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RECOMMENDED POSITION:  NONE

SUBJECT: PROFESSIONS AND VOCATIONS

Summary

The portion of this bill that is applicable to the Board would require licensing boards
within the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) to waive all fees charged associated
with the application and initial license for an applicant with a current license in the same
profession in another state who is married to or in a domestic partnership with an active
duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces who is assigned to duty in California.

Existing Law:

1) Allows a licensee or registrant of any board, commission, or bureau within DCA to
reinstate their license without examination or penalty if the license expired while they
were on active duty with the California National Guard or the United States Armed
Forces, if certain conditions are met. (Business and Professions Code (BPC §114)

2) Requires boards under DCA to waive continuing education requirements and
renewal fees for a licensee or registrant while they are called to active duty as a
military member if they held a current and valid license or registration upon being
called to active duty, and substantiate the active duty service. (Business and
Professions Code (BPC) §114.3)

3) Requires every board under DCA to ask on all licensure applications if the individual
serves, or has previously served, in the military. (BPC §114.5)

4) Requires Boards under DCA to expedite the licensure process for applicants who
are honorably discharged from the military, or who are spouses of active military
members and who are already licensed in the same profession in another state.
(BPC §§115.4, 115.5)

This Bill:
The portion of this bill applicable to this Board (BPC §115.5) is as follows:



1) Requires licensing boards within DCA to waive all fees charged by the board

associated with the application and initial license for an applicant who meets both of
the following criteria (BPC §115.5):

a) Is married to or in a domestic partnership with an active duty member of the U.S.
Armed Forces who is assigned to duty in California; and

b) Holds a current license for the same profession in another state or territory.

Comments:

1)

2)

Author’s Intent. The author is seeking to ease some of the burden placed on
military families who move frequently.

Fees Waived. This bill requires the Board to waive all fees charged by the board
associated with the application and initial license for a military spouse who qualifies
for an expedited license.

The fees that the Board charges that are associated with the application and initial
license are as follows:

Associate registration: $150

Associate renewal: $150

Application for licensure: $250

Law and ethics exam: $150

Clinical exam (only charged by the Board for LMFTs): $250
Initial license issuance: $200

As the bill does not specify which specific fees are waived, the Board would likely
need to run regulations to specify which fees are waived. For example, it is unclear
if the associate renewal fee is intended by the bill to be a waived fee.

It is also unclear how this bill would affect the charging of the clinical exam fee. For
the Board’s LPCC and LCSW license types, the clinical exam is a national exam that
is paid directly to the testing entity. However, for the LMFT license type, the clinical
exam is board-administered, so those applicants pay the fee to the board. The
language of the bill implies the fee waivers apply only to fees charged by the board,
so it appears the clinical exam fee would not be waived for LPCCs and LCSWs.

Also of note is that the above fees do not apply to all license types. LEPs do not
have to register as an associate, and they only take one exam. Therefore, not all of
the above fees apply to them.

Finally, some of the above listed fees may not apply to someone who is licensed in
the same profession in another state if they have held that license for at least two
years, and otherwise qualify under the Board’s licensure by credential pathway.
Most (but not all) military spouses who qualify for expedited licensure would also
likely qualify for the Board’s licensure by credential pathway, which means they
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3)

would only need three fees waived: the application for licensure fee ($250), the law
and ethics exam fee ($150) and the initial license issuance fee ($200).

Staff reached out to the author’s staff to determine which fees they intend to waive.
They indicated upcoming amendments would clarify the application and initial
application fees waived.

Fiscal Impact.
The past yearly breakdown of the number of military spouses who met the criteria for
their license to be expedited is shown below:

2016 - 11
2017 - 21
2018 - 20
2019 -18
2020 - 20

This is an average of approximately 18 military spouses per year.

Since to qualify for the expedited license and fee waivers, these military spouses
must already be licensed in another state, most of them will also qualify for the
Board’s licensure by credential pathway (that requires, among other things, an
equivalent license held in another state for at least 2 years.)

To calculate the fiscal impact, staff will assume that approx. 75% of the military
spouses (14 applicants per year) qualify and pay fees under the streamlined
licensure by credential pathway, and 25% of them (4 applicants per year) must
qualify under the Board’s regular pathway to licensure (meeting all education and
experience requirements and paying all fees.) Therefore, the fiscal impact would be
as follows:

Military spouses qualifying through licensure by credential:
e Assume 14 military spouses per year
e Waived fees: application for licensure fee ($250), law and ethics exam fee
($150) and initial license issuance fee ($200)
e Fiscal impact for these applicants is: 14 applicants per year x
($250+$150+$200) = $8,400

Military spouses qualifying through reqular pathway to licensure:

e Assume 4 military spouses per year

e Waived fees: associate registration ($150), associate renewal (assume 1
renewal @$150), application for licensure ($250), law and ethics exam
($150), clinical exam (assume board administered @ $250), initial license
issuance ($200)

e Fiscal impact for these applicants is: 4 applicants per year x
($150+$150+$250+$150+$250+$200) = $4,600

Total Fiscal = $8,400+$4,600 = $13,000
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4)

5)

6)

Previous Legislation.

AB 3045 (Gray, 2020) would have required certain DCA boards to issue a license to
an honorably discharged military member or the spouse of an active duty military
member if they meet specified requirements. The Board took an “oppose unless
amended” position on AB 3045, due to concerns that it would undermine careful
work it had just completed with the passage SB 649, which had crafted a fair
process to reduce barriers for all out-of-state applicants for licensure while balancing
with the need to ensure practitioners are prepared to practice therapy in California’s
unique environment. AB 3045 died in the Senate.

AB 703 (Flora, 2017) would have required licensing boards to grant fee waivers for
the application for and issuance of an initial license to a person who holds a current
license in the same profession in another state and is married to or in a domestic
partnership with an active duty member of the U.S. military. The Board did not take
a position on this bill. AB 703 died in the Assembly Business and Professions
Committee.

SB 27 (Morrell, 2017) would have required licensing boards to grant fee waivers for
the application for and issuance of a license to persons who are honorably
discharged veterans. The Board had a “support” position on this bill. SB 27 died in
the Senate Appropriations Committee.

SB 1155 (Morrell, 2016) would have required licensing boards to grant fee waivers
for the application for and issuance of a license to persons who are honorably
discharged veterans. The Board had decided not to take a position on this bill. SB
1155 died in the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

AB 1057 (Medina, Chapter 693, Statutes of 2013), requires each board to inquire in
every application for licensure if the individual applying for licensure is serving in, or
has previously served in, the military. The Board had a “support” position on this bill.

Related Legislation. The following related bills is being proposed this year:

AB 107 (Salas) would require all boards within the Department of Consumer Affairs
(DCA) to issue a temporary license to a military spouse if they meet specified
requirements. At its May 7, 2021 meeting, the Board took an “oppose unless
amended” position on this bill, and asked to be excluded from its provisions.

Support and Opposition.

Support:

e Dental Board of California

e Foundation for Allied Dental Education
e SureTec Insurance

e Tokio Marine HCC



7)

Opposition:
e None at this time.

History

2021
06/17/21

From committee with author's amendments. Read second time and

amended. Re-referred to Com. on B. & P.

06/17/21
06/02/21
06/01/21
05/24/21
05/20/21
05/20/21
05/18/21
05/17/21
05/12/21

Referred to Com. on B. & P.

In Assembly. Read first time. Held at Desk.

Read third time. Passed. (Ayes 35. Noes 0.) Ordered to the Assembly.
Read second time. Ordered to third reading.

Read second time and amended. Ordered to second reading.

From committee: Do pass as amended. (Ayes 6. Noes 0.) (May 20).
Set for hearing May 20.

May 17 hearing: Placed on APPR suspense file.

From committee with author's amendments. Read second time and

amended. Re-referred to Com. on APPR.

05/07/21
05/04/21
04/30/21
04/27/21
04/21/21
04/19/21

Set for hearing May 17.

May 10 set for first hearing canceled at the request of author.

Set for hearing May 10.

May 3 hearing postponed by committee.

Set for hearing May 3.

From committee: Do pass and re-refer to Com. on APPR. (Ayes 13. Noes

0. Page 841.) (April 19). Re-referred to Com. on APPR.

04/13/21

From committee with author's amendments. Read second time and

amended. Re-referred to Com. on B., P. & E.D.

03/11/21
03/03/21
02/22/21
02/22/21
02/22/21
02/19/21
02/18/21

Set for hearing April 19.

Referred to Com. on B., P. & E.D.

Joint Rule 55 suspended. (Ayes 32. Noes 4. Page 272.)

(Ayes 32. Noes 4.)

Art. IV. Sec. 8(a) of the Constitution dispensed with.

From printer. May be acted upon on or after March 21.

