

### Instructions and Important Information

#### Read Carefully Before Completing Your Application

#### Renew online at <u>www.breeze.ca.gov</u> for faster processing

#### **REQUIRED CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR ACTIVE STATUS**

The continuing education (CE) hours listed below, including specific courses, are required to renew your license with an Active status. All CE must have been taken from a Board-accepted provider during your renewal period [between the first day after your last expiration date (or issue date) and the date you sign the renewal form]. Please see the <u>CE Chart</u> and <u>CE Information</u> <u>Brochure</u> for further details.

#### **OVERALL CE REQUIREMENTS**

- If renewing a <u>new</u> license for the first time, and it expires ON or BEFORE July 1, 2023; OR
- If renewing a <u>new</u> license for the first time and your renewal application is received by the Board PRIOR to July 1, 2023 (regardless of expiration date):
  - 18 hours of CE are required overall to renew your license

#### All other applicants:

• 36 hours of CE are required overall to renew your license

#### COURSE-SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS

- 1. All Applicants: A 6-hour Law and Ethics course is required each renewal period.
- For Renewal applications postmarked ON or AFTER July 1, 2023: A one-time 3-hour course in the *Provision of Mental Health Services via Telehealth* is required if not previously taken (must include law and ethics related to telehealth). See <u>FAQ</u> for more information (access at www.bbs.ca.gov> FAQs/Updates>Updates).
- 3. **If Renewing a Delinquent License that Expired PRIOR TO January 1, 2023:** A one-time 6-hour training in *Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention* is required if not previously taken. Note: Can also be completed via supervised training see FAQ for more information.
  - ⇒ Courses for #2 and #3 above may have been taken at any time prior to submission of your application. However, in order for the hours to count toward your overall hours of CE, you must have taken a course from a Board-accepted provider within your renewal period.

**Do NOT submit proof of CE– retain it in your files in case of audit.** You must retain your CE certificates for at least two years from the date of your renewal. The Board performs random CE audits. If audited, you must provide copies of your CE certificates at that time. A citation and fine and/or disciplinary action may be assessed if you are found to be out of compliance.

#### **CONVICTION OR DISCIPLINE**

## Check the box next to "Yes" on the application if, since your last renewal, either of the following have occurred:

 You have had any license (includes registrations, certificates, or other means to engage in practice) disciplined by a government agency. "Discipline" includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender, probation or any other restriction. "License" includes professional registrations, certificates, or other means to engage in practice. Do not report disciplinary action taken by the California Board of Behavioral Sciences;

#### OR

- 2. You been convicted of, pled guilty to, or pled nolo contendere to any misdemeanor or felony in the United States, its territories, or a foreign country? Convictions dismissed under sections 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 1203.41 of the Penal Code (or equivalent non-California law) must be disclosed. If you have obtained a dismissal of such a conviction, submit a certified copy of the court order. Do NOT include:
  - Offenses prior to your 18<sup>th</sup> birthday
  - Charges dismissed under section 1000.3 of the Penal Code
  - Convictions under sections 11357(b), (c), (d), (e) or section 11360(b) of the Health and Safety Code which are two (2) years or older
  - Traffic violations for which a fine of \$500 or less was imposed
  - Infractions

#### **HOW TO APPLY**

Do NOT mail your application more than 90 days prior to your expiration date.

- Renew online at <u>www.breeze.ca.gov</u> OR complete the attached application.
- If you have a name change that you would like processed with your application, you
  must attach the "Notification of Name Change" form and all required documentation.
  This form is available online at <a href="https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/change\_name.pdf">https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/change\_name.pdf</a>. Your
  license will reflect your new name <u>only</u> if a complete application is received. Do not send
  original documents unless specifically requested.
- FEE: Attach a check or money order in the amount shown below payable to "Behavioral Sciences Fund":

-	ACTIVE RI	ENEWAL FEE	•	INACTIVE R	RENEWAL FEE
License Type	On Time	Delinquent*		On Time	Delinquent*
LMFT LCSW LPCC	\$220	\$320		\$120	\$170
LEP	\$200	\$300		\$100	\$150

\*IF RENEWAL IS POSTMARKED AFTER YOUR EXPIRATION DATE:

You must pay the Delinquent amount listed on the prior page. There is no grace period.

#### • Submit your application and fee to the address below:

Board of Behavioral Sciences 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200 Sacramento CA 95834

#### TO CONFIRM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION:

To confirm receipt, mail your application using a method that includes tracking. You may also contact your bank to see if your check has been cashed.

