
       
 

 
  

 
 

 
  

 

    
    

 

 
       

       
    

     
 

 
      

     

 
  

 

   

  

    
  

     

    
 

    

   
    

  

 
 

    

 
 

 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA – BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY Gavin Newsom, Governor 

Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834 

(916) 574-7830 
www.bbs.ca.gov 

LICENSED CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER 
APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

Path B – Licensure via Education and Experience 
OUT-OF-STATE or OUT-OF-COUNTRY Applicants 

Use this Path B application if either of the following apply to you: 

 You are licensed as an LCSW in another state or country and do not meet 
all of the requirements to apply under Path A; OR 

 You have an out-of-state or out-of-country degree AND do NOT hold a 
California Associate Registration* 

Thank you for your interest in becoming a California Licensed Clinical Social 
Worker (LCSW). This packet contains the following: 

1. Application Selector and 5. Application for Licensure 
Overview of Licensure 

6. Verification of Out-of-State License or Process 
Registration 

2. Application Instructions 
7. Experience Verification (Out-of-State) 

3. Application Checklist 
8. Instructions for Live Scan 

4. Important Information for Fingerprinting/Request for Live Scan 
Applicants Service Form 

* If you are currently registered as an Associate in California and have gained 
experience hours in California, you may submit an In-State Application for 
Licensure. 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lcs/lcsapp_oos.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lcs/lcsapp.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lcs/lcsapp.pdf
www.bbs.ca.gov
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LCSW Out-of-State/Out-of-Country Application  

Selector and Overview of Licensure Process 

 

  
This is a summary. For a full description of licensure requirements, see Statutes and Regulations. 

 

I have an out-of-state/out-
of-country degree and 
need to obtain 3,000 

hours of supervised work 
experience 

I have an out-of-state/out-of-
country degree and already have 

3,000 hours of qualifying 
supervised work experience OR I 
am licensed as an LCSW at the 

highest level in the U.S. 

Once you receive an ASW 
registration you may apply to take 

the CA Law and Ethics Exam, 
which you must take prior to 

renewing your ASW registration 

Submit the LCSW Out-of-State/Out-of-
Country Application (Path A or Path B) 

Click Here for Path A Application 
Click Here for Path B Application 

After obtaining 3,000 hours of 
qualifying experience and 

completing Additional Coursework 
you may submit the  

LCSW IN-STATE Application 
Click Here for LCSW Application 

Once your LCSW application is 
approved and you have passed 

the Law and Ethics Exam you will 
receive notification of your 

eligibility to sit for the ASWB 
 

Path A 
Once approved you will 
be eligible to sit for the 

CA Law and Ethics 
Exam 

Take and pass 
the CA Law and 

Ethics Exam 

Path B 
Once approved you 

will be eligible to sit for 
the CA Law and Ethics 

Exam 

If you have not yet 
passed the ASWB* 

you will receive 
notification of your 

eligibility to sit for the 
ASWB* 

After you pass the appropriate exams 
submit your Request for Initial License 
Issuance to receive your LCSW license 

Click Here for Request for Initial 
License Issuance  

Take and pass 
the CA Law and 

Ethics Exam, 
then contact the 

Board 

Submit the 
ASW Out-of-State/Out-of-

Country Application 

*ASWB = 
Association of 

Social Work Boards 
Clinical Exam 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lcs/lcsapp_oos.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lcs/lcsapp_oos_path_b.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lcs/lcsapp.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/initial_lic_iss.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/initial_lic_iss.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lcs/aswapp_oos.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lcs/aswapp_oos.pdf


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
LICENSED CLINICAL 
SOCIAL WORKER 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
PATH B – Licensure via Education and Experience 

Out-of-State and Out-of-Country Applicants 

READ CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING YOUR APPLICATION 

Submit your completed application to: Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200 
Sacramento, CA 95834 

 Be sure to submit an accurate and complete application package and ensure that all 
required original documents are furnished to the Board. 

 All items are mandatory unless otherwise indicated. 

 Use the Application Checklist included in this packet to help avoid deficiencies. 

EXPEDITED REVIEW 

The Board is required to expedite the licensure process for the following applicants (all expedite 
forms available at www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicants>LCSW>Forms/Pubs): 

• Honorably Discharged Veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces pursuant to Business and 
Professions Code (BPC) section 115.4. Download the request form from the Board’s 
website and include it ON TOP OF your application. 

• Spouses/Partners of Persons on Active Duty Military pursuant to BPC section 115.5. A 
$250 application fee waiver is also available to these applicants. Download the request 
form from the Board’s website and include it ON TOP OF your application. 