Introduced. Read first time. To Com. on RLS. for assignment. To print.
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AMENDED IN ASSEMBLY JUNE 17, 2021
AMENDED IN SENATE MAY 20, 2021
AMENDED IN SENATE MAY 12, 2021

AMENDED IN SENATE APRIL 13, 2021

SENATE BILL No. 607

Introduced by-SenaterReth Senators Min and Roth

February 18,2021

An act to amend Sections 115.5, 1724, 1753, 1753.55, 1753.6, 7137,
7583.22, 7583.23, 7583.24, 7583.27, 7583.29, and 7583.47 of, to amend,
repeal, and add Sections 7071.6, 7071.8, and 7071.9 of, to add Sections
1636.5 and 5650.5 to, and to repeal Section 1753.4 of, the Business and
Professions Code, and to amend Section 17973 of the Health and Safety
Code, relating to professions and vocations, and making an appropriation
therefor.

legislative counsel’s digest

SB 607, as amended, Reth Min. Professions and vocations.

(1) Existing law provides for the licensure and regulation of various
professions and vocations by boards within the Department of Consumer
Affairs. Existing law generally authorizes a board to charge fees for the
reasonable regulatory cost of administering the regulatory program for
the profession or vocation. Existing law establishes the Professions and
Vocations Fund in the State Treasury, which consists of specified special
funds and accounts, some of which are continuously appropriated.

Existing law provides for the issuance of temporary licenses in certain
fields where the applicant, among other requirements, has a license to
practice within that field in another jurisdiction, as specified. Existing
law requires a board within the department to expedite the licensure
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process for an applicant who holds a current license in another
jurisdiction in the same profession or vocation and who supplies
satisfactory evidence of being married to, or in a domestic partnership
or other legal union with, an active duty member of the Armed Forces
of the United States who is assigned to a duty station in California under
official active duty military orders.

This bill would require a board to waive all fees associated with the
application and initial license for an applicant who meets these expedited
licensing requirements.

(2) Existing law, the Dental Practice Act, provides for the licensure
and regulation of dentists and dental auxiliaries, including registered
dental assistants in extended functions, by the Dental Board of California
within the Department of Consumer Affairs. Existing law requires a
person who applies to the board for a license as a registered dental
assistant in extended functions on and after January 1, 2010, to
successfully complete a clinical or practical examination administered
by the board. Existing law authorizes a registered dental assistant in
extended functions who was licensed before January 1, 2010, to perform
certain additional duties only if they pass the clinical or practical
examination.

This bill would delete the clinical or practical examination requirement
for registered dental assistants in extended functions and make related
technical amendments.

The Dental Practice Act authorizes a dentist to administer or order
the administration of minimal sedation on pediatric patients under 13
years of age if the dentist possesses specified licensing credentials,
including holding a pediatric minimal sedation permit, and follows
certain procedures. Existing law requires a dentist who desires to
administer or order the administration of minimal sedation to apply to
the board, as specified, and to submit an application fee.

This bill would specify that the application fee for a pediatric minimal
sedation permit cannot exceed $1,000, and the renewal fee cannot exceed
$600.

The Dental Practice Act requires the board to approve foreign dental
schools based on specified standards. The act requires a foreign dental
school seeking approval to submit an application to the board, including,
among other things, a finding that the educational program of the foreign
dental school is equivalent to that of similar accredited institutions in
the United States and adequately prepares its students for the practice
of dentistry. The act requires an approved institution to submit a renewal
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application every 7 years and to pay a specified renewal fee. The act
prohibits the board from accepting new applications for approval of
foreign dental schools by January 1, 2020, and requires foreign dental
schools seeking approval after this date to complete the international
consultative and accreditation process with the Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental Association (CODA) or a
comparable accrediting body approved by the board. The act also
requires previously approved foreign dental schools to complete the
CODA or comparable accreditation by January 1, 2024, to remain
approved.

This bill would provide, notwithstanding this latter approval
requirement, that a foreign dental school that was approved prior to
January 1, 2020, through a date between January 1, 2024, and December
31, 2026, maintains that approval through that date. The bill would
further provide that, upon the expiration of that board approval, the
foreign dental school is required to comply with the CODA or
comparable accreditation process.

(3) Existing law provides for the licensure and regulation of landscape
architects by the California Architects Board and the Landscape
Architects Technical Committee of the California Architects Board
within the Department of Consumer Affairs.

This bill would authorize the board to obtain and review criminal
offender record information and would require an applicant, as a
condition of licensure, to furnish to the Department of Justice a full set
of fingerprints for the purpose of conducting a criminal history record
check and criminal offender record information search. The bill would
require the Department of Justice to transmit fingerprint images and
related information to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the
purposes of the background check, and would require the Department
of Justice to provide a state or federal response to the board. The bill
would require the applicant to pay the reasonable regulatory costs for
furnishing the fingerprints and conducting the searches, and would
require the applicant to certify, under penalty of perjury, whether the
applicant’s fingerprints have been furnished to the Department of Justice.
By expanding the crime of perjury, the bill would impose a
state-mandated local program.

(4) Existing law, the Contractors State License Law, provides for
the licensure and regulation of contractors by the Contractors State
License Board within the Department of Consumer Affairs. Existing
law authorizes the issuance of contractors’ licenses to individual owners,
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partnerships, corporations, and limited liability companies, and
authorizes those persons and entities to qualify for a license if specified
conditions are met. Existing law requires an applicant or licensee to file
or have on file with the board a contractor’s bond in the sum of $15,000,
as provided. Existing law requires an applicant or licensee who is not
a proprietor, a general partner, or a joint licensee to additionally file or
have on file with the board a qualifying individual’s bond in the sum
of $12,500, unless an exception is met. Existing law additionally
authorizes the board to set fees by regulation, including various
application, examination scheduling, and license and registration fees,
according to a prescribed schedule. Existing law requires the fees
received under this law to be deposited in the Contractors License Fund,
a fund that is partially continuously appropriated for the purposes of
the law.

This bill, beginning January 1, 2023, would instead require an
applicant or licensee to file or have on file with the board a contractor’s
bond in the sum of $25,000, and would, if applicable, require a
qualifying individual’s bond in the sum of $25,000.

This bill would revise and recast the board’s authority to set fees by
regulation and would increase various fee amounts. In connection with
initial license fees and renewal fees for active and inactive licenses, the
bill would differentiate between an individual owner as opposed to a
partnership, corporation, limited liability company, or joint venture,
and would authorize higher fees for the latter categories of licensees.
The bill would additionally authorize the board to set fees for the
processing and issuance of a duplicate copy of any certificate of
licensure, to change the business name of a license, and for a dishonored
check, as specified.

Because the increased and new fees would be deposited into the
Contractors License Fund, a continuously appropriated fund, the bill
would make an appropriation.

(5) Existing law provides authority for an enforcement agency to
enter and inspect any buildings or premises whenever necessary to
secure compliance with or prevent a violation of the building standards
published in the California Building Standards Code and other rules
and regulations that the enforcement agency has the power to enforce.
Existing law requires an inspection of exterior elevated elements and
associated waterproofing elements, as defined, including decks and
balconies, for buildings with 3 or more multifamily dwelling units by
a licensed architect, licensed civil or structural engineer, a building
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contractor holding specified licenses, or an individual certified as a
building inspector or building official, as specified. Existing law
prohibits a contractor performing the inspection from bidding on the
repair work.

This bill would eliminate the prohibition against a contractor
performing the inspection from bidding on the repair work. By altering
the enforcement duties for local enforcement entities, the bill would
impose a state-mandated local program.

(6) Existing law, the Private Security Services Act, establishes the
Bureau of Security and Investigative Services within the Department
of Consumer Affairs to license and regulate persons employed by any
lawful business as security guards or patrolpersons. Existing law
prohibits a person required to be registered as a security guard from
engaging in specified conduct, including, but not limited to, carrying
or using a firearm unless they possess a valid and current firearms
permit.

Existing law requires the applicant for a firearms permit to complete
specified requirements, including an assessment that evaluates whether
the applicant possesses appropriate judgment, restraint, and self-control
for the purposes of carrying and using a firearm during the course of
the applicant’s security guard duties. Existing law requires the results
of the assessment be provided to the bureau within 30 days.

Existing law requires the bureau to automatically revoke a firearm
permit upon notification from the Department of Justice that the holder
of the firearm permit is prohibited from possessing, receiving, or
purchasing a firearm under state or federal law. Existing law additionally
requires the bureau to seek an emergency order against the holder of
the firearms permit if a specified event occurs, including that the
permitholder was arrested for assault or battery, or the permitholder
has been determined incapable of exercising appropriate judgment,
restraint, and self-control, among other events, and the bureau
determines that the holder of the firearm permit presents an undue
hazard to public safety that may result in substantial injury to another.

