
Revised 07/2016 
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Information for Subsequent (2nd or 3rd) 
Marriage and Family Therapist Intern Registration Applicants 

1. Private Practice Restriction:  MFT Interns issued a subsequent registration are prohibited
from working in a private practice per Business and Professions Code (BPC) section
4984.01. There are no exceptions.

2. Applicants Must PASS the LMFT California Law and Ethics Exam as follows:

Subsequent Registration 
Application Postmark Date 

Exam Requirement 

Between January 1, 2016 and 
December 31, 2016 

You must PASS the LMFT California Law and 
Ethics Exam before you will be permitted to 
RENEW your subsequent registration. 

On or after January 1, 2017 You must PASS the LMFT California Law and 
Ethics Exam before the Board can ISSUE your 
subsequent registration. 

There are no exceptions to the above requirements, which are mandated by BPC section 
4980.399. If you do not pass, you will be eligible to retake the exam in 90 days. Submit your 
re-exam form and fee early, as the Board’s processing time will vary based on the volume 
of applications received. 

3. Name Changes:  If you have changed your legal name and have not yet notified the Board,
submit a Notification of Name Change form with your application along with the required
documentation.

4. Application Requirements:  Applicants must meet all requirements for intern registration that
area in effect at the time the subsequent registration application is submitted. Use the
scenarios below as a guide to determine the steps needed to complete your application.
For questions please contact the Board at (916) 574-7830 or BBS.IMF@dca.ca.gov.

Scenario A:  Applicant’s IMF number has been cancelled, and the Board has already 
approved the applicant’s supervised experience. The following are 
required: 

• Subsequent IMF Registration
Number Application

• 2x2 passport size photo
• $75.00 Application Fee

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/change_name.pdf
mailto:BBS.IMF@dca.ca.gov
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Scenario B:  Applicant has a current and valid IMF number that is due to expire or has 
been expired no longer than 30 days.  The following are required: 

• Subsequent IMF Registration 
Number Application 

• 2x2 passport size photo 
• $75.00 Application Fee 

 
Scenario C:  Applicant’s IMF number has been cancelled or expired for over 30 days, and 

the applicant’s supervised experience has not yet been approved by the 
Board. The following are required: 
• Subsequent IMF Registration 

Number Application 
• Official Transcripts 

• 2x2 passport size photo 
• $75.00 Application Fee 
• Live Scan Fingerprints 

 

Frequently Asked Questions 
Subsequent IMF Registration Applicants 

 

1. If I apply for a second number, will I lose all of my hours because they were 
gained under my first number? 

Not necessarily, but all hours of experience must be gained within the most recent six 
(6) years from the time the Board receives your Application for LMFT Licensure and 
Examination. Hours older than six (6) years from the time you apply will not count. For 
example:  The Board receives Susan’s Application for Licensure and Examination, 
postmarked on 4/27/2016. All of the hours she gained (under all IMF numbers) 
between 4/27/2010 and 4/27/2016 will be acceptable.  

 
2. Can I work in a private practice setting under my second (or third, etc.) IMF 

registration number? 

An applicant issued a subsequent IMF number is prohibited from working in a private 
practice setting. All other work settings are permissible. 

 
3. My supervised experience hours have been approved. Do I need a current IMF 

number to continue testing? 

Once your hours have been approved, you are no longer required to retain an IMF 
registration. However, you are required to keep an active and current registration if 
you are continuing to gain hours or if you are working in any setting OTHER THAN 
a school, a government agency, or an institution that is both nonprofit and 
charitable. Also, you may want to check with your employer to see if they require 
you to remain registered. 

 
4. Where can I get more information about the required Law and Ethics exam? 

See the Board’s Examination News page for information about the LMFT California 
Law and Ethics exam, including exam content, requirements and answers to 
frequently asked questions. The Request for Examination form is available on the 
Board’s website. 

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/exams/exam_news.shtml
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/forms.shtml#exam_related
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Board of Behavioral Sciences 
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APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION AS A  
MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST INTERN 

SUBSEQUENT IMF REGISTRATION NUMBER 

$75 FEE MUST ACCOMPANY THIS FORM 
Make check payable to Behavioral Sciences Fund 

Type or print clearly in ink 
1. Legal name*:   Last First Middle 

2. If you have ever been known by another name, list the full name(s) and
dates of use below (attach additional names and dates): ATTACH A  

PHOTOGRAPH TAKEN 

WITHIN 60 DAYS 

OF FILING 

THIS APPLICATION 

(Head and 
Shoulders Only) 

Full Name Dates of Use (to/from): 

Full Name Dates of Use (to/from): 

3. Address of Record** Number and Street 

City State Zip Code 

4. Business Telephone 5. Residence Telephone

6. E-Mail Address (OPTIONAL)

7. Birth Date:  mm/dd/yyyy 8. SSN or ITIN*** 9. Sex

10. Education: (Qualifying Degree) 11. Name of School, College or University

12. Have you ever served in the United States Armed
Forces or the California National Guard
(OPTIONAL)?

Yes, Currently  Yes, Previously No  

For Office Use Only: 

Cashiering No.  
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Applicant Name:    Last First Middle 

 
13. Have you ever applied for or been issued a license, registration or 

certificate to practice marriage and family therapy or any other healing art in 
California or any other state? 

