN AN ENVELOPE SEALED BY THE STATE BOARD/LICENSING AGENCY.

6) VERIFICATION OF OUT-OF-STATE EXPERIENCE
a. Applicants Licensed for Four (4) or More Years in Another State:

You do not need to submit verification of experience if you currently hold an
active, equivalent LCSW license in another state, and have held that license
for a minimum of four (4) years immediately preceding the date of your
California application.
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b. Applicants Licensed for Less than Four (4) Years in Another State:
You do not need to submit verification of experience if you currently hold an
active, equivalent LCSW license in a state that requires at least 3,200 hours of
supervised experience. If your state required less than 3,200 hours, you may
be able to make up the deficit using time actively licensed. You may count up
to 100 hours for each month actively licensed, for a maximum of 1,200 hours.
You do not need to submit verification of this experience.

If additional hours are still needed, you must document additional supervised
experience to bring your total to 3,200 hours. An Out-of-State Experience
Verification form is included in this packet for this purpose. If additional hours
will be gained in California, you must be registered as an Associate Clinical
Social Worker (ASW) while gaining those hours.

c. Unlicensed Applicants:
Supervised experience gained in another state must be substantially
equivalent to California’s experience requirements to be accepted. California
requires at least 104 supervised weeks and 3,200 hours, obtained within the
six (6) years immediately preceding the date on which your LCSW Application
for Licensure and Examination is received by the Board. Submit verification of
your experience as described below:

e Experience Gained Outside of California:
Each supervisor of your experience hours must verify your experience. An
Out-of-State Experience Verification form is provided in this packet for this
purpose.

If you held a registration while gaining this supervised experience, the out-
of-state board/licensing agency must verify your registration. The attached
Out of State License or Registration Verification form is provided in this
packet for this purpose. Additional documentation of out-of-state
experience (such as the Supervisor Responsibility Statement, Supervisory
Plan, etc.) are not required.

In addition, your supervisor’s license must be verified. An Out-of-State
License or Registration Verification form, to be completed by the out-of-
state board/licensing agency, is provided in this packet for this purpose.

e Experience Gained Within California:

If you gained supervised experience while registered as an ASW in
California, you must comply with all of the requirements listed in Section F
of these instructions.
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[] H. BACKGROUND QUESTIONS (A - D)
If you answered YES to application questions A, B, C or D, complete the Background

Statement, available on the Board’s website. Please be aware that your processing time
will be longer than normal and will be dependent on your providing all information

required by the Board.
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA - BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr.

Board of Behavioral Sciences
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834
Telephone: (916) 574-7830 TTY: (800) 326-2297
www.bbs.ca.gov

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR
LICENSED CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER APPLICANTS

1. VETERANS HONORABLY DISCHARGED RECEIVE EXPEDITED REVIEW
The board is required to expedite the licensure process for an applicant who is a
honorably discharged veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces. Download the request form from
the Board’s website and include it ON TOP OF your application.

2. SPOUSES OR PARTNERS OF PERSONS ON ACTIVE MILITARY DUTY RECEIVE
EXPEDITED REVIEW
The board is required to expedite the licensure process for an applicant whose spouse,
domestic partner or partner by way of another legal union, is an active duty member of the
U.S. Armed Forces and meets other criteria. Download the request form from the
Board’s website and include it ON TOP OF your application.

3. RECEIPT OF APPLICATION
If you would like to know whether the Board has received your application, the Board
recommends that you mail your application in a manner that includes tracking. You can
also check with the bank to see if your check or money order has been cashed. Another
option is to include a self-addressed stamped postcard or envelope ON TOP OF your
application, which will be mailed back to you upon receipt.

4. ABANDONMENT OF LICENSURE APPLICATION
An application shall be deemed abandoned in any of the circumstances described below.
Abandonment could have major consequences, including the loss of any experience hours
more than six (6) years old at the time of application. Per Title 16, California Code of
Regulations Section 1806, an application shall be deemed abandoned when:

e Applicant does not submit evidence that he or she has removed the deficiencies

specified in the deficiency letter within one (1) year from the date of the deficiency
letter.

e Applicant fails to sit for examination within one (1) year after being notified of eligibility.

e Applicant fails to pay the initial license fee within one (1) year after notification by the
board of successful completion of examination requirements.