This bill would specify that a security guard is required to complete
the assessment to be issued a firearms permit prior to carrying a firearm.
The bill would require an applicant who is a registered security guard
to have met the requirement of being found capable of exercising
appropriate judgment, restraint, and self control, for purposes of
carrying and using a firearm during the course of their duties, within
the 6 months preceding the date the application is submitted to the
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bureau. The bill would prohibit an applicant who fails the assessment
from completing another assessment-within-90 any earlier than 180
days after the results of the previous assessment are provided to the
bureau.

This bill would instead authorize the bureau to revoke a firearm permit
upon notification from the Department of Justice that the holder of the
firearm permit is prohibited from possessing, receiving, or purchasing
a firearm under state or federal law, and would instead authorize the
bureau to seek an emergency order against a permitholder if a specified
event occurs. The bill would remove from the list of specified events
the determination that a permitholder is incapable of exercising
appropriate judgment, restraint, and self-control.

(7) The California Constitution requires the state to reimburse local
agencies and school districts for certain costs mandated by the state.
Statutory provisions establish procedures for making that reimbursement.

This bill would provide that with regard to certain mandates no
reimbursement is required by this act for a specified reason.

With regard to any other mandates, this bill would provide that, if the
Commission on State Mandates determines that the bill contains costs
so mandated by the state, reimbursement for those costs shall be made
pursuant to the statutory provisions noted above.

Vote: majority. Appropriation: yes. Fiscal committee: yes.
State-mandated local program: yes.

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

1 SECTION 1. Section 115.5 of the Business and Professions
2 Code is amended to read:
3 115.5. (a) A board within the department shall expedite the
4 licensure process and waive all fees charged by the board
5 associated with the application and initial license for an applicant
6 who meets both of the following requirements:
7 (1) Supplies evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant
8 is married to, or in a domestic partnership or other legal union
9 with, an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United
10 States who is assigned to a duty station in this state under official
11 active duty military orders.
12 (2) Holds a current license in another state, district, or territory
13 of the United States in the profession or vocation for which the
14 applicant seeks a license from the board.
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(b) A board may adopt regulations necessary to administer this
section.

SEC. 2. Section 1636.5 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

1636.5. Notwithstanding Section 1636.4, any foreign dental
school whose program was approved prior to January 1, 2020,
through any date between January 1, 2024, and December 31,
2026, shall maintain approval through that date. Upon expiration
of the approval, the foreign dental school shall be required to
comply with the provisions of Section 1636.4.

SEC. 3. Section 1724 of the Business and Professions Code,
as added by Section 13 of Chapter 929 of the Statutes of 2018, is
amended to read:

1724. The amount of charges and fees for dentists licensed
pursuant to this chapter shall be established by the board as is
necessary for the purpose of carrying out the responsibilities
required by this chapter as it relates to dentists, subject to the
following limitations:

(a) The fee for an application for licensure qualifying pursuant
to paragraph (1) of subdivision (¢) of Section 1632 shall not exceed
one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500). The fee for an
application for licensure qualifying pursuant to paragraph (2) of
subdivision (c) of Section 1632 shall not exceed one thousand
dollars ($1,000).

(b) The fee for an application for licensure qualifying pursuant
to Section 1634.1 shall not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000).

(c) The fee for an application for licensure qualifying pursuant
to Section 1635.5 shall not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000).

(d) The fee for an initial license and for the renewal of a license
is five hundred twenty-five dollars ($525). On and after January
1, 2016, the fee for an initial license shall not exceed six hundred
fifty dollars ($650), and the fee for the renewal of a license shall
not exceed six hundred fifty dollars ($650). On and after January
1, 2018, the fee for an initial license shall not exceed eight hundred
dollars ($800), and the fee for the renewal of a license shall not
exceed eight hundred dollars ($800).

(e) The fee for an application for a special permit shall not
exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), and the renewal fee for a
special permit shall not exceed six hundred dollars ($600).
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(f) The delinquency fee shall be 50 percent of the renewal fee
for such a license or permit in effect on the date of the renewal of
the license or permit.

(g) The penalty for late registration of change of place of
practice shall not exceed seventy-five dollars ($75).

(h) The fee for an application for an additional office permit
shall not exceed seven hundred fifty dollars ($750), and the fee
for the renewal of an additional office permit shall not exceed three
hundred seventy-five dollars ($375).

(1) The fee for issuance of a replacement pocket license,
replacement wall certificate, or replacement engraved certificate
shall not exceed one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125).

(j) The fee for a provider of continuing education shall not
exceed five hundred dollars ($500) per year.

(k) The fee for application for a referral service permit and for
renewal of that permit shall not exceed twenty-five dollars ($25).

() The fee for application for an extramural facility permit and
for the renewal of a permit shall not exceed twenty-five dollars
($25).

(m) The fee for an application for an elective facial cosmetic
surgery permit shall not exceed four thousand dollars ($4,000),
and the fee for the renewal of an elective facial cosmetic surgery
permit shall not exceed eight hundred dollars ($800).

(n) The fee for an application for an oral and maxillofacial
surgery permit shall not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), and
the fee for the renewal of an oral and maxillofacial surgery permit
shall not exceed one thousand two hundred dollars ($1,200).

(o) The fee for an application for a general anesthesia permit
shall not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), and the fee for the
renewal of a general anesthesia permit shall not exceed six hundred
dollars ($600).

(p) The fee for an onsite inspection and evaluation related to a
general anesthesia or moderate sedation permit shall not exceed
four thousand five hundred dollars ($4,500).

(q) The fee for an application for a moderate sedation permit
shall not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), and the fee for the
renewal of a conscious sedation permit shall not exceed six hundred
dollars ($600).

(r) The fee for an application for an oral conscious sedation
permit shall not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), and the fee
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for the renewal of an oral conscious sedation permit shall not
exceed six hundred dollars ($600).

(s) The fee for an application for a pediatric minimal sedation
permit shall not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), and the fee
for the renewal of a pediatric minimal sedation permit shall not
exceed six hundred dollars ($600).

(t) The fee for a certification of licensure shall not exceed one
hundred twenty-five dollars ($125).

(u) The fee for an application for the law and ethics examination
shall not exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250).

(v) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2022.

SEC. 4. Section 1753 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

1753. (a) Onand after January 1, 2010, the board may license
as a registered dental assistant in extended functions a person who
submits written evidence, satisfactory to the board, of all of the
following eligibility requirements:

(1) Current licensure as a registered dental assistant or
completion of the requirements for licensure as a registered dental
assistant.

(2) Successful completion of a board-approved course in the
application of pit and fissure sealants.

(3) Successful completion of either of the following:

(A) An extended functions postsecondary program approved
by the board in all of the procedures specified in Section 1753.5.

(B) An extended functions postsecondary program approved
by the board to teach the duties that registered dental assistants in
extended functions were allowed to perform pursuant to board
regulations prior to January 1, 2010, and a course approved by the
board in the procedures specified in paragraphs (1), (2), (5), and
(7) to (11), inclusive, of subdivision (b) of Section 1753.5.

(4) Passage of a written examination administered by the board.
The board shall designate whether the written examination shall
be administered by the board or by the board-approved extended
functions program.

(b) A registered dental assistant in extended functions may apply
for an orthodontic assistant permit or a dental sedation assistant
permit, or both, by providing written evidence of the following:

(1) Successful completion of a board-approved orthodontic
assistant or dental sedation assistant course, as applicable.
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(2) Passage of a written examination administered by the board
that shall encompass the knowledge, skills, and abilities necessary
to competently perform the duties of the particular permit.

(c) A registered dental assistant in extended functions with
permits in either orthodontic assisting or dental sedation assisting
shall be referred to as an “RDAEF with orthodontic assistant
permit,” or “RDAEF with dental sedation assistant permit,” as
applicable. These terms shall be used for reference purposes only
and do not create additional categories of licensure.

(d) Completion of the continuing education requirements
established by the board pursuant to Section 1645 by a registered
dental assistant in extended functions who also holds a permit as
an orthodontic assistant or dental sedation assistant shall fulfill the
continuing education requirement for such permit or permits.

SEC. 5. Section 1753.4 of the Business and Professions Code
is repealed.

SEC. 6. Section 1753.55 of the Business and Professions Code
1s amended to read:

1753.55. (a) A registered dental assistant in extended functions
is authorized to perform the additional duties as set forth in
subdivision (b) pursuant to the order, control, and full professional
responsibility of a supervising dentist, if the licensee meets one of
the following requirements:

(1) Is licensed on or after January 1, 2010.

(2) Is licensed prior to January 1, 2010, and has successfully
completed a board-approved course in the additional procedures
specified in paragraphs (1), (2), (5), and (7) to (11), inclusive, of
subdivision (b) of Section 1753.5.