• Refugees / Asylees / Special Immigrant Status Holders ("SI" or "SQ") pursuant to BPC 
section 135.4. Download the request form from the Board’s website and include it ON TOP 
OF your application. 

PROOF OF RECEIPT OF APPLICATION 

If you would like to know whether the Board has received your application, you will need to mail 
your application using a method that includes tracking. You can also check with the bank to see if 
your check or money order has been cashed by the Board. 
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https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/military_veteran_expedite_37m-471.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/military_spouse_fee_waiver_expedite.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/refugee_exp_request.pdf
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicants>LCSW>Forms/Pubs


 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Path B - APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

A. APPLICATION 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

• Complete all sections of the Application for Licensure in ink. 

• The application must have your original signature. 

• You must use your legal name. Your “legal name” is the name 
established legally by your birth certificate, marriage or domestic 
partnership certificate, or divorce decree (for example). 

• Name Change: If you have registered with the Board previously 
and have changed your legal name without notifying the Board, 
submit a Notification of Name Change form with your application 
packet along with the required documentation (access at 
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/change_name.pdf). 

• Email Address: Provide your email address if you have one. This 
address is not subject to public disclosure. 

Completed and signed 
Application for 
Licensure – Path B 

DCA BBS 37A-203B (Revised 06/2023) 2 State of California 
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B. FEES 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

Carefully read the information below to determine your fees. 
Incorrect submission will delay your application. 
If you need clarification, contact bbs.lcsw@dca.ca.gov prior to 
submission. 

1. If you have NEVER been issued a registration or license 
with the BBS: 

Attach a $400.00 check or money order to your application, made 
payable to the Behavioral Sciences Fund. The $400.00 fee consists of a 
$250.00 application fee and a $150.00 California Law and Ethics Exam 
fee. The application fee is an earned fee for evaluation of your 
application and is NOT REFUNDABLE. 

2. If you HAVE been issued a registration or license with the 
BBS at any time in the past: 

a. If you have ALREADY PASSED the California Law and Ethics 
Exam: 

Attach a $250 check or money order to your application, made 
payable to the Behavioral Sciences Fund. This is an earned fee for 
the evaluation of your application and is NOT REFUNDABLE. 

b. If you have NOT yet passed the California Law and Ethics Exam: 

Submit BOTH of the following (i and ii below): 

i. Attach a $250.00 check or money order to your application, 
made payable to the Behavioral Sciences Fund. This is an 
earned fee for the evaluation of your application and is NOT 

1. Attach a $400.00 
check or money order 
payable to the 
Behavioral Sciences 
Fund 

2. Attach a $250 check 
or money order 
payable to the 
Behavioral Sciences 
Fund 
AND 
(if you have NOT 
passed the Law and 
Ethics Exam): 

Apply for the Law 
and Ethics Exam 
($150 fee to submit 
online at 
www.breeze.ca.gov) 

REFUNDABLE. 

*AND* 
ii. Apply online to take California Law and Ethics Exam ($150 fee 

to submit online at: www.breeze.ca.gov). 

Out-of-State Fingerprinting Fee: 

Attach a $49 fee if ONLY you are submitting fingerprint “hard cards” 
due to being fingerprinted outside of California (see next page for 
details). 

If submitting fingerprint 
“hard cards” also attach 
a $49 check or money 
order payable to the 
Behavioral Sciences 
Fund 

DCA BBS 37A-203B (Revised 06/2023) 3 State of California 

mailto:bbs.lcsw@dca.ca.gov
https://www.breeze.ca.gov/datamart/mainMenu.do
https://www.breeze.ca.gov/datamart/mainMenu.do
https://www.breeze.ca.gov
https://www.breeze.ca.gov


 

 

  

 

 

  

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

C. FINGERPRINTS 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

 Disregard this section if you are currently registered with the 
BBS as an Associate 

The Board requires a Department of Justice (DOJ) and Federal Bureau 
of Investigation (FBI) criminal history background check on all applicants. 

If you currently reside in California: 
Read the Instructions for Live Scan Fingerprinting and complete the 
Request for Live Scan Service form included in this application packet. 

• The information on this form must match the information you 
provide on your application. 

If you currently reside 
in California: Submit 
the second copy of 
your completed 
Request for Live Scan 
Service Applicant 
Submission form. 

• DO NOT COMPLETE FINGERPRINTS MORE THAN 60 DAYS 
PRIOR TO SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION. Fingerprint results 
without an application on file will only be held for 6 months. 

If you currently reside out of state: 
You must use the "hard card" fingerprint method unless you can access 
a California Live Scan Service operator. To request fingerprint hard 
cards, send an email to BBS.Fingerprint@dca.ca.gov with "Fingerprint 
Hard Cards" in the subject line, and we will mail them to you. 