To re-open an abandoned application, you must submit a new application, fee and all
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required documentation, as well as meet all current requirements in effect at the time the
new application is submitted.

5. EXAMINATION
Once the Board evaluates your application, you will receive one of the following:

¢ A notice describing any deficiencies in your application OR
e A notice of eligibility to take the examination

o You will not be eligible to take the National Association of Social Work Boards’
(ASWB) Clinical Examination until you have passed the LCSW California Law and
Ethics Exam. You will receive information on registering for each exam upon
approval of your application.

The examinations contain objective multiple-choice questions and are offered at locations
throughout California and in other states. Upon receipt of your notice of eligibility, it is your
responsibility to contact the testing administrator to schedule your examination. Further
information about the examination process is provided on the Board’s website.

6. REQUESTS FOR TESTING ACCOMMODATIONS

Pursuant to Title Il of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and California law, the
Board will provide reasonable accommodations to qualified candidates with mental
disabilities, physical disabilities, or other qualifying medical conditions which limit a major
life activity or a major bodily function.

Accommodations may be made to the regular testing environment, and auxiliary aids and
services may be provided that allow applicants with disabilities to demonstrate their true
aptitude. However, the Board will not provide accommaodations that fundamentally alter the
measurement of the skills or knowledge the examination is intended to test.

» Candidates do NOT need to request an accommodation for a physically accessible
exam site, as all sites are physically accessible.

e A testing accommodation CANNOT be provided at the examination site unless prior
approval has been granted. DO NOT SCHEDULE YOUR EXAMINATION UNTIL
YOUR ACCOMMODATION HAS BEEN APPROVED. Otherwise, the testing vendor
will be unable to provide your requested accommodation.

e A candidate who seeks an accommodation is responsible for submitting the request
and providing reasonable documentation to substantiate the need for accommodation.
Refer to the Candidate Request for Testing Accommodation packet, available on the
Board’s website, for instructions on how to submit your request, or contact the Board
directly to request the packet be mailed to you.

e PROCESSING TIME WILL VARY DEPENDING ON THE VOLUME OF REQUESTS
RECEIVED FROM APPLICANTS.
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10.

11.

12.

NONDISCRIMINATION AND ADA COORDINATOR

The Executive Officer of the Board has been designated to coordinate and carry out the
Board’'s compliance with the nondiscrimination requirements of Title Il of the Americans
with Disabilities Act (ADA). Information concerning the provisions of the ADA, and the
rights provided hereunder, are available from the ADA coordinator.

EXAM REQUIREMENT FOR RENEWAL OF ASW REGISTRATION

If you continue to hold an ASW registration after submitting your licensure application,
you will be required to take the LCSW California Law and Ethics Exam in order to renew.
A registration will not be renewable until the exam has been taken. For more information,
see Examination News on the Board’s website.

INITIAL LICENSE APPLICATION AND FEE

Once you have passed both examinations, you will be required to submit a Request for
Initial License form, along with the fee indicated on the form, in order to have your license
issued. This form is available on the Board’s website, or you may request one be mailed
to you.

PUBLIC ADDRESS and CHANGE OF ADDRESS

The address you enter on any Board form is public information and will be placed on the
Internet pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 27. If you do not want your
home or work address available to the public, use an alternate mailing address, such as a
post office box. California law requires all persons regulated by the Board to notify the
Board in writing within 30 days of any change of address.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
To obtain a copy of the Board’s Statutes and Regulations, please-download it from the
Board’'s website or submit a written request to the Board.

MANDATORY REPORTER

Under California law each person licensed by the Board of Behavioral Sciences is a
“mandated reporter” for both child, elder and/or dependent adult abuse or neglect
purposes. California Penal Code section 11166 and Welfare and Institutions Code section
15630 require that all mandated reporters make a report to an agency specified [generally
law enforcement, state, and/or county adult protective services agencies, etc... | in Penal
Code section 11165.9 and Welfare and Institutions Code section 15630(b)(1) whenever
the mandated reporter, in his or her professional capacity or within the scope of his or her
employment, has knowledge of or observes a child, elder and/or dependent adult whom
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the mandated reporter knows or reasonably suspects has been the victim of child abuse or
elder abuse or neglect.