#### EMAIL AND MAILING ADDRESS REQUIREMENTS

Licensees are required to maintain a current mailing address with the Board. This address will appear on public license searches. Licensees are also required to maintain a current email address with the Board if they have one. Email addresses are not subject to public disclosure. If either of your addresses have changed, be sure to update it ASAP online at <u>www.breeze.ca.gov.</u>

#### APPLICATION PROCESSING TIME

Allow 30 days for processing. Once your application has been approved your license status will be updated online at <u>www.breeze.ca.gov</u>, and you will receive confirmation in the mail. **Do not assume your license has been renewed until you verify your status online.** 

#### EXPIRED LICENSE AND AUTOMATIC CANCELLATION

A license that is not renewed by its expiration date is deemed expired. It is illegal to practice on an expired license unless you are working in an exempt setting. In addition:

- You may not supervise or sign off experience hours while your license is expired.
- You are not entitled to payment by a client or third-party payor for services performed while your license is expired.
- A license that is not renewed within three (3) years after its expiration date will be cancelled. To become licensed again, you must reapply for a new license, meet all current requirements, and pass the licensing examinations.

#### **INACTIVE AND RETIRED STATUS OPTIONS**

If you are not practicing, you may place your license on Inactive or Retired status. A holder of an Inactive or Retired license may not engage in any activity for which an Active license is required, including all of the following:

(continued on next page)

#### **INACTIVE AND RETIRED STATUS OPTIONS (continued)**

- You may not provide psychotherapy unless you are working in an exempt setting.
- You may not supervise or sign off on experience hours.
- You are not entitled to payment by a client or third-party payor for services performed.

#### Inactive Licenses:

An Inactive license must be renewed every two years (the renewal fee is lower than for Active status). There is no penalty for having an Inactive status, you can renew Inactive indefinitely, and no CE is required. To return to Active status, you must complete the CE required at the time of reactivation, submit an *Inactive to Active License Status Change* application, and pay the remainder of the renewal fee.

#### Retired Licenses:

A Retired license never has to be renewed. However, you may only return to Active status within 3 years of the issuance of your Retired license. To do so, you must complete CE, obtain fingerprint clearance, and submit a *Retired to Active License Status Change* application and fee. A license that has been retired for three (3) years or longer is not eligible for reactivation.

To obtain an Inactive license:	To obtain a Retired license:
<ul> <li>Submit a complete Application for License Renewal;</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Meet all outstanding requirements for renewal; and</li> </ul>
<ul> <li>Mark the "Inactive Renewal" box; and</li> <li>Submit the Inactive renewal fee</li> </ul>	• Submit an <i>Application for Retired License</i> , available online at <u>https://www.bbs.ca.gov/licensees/manage.html</u>
Submit the Inactive renewal fee.	

#### **QUESTIONS?**

Please visit the **Contact Us** link at <u>www.bbs.ca.gov</u> and select an option under "Message the Board."

## APPLICATION FOR

Board of Behavioral Sciences

Attach Correct Fee

#### Carefully read the "Instructions and Important Information" FIRST

#### Do not submit more than 90 days prior to expiration date

#### Allow 30 Days for Processing

**RENEWAL STATUS - MARK ONE:** 

Renew at <u>www.breeze.ca.gov</u> for faster processing

Legal Name*:	Last	First	Middle	Amount Enclosed:	\$
License Type and Number:	LMFT #      LPCC #	LCSW # _ LEP #		License Expiration Date:	

➡ ACTIVE RENEWAL FEE

#### ➡ INACTIVE RENEWAL FEE

License Type	On Time	Delinquent	On Time	Delinquent
LMFT LCSW LPCC	\$220	\$320	\$120	\$170
LEP	\$200	\$300	\$100	\$150

# Active Renewal: I have completed the required hours of continuing education within the last two years and have attached the Active Renewal Fee as listed above. Renew my license with an Active status.

Inactive Renewal: I have attached the Inactive Renewal Fee as listed above. Renew my license with an Inactive status.

#### CONVICTION OR DISCIPLINE - MARK ONE: Yes No

Since your last renewal, have you been convicted of, pled guilty to, or pled nolo contendere to a misdemeanor or felony, or have you had any disciplinary action taken by any regulatory or licensing board in this or any other state, as described in the "Instructions and Important Information"?

\* You must use your legal name as established by your birth certificate, marriage or domestic partnership certificate, or divorce decree (for example). If you have a name change to be processed with your application, see the "How to Apply" section of the attached Instructions and Important Information.

I have read and understand the attached *Instructions and Important Information*. I swear under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all statements, answers and representations on this form are true, complete and accurate. I understand that providing false information or omitting pertinent information may be grounds for disciplinary action.