• YOU MUST SUBMIT YOUR TWO COMPLETED FINGERPRINT 
CARDS TO THE BOARD WITH YOUR APPLICATION. We are 
unable to process them until your application is received. 

• DOJ processing time for hard card fingerprints is 8 or more weeks. 

If you currently reside 
out of state: 
Submit two completed 
fingerprint hard cards 
(FBI and DOJ) 
AND a $49 check or 
money order payable 
to the Behavioral 
Sciences Fund. 

D. VERIFICATION OF LICENSE OR REGISTRATION IN ANOTHER STATE OR COUNTRY 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

If you hold or have held a license or registration as a clinical social 
worker in another state or country, and that state or country does NOT 
have a public online license lookup that contains information on 
disciplinary actions, you must provide a completed Verification of License 
or Registration in Another State or Country form. This verification may be 
provided in one of the following ways: 

• Emailed to the Board DIRECTLY FROM THE LICENSING 
AGENCY to BBSLicCerts@dca.ca.gov 

• Submitted in an envelope SEALED BY THE LICENSING 
AGENCY. 

Verification of License 
or Registration (if 
applicable) 

MUST BE EMAILED BY 
THE LICENSING 
AGENCY TO THE 
BOARD OR PROVIDED 
IN AN ENVELOPE 
SEALED BY THE 
AGENCY (if no public 
online lookup) 

DCA BBS 37A-203B (Revised 06/2023) 4 State of California 
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E. EXAMINATIONS 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

  

  

 

 

  

  

 

 

 

 

You must pass the California Law and Ethics Examination and the 
Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Clinical Examination. 

You will be eligible to take your initial exam after your Application for 
Licensure has been approved. You will be provided with information on 
how to register at that time. 

If you have already passed the ASWB Clinical Exam for another state, 
the Board may accept your passing score as follows: 

• If you do NOT currently hold a license or registration in another 
state or country, your passing score must be less than seven (7) 
years old as determined by the date of the Board’s receipt of your 
California Application for Licensure. 

• If you DO currently hold a license or registration in another state or 
country, and the license or registration is active and in good 
standing at the time of application and is not revoked, suspended, 
surrendered, denied or otherwise restricted or encumbered, a 
passing score of any age will be accepted; 

You must provide the Board with official proof from the ASWB to 
verify your passing score. 

Download an Official Score Transfer Request form from the ASWB’s 
website (www.aswb.org). Your score verification must arrive in an 
envelope that has been SEALED by the ASWB. 

ASWB Clinical Exam 
Score Verification (if 
applicable) SEALED 
by the ASWB 

DCA BBS 37A-203B (Revised 06/2023) 5 State of California 

https://www.aswb.org/
https://www.aswb.org


F. SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE 

□ I am licensed as an LCSW at the highest level for independent clinical 
practice in another state or country that requires at least 3,000 hours of 
supervised experience OR 

□ I am licensed in another state or country that requires less than 3,000 
hours of supervised experience, and I am making up the deficit using time 
licensed as an LCSW at the highest level for independent clinical practice 
(maximum 1,200 hours). 

□ I am licensed in another state or country that requires less than 3,000 
hours of supervised experience, and I am making up the deficit using time 
licensed as an LCSW at the highest level for independent clinical practice, 
but it is not enough to total 3,000 hours OR 

□ I am not licensed in another state or country at the highest level for 
independent clinical practice. 

You are not required to 
provide verification of 
experience. Skip to 
section G (Degree 
Requirements). 

You must provide 
verification of 
experience to reach a 
total of 3,000 hours. 
Follow the instructions 
provided below. 

Instructions for Applicants Who Must Submit Verification of Experience Document(s) Required 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Determine Your Requirements: Requirements 

Instructions for Experience Gained OUTSIDE of California See next page 

You must submit verification of substantially equivalent supervised experience 
to reach a total of 3,000 hours and 104 weeks as described below: 

• Experience must have been gained within the six (6) years prior to the 
Board’s receipt of your California Application for Licensure. 

• Experience must have been supervised by a licensed mental health 
professional who met all of the qualifications listed on page 6 of the 
Guide to Licensure Requirements for Out-of-State Applicants (access 
at https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/lcsw_guide.pdf). 

• Experience must include a minimum of 1,700 hours under the 
supervision of an LCSW who met all of the qualifications listed in the 
above Guide. 

• If the state or country in which your hours were earned required a 
registration or license in order to gain experience, you must have 
been registered or licensed during the time you earned your hours. 

If additional hours are needed and will be gained in California, you must 
first register as an Associate and comply with all requirements for hours 
gained in California (access the application at www.bbs.ca.gov> 
Applicant>LCSW). 

