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LICENSING COMMITTEE MINUTES

The Licensing Committee meeting was webcasted. A record of the webcast is available

on the following link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F w2CXoQji4

DATE

MEETING PLATFORM

TIME

ATTENDEES
Members Present:

Members Absent:

Staff Present:

Other Attendees:

June 25, 2021
WebEx Video/Phone Conference

1:00 p.m.

Christina Wong, Chair, LCSW Member
Diana Herweck, LPCC Member
Wendy Strack, Public Member

All committee members present

Steve Sodergren, Executive Officer
Rosanne Helms, Legislative Manager
Christy Berger, Regulatory Analyst
Christina Kitamura, Administrative Analyst
Sabina Knight, Legal Counsel

Public participation via WebEXx video conference/phone
conference


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_w2CXoQji4
www.bbs.ca.gov

Call to Order and Establishment of Quorum

Christina Wong, Chair of the Telehealth Committee (Committee) called the
meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. Roll was called, and a quorum was established.

Introductions

Committee members and Board staff introduced themselves. Dr. Diana
Herweck was welcomed to the Committee. Susan Friedman resigned from this
Committee.

Item V was taken out of order (after item ).

Consent Calendar

a.

Discussion and Possible Approval of March 26, 2021 Committee
Meeting Minutes

Amendments:

e Page 1, line 25: remove “Interim”

e Page 6, line 6: remove “x” on absent column for Susan Friedman’s
vote.

MOTION: Approve the March 26, 2021 Committee meeting minutes as
amended.

Wong moved; Strack seconded.

Roll call vote:
Member Yea Nay Abstain Absent Recusal
Diana Herweck X
Wendy Strack X
Christina Wong X

Vote: 3 yea, 0 nay. Motion carried.

Overview of the Purpose of the Committee

Purpose of the Committee

The Committee held its first meeting on March 26, 2021. The Committee
outlined potential issues for future discussion and conducted a discussion
regarding the 12-hour California law and ethics course requirement for
renewing registrants with a failing score on the California law and ethics
examination.



Issues for Discussion at Future Meetings

1. The 12-hour California law and ethics course requirement for renewing
registrants with a failing California law and ethics exam score.

2. The allowable age of a passing California law and ethics examination
score.

3.  Whether California law and ethics examination attempts should be limited
to only those pursuing licensure.

4. Whether or not the number of exam attempts should be limited.

5.  Accepting the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination
(NCMHCE) from Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC)
applicants who may have taken and passed the examination prior to
gaining all required experience hours.

6. The six-year limit of registration numbers, the prohibition on working in a
private practice with a subsequent number, and the requirement that
experience hours be no more than six years old.

7. Discussion of life coaching and pastoral counseling.

8. Discussion of requiring continuing education for pre-licensees and a
modernization of required continuing education courses for licensees.

9. Discussion of LMFT national exam/ timing of exams.
Overview of the Board’s Licensing Process

Steve Sodergren gave a PowerPoint presentation on the Board’s licensing
process. PowerPoint slides were provided as reference.

Discussion and Possible Recommendation Regarding the 12-hour
California Law and Ethics Course Requirement for Renewing Registrants
with a Failing Score on the California Law and Ethics Examination, and
Continuing Education for Registrants (Business and Professions Code §§
4980.399, 4992.09, 4999.55 and Title 16, California Code of Regulations §§
1822.51 and 1822.52)

Board staff has observed that since the examination restructure became
effective in 2016 and the 12-hour course became a requirement, completion of
the course has at times been problematic for registrants.



Background

The Board’s examination restructure, which became effective in January 2016,
was the result of a review process by the Examination Program Review
Committee in 2008 and 2009. That committee made recommendations to the
Board, which were drafted into legislation and eventually became the current
exam program.

The required 12-hour course was originally proposed to be 18-hours. In
addition, the original proposal would have disallowed a registrant from renewing
a registration if they did not pass the law and ethics exam after 3 years. The
Board settled on a 12-hour course so that the course could be completed in
less than 3 days and decided to disallow issuance of a second registration
number until the law and ethics exam was passed.

Issues with the 12-Hour Law and Ethics Course

The timing and need to take the 12-hour law and ethics course after renewing,
if the law and eithcs exam was failed in the prior renewal period, can be
problematic for the following reasons:

e Registrants are confused as to when they must take the 12-hour course.
The Board will not accept a course that was taken prior to the previous
failure of the exam.

e Registrants do not realize they need to take the 12-hour course, and
therefore, they do not take it. When they need to take the law and ethics
exam again, they are not able to do so because they take the course. This
can delay the registrant’s next renewal.

e Taking a required course results in an additional cost to registrants.
Depending on the provider, the course typically costs between $50 to $135.

