
 

 
EXAM RESTRUCTURE INFORMATION FOR REGISTRANTS 

 
The following information is meant to help clarify how the new exam restructure requirements 
will affect the way in which you will renew your MFTI, ASW or PCI registration. You can find 
additional information at Exam Restructure for Registrants.   
 
DOES YOUR REGISTRATION EXPIRE ON OR BEFORE JUNE 30, 2016? 
 
For your 2016 renewal: Registrants with an expiration date prior to July 1, 2016 are not 
required to take the California Law & Ethics exam in order to renew as long as you submit your 
fee and renewal form before June 30, 2016. All others must have taken the exam in order to 
renew. 
 
For your 2017 renewal:   
o If you were required to take the exam for your 2016 renewal and did not pass, you will have 

to take a 12-hour Law & Ethics course in order to retake the exam for your 2017 renewal.  
You will need to submit documentation of the Law & Ethics course when submitting your 
retake form.  

o You must have taken the California Law & Ethics exam in order to renew. If you have 
already passed the exam, simply submit your fee and renewal form.  
 

For your 2018 renewal: 
o If you did not pass the California Law & Ethics exam you must take a 12-hour Law & Ethics 

course in order to retake the exam for your 2018 renewal. You will need to submit 
documentation of the Law & Ethics course when submitting your retake form.  

o You must have taken the California Law & Ethics exam in order to renew. If you have 
already passed the exam, simply submit your fee and renewal form. 
 

DOES YOUR REGISTRATION EXPIRE AFTER JUNE 30, 2016? 
 
For your 2016 renewal: You will have to take the California Law & Ethics exam in order to 
renew. 
 
For your 2017 renewal:  
o If you did not pass the California Law & Ethics exam, you must take a 12-hour Law & Ethics 

course in order to retake the exam for your 2017 renewal. You will need to submit 
documentation of the Law & Ethics course when submitting your retake form.   

o You will have to take the California Law & Ethics exam during the last renewal period in 
order to renew. If you have already passed the exam, simply submit your fee and renewal 
form.  

  



 

ARE YOU A MFT INTERN OR ASW WHO IS CURRENTLY IN THE EXAM CYCLE AND 
HAVE NOT PASSED THE STANDARD WRITTEN? 
 
Even though you are in the exam cycle you will have to follow the procedures listed above for 
registration renewal. If you have already passed the Standard Written you do not need to take 
an exam in order to renew. 

 
ARE YOU A PCC INTERN WHO IS CURRENTLY IN THE EXAM CYCLE AND HAVE NOT 
PASSED THE LAW AND ETHICS EXAM? 
 
Even though you are in the exam cycle you will have to follow the procedures listed above for 
registration renewal. If you have already passed the Law and Ethics Exam, you do not need to 
take an exam in order to renew. 
 
DO YOU HAVE TO APPLY FOR A SUBSEQUENT REGISTRATION NUMBER ON OR 
BEFORE DECEMBER 31, 2016? 
 
o If you submit the fee and application between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016, you 

will be granted a second or third number, upon meeting all requirements, without having 
passed the California Law & Ethics exam. 

o For your 2017 renewal you must have a passing score on the California Law & Ethics exam 
in order to renew.   
 

DO YOU HAVE TO APPLY FOR A SUBSEQUENT RESGISTRATION NUMBER AFTER 
JANUARY 1, 2017? 
 
You must have a passing score on the California Law & Ethics exam to be granted a 
subsequent registration number.  
 
 