(b) (1) Determine which radiographs to perform on a patient
who has not received an initial examination by the supervising
dentist for the specific purpose of the dentist making a diagnosis
and treatment plan for the patient. In these circumstances, the
dental assistant in extended functions shall follow protocols
established by the supervising dentist. This paragraph only applies
in the following settings:

(A) In a dental office setting.

(B) In public health settings, using telehealth, as defined by
Section 2290.5, for the purpose of communication with the
supervising dentist, including, but not limited to, schools, head
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start and preschool programs, and community clinics, under the
general supervision of a dentist.

(2) Place protective restorations, which for this purpose are
identified as interim therapeutic restorations, and defined as a
direct provisional restoration placed to stabilize the tooth until a
licensed dentist diagnoses the need for further definitive treatment.
An interim therapeutic restoration consists of the removal of soft
material from the tooth using only hand instrumentation, without
the use of rotary instrumentation, and subsequent placement of an
adhesive restorative material. Local anesthesia shall not be
necessary for interim therapeutic restoration placement. Interim
therapeutic restorations shall be placed only in accordance with
both of the following:

(A) In either of the following settings:

(1) In a dental office setting, under the direct or general
supervision of a dentist as determined by the dentist.

(i1) In public health settings, using telehealth, as defined by
Section 2290.5, for the purpose of communication with the
supervising dentist, including, but not limited to, schools, head
start and preschool programs, and community clinics, under the
general supervision of a dentist.

(B) After the diagnosis, treatment plan, and instruction to
perform the procedure provided by a dentist.

(c) The functions described in subdivision (b) may be performed
by a registered dental assistant in extended functions only after
completion of a program that includes training in performing those
functions, or after providing evidence, satisfactory to the board,
of having completed a board-approved course in those functions.

(d) No later than January 1, 2018, the board shall adopt
regulations to establish requirements for courses of instruction for
the procedures authorized to be performed by a registered dental
assistant in extended functions pursuant to this section using the
competency-based training protocols established by the Health
Workforce Pilot Project (HWPP) No. 172 through the Office of
Statewide Health Planning and Development. The board shall
submit to the committee proposed regulatory language for the
curriculum for the Interim Therapeutic Restoration to the
committee for the purpose of promulgating regulations for
registered dental hygienists and registered dental hygienists in
alternative practice as described in Section 1910.5. The language
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submitted by the board shall mirror the instructional curriculum
for the registered dental assistant in extended functions. Any
subsequent amendments to the regulations that are promulgated
by the board for the Interim Therapeutic Restoration curriculum
shall be submitted to the committee.

(e) The board may issue a permit to a registered dental assistant
in extended functions who files a completed application, including
the fee, to provide the duties specified in this section after the board
has determined the registered dental assistant in extended functions
has completed the coursework required in subdivision (c).

(f) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2018.

SEC. 7. Section 1753.6 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

1753.6. (a) Each person who holds a license as a registered
dental assistant in extended functions on the operative date of this
section may only perform those procedures that a registered dental
assistant is allowed to perform as specified in and limited by
Section 1752.4, and the procedures specified in paragraphs (1) to
(6), inclusive, until the person provides evidence of having
completed a board-approved course in the additional procedures
specified in paragraphs (1), (2), (5), and (7) to (11), inclusive, of
subdivision (b) of Section 1753.5:

(1) Cord retraction of gingiva for impression procedures.

(2) Take final impressions for permanent indirect restorations.

(3) Formulate indirect patterns for endodontic post and core
castings.

(4) Fit trial endodontic filling points.

(5) Apply pit and fissure sealants.

(6) Remove excess cement from subgingival tooth surfaces with
a hand instrument.

(b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2010.

SEC. 8. Section 5650.5 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

5650.5. (a) Pursuantto Section 144, the board has the authority
to obtain and review criminal offender record information. The
information obtained as a result of the fingerprinting shall be used
in accordance with Section 11105 of the Penal Code to determine
whether the applicant is subject to denial, suspension, or revocation
of a license pursuant to Division 1.5 (commencing with Section
475) or Section 5660, 5675, or 5676.
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(b) As a condition of application for a license, each applicant
shall furnish to the Department of Justice a full set of fingerprints
for the purpose of conducting a criminal history record check and
to undergo a state- and federal- level criminal offender record
information search conducted through the Department of Justice,
as follows:

(1) The board shall electronically submit to the Department of
Justice fingerprint images and related information required by the
Department of Justice of all landscape architect license applicants
for the purpose of obtaining information as to the existence and
content of a record of state or federal arrests and state or federal
convictions and also information as to the existence and content
of a record of state or federal arrests for which the Department of
Justice establishes that the person is free on bail or on their
recognizance pending trial or appeal.

(2) When received, the Department of Justice shall transmit
fingerprint images and related information received pursuant to
this section, to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose
of obtaining a federal criminal history records check. The
Department of Justice shall review the information returned from
the Federal Bureau of Investigation and compile and disseminate
a response to the board.

(3) The Department of Justice shall provide a state or federal
response to the board pursuant to subdivision (p) of Section 11105
of the Penal Code.

(4) The board shall request from the Department of Justice
subsequent notification service, as provided pursuant to Section
11105.2 of the Penal Code, for persons described in paragraph (1).

(5) The Department of Justice shall charge the applicant a fee
sufficient to cover the cost of processing the request described in
this subdivision.

(c) The applicant shall certify, under penalty of perjury, when
applying for a license whether the applicant’s fingerprints have
been furnished to the Department of Justice in compliance with
this section.

(d) Failure to comply with the requirements of this section
renders the application for a license incomplete, and the application
shall not be considered until the applicant demonstrates compliance
with all requirements of this section.
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(e) Notwithstanding any other law, the results of any criminal
offender record information request by either state or federal law
enforcement authorities shall not be released by the board except
in accordance with state and federal requirements.

(f) Asused in this section, the term “applicant” shall be limited
to an initial applicant who has never been registered or licensed
by the board or to an applicant for a new licensure or registration
category.

(g) As acondition of petitioning the board for reinstatement of
a revoked or surrendered license, an applicant shall comply with
subdivision (a).

SEC. 9. Section 7071.6 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

7071.6. (a) The board shall require as a condition precedent
to the issuance, reinstatement, reactivation, renewal, or continued
maintenance of a license, that the applicant or licensee file or have
on file a contractor’s bond in the sum of fifteen thousand dollars
($15,000).

(b) Excluding the claims brought by the beneficiaries specified
in subdivision (a) of Section 7071.5, the aggregate liability of a
surety on claims brought against a bond required by this section
shall not exceed the sum of seven thousand five hundred dollars
($7,500). The bond proceeds in excess of seven thousand five
hundred dollars ($7,500) shall be reserved exclusively for the
claims of the beneficiaries specified in subdivision (a) of Section
7071.5. However, nothing in this section shall be construed so as
to prevent any beneficiary specified in subdivision (a) of Section
7071.5 from claiming or recovering the full measure of the bond
required by this section.

(c) A bond shall not be required of a holder of a license that has
been inactivated on the official records of the board during the
period the license is inactive.

(d) Notwithstanding any other law, as a condition precedent to
licensure, the board may require an applicant to post a contractor’s
bond in twice the amount required pursuant to subdivision (a) until
the time that the license is renewed, under the following conditions:

(1) The applicant has either been convicted of a violation of
Section 7028 or has been cited pursuant to Section 7028.7.

(2) If the applicant has been cited pursuant to Section 7028.7,
the citation has been reduced to a final order of the registrar.
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(3) The violation of Section 7028, or the basis for the citation
issued pursuant to Section 7028.7, constituted a substantial injury
to the public.

(e) (1) The board shall conduct a study to obtain information
to evaluate whether the current fifteen-thousand-dollar ($15,000)
amount of the contractor bond is sufficient, or whether an increase
may be necessary.

(2) The board shall report its findings and recommendations to
the appropriate policy committees of the Legislature, in accordance
with Section 9795 of the Government Code, by January 1, 2021.

(f) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 2023,
and as of that date is repealed.

SEC. 10. Section 7071.6 is added to the Business and
Professions Code, to read:

7071.6. (a) The board shall require as a condition precedent
to the issuance, reinstatement, reactivation, renewal, or continued
maintenance of a license, that the applicant or licensee file or have
on file a contractor’s bond in the sum of twenty-five thousand
dollars ($25,000).

(b) Excluding the claims brought by the beneficiaries specified
in subdivision (a) of Section 7071.5, the aggregate liability of a
surety on claims brought against a bond required by this section
shall not exceed the sum of seven thousand five hundred dollars
($7,500). The bond proceeds in excess of seven thousand five
hundred dollars ($7,500) shall be reserved exclusively for the
claims of the beneficiaries specified in subdivision (a) of Section
7071.5. However, nothing in this section shall be construed so as
to prevent any beneficiary specified in subdivision (a) of Section
7071.5 from claiming or recovering the full measure of the bond
required by this section.

