CONTINUING EDUCATION

Hours Required for Renewal

36 hours of continuing education (CE) are
required during each two (2)-year license
renewal period. Newly licensed individuals
must complete only 18 hours of CE prior to
their first renewal. Courses may be credited to
only one renewal period, and cannot be
counted twice. You must have your CE
completed BEFORE submitting your renewal.

Exceptions
The following individuals are NOT required to
complete CE for license renewal:

e Your license status is “Inactive” or “Retired”

e You were granted an exception by the
Board. The Board may grant an exception
if, during the previous renewal period:

% You resided in another country for at
least one (1) year OR

& You were absent from California due to
military service for at least one (1) year

< For at least one (1) year during your
previous renewal period, you or an
immediate family member, for whom
you are the primary caregiver, had a
physical or mental disability or medical
condition.

For information on obtaining an exception,
please see the Request for Continuing
Education Exception form on the BBS website.

Mandatory Courses

Law and Ethics: ALL licensees are required
to complete at least six (6) hours of CE in
Law and Ethics as a condition of each and
every renewal. These hours count toward
the total 36 (or 18) hour requirement.

Each license type has additional, one-time
mandatory courses that must be
completed, as follows. For specific
information on these requirements, see the
Board’s website.

LPCCs: HIV/AIDS (7 hours)

LCSWs and LMFTs:

o HIV/AIDS (7 hours)

e Spousal/Partner Abuse* (7 hours)
e Aging/Long-Term Care* (3 hours)

*Requirement waived if you completed this
course in your degree program.

LEPs:

e Child Abuse Assessment and
Reporting (7 hours)

e Alcoholism and Substance
Dependency (15 hours)

Course Types and Content

The Board does not approve specific CE
courses, and has no information about
individual courses offered by providers.

Providers are required to ensure that the
content of a course is relevant to the practice
of marriage and family therapy, clinical
counseling, clinical social work or educational
psychology. Self-improvement courses and
courses designed for non-practitioners are not
acceptable.

To ensure that a course will count toward
your CE requirements, you must ensure the
provider is acceptable and maintain records
of course completion.

Licensees may obtain all of their CE
hours through interactive, electronic
means. This includes online,
teleconferencing and video.

ACCEPTABLE PROVIDERS

CE must be taken from an acceptable provider,
otherwise the course will not count toward your
renewal requirements. The law that defines the
types of acceptable CE providers is changing on
July 1, 2015, as detailed below.

Acceptable Providers for Courses Taken

PRIOR TO July 1, 2015:

e Provider holds a current, valid (unexpired)
Board-issued PCE number OR

e Provider is a regionally accredited or state-
approved college.

A list of BBS-approved providers is available on
the Board’'s website under Forms & Publications.
A list of the accredited and approved schools is
available under the Applicants tab.

Acceptable Providers for Courses Taken
ON OR AFTER July 1, 2015:

e Provider holds a current, valid (unexpired)
Board-issued PCE number OR

e Provider is a regionally accredited or state-
approved college OR

e Provider is a Board-recognized approval
agency as provided in Title 16, California
Code of Requlations section 1887.4.1(a).OR

e A provider who has been approved by a
Board-recognized approval agency OR

e An organization, institution, association or
entity that is recognized by the Board as a
CE provider, as provided in Title 16,
California Code of Regulations section

1887.4.3(a)(3).

Provider Complaints

You should first contact the provider of the
course to resolve your concerns. If you are not
satisfied with the outcome, contact the provider’s
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approval agency or send your complaint in
writing to the Board. Include the course name,
date, location, the names of the instructor and
provider, and specifics about your complaint.

ALTERNATIVE WAYS TO EARN CE

Teaching

You may claim CE credit for teaching a course
if the course meets all other CE requirements.
You can claim the same amount of hours as an
attendee. You may claim credit for teaching a
course once during a single renewal period.

BBS Enforcement Case Review
Effective July 1, 2015, if you serve as an
expert consultant for the Board’s Expert
Witness Program, you may be awarded up to
six (6) hours of Law and Ethics CE course
credit. See the Board’s website to apply.

Serve as a BBS Subject Matter Expert
Effective July 1, 2015, if you serve as a SME
for exam development, you may be awarded
up to six (6) hours of Law and Ethics CE

course credit. See the BBS website to apply.

Participate in a Professional Law and
Ethics Review Committee

Effective July 1, 2015, if you participate in a
professional organization’s law and ethics
review committee, you may be awarded up to
six (6) hours of Law & Ethics CE course credit.

MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION

Course Hours

1 hour of instruction = 1 CE hour
1 semester unit = 15 CE hours

1 quarter unit = 10 CE hours

Double Counting Hours

If you have more than one license with the
BBS, you may apply CE hours to both IF the
subject matter relates to both scopes of
practice. CE earned for other licenses may be
applied to your BBS-issued license if the
provider is acceptable and the subject matter
relates to your license’s scope of practice.

Record Keeping

You must maintain documentation of
completed CE courses (certificates,
transcripts, etc.) for at least two (2) years after
the license renewal period during which you
took the courses. DO NOT submit your
course certificates with your renewal. The
Board will not retain them.

The Board does not manage or track CE
courses for licensees. Providers do not submit
certificates to the Board. If a certificate has
been misplaced, you must contact the CE
provider for a replacement.

CE Audits

The Board may audit your records to verify
completion of CE. If you are selected for
audit, you will be notified in writing and
required to submit documentation of courses
(or alternative CE methods) completed. If
audited, a prompt response is important.
Failure to comply may result in disciplinary
action against your license.

Continuing
Education
Information

BBS

Laws Referenced:

Business and Professions Code sections 4980.54,
4980.57, 4980.395, 4984.41, 4984.8, 4996.22,
4996.26, 4997, 4997.1, 4999.76, 4999.112 and
4999.113

Title 16, California Code of Regulations sections
1807.2, 1810, and 1887 through 1887.15
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