 

If YES, provide the information requested below (continue on an additional 
sheet if needed): 

 

Yes  No  

State 

Type of License, 
Registration 
or Certificate 

Approximate 
Date of 

Application 

License, 
Registration or 

Certificate Number 
Date 

Issued Status 
      

      

      

      

 
BACKGROUND QUESTIONS 
 

A.   Have you been convicted of, pled guilty to, or pled nolo 
contendere to any misdemeanor or felony in the United 
States, its territories, or a foreign country? Convictions 
dismissed under sections 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 1203.41 of 
the Penal Code (or equivalent non-California law) must be 
disclosed. If you have obtained a dismissal of such a 
conviction, submit a certified copy of the court order. 
 

DO NOT INCLUDE: 
• Convictions prior to your 18th birthday, unless you were 

charged as an adult; 
• Charges dismissed under section 1000.3 of the Penal 

Code; 
• Convictions under sections 11357(b), (c), (d), (e) or 

section 11360(b) of the Health and Safety Code which 
are two (2) years or older; 

• Traffic violations for which a fine of $500 or less was 
imposed; or 

• Infractions 

Yes   No   

If YES, you must complete Part A 
of the “Background Statement” 
form, available on the Board’s 
website. 

You must disclose convictions even 
if previously reported to the Board.  
However, it is not necessary for you 
to resubmit documentation 
previously on file. Instead, provide 
a written statement indicating that 
you believe the information is 
already on file.  
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Applicant Name:     Last First Middle 

 

B.   Is any criminal action pending against you, or are you 
currently awaiting judgment and sentencing following 
entry of a plea or jury verdict? DO NOT INCLUDE: 

• Traffic violations for which a fine of $500 or less was 
imposed 

• Infractions 
 

Yes   No   

If YES, you must complete Part B 
of the “Background Statement” 
form, available on the Board’s 
website. 

C.   Have you ever been denied a professional license 
(“license” includes registrations, certificates, or other 
means to engage in practice) OR had a professional 
license privilege suspended, revoked, or otherwise 
disciplined, OR voluntarily surrendered any such license in 
California or any other state or territory of the United 
States, or by any other governmental agency or a foreign 
country? 

Yes   No   

If YES, you must complete Part C 
of the “Background Statement” 
form, available on the Board’s 
website. 

Disclosure is required even if 
previously reported to the Board.  
However, it is not necessary for you 
to resubmit documentation 
previously on file. Instead, provide a 
written statement indicating that you 
believe the information is already 
on file. 

 

D.   Does your current use of chemical substances in any way 
impair or limit your ability to conduct with safety to the 
public the practice of marriage and family therapy? 

Yes   No       N/A   

If YES, you must complete Part D of 
the “Background Statement” form, 
available on the Board’s website. 

 
NOTE:  Knowingly providing false information or omitting pertinent information may be 
grounds for denial of this application. The board has the right to refuse to issue any 
registration or license, or may suspend or revoke the license or registration of any registrant 
or licensee if the applicant secures the license or registration by fraud, deceit, or 
misrepresentation. 

 
Signature of Applicant:  ________________________________________ Date:___________ 
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* You must use your legal name. Your “legal name” is the name established legally by your birth 
certificate, marriage or domestic partnership certificate, or divorce decree (for example). 
 
 
** The address you enter on this application is public information and will be placed on the 
Internet pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 27. All correspondence from 
the Board will be sent to this address. If you do not want your home or work address 
available to the public, use an alternate mailing address. 
 
 
*** Disclosure of your tax identification number is mandatory. You may provide either your Social 
Security Number, Federal Employer Identification Number, or Individual Taxpayer Identification 
Number, as applicable. This number must match the number you provide on your fingerprint 
forms.  Section 30 of the Business and Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USCA 405 (c) 
(2) (c)) authorizes collection of these tax identification numbers.  Your tax identification number will be 
used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgment or 
order for family support in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, or for verification of 
licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national 
examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state.  If you fail to disclose your 
tax identification number, your application for initial or renewal license will not be processed AND you 
will be reported to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a $100 penalty against you. 
 