(c) A bond shall not be required of a holder of a license that has
been inactivated on the official records of the board during the
period the license is inactive.

(d) Notwithstanding any other law, as a condition precedent to
licensure, the board may require an applicant to post a contractor’s
bond in twice the amount required pursuant to subdivision (a) until
the time that the license is renewed, under the following conditions:

(1) The applicant has either been convicted of a violation of
Section 7028 or has been cited pursuant to Section 7028.7.
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(2) If the applicant has been cited pursuant to Section 7028.7,
the citation has been reduced to a final order of the registrar.

(3) The violation of Section 7028, or the basis for the citation
issued pursuant to Section 7028.7, constituted a substantial injury
to the public.

(e) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2023.

SEC. 11. Section 7071.8 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

7071.8. (a) This section applies to an application for a license,
for renewal or restoration of a license, an application to change
officers or members of a corporation or a limited liability company,
or for continued valid use of a license which has been disciplined,
whether or not the disciplinary action has been stayed, made by
any of the following persons or firms:

(1) A person whose license has been suspended or revoked as
a result of disciplinary action, or a person who was a qualifying
individual for a licensee at any time during which cause for
disciplinary action occurred resulting in suspension or revocation
of the licensee’s license, whether or not the qualifying individual
had knowledge or participated in the prohibited act or omission.

(2) A person who was an officer, director, manager, partner, or
member of the personnel of record of a licensee at any time during
which cause for disciplinary action occurred resulting in suspension
or revocation of the licensee’s license and who had knowledge of
or participated in the act or omission which was the cause for the
disciplinary action.

(3) A partnership, corporation, limited liability company, firm,
or association of which an existing or new officer, director,
manager, partner, qualifying person, or member of the personnel
of record has had a license suspended or revoked as a result of
disciplinary action.

(4) A partnership, corporation, limited liability company, firm,
or association of which a member of the personnel of record,
including, but not limited to, an officer, director, manager, partner,
or qualifying person was, likewise, a manager, officer, director,
or partner of a licensee at any time during which cause for
disciplinary action occurred resulting in suspension or revocation
of the license, and who had knowledge of or participated in the
act or omission which was the cause for the disciplinary action.
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(b) The board shall require as a condition precedent to the
issuance, reissuance, renewal, or restoration of a license to the
applicant, or to the approval of an application to change officers
of a corporation or a limited liability company, or removal of
suspension, or to the continued valid use of a license which has
been suspended or revoked, but which suspension or revocation
has been stayed, that the applicant or licensee file or have on file
a contractor’s bond in a sum to be fixed by the registrar based upon
the seriousness of the violation, but which sum shall not be less
than fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) nor more than 10 times
that amount required by Section 7071.6.

(¢c) The bond is in addition to, may not be combined with, and
does not replace any other type of bond required by this chapter.
The bond shall remain on file with the registrar for a period of at
least two years and for any additional time that the registrar
determines. The bond period shall run only while the license is
current, active, and in good standing, and shall be extended until
the license has been current, active, and in good standing for the
required period. Each applicant or licensee shall be required to file
only one disciplinary contractor’s bond of the type described in
this section for each application or license subject to this bond
requirement.

(d) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 2023,
and as of that date is repealed.

SEC. 12. Section 7071.8 is added to the Business and
Professions Code, to read:

7071.8. (a) This section applies to an application for a license,
for renewal or restoration of a license, an application to change
officers or members of a corporation or a limited liability company,
or for continued valid use of a license which has been disciplined,
whether or not the disciplinary action has been stayed, made by
any of the following persons or firms:

(1) A person whose license has been suspended or revoked as
a result of disciplinary action, or a person who was a qualifying
individual for a licensee at any time during which cause for
disciplinary action occurred resulting in suspension or revocation
of the licensee’s license, whether or not the qualifying individual
had knowledge or participated in the prohibited act or omission.

(2) A person who was an officer, director, manager, partner, or
member of the personnel of record of a licensee at any time during
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which cause for disciplinary action occurred resulting in suspension
or revocation of the licensee’s license and who had knowledge of
or participated in the act or omission which was the cause for the
disciplinary action.

(3) A partnership, corporation, limited liability company, firm,
or association of which an existing or new officer, director,
manager, partner, qualifying person, or member of the personnel
of record has had a license suspended or revoked as a result of
disciplinary action.

(4) A partnership, corporation, limited liability company, firm,
or association of which a member of the personnel of record,
including, but not limited to, an officer, director, manager, partner,
or qualifying person was, likewise, a manager, officer, director,
or partner of a licensee at any time during which cause for
disciplinary action occurred resulting in suspension or revocation
of the license, and who had knowledge of or participated in the
act or omission which was the cause for the disciplinary action.

(b) The board shall require as a condition precedent to the
issuance, reissuance, renewal, or restoration of a license to the
applicant, or to the approval of an application to change officers
of a corporation or a limited liability company, or removal of
suspension, or to the continued valid use of a license which has
been suspended or revoked, but which suspension or revocation
has been stayed, that the applicant or licensee file or have on file
a contractor’s bond in a sum to be fixed by the registrar based upon
the seriousness of the violation, but which sum shall not be less
than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) nor more than 10
times that amount required by Section 7071.6.

(¢c) The bond is in addition to, may not be combined with, and
does not replace any other type of bond required by this chapter.
The bond shall remain on file with the registrar for a period of at
least two years and for any additional time that the registrar
determines. The bond period shall run only while the license is
current, active, and in good standing, and shall be extended until
the license has been current, active, and in good standing for the
required period. Each applicant or licensee shall be required to file
only one disciplinary contractor’s bond of the type described in
this section for each application or license subject to this bond
requirement.

(d) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2023.
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SEC. 13. Section 7071.9 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

7071.9. (a) If the qualifying individual, as referred to in
Sections 7068 and 7068.1, is neither the proprietor, a general
partner, nor a joint licensee, the qualifying individual shall file or
have on file a qualifying individual’s bond as provided in Section
7071.10 in the sum of twelve thousand five hundred dollars
($12,500). This bond is in addition to, and shall not be combined
with, any contractor’s bond required by Sections 7071.5 to 7071.8,
inclusive, and is required for the issuance, reinstatement,
reactivation, or continued valid use of a license.

(b) Excluding the claims brought by the beneficiaries specified
in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 7071.10, the
aggregate liability of a surety on claims brought against the bond
required by this section shall not exceed the sum of seven thousand
five hundred dollars ($7,500). The bond proceeds in excess of
seven thousand five hundred dollars ($7,500) shall be reserved
exclusively for the claims of the beneficiaries specified in
paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 7071.10. However,
nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent any beneficiary
specified in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 7071.10
from claiming or recovering the full measure of the bond required
by this section. This bond is in addition to, and shall not be
combined with, any contractor’s bond required by Sections 7071.5
to 7071.8, inclusive, and is required for the issuance, reinstatement,
reactivation, or continued valid use of a license.

(c) The responsible managing officer of a corporation shall not
be required to file or have on file a qualifying individual’s bond,
if the responsible managing officer owns 10 percent or more of
the voting stock of the corporation and certifies to that fact on a
form prescribed by the registrar.

(d) The qualifying individual for a limited liability company
shall not be required to file or have on file a qualifying individual’s
bond if the qualifying individual owns at least a 10-percent
membership interest in the limited liability company and certifies
to that fact on a form prescribed by the registrar.

(e) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 2023,
and as of that date is repealed.

SEC. 14. Section 7071.9 is added to the Business and
Professions Code, to read:

95



SB 607 —20—

7071.9. (a) If the qualifying individual, as referred to in
Sections 7068 and 7068.1, is neither the proprietor, a general
partner, nor a joint licensee, the qualifying individual shall file or
have on file a qualifying individual’s bond as provided in Section
7071.10 in the sum of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). This
bond is in addition to, and shall not be combined with, any
contractor’s bond required by Sections 7071.5 to 7071.8, inclusive,
and is required for the issuance, reinstatement, reactivation, or
continued valid use of a license.

(b) Excluding the claims brought by the beneficiaries specified
in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 7071.10, the
aggregate liability of a surety on claims brought against the bond
required by this section shall not exceed the sum of seven thousand
five hundred dollars ($7,500). The bond proceeds in excess of
seven thousand five hundred dollars ($7,500) shall be reserved
exclusively for the claims of the beneficiaries specified in
paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 7071.10. However,
nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent any beneficiary
specified in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 7071.10
from claiming or recovering the full measure of the bond required
by this section. This bond is in addition to, and shall not be
combined with, any contractor’s bond required by Sections 7071.5
to 7071.8, inclusive, and is required for the issuance, reinstatement,
reactivation, or continued valid use of a license.