The mandated reporter must make a report of such abuse or neglect immediately, or as
soon as practically possible, in the manner specified in Penal Code Section 11166 (for
child abuse or neglect) or in Welfare and Institutions Code Section 15630 (for elder or
dependent adult abuse or neglect).

Failure to comply with the requirements of Penal Code Section 11166 or Welfare and
Institutions Code Section 15630 is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in a
county jail, by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both imprisonment and fine.
For further details about these requirements, consult Penal Code sections 11164 and
Welfare and Institutions Code section 15630, and subsequent sections.

13. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OR OTHER TAXPAYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER
Disclosure of your tax identification number on your application is mandatory. You may
provide either your Social Security Number, Federal Employer Identification Number, or
Individual Taxpayer ldentification Number, as applicable. Section 30 of the Business and
Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USCA 405 (c) (2) (c)) authorizes collection
of these tax identification numbers. Your tax identification number will be used
exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgment
or order for family support in accordance with section 17520 of the Family Code, or for
verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which
utilizes a national examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting
state. If you fail to disclose your tax identification number, your application for initial or
renewal license will not be processed AND you will be reported to the Franchise Tax
Board, which may assess a $100 penalty against you.

14. STATE TAX OBLIGATION — EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012
Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 31(e), the State Board of
Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board may share taxpayer information with the
Board. If a licensee or registrant does not pay his or her state tax obligation, the
individual’s license or registration may be suspended.

15. NOTICE OF COLLECTION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION:
The Board of Behavioral Sciences of the Department of Consumer Affairs collects the
personal information requested in the LCSW Application for Licensure and Examination
packet as authorized by Business and Professions Code Sections 4996.2, 4996.17,
4996.18, Article 2 of Chapter 14 (commencing with section 4992 of the Business and
Professions Code), Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations Sections 1805 and
1806, and the Information Practices Act.
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The Board uses this information principally to identify and evaluate applicants for
licensure, issue and renew licenses and registrations, and enforce licensing standards set
by statutes and regulations.

Mandatory Submission. Submission of the requested information is mandatory. The
Board cannot consider your application for registration, licensure or renewal unless you
provide all of the requested information (unless requested information is identified as
voluntary or optional).

Access to Personal Information. You may review the records maintained by the
Board of Behavioral Sciences that contain your personal information, as permitted by
the Information Practices Act. See below for contact information.

Possible Disclosure of Personal Information. We make every effort to protect the
personal information you provide us. The information you provide, however, may be
disclosed in the following circumstances:

e Inresponse to a Public Records Act request (Government Code Section 6250 and
following), as allowed by the Information Practices Act (Civil Code Section 1798 and
following);

e To another government agency as required by state or federal law; or

e Inresponse to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant.

Contact Information. For questions about this notice or access to your records, you may
contact the Board at (916) 574-7830 or by email at BBS.info@dca.ca.gov. For questions
about the Department of Consumer Affairs’ privacy policy or the Information Practices Act,
you may contact the Department of Consumer Affairs, 1625 North Market Blvd.,
Sacramento, CA 95834, (800) 952-5210 or email dca@dca.ca.gov.
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Information for Out of State
Licensed Clinical Social Worker Applicants

The Board of Behavioral Sciences (BBS) does not have reciprocity with any other state
licensing board. Any person seeking a license in California will need to meet all requirements
mandated by California law prior to being issued a LCSW license. The application process for
an out-of-state applicant, as well as the qualifications required, may differ depending on the
following:

1. Whether you are licensed at an equivalent level in another state and for how long;

2. The amount of supervised experience you have completed and whether it is
substantially equivalent to California’s requirements; and,

3. Whether you have passed the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Clinical
Exam.

The information in this document is only provided as a general guide. For additional details
and instructions, see the “Application Instructions” section of the LCSW Application for
Licensure and Examination (Application Instructions). For more information about
requirements pertaining to LCSW licensure, see the Board’s Statutes and Regulations.

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

LCSW California Law and Ethics Exam:

You may sign up to take the California Law and Ethics Exam after one of the following
occurs: (1) after your registration as an Associate Clinical Social Worker (ASW) has been
issued; or (2) after approval of your LCSW Application for Licensure and Examination (if you
are not applying for ASW registration).

Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Clinical Exam:

If you need to take the ASWB Clinical Exam, you may sign up to take it after both (1) passing
the California Law and Ethics Exam, and (2) approval of your LCSW Application for
Licensure and Examination. If you have already taken and passed the ASWB Clinical Exam
for another jurisdiction, the Board may be able to accept your passing score. Refer to the
Application Instructions, section G.4, for qualifying details.

37A-529 (Revised 12/2016) 1


http://www.bbs.ca.gov/
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf

SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS

If you currently hold an active license
as an LCSW in another state, and
have held that license for four (4) or
MORE years immediately preceding
the date of your California
application:

You do not need to provide documentation of your
supervised experience.

If you currently hold an active license
as an LCSW in another state, and
have held that license for LESS than
four (4) years:

The vast majority of applicants in this category do not
need to provide documentation of supervised
experience, as most states also require at least 3,200
hours of supervised experience.

If your license was issued in a state that required less
than 3,200 hours, you may count up to 100 hours for
each month actively licensed, for a maximum of 1,200
hours. If you are still short, you must document additional
experience on the Out-of-State Experience Verification
form to total 3,200 hours (or gain in-state supervised
experience while registered as an ASW).

If your out-of-state license is not
current or active at the time of
application:

Contact your state board to see if you can reinstate your
license to an active status prior to submitting your
application to the Board of Behavioral Sciences. If you
are unable to do so, you must follow the instructions for
unlicensed applicants.

If you are unlicensed:

You will need to submit verification of substantially
equivalent supervised experience totaling 3,200 hours
and 104 supervised weeks. This experience must have
been gained within the six (6) years prior to your
California application. If any experience will be obtained
in California, you must register as an ASW first. See the
Application Instructions for more information.

The following scenarios will help you determine your specific requirements,
which are in addition to a qualifying Master’s degree in Social Work (MSW):
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SCENARIOS

UNLICENSED OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS

Scenario A

Applicant is unlicensed and has completed LESS THAN 3,200 hours (or less than 104
supervised weeks) of post-degree supervised experience that is substantially equivalent to
California’s requirements

NOTE: Experience (gained in-state or out-of-state) may be accepted only if it is less than 6
years old as of the date you submit your LCSW Application for Licensure and Examination.

Steps to take:

1. Have the supervisor(s) of your out-of-state experience provide verification of your
experience. An Out-of-State Experience Verification form should be used for this
purpose.

2. Have the other state’s licensing agency verify the registration you held while gaining
supervised experience. An Out-of-State License or Registration Verification form
should be used for this purpose.

3. Have the other state’s licensing agency verify your supervisor’s license. An Out-of-
State License or Registration Verification form should be used for this purpose.

4. Take an 18-hour course in California Law and Ethics.
5. Register as an Associate Clinical Social Worker (ASW).

6. After your ASW registration is issued, sign up to take the LCSW California Law and
Ethics Exam.

7. Gain experience to total 3,200 hours of supervised experience and 104 supervised
weeks.

8. Complete all other additional coursework requirements (see Application Instructions).
9. Complete and submit the LCSW Application for Licensure and Examination

10. After passing the Law and Ethics Exam, pass the ASWB Clinical Exam. If you already
passed the ASWB Clinical Exam for another jurisdiction and your passing score is less
than seven (7) years old, the Board may be able to accept your passing score. See
Application Instructions section G.4 for more information.
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UNLICENSED OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS

Scenario B

Applicant is unlicensed and has completed supervised post-degree experience out-of-state
that FULLY satisfies California’s requirements

NOTE: Experience (gained in-state or out-of-state) may be accepted only if it is less than 6
years old as of the date you submit your LCSW Application for Licensure and Examination.

Steps to take:

1. Have the supervisor(s) of your out-of-state experience provide verification of your
experience. An Out-of-State Experience Verification form should be used for this
purpose.

2. Have the other state’s licensing agency verify the registration you held while gaining
supervised experience. An Out-of-State License or Registration Verification form
should be used for this purpose.

3. Have the other state’s licensing agency verify your supervisor’s license. An Out-of-
State License or Registration Verification form should be used for this purpose.