Recommendation

Staff developed two language scenarios:

e Scenario 1 (provided as Attachment B): requires the 12-hour California law
and ethics course be taken as a condition of registration renewal if the law
and ethics exam is failed.

e Scenario 2 (provided as Attachment C): deletes the 12-hour California law
and ethics course requirement for those who failed to pass the exam.
Instead, it requires all registrants to complete a minimum of six, or possibly
three, hours of continuing education in California law and ethics each
renewal period, regardless of whether or not they have already passed the
California law and ethics examination.



VII.

VIIL.

MOTION: Direct staff to finalize language drafting Attachment C (Scenario 2)
with a 3-hour requirement Recommend adopting language of attachment C with
a 3-hour requirement, obtain final approval from legal counsel, and recommend
to the Policy and Advocacy Committee for consideration.

Wong moved; Strack seconded.

Public Comment

Ben Caldwell: Supports the 3-hour course requirement.

Jennifer Alley, California Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (CAMFT):
Supports the 3-hour course requirement.

Roll call vote:
Member Yea  Nay @ Abstain Absent Recusal
Diana Herweck X X
Wendy Strack X
Christina Wong X

Vote: 3 yea, 0 nay. Motion carried.

Public Comment for Items Not on the Agenda

Christine Nguyen: There is no way to contact a representative at BBS. Asked
how BBS plans to communicate with the public, address public responsiveness,
and if it is possible to outsource the workload. Submitted her associate
registration application in March and still does not have her registration number.

Leslie Cheramy: Requests that BBS review her eligibility to sit for the LMFT
clinical exam.

Suggestions for Future Agenda Items
None
Adjournment

The Committee adjourned at 3:07 p.m.



	LICENSING COMMITTEE MINUTES




Accessibility Report





		Filename: 

		20210625_lic_minutes.pdf









		Report created by: 

		



		Organization: 

		







[Enter personal and organization information through the Preferences > Identity dialog.]



Summary



The checker found no problems in this document.





		Needs manual check: 2



		Passed manually: 0



		Failed manually: 0



		Skipped: 0



		Passed: 30



		Failed: 0







Detailed Report





		Document





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Accessibility permission flag		Passed		Accessibility permission flag must be set



		Image-only PDF		Passed		Document is not image-only PDF



		Tagged PDF		Passed		Document is tagged PDF



		Logical Reading Order		Needs manual check		Document structure provides a logical reading order



		Primary language		Passed		Text language is specified



		Title		Passed		Document title is showing in title bar



		Bookmarks		Passed		Bookmarks are present in large documents



		Color contrast		Needs manual check		Document has appropriate color contrast



		Page Content





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged content		Passed		All page content is tagged



		Tagged annotations		Passed		All annotations are tagged



		Tab order		Passed		Tab order is consistent with structure order



		Character encoding		Passed		Reliable character encoding is provided



		Tagged multimedia		Passed		All multimedia objects are tagged



		Screen flicker		Passed		Page will not cause screen flicker



		Scripts		Passed		No inaccessible scripts



		Timed responses		Passed		Page does not require timed responses



		Navigation links		Passed		Navigation links are not repetitive



		Forms





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged form fields		Passed		All form fields are tagged



		Field descriptions		Passed		All form fields have description



		Alternate Text





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Figures alternate text		Passed		Figures require alternate text



		Nested alternate text		Passed		Alternate text that will never be read



		Associated with content		Passed		Alternate text must be associated with some content



		Hides annotation		Passed		Alternate text should not hide annotation



		Other elements alternate text		Passed		Other elements that require alternate text



		Tables





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Rows		Passed		TR must be a child of Table, THead, TBody, or TFoot



		TH and TD		Passed		TH and TD must be children of TR



		Headers		Passed		Tables should have headers



		Regularity		Passed		Tables must contain the same number of columns in each row and rows in each column



		Summary		Passed		Tables must have a summary



		Lists





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		List items		Passed		LI must be a child of L



		Lbl and LBody		Passed		Lbl and LBody must be children of LI



		Headings





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Appropriate nesting		Passed		Appropriate nesting










Back to Top