(c) The responsible managing officer of a corporation shall not
be required to file or have on file a qualifying individual’s bond,
if the responsible managing officer owns 10 percent or more of
the voting stock of the corporation and certifies to that fact on a
form prescribed by the registrar.

(d) The qualifying individual for a limited liability company
shall not be required to file or have on file a qualifying individual’s
bond if the qualifying individual owns at least a 10-percent
membership interest in the limited liability company and certifies
to that fact on a form prescribed by the registrar.

(e) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2023.

SEC. 15. Section 7137 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

7137. (a) The board may set fees by regulation. These fees
shall be set according to the following schedule:

(1) Application fees shall be set as follows:
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(A) The application fee for an original license in a single
classification shall be four hundred fifty dollars ($450) and may
be increased to not more than five hundred sixty-three dollars
($563).

(B) The application fee for each additional classification applied
for in connection with an original license shall be one hundred
fifty dollars ($150) and may be increased to not more than one
hundred eighty-eight dollars ($188).

(C) The application fee for each additional classification
pursuant to Section 7059 shall be two hundred thirty dollars ($230)
and may be increased to not more than two hundred eighty-eight
dollars ($288).

(D) The application fee to replace a responsible managing
officer, responsible managing manager, responsible managing
member, or responsible managing employee pursuant to Section
7068.2 shall be two hundred thirty dollars ($230) and may be
increased to not more than two hundred eighty-eight dollars ($288).

(E) The application fee to add personnel, other than a qualifying
individual, to an existing license shall be one hundred twenty-five
dollars ($125) and may be increased to not more than one hundred
fifty-seven dollars ($157).

(F) The application fee for an asbestos certification examination
shall be one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125) and may be
increased to not more than one hundred fifty-seven dollars ($157).

(G) The application fee for a hazardous substance removal or
remedial action certification examination shall be one hundred
twenty-five dollars ($125) and may be increased to not more than
one hundred fifty-seven dollars ($157).

(2) Examination scheduling fees shall be set as follows:

(A) The fee for rescheduling an examination for an applicant
who has applied for an original license, additional classification,
a change of responsible managing officer, responsible managing
manager, responsible managing member, or responsible managing
employee, or for an asbestos certification or hazardous substance
removal certification, shall be one hundred dollars ($100) and may
be increased to not more than one hundred twenty-five dollars
($125).

(B) The fee for scheduling or rescheduling an examination for
a licensee who is required to take the examination as a condition
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of probation shall be one hundred dollars ($100) and may be
increased to not more than one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125).

(3) Initial license and registration fees shall be set as follows:

(A) The initial license fee for an active or inactive license for
an individual owner shall be two hundred dollars ($200) and may
be increased to not more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250).

(B) The initial license fee for an active or inactive license for a
partnership, corporation, limited liability company, or joint venture
shall be three hundred fifty dollars ($350) and may be increased
to not more than four hundred thirty-eight dollars ($438).

(C) The registration fee for a home improvement salesperson
shall be two hundred dollars ($200) and may be increased to not
more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250).

(4) License and registration renewal fees shall be set as follows:

(A) The renewal fee for an active license for an individual owner
shall be four hundred fifty dollars ($450) and may be increased to
not more than five hundred sixty-three dollars ($563).

(B) The renewal fee for an inactive license for an individual
owner shall be three hundred dollars ($300) and may be increased
to not more than three hundred seventy-five dollars ($375).

(C) The renewal fee for an active license for a partnership,
corporation, limited liability company, or joint venture shall be
seven hundred dollars ($700) and may be increased to not more
than eight hundred seventy-five dollars ($875).

(D) The renewal fee for an inactive license for a partnership,
corporation, limited liability company, or joint venture shall be
five hundred dollars ($500) and may be increased to not more than
six hundred twenty-five dollars ($625).

(E) The renewal fee for a home improvement salesperson
registration shall be two hundred dollars ($200) and may be
increased to not more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250).

(5) The delinquency fee is an amount equal to 50 percent of the
renewal fee, if the license is renewed after its expiration.

(6) Miscellaneous fees shall be set as follows:

(A) In addition to any other fees charged to C-10 contractors,
the board shall charge a fee of twenty dollars ($20), to be assessed
with the renewal fee for an active license, which shall be used by
the board to enforce provisions of the Labor Code related to
electrician certification.
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(B) The service fee to deposit with the registrar lawful money
or cashier’s check pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of
Section 995.710 of the Code of Civil Procedure for purposes of
compliance with any provision of Article 5 (commencing with
Section 7065) shall be one hundred dollars ($100), which shall be
used by the board only to process each deposit filed with the
registrar, to cover the reasonable costs to the registrar for holding
money or cashier’s checks in trust in interest bearing deposit or
share accounts, and to offset the costs of processing payment of
lawful claims against a deposit in a civil action.

(C) The fee for the processing and issuance of a duplicate copy
of any certificate of licensure or other form evidencing licensure
or renewal of licensure pursuant to Section 122 shall be twenty-five
dollars ($25).

(D) The fee to change the business name of a license as it is
recorded under this chapter shall be one hundred dollars ($100)
and may be increased to not more than one hundred twenty-five
dollars ($125).

(E) The service charge for a dishonored check authorized by
Section 6157 of the Government Code shall be twenty-five dollars
($25) for each check.

(b) The board shall, by regulation, establish criteria for the
approval of expedited processing of applications. Approved
expedited processing of applications for licensure or registration,
as required by other provisions of law, shall not be subject to this
subdivision.

SEC. 16. Section 7583.22 of the Business and Professions
Code 1s amended to read:

7583.22. (a) A licensee, qualified manager of a licensee, or
security guard who, in the course of their employment, may be
required to carry a firearm shall, prior to carrying a firearm, do
beth all of the following:

(1) Complete a course of training in the carrying and use of
firearms.

(2) Receive a firearms qualification card or be otherwise
qualified to carry a firearm as provided in Section 7583.12.

(b) A security guard who, in the course of their employment,
may be required to carry a firearm, shall, prior to carrying a firearm,
be found capable of exercising appropriate judgment, restraint,
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and self-control for the purposes of carrying and using a firearm
during the course of their duties, pursuant to Section 7583.47.

(c) A licensee shall not permit an employee to carry or use a
loaded or unloaded firearm, whether or not it is serviceable or
operative, unless the employee possesses a valid and current
firearms qualification card issued by the bureau or is so otherwise
qualified to carry a firearm as provided in Section 7583.12.

(d) A pocket card issued by the bureau pursuant to Section
7582.13 may also serve as a firearms qualification card if so
indicated on the face of the card.

(e) Paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) shall not apply to a peace
officer as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830)
of Title 3 of Part 2 of the Penal Code, who has successfully
completed a course of study in the use of firearms or to a federal
qualified law enforcement officer, as defined in Section 926B of
Title 18 of the United States Code, who has successfully completed
a course of study in the use of firearms.

SEC. 17. Section 7583.23 of the Business and Professions
Code is amended to read:

7583.23. The bureau shall issue a firearms permit when all of
the following conditions are satisfied:

(a) The applicant is a licensee, a qualified manager of a licensee,
or a registered security guard subject to the following:

(1) The firearms permit may only be associated with the
following:

(A) A sole owner of a sole ownership licensee, pursuant to
Section 7582.7 or 7525.1.

(B) A partner of a partnership licensee, pursuant to Section
7582.7 or 7525.1.

(C) A qualified manager of a licensee, pursuant to Section 7536
or 7582.22.

(D) A security guard registrant.

(2) If the firearms permit is associated with a security guard
registration, they are subject to the provisions of Section 7583.47,
regardless of any other license possessed or associated with the
firearms permit.

(b) A certified firearms training instructor has certified that the
applicant has successfully completed a written examination
prepared by the bureau and training course in the carrying and use
of firearms approved by the bureau.
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(c) The applicant has filed with the bureau a classifiable
fingerprint card, a completed application for a firearms permit on
a form prescribed by the director, dated and signed by the applicant,
certifying under penalty of perjury that the information in the
application is true and correct. In lieu of a classifiable fingerprint
card, the applicant may submit fingerprints into an electronic
fingerprinting system administered by the Department of Justice.
An applicant who submits their fingerprints by electronic means
shall have their fingerprints entered into the system through a
terminal operated by a law enforcement agency or other facility
authorized by the Department of Justice to conduct electronic
fingerprinting. The terminal operator may charge a fee sufficient
to reimburse it for the costs incurred in providing this service.