4. Complete all additional coursework requirements (see Application Instructions).

5. Complete and submit the LCSW Application for Licensure and Examination, and once
approved, pass the LCSW California Law and Ethics Exam, and the ASWB Clinical
Exam. If you already passed the ASWB Clinical Exam for another jurisdiction and your
passing score is less than seven (7) years old, the Board may be able to accept your
passing score. See application instructions section G.4 for more information.

37A-529 (Revised 12/2016) 4




LICENSED OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS

Scenario C

e Applicant currently holds an active LCSW license in another state, and has held this
license for LESS than four (4) years AND

e The state that issued the applicant’s license requires LESS THAN 3,200 hours of
supervised experience

Steps to take:

1.

2.

Take an 18-hour course in California Law and Ethics.

Have the other state’s licensing agency verify your license. An Out-of-State License or
Registration Verification form should be used for this purpose.

Determine whether you have enough time actively licensed out-of-state to meet the
requirement of 3,200 hours of supervised experience (you may count 100 hours per
month of licensure, for a maximum of 1,200 hours).

If you still have less than 3,200 hours, you must register as an ASW and gain
additional supervised experience to total 3,200 hours.

Complete all additional coursework requirements (see Application Instructions).

Complete and submit the LCSW Application for Licensure and Examination, and once
approved:

e Pass the LCSW California Law and Ethics Exam. (Note: If you register as an ASW
you can apply to take the Law and Ethics Exam as soon as your registration is
issued).

e Pass the ASWB Clinical Exam. You can sign up to take the ASWB after approval of
your LCSW Application for Licensure and Examination and after passing the Law
and Ethics Exam. If you have already passed the ASWB Clinical Exam, see
application instructions section G.4 for information on accepting your passing
score.
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LICENSED OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS

Scenario D

e Applicant currently holds an active LCSW license in another state, and has held this
license for LESS than four (4) years AND

e The state that issued the applicant’s license requires 3,200 hours OR MORE of
supervised experience

OR

Scenario E

Applicant currently holds an active LCSW license in another state, and has held this license
for four (4) or MORE years immediately preceding the date of the California application.

Steps to take:
1. Take an 18-hour course in California Law and Ethics.

2. Have the other state’s licensing agency verify your license. An Out-of-State License or
Registration Verification form should be used for this purpose.

3. Complete all additional coursework requirements (see Application Instructions).

4. Complete and submit the LCSW Application for Licensure and Examination, and once
approved:
e Pass the LCSW California Law and Ethics Exam; AND

e Pass the ASWB Clinical Exam. You can sign up to take the ASWB after approval of
your LCSW Application for Licensure and Examination and after passing the Law
and Ethics Exam. If you have already passed the ASWB Clinical Exam, see
application instructions section G.4 for information on accepting your passing
score.
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA — BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY

Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr.

Board of Behavioral Sciences
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834
Telephone: (916) 574-7830  TDD: (800) 326-2297

www.hbs.ca.gov

LICENSED CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER

APPLICATION FOR
LICENSURE AND EXAMINATION

$100 FEE MUST ACCOMPANY THIS FORM
Make check payable to - Behavioral Sciences Fund

For Office Use Only:

Cashiering No.

Type or print clearly in ink
1. Legal Name* Last First Middle
2. If you have ever been known by another name, list the full name(s) and

dates of use below (attach additional names and dates): ATTACH A

Full Name Dates of Use (to/from)

PHOTOGRAPH TAKEN
Full Name Dates of Use (to/from) WITHIN 60 DAYS
OF FILING

3. Address of Record** Number and Street

THIS APPLICATION

(Head and
City State Zip Code Shoulders Only)
4. Business Telephone 5. Residence Telephone
6. E-Mail Address (OPTIONAL) 7. Birth Date: mm/dd/yyyy
8. SSN or ITIN*** 9. Qualifying Degree Title 10. Name of School

11. Have you ever served in the United States Armed Forces ~ Yes, Currently [ ] No[]
or the California National Guard? (OPTIONAL) Yes, Previously [ ]
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Applicant Name: Last First

Middle

12. Have you ever applied for or been issued a license, registration or Yes [] No []
certificate to practice clinical social work or any other healing art in
California or any other state?
If YES, provide the information requested below (continue on an additional
sheet if needed):
Type of License, Approximate License,
Registration Date of Registration or Date
State or Certificate Application Certificate Number Issued Status

13. Have you completed the following courses? See application instructions #E for specific
requirements. If coursework or training is not identified on transcripts, submit a copy of the

certificate of completion.

