
   

   
 

 
   

 

 

     
    

 
         
   

     
 

 
    

     
 

    
  

    

   
  

  
 

   
  

     
  

   
     

     
  
  

   

  
  

     
  

     

GUIDE TO LPCC OUT-OF-STATE 
APPLICANT REQUIREMENTS 

FOR APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED
 
ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 2016
 

The Board of Behavioral Sciences does not have reciprocity with any other state licensing 
board. Any applicant, whether licensed or unlicensed, will need to meet all requirements 
mandated by California law prior to being issued a Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor 
(LPCC) license. The information in this document is a summary and is provided only as a 
general guide to requirements. For more information, see the application instructions, as 
well as the applicable California Statutes and Regulations sections 4999.60, 4999.61, 
4999.62 and 4999.63. 

For questions about educational requirements, contact:  bbs.pcci@dca.ca.gov 
For questions about supervised experience requirements, contact: bbs.lpcc@dca.ca.gov 

The application process for an out-of-state applicant, as well as the qualifications required, 
may differ depending on the following: 

1. Whether you are licensed in another state, and for how long. 

2. The amount of supervised experience you have completed and whether it is 
substantially equivalent to California’s requirements. 

3. Your degree and other coursework you have completed. 

Education, Supervised Experience and Examinations 
•	 If you are unsure whether your degree or other coursework qualifies (or is deficient), 

submit your intern or licensure application and fee, and we will provide you with the 
results of the evaluation. 

•	 Regardless of whether you are licensed, you must meet California’s supervised 
experience requirement of 3,000 hours gained over a minimum two-year period. 

•	 Credit for Time Actively Licensed: If you hold a LPCC license in another state and need 
additional experience to meet California’s requirements, you may count up to 100 hours 
for every month licensed toward the supervised experience requirement, for a maximum 
of 1,200 hours. These hours do not need to be verified. 

•	 Any supervised experience in California must be gained while registered as a PCC 
Intern. 

•	 You will be required to pass the LPCC California Law and Ethics examination. You may 
take this examination upon registration as an intern or upon approval of your licensing 
application. After passing the Law and Ethics exam, you will be required to pass the 
National Clinical Mental Health Counselor’s Exam (NCMHCE). See application 
instructions for more information. 

37A-660 (Rev. 12/2015) 

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
mailto:bbs.pcci@dca.ca.gov
mailto:bbs.lpcc@dca.ca.gov
mailto:bbs.lpcc@dca.ca.gov
mailto:bbs.pcci@dca.ca.gov


 

  
 

 

 

  
  

  
 

    
   

 
   

  
 

    
 

 
   

 
 

  
 

 
  

 

  
 

 
   

 

  
 

  
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 
 

 

 
 

  
  

 

  
 

  
  

 

 
 

  
 

 

 
  

 
  

 

 

  
 

 
 

BBS Guide to 2016 LPCC Out-of-State Education Requirements
 

1. OVERALL 
DEGREE 
UNITS 

Degree program began 
prior to 8/1/2012 

Degree program began 
after 8/1/2012 

Minimum 48 semester units or 72 quarter units 
within degree or will not qualify 

• Minimum 48 semester or 72 quarter units 
within degree or will not qualify 

• Must complete 60 semester units or 90 quarter 
units total 

• Must remediate prior to approval of licensing 
application 

4. ADVANCED COURSEWORK 
• 15 semester units or 22.5 quarter units to 

develop knowledge of specific treatment 
issues or special populations 

• Must remediate prior to approval of 
licensing application 

5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK 
• Must remediate prior to approval of 

licensing application 

2. CORE CONTENT 
AREAS 

• Minimum 7 of 13 areas 
must be within degree or 
will not qualify 

• If unlicensed: Must 
remediate prior to intern 
registration 

• If licensed: Must 
remediate prior to 
approval of licensing 
application 

2A. 
California 
Law and 

Ethics 
Course 

Completed a 3 
semester unit or 4.5 
quarter unit course 

but no California 
content 

No course or course 
is short units 

18-hour California 
Law and Ethics course 

prior to issuance of 
intern registration 

3 semester unit or 4.5 
quarter unit California 
Law and Ethics course 

prior to issuance of 
intern registration 

3. PRACTICUM OR 
FIELD STUDY 
• 6 semester or 9 

quarter units and 
• 280 hours of face-

to-face counseling 

Licensed out-of-state for 
2 or more years 

Licensed out-of-state for 
less than 2 years 

Unlicensed 

Requirement waived 

Units waived, must remediate hours 
while an intern 

Degree program must meet unit and 
hour requirements or will not qualify 

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/lpcc_program/lpcc_01012016_adv_coursework.shtml
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/lpcc_program/lpcc_13_core_content_areas.shtml
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/lpcc_program/lpcc_13_core_content_areas.shtml