(d) The applicant is at least 21 years of age and the bureau has
determined, after investigation, that the carrying and use of a
firearm by the applicant, in the course of their duties, presents no
apparent threat to the public safety, or that the carrying and use of
a firearm by the applicant is not in violation of the Penal Code.

(e) The applicant has produced evidence to the firearm training
facility that the applicant is a citizen of the United States or has
permanent legal alien status in the United States. Evidence of
citizenship or permanent legal alien status shall be deemed
sufficient by the bureau to ensure compliance with federal laws
prohibiting possession of firearms by persons unlawfully in the
United States and may include, but not be limited to, United States
Department of Justice, Immigration and Naturalization Service
Form I-151 or I-551, Alien Registration Receipt Card,
naturalization documents, or birth certificates evidencing lawful
residence or status in the United States.

(f) The application is accompanied by the application fees
prescribed in this chapter.

(g) The—(1) If the applicant is a registered security guard and
they have been found capable of exercising appropriate judgment,
restraint, and self-control, for the purposes of carrying and using
a firearm during the course of their duties, pursuant to Section
7583.47.

(2) The requirement in paragraph (1) shall be completed within
six months preceding the date the application is submitted to the
bureau.
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SEC. 18. Section 7583.24 of the Business and Professions
Code is amended to read:

7583.24. (a) The bureau shall not issue a firearm permit if the
applicant is prohibited from possessing, receiving, owning, or
purchasing a firearm pursuant to state or federal law.

(b) Before issuing an initial firearm permit the bureau shall
provide the Department of Justice with the name, address, social
security number, and fingerprints of the applicant.

(c) The Department of Justice shall inform the bureau, within
60 days from receipt of the information specified in subdivision
(b), of the applicant’s eligibility to possess, receive, purchase, or
own a firearm pursuant to state and federal law.

(d) An applicant who has been denied a firearm permit based
upon subdivision (a) may reapply for the permit after the
prohibition expires. The bureau shall treat this application as an
initial application and shall follow the required screening process
as specified in this section.

SEC. 19. Section 7583.27 of the Business and Professions
Code is amended to read:

7583.27. (a) A firearm permit may be revoked if at any time
the Department of Justice notifies the bureau that the holder of the
firearm permit is prohibited from possessing, receiving, or
purchasing a firearm pursuant to state or federal law. Following
the automatic revocation, an administrative hearing shall be
provided upon written request to the bureau in accordance with
Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division
3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

(b) The bureau may seek an emergency order pursuant to Article
13 (commencing with Section 11460.10) of Chapter 4.5 of Part 1
of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code against the holder
of the firearms permit if, after the bureau’s investigation relating
to any of the following events, the bureau determines that the
holder of the firearms permit presents an undue hazard to public
safety that may result in substantial injury to another:

(1) Receipt of subsequent arrest information of an arrest for any
of the following:

(A) Assault.

(B) Battery.

(C) Any use of force or violence on any person committed by
the permitholder.
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(2) A report from a bureau-approved firearms training facility
or instructor made pursuant to Section 7585.18.

(3) A report from the permitholder’s employer or former
employer that the permitholder may be a threat to public safety.

(4) A complaint filed by any member of the public that the
permitholder may be a threat to public safety.

SEC. 20. Section 7583.29 of the Business and Professions
Code is amended to read:

7583.29. Ifa firearms permit is denied, the denial of the permit
shall be in writing and shall describe the basis for the denial. The
denial shall inform the applicant that if the applicant desires a
review by a disciplinary review committee to contest the denial,
the review shall be requested of the director within 30 days
following notice of the issuance of the denial. A review or hearing
shall be held pursuant to Section 7581.3. However, no review or
hearing shall be granted to an individual who is otherwise
prohibited by law from carrying a firearm.

SEC. 21. Section 7583.47 of the Business and Professions
Code 1s amended to read:

7583.47. (a) As used in this section, “assessment” means the
application of a testing instrument identified by the bureau that
evaluates whether an applicant for a firearms permit who is a
registered security guard, at the time of the assessment, possesses
appropriate judgment, restraint, and self-control for the purposes
of carrying and using a firearm during the course of their security
guard duties.

(b) The applicant shall complete the assessment, as specified
in this section.

(¢) (1) The bureau shall implement a process to administer the
assessment specified in this section. The establishment of the
assessment and the process for administering the assessment shall
not be subject to the requirements of Chapter 3.5 (commencing
with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the
Government Code.

(2) The bureau shall consult with a California licensed
psychologist, psychologists, or other persons with subject matter
expertise, whose minimum duties shall include, but are not limited
to, assisting the bureau with all of the following:

(A) Establishing criteria for a contract with a vendor to
administer the assessment.
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(B) Identifying minimum standards for the assessment.

(C) Evaluating currently available assessments.

(D) Providing consultative services on the bids received by the
bureau from third-party vendors seeking to administer and interpret
the assessment, to ensure both of the following:

(1) Compliance with the applicable standards of care for the
administration and interpretation of such assessments.

(i1) The assessment will be administered in accordance with the
assessment manufacturer’s requirements.

(3) The bureau shall contract with a third-party vendor to
administer the assessment. All third-party vendors seeking to
administer the assessment must meet the minimum standards
established by the bureau, its consultants, and the assessment
manufacturer’s requirements for administering the assessment.
Considerations for the third-party vendor contract shall include,
but are not limited to, all of the following:

(A) Cost to the applicant to complete the assessment.

(B) Geographic accessibility statewide of the assessment to
applicants.

(C) Assessment compliance with the established minimum
standards for the assessment and assessment process.

(D) Ensuring an assessment carried out on an applicant complies
with the applicable professional standards of care for such
assessments, as well as the assessment manufacturer’s requirements
for administering the assessment.

(d) The applicant, or the applicant’s designee or employer if the
employer voluntarily chooses, shall bear the cost of the assessment.

(e) Within 30 days of administering an applicant’s assessment,
the vendor shall directly provide the bureau, on a form and in a
manner prescribed by the bureau, the applicant’s assessment results.
If the results of the applicant’s assessment indicate that the
applicant is incapable of exercising appropriate judgment, restraint,
and self-control for the purposes of carrying and using a firearm
during the course of the applicant’s duties, at the point in time of
the evaluation, the bureau shall not issue a firearms permit. If the
applicant fails the assessment, the applicant may complete another
assessment no earlier than-99 /80 days after the results of the
previous assessment are provided to the bureau.

(f) The application shall be deemed incomplete until the bureau
receives the results of the applicant’s assessment and the results
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indicate that the applicant is capable of exercising appropriate
judgment, restraint, and self-control for the purposes of carrying
and using a firearm during the course of the applicant’s duties.

(g) Notwithstanding any other law, an applicant who fails the
assessment shall not be entitled to an administrative hearing or an
appeal subject to Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of
Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code. However,
such an applicant who is denied a firearms permit may request
review of the denial pursuant to Section 7583.29.

(h) The bureau may prescribe, adopt, and enforce emergency
regulations, and promulgate regulations to implement this section.
Any emergency regulation prescribed, adopted, or enforced
pursuant to this section shall be adopted in accordance with Chapter
3.5 (commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of
Title 2 of the Government Code, and for purposes of that chapter,
including Section 11349.6 of the Government Code, the adoption
of the regulation is an emergency and shall be considered by the
Office of Administrative Law as necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health and safety, and general
welfare.

(1) The assessment required pursuant to this section shall be
subject to review by the appropriate policy committees of the
Legislature. The review shall be performed as if this section was
scheduled to be repealed as of January 1, 2025.

(j) Nothing in this section requires any private business entity
that contracts with the bureau for the administration of the
assessment to produce documents related to the content,
methodology, results, or scoring criteria of the assessment, or any
trade secret, as defined in subdivision (d) of Section 3426.1 of the
Civil Code, for any private individual, firm, copartnership,
association, or corporation.

SEC. 22. Section 17973 of the Health and Safety Code is
amended to read:

17973. (a) Exterior elevated elements that include load-bearing
components in all buildings containing three or more multifamily
dwelling units shall be inspected. The inspection shall be performed
by a licensed architect; licensed civil or structural engineer; a
building contractor holding any or all of the “A,” “B,” or “C-5”
license classifications issued by the Contractors State License
Board, with a minimum of five years’ experience, as a holder of

95



SB 607 —30—

O oo ~IAN NPk~ WN—

the aforementioned classifications or licenses, in constructing
multistory wood frame buildings; or an individual certified as a
building inspector or building official from a recognized state,
national, or international association, as determined by the local
jurisdiction. These individuals shall not be employed by the local
jurisdiction while performing these inspections. The purpose of
the inspection is to determine that exterior elevated elements and
their associated waterproofing elements are in a generally safe
condition, adequate working order, and free from any hazardous
condition caused by fungus, deterioration, decay, or improper
alteration to the extent that the life, limb, health, property, safety,
or welfare of the public or the occupants is not endangered. The
person or business performing the inspection shall be hired by the
owner of the building.