A. Child Abuse Assessment & Reporting (7 hours) Yes [ ] No []
B. Human Sexuality (10 hours) Yes [ ] No []
C. Alcoholism & Other Chemical Dependency (15 hours) Yes [ ] No []
D. Spousal or Partner Abuse Assessment, Detection and Intervention Yes [ ] No []
(See Application Instructions, Section E for number of hours required)
E. Aging, Long-Term Care & Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse (10 hours) Yes [ ] No []
F. California Law & Ethics (18 hours for applicants with out-of-state Yes [ ] No []
education ONLY)
14. Are you an in-state applicant who was a paid employee for all or a portionof  Yes [ ] No []
your supervised experience?
If YES, attach a copy of your W-2(s) as described in the application
instructions
15. Are you an in-state applicant who was a volunteer for all or a portion of your Yes [ ] No []

supervised experience?

If YES, attach a copy of the letter from your employer verifying your voluntary
status.
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Applicant Name: Last

First

Middle

16. Have you passed the National Association of Social Work Board’s (ASWB) Yes[] No[]
Clinical Level Examination? If YES, provide documentation as described in the

application instructions.

BACKGROUND QUESTIONS

A. Have you been convicted of, pled guilty to, or pled nolo
contendere to any misdemeanor or felony in the United
States, its territories, or a foreign country? Convictions

dismissed under sections 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 1203.41 of

the Penal Code (or equivalent non-California law) must be
disclosed. If you have obtained a dismissal of such a
conviction, submit a certified copy of the court order.

DO NOT INCLUDE:

e Convictions prior to your 18" birthday, unless you were

charged as an adult;

¢ Charges dismissed under section 1000.3 of the Penal

Code;

e Convictions under sections 11357(b), (c), (d), (e) or

section 11360(b) of the Health and Safety Code which

are two (2) years or older;
e Traffic violations for which a fine of $500 or less was

imposed; or
e Infractions

Yes [ ] No [ ]

If YES, you must complete Part A
of the Background Statement form,
available on the Board’s website.

You must disclose convictions even
if previously reported to the Board.
However, it is not necessary for you
to resubmit documentation
previously on file. Instead, provide
a written statement indicating that
you believe the information is
already on file.

B. Is any criminal action pending against you, or are you

currently awaiting judgment and sentencing following entry

of a plea or jury verdict?

DO NOT INCLUDE:

e Traffic violations for which a fine of $500 or less was

imposed; or

e Infractions

Yes [ ] No [ ]

If YES, you must complete Part B of
the Background Statement form,
available on the Board’s website.
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Applicant Name: Last First

Middle

C. Have you ever been denied a professional license
(“license” includes registrations, certificates, or other
means to engage in practice) OR had a professional
license privilege suspended, revoked, or otherwise
disciplined, OR voluntarily surrendered any such license in
California or any other state or territory of the United
States, or by any other governmental agency or a foreign
country?

Yes No

If YES, you must complete Part C
of the Background Statement form,
available on the Board’s website.

Disclosure is required even if
previously reported to the Board.
However, it is not necessary for you
to resubmit documentation
previously on file. Instead, provide a
written statement indicating that you
believe the information is already
on file.

D. Does your current use of chemical substances in any way
impair or limit your ability to interact safely with the public
while engaging in the practice of clinical social work?

Yes No N/A

If YES, you must complete Part D of
the Background Statement form,
available on the Board’s website.

NOTE: Knowingly providing false information or omitting pertinent information may be
grounds for denial of this application. The board has the right to refuse to issue any
registration or license, or may suspend or revoke the license or registration of any registrant
or licensee if the applicant secures the license or registration by fraud, deceit, or

misrepresentation.

Signature of Applicant:

Date:

* You must use your legal name. Your “legal name” is the name established legally by your birth
certificate, marriage or domestic partnership certificate, or divorce decree (for example).
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** The address you enter on this application is public information and will be placed on the
Internet pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 27. All correspondence from the
Board will be sent to this address. If you do not want your home or work address available to
the public, use an alternate mailing address such as a PO box.

*** Disclosure of your tax identification number is mandatory. You may provide either your Social
Security Number, Federal Employer Identification Number, or Individual Taxpayer Identification
Number, as applicable. This number must match the number you provide on your fingerprint forms.
Section 30 of the Business and Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USCA 405 (c) (2) (c))
authorizes collection of these tax identification numbers. Your tax identification number will not be
deemed a public record and shall not be open to the public. Your tax identification number will be
used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgment or
order for family support in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, or for verification of
licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national
examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your
tax identification number, your application for initial or renewal license will not be processed AND you
will be reported to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a $100 penalty against you.
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA - BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr.

Board of Behavioral Sciences

1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834
Telephone: (916) 574-7830 TTY: (800) 326-2297
www.bbs.ca.gov

CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER
IN-STATE EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION

Have your supervisor complete this form as follows:

0 Use a separate form for each supervisor o Provide an original signature in ink and have
and employer the signer initial any changes
0 Make sure this form is complete and 0 Submit with your Application for Licensure
correct prior to signing and Examination
APPLICANT NAME: ASW Number:

APPLICANT'S EMPLOYER INFORMATION

Name of Applicant’'s Employer: Telephone

Address: Number and Street City State| Zip Code

1. Did this setting lawfully and regularly provide clinical social work, mental health counseling or
psychotherapy? [ ]Yes [ ]No

2. Did this setting provide oversight to ensure the ASW'’s work met the experience requirements and
was within the scope of practice? [ ]Yes [ ]No

SUPERVISOR INFORMATION

Supervisor's Name Telephone Email Address (OPTIONAL)

License Type License Number State Date First Licensed

If a physician, were you certified in Psychiatry by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology during
the entire period of supervision? [ ]Yes [ JNo [ ]N/A

If YES, provide certificate number:
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APPLICANT NAME: ASW#:

SUPERVISOR INFORMATION (continued)

Were you (the supervisor) employed by the supervisee’s employer? [ ]Yes [ |No

If NO, did you and the supervisee’s employer sign a letter of agreement wherein you agreed to take
supervisory responsibility for the associate’s social work services? [ ]Yes [ ]No

EXPERIENCE INFORMATION: Dates of experience: From to
(mm/dd/yyyy) (mm/dd/yyyy)

1. Total supervised weeks (Minimum 104 overall):

2. Total hours in individual supervision (Minimum 52 overall):

3. Total hours in group supervision:

4. Average hours worked per week (Maximum 40):

5. Total hours in clinical psychosocial diagnosis, assessment, and treatment, including A
individual or group psychotherapy / counseling (Minimum 2,000 overall):

6. Of the above hours, how many were gained performing face-to-face individual or
group psychotherapy/counseling (Minimum 750 overall):

7. Total hours in client-centered advocacy, consultation, evaluation, research and direct B.
supervisor contact* (Maximum 1,200 overall):

8. Total hours of experience (Minimum 3,200 overall): (A+B=C) |C.
9. Was one (1) additional hour of face-to-face individual OR two (2) additional hours of []Yes
face-to-face group supervision provided for every week in which more than 10 hours of [INo

face-to-face psychotherapy was performed?

*A maximum of six (6) hours of direct supervisor contact per week may be counted toward
the 1,200 hours.

NOTE: Knowingly providing false information or omitting pertinent information may be
grounds for denial of the application. The Board may take disciplinary action on a licensee
who helps an applicant obtain a license by fraud, deceit or misrepresentation. All information
on this form is subject to verification.

Signature of Supervisor: Date:
ORIGINAL SIGNATURE REQUIRED
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA - BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr.

Board of Behavioral Sciences

1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834
Telephone: (916) 574-7830 TTY: (800) 326-2297
www.bbs.ca.gov

CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER
OUT OF STATE EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION

Have your out-of-state supervisor complete this form as follows:

0 Use a separate form for each supervisor and o Provide an original signature in ink and
employer have the signer initial any changes

0 Make sure this form is complete and correct 0 Submit with your Application for Licensure
prior to signing and Examination

APPLICANT NAME:

APPLICANT'S EMPLOYER INFORMATION

Applicant's Employer’'s Name: Telephone

Address: Number and Street City State| Zip Code

SUPERVISOR INFORMATION

Supervisor's Name Telephone Email Address (OPTIONAL)
Address: Number and Street City State | Zip Code
License Type License Number State Date First Licensed