(b) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
following definitions:

(1) “Associated waterproofing elements” include flashings,

membranes, coatings, and sealants that protect the load-bearing
components of exterior elevated elements from exposure to water
and the elements.

(2) “Exterior elevated element” means the following types of
structures, including their supports and railings: balconies, decks,
porches, stairways, walkways, and entry structures that extend
beyond exterior walls of the building and which have a walking
surface that is elevated more than six feet above ground level, are
designed for human occupancy or use, and rely in whole or in
substantial part on wood or wood-based products for structural
support or stability of the exterior elevated element.

(3) “Load-bearing components” are those components that
extend beyond the exterior walls of the building to deliver structural
loads from the exterior elevated element to the building.

(c) The inspection required by this section shall at a minimum
include:

(1) Identification of each type of exterior elevated element that,
if found to be defective, decayed, or deteriorated to the extent that
it does not meet its load requirements, would, in the opinion of the
inspector, constitute a threat to the health or safety of the occupants.

(2) Assessment of the load-bearing components and associated
waterproofing elements of the exterior elevated elements identified
in paragraph (1) using methods allowing for evaluation of their
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performance by direct visual examination or comparable means
of evaluating their performance. For purposes of this section, a
sample of at least 15 percent of each type of exterior elevated
element shall be inspected.

(3) The evaluation and assessment shall address each of the
following as of the date of the evaluation:

(A) The current condition of the exterior elevated elements.

(B) Expectations of future performance and projected service
life.

(C) Recommendations of any further inspection necessary.

(4) A written report of the evaluation stamped or signed by the
inspector presented to the owner of the building or the owner’s
designated agent within 45 days of completion of the inspection.
The report shall include photographs, any test results, and narrative
sufficient to establish a baseline of the condition of the components
inspected that can be compared to the results of subsequent
inspections. In addition to the evaluation required by this section,
the report shall advise which, if any, exterior elevated element
poses an immediate threat to the safety of the occupants, and
whether preventing occupant access or conducting emergency
repairs, including shoring, are necessary.

(d) The inspection shall be completed by January 1, 2025, and
by January 1 every six years thereafter. The inspector conducting
the inspection shall produce an initial report pursuant to paragraph
(4) of subdivision (c) and, if requested by the owner, a final report
indicating that any required repairs have been completed. A copy
of any report that recommends immediate repairs, advises that any
building assembly poses an immediate threat to the safety of the
occupants, or that preventing occupant access or emergency repairs,
including shoring, are necessary, shall be provided by the inspector
to the owner of the building and to the local enforcement agency
within 15 days of completion of the report. Subsequent inspection
reports shall incorporate copies of prior inspection reports,
including the locations of the exterior elevated elements inspected.
Local enforcement agencies may determine whether any additional
information is to be provided in the report and may require a copy
of the initial or final reports, or both, be submitted to the local
jurisdiction. Copies of all inspection reports shall be maintained
in the building owner’s permanent records for not less than two
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inspection cycles, and shall be disclosed and delivered to the buyer
at the time of any subsequent sale of the building.

(e) The inspection of buildings for which a building permit
application has been submitted on or after January 1, 2019, shall
occur no later than six years following issuance of a certificate of
occupancy from the local jurisdiction and shall otherwise comply
with the provisions of this section.

(f) If the property was inspected within three years prior to
January 1, 2019, by an inspector as described in subdivision (a)
and a report of that inspector was issued stating that the exterior
elevated elements and associated waterproofing elements are in
proper working condition and do not pose a threat to the health
and safety of the public, no new inspection pursuant to this section
shall be required until January 1, 2025.

(g) An exterior elevated element found by the inspector that is
in need of repair or replacement shall be corrected by the owner
of the building. All necessary permits for repair or replacement
shall be obtained from the local jurisdiction. All repair and
replacement work shall be performed by a qualified and licensed
contractor in compliance with all of the following:

(1) The recommendations of a licensed professional described
in subdivision (a).

(2) Any applicable manufacturer’s specifications.

(3) The California Building Standards Code, consistent with
subdivision (d) of Section 17922 of the Health and Safety Code.

(4) All local jurisdictional requirements.

(h) (1) An exterior elevated element that the inspector advises
poses an immediate threat to the safety of the occupants, or finds
preventing occupant access or emergency repairs, including
shoring, or both, are necessary, shall be considered an emergency
condition and the owner of the building shall perform required
preventive measures immediately. Immediately preventing
occupant access to the exterior elevated element until emergency
repairs can be completed constitutes compliance with this
paragraph. Repairs of emergency conditions shall comply with the
requirements of subdivision (g), be inspected by the inspector, and
reported to the local enforcement agency.

(2) The owner of the building requiring corrective work to an
exterior elevated element that, in the opinion of the inspector, does
not pose an immediate threat to the safety of the occupants, shall
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apply for a permit within 120 days of receipt of the inspection
report. Once the permit is approved, the owner of the building
shall have 120 days to make the repairs unless an extension of time
is granted by the local enforcement agency.

(1) (1) The owner of the building shall be responsible for
complying with the requirements of this section.

(2) Ifthe owner of the building does not comply with the repair
requirements within 180 days, the inspector shall notify the local
enforcement agency and the owner of the building. If within 30
days of the date of the notice the repairs are not completed, the
owner of the building shall be assessed a civil penalty based on
the fee schedule set by the local authority of not less than one
hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500)
per day until the repairs are completed, unless an extension of time
is granted by the local enforcement agency.

(3) In the event that a civil penalty is assessed pursuant to this
section, a building safety lien may be recorded in the county
recorder’s office by the local jurisdiction in the county in which
the parcel of land is located and from the date of recording shall
have the force, effect, and priority of a judgment lien.

() (1) A building safety lien authorized by this section shall
specify the amount of the lien, the name of the agency on whose
behalf the lien is imposed, the street address, the legal description
and assessor’s parcel number of the parcel on which the lien is
imposed, and the name and address of the recorded owner of the
building.

(2) Inthe event that the lien is discharged, released, or satisfied,
either through payment or foreclosure, notice of the discharge
containing the information specified in paragraph (1) shall be
recorded by the governmental agency. A safety lien and the release
of the lien shall be indexed in the grantor-grantee index.

(3) A building safety lien may be foreclosed by an action
brought by the appropriate local jurisdiction for a money judgment.

(4) Notwithstanding any other law, the county recorder may
impose a fee on the city to reimburse the costs of processing and
recording the lien and providing notice to the owner of the building.
A city may recover from the owner of the building any costs
incurred regarding the processing and recording of the lien and
providing notice to the owner of the building as part of its
foreclosure action to enforce the lien.
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(k) The continued and ongoing maintenance of exterior elevated
elements in a safe and functional condition in compliance with
these provisions shall be the responsibility of the owner of the
building.

() Local enforcement agencies shall have the ability to recover
enforcement costs associated with the requirements of this section.

(m) For any building subject to the provisions of this section
that is proposed for conversion to condominiums to be sold to the
public after January 1, 2019, the inspection required by this section
shall be conducted prior to the first close of escrow of a separate
interest in the project and shall include the inspector’s
recommendations for repair or replacement of any exterior elevated
element found to be defective, decayed, or deteriorated to the extent
that it does not meet its load requirements, and would, in the
opinion of the inspector, constitute a threat to the health or safety
of the occupants. The inspection report and written confirmation
by the inspector that any repairs or replacements recommended
by the inspector have been completed shall be submitted to the
Department of Real Estate by the proponent of the conversion and
shall be a condition to the issuance of the final public report. A
complete copy of the inspection report and written confirmation
by the inspector that any repairs or replacements recommended
by the inspector have been completed shall be included with the
written statement of defects required by Section 1134 of the Civil
Code, and provided to the local jurisdiction in which the project
is located. The inspection, report, and confirmation of completed
repairs shall be a condition of the issuance of a final inspection or
certificate of occupancy by the local jurisdiction.

(n) This section shall not apply to a common interest
development, as defined in Section 4100 of the Civil Code.

(o) The governing body of any city, county, or city and county,
may enact ordinances or laws imposing requirements greater than
those imposed by this section.

SEC. 23. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution for certain
costs that may be incurred by a local agency or school district
because, in that regard, this act creates a new crime or infraction,
eliminates a crime or infraction, or changes the penalty for a crime
or infraction, within the meaning of Section 17556 of the
Government Code, or changes the definition of a crime within the
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meaning of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California
Constitution.

However, if the Commission on State Mandates determines that
this act contains other costs mandated by the state, reimbursement
to local agencies and school districts for those costs shall be made
pursuant to Part 7 (commencing with Section 17500) of Division
4 of Title 2 of the Government Code.
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