If a physician, were you certified in Psychiatry by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology during
the entire period of supervision? [ ]Yes [ ]No

If YES, provide certificate number:
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APPLICANT NAME:

EXPERIENCE INFORMATION

Dates of experience: From to
(mm/dd/yyyy) (mm/dd/yyyy)

1. Total supervised weeks (Minimum 104 overall):

2. Total hours in individual supervision (Minimum 52 overall):

3. Total hours in group supervision:

4. Hours worked per week (Maximum 40):

5. Total hours in clinical psychosocial diagnosis, assessment, and treatment, including A.
individual or group psychotherapy / counseling (Minimum 2,000 overall):

6. Of the above hours, how many were gained performing face-to-face individual or
group psychotherapy/counseling (Minimum 750 overall):

7. Total hours in client-centered advocacy, consultation, evaluation, research and direct B.
supervisor contact* (Maximum 1,200 overall):

8. Total hours of experience (Minimum 3,200 overall): (A+B=C) |C.

NOTE: Knowingly providing false information or omitting pertinent information may be
grounds for denial of the application. The Board may take disciplinary action on a licensee
who helps an applicant obtain a license by fraud, deceit or misrepresentation. All information
on this form is subject to verification.

Signature of Supervisor: Date:
ORIGINAL SIGNATURE REQUIRED
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA - BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr.

Board of Behavioral Sciences

1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834
Telephone: (916) 574-7830  TTY: (800) 326-2297
www.bbs.ca.gov

LICENSED CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER
OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE OR REGISTRATION VERIFICATION

APPLICANT: Complete this section authorizing release of information by another state board or
licensing agency. Mail this form and any necessary fees to that state board/licensing agency.

Verification For: [ ] Applicant [ ] Applicant’s Supervisor
Name of California Applicant:
Last First Middle | BBS File Number or ASW
Number

Name of Individual to be Verified:
Last First Middle License Number

| hereby authorize the release of my information to the California Board of Behavioral Sciences

Signature of individual to be verified: Date:

STATE BOARD/LICENSING AGENCY: Please return the completed form to the above address.

1. Full name as shown in your records:

2. License or Registration Title:

3. License or Registration Status:

Issue Date: Expiration Date:

4. Any complaints or disciplinary action? [ ]Yes [ ]No If YES, attach an explanation.

5. Experience: A. Total hours of supervised experience:

B. Total years of supervised experience:

C. Number of direct client contact hours:

Signature of Person Completing Form Date

Brinted Name and Title State Board/Licensing Agency
Stamp Here

State Board or Licensing Agency Name

State Phone Number
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA - BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr.

Board of Behavioral Sciences

1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834
Telephone: (916) 574-7830  TTY: (800) 326-2297
www.bbs.ca.gov

EXAMINATION SECURITY AGREEMENT

California statutes authorize state agencies to maintain the security of their licensing
examinations. Section 123 of the Business and Professions Code states:

“It is a misdemeanor for any person to engage in any conduct which subverts or attempts
to subvert any licensing examination or the administration of an examination...”

Conduct that subverts or attempts to subvert a licensing examination includes:

e Removal of examination materials from the examination room;

e Unauthorized reproduction of any and all portions of a licensing examination;

e Acquisition of examination materials before, during, or after the examination;

e Preparation or instruction of applicants for the examination with the aid of examination
material;

e Paying or using professional examination takers to reconstruct any portions of a licensing
examination;

e Buying, selling, or receiving future, current, or previously administered examination materials;

e Communicating with other candidates during the examination or permitting one’s answers to
be copied by another candidate;

e Impersonating another candidate or having another person take the examination on one’s
behalf.

A person found guilty of any of these acts is liable for damages sustained by the agency
administering the examination in an amount not to exceed $10,000, plus the costs of
litigation. In addition, a board may deny, suspend, revoke, or otherwise restrict the license
of an applicant or a licensee who has violated the above.

COMPLETE THIS SECTION

| have read and fully understand the above requirements and hereby certify that | am the
person named below who applied for licensure with the Board of Behavioral Sciences.

License Application Type: LCSW [ ] MFT [] LEP [] LPcC []

Candidate’s Name:
(print) Last First Middle

Date of Birth:

Candidate’s
Signature: Date
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