DCA BBS 37A-203B (Revised 06/2023) 6 State of California 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/lcsw_guide.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lcs/aswapp_oos.pdf
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F. SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE (continued) 

Instructions for Applicants Who Must Submit Verification of Experience Document(s) Required 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

Instructions for Experience Gained OUTSIDE of California (continued) 

• Submit an original Out-of-State Experience Verification form completed by 
each supervisor. Use separate Out-of-State Experience Verification forms 
for each supervisor and each employer. 

• If the state or country in which your supervisor is licensed does NOT 
have a public online license lookup that contains information on 
disciplinary actions, you must provide a completed Verification of 
License or Registration in Another State or Country form verifying your 
supervisor’s license. This verification may be provided in one of the 
following ways: 

o Emailed to the Board DIRECTLY FROM THE LICENSING AGENCY 
to BBSLicCerts@dca.ca.gov 

o Submitted in an envelope SEALED BY THE LICENSING AGENCY. 

Original Out-of-State 
Experience 
Verification form(s) 

Verification(s) of 
supervisor’s license in 
an envelope SEALED 
BY THE LICENSING 
AGENCY OR 
EMAILED BY THE 
AGENCY AS 
DIRECTED (if 
applicable) 

Instructions for Experience Gained WITHIN California 

EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION:  Use the In-State Experience Verification 
form, available on the Board’s website (access at 
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LCSW>Forms/Pubs). Must contain an original 
signature. Use separate In-State Experience Verification forms for each 
supervisor and each employer. Do not submit Weekly Log forms unless 
requested. 

W-2 FORMS:  If you were employed while gaining hours, you must submit 
copies of your W-2 for each year you are claiming, and for each employer. 
If your W-2 is not available, you must obtain a duplicate. If a W-2 is not 
available for the current year, attach a copy of a current pay stub. If your 
W-2 does not match the name of your employer listed on the experience 
verification form, an explanation is required. If you are submitting a 1099, 
an explanation is required. 

VOLUNTEER LETTER:  If you volunteered while gaining hours, a letter 
from your employer is required indicating your voluntary status on your 
employer’s letterhead. A sample letter is available on the Board’s website 
(access at www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LCSW>Forms/Pubs). The letter 
must state the time frame (date range) during which you volunteered and 
contain an original signature. 

DCA BBS 37A-203B (Revised 06/2023) 7 

Original In-State 
Experience 
Verification form(s) 

Copies of W-2 
Form(s)/Check stub 
for current year (if 
applicable) 

Original Volunteer 
Letter(s) (if 
applicable) 

State of California 

mailto:BBSLicCerts@dca.ca.gov
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/applicants/lmft.html
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_sample_verification_volunteer.pdf
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LCSW>Forms/Pubs
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LCSW>Forms/Pubs


F. SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE (continued) 

Instructions for Applicants Who Must Submit Verification of Experience Document(s) Required 

 

 
  

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Instructions for Experience Gained WITHIN California (continued) 

Original Supervisor SUPERVISOR RESPONSIBILITY STATEMENT OR SUPERVISION 
Responsibility AGREEMENT:  Submit a Supervisor Responsibility Statement or 
Statement(s) orSupervision Agreement for each supervisor. Must contain an original 
Supervision signature. 
Agreement(s) 
Original Supervisory SUPERVISORY PLAN:  Submit a Supervisory Plan for each supervisor and 
Plan(s) each employer. Must contain an original signature. Note:  For those 

submitting a Supervision Agreement, a Supervisory Plan is part of that 
agreement and does not need to be submitted separately. 

Original signed/dated LETTER OF AGREEMENT:  Submit a copy of the written oversight letter(s) of agreement agreement for each supervisor and each employer, if applicable. See BPC (if applicable) section 4996.23.3 to determine whether required. See sample letter online 
(access at www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LCSW>Forms/Pubs). Must contain 
original signatures. 

G. DEGREE REQUIREMENTS 

Instructions Document(s) 
Required 

 Disregard this section if you are currently registered with the BBS as 
an Associate 

Provide an official sealed transcripts verifying your master’s degree from a 
program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the Council on 
Social Work Education (CSWE). See section H. for requirements if your 
degree was obtained outside the U.S. or its territories. The degree title and 
date of conferral must be posted. Submit your transcripts as follows: 

• Provided in an envelope SEALED BY YOUR SCHOOL; or 

• Emailed BY YOUR SCHOOL to the Board at 
BBSLCSWtranscripts@dca.ca.gov 

• For questions about electronic submission, see FAQ (access at 
www.bbs.ca.gov>Updates/FAQs>FAQs). 

Official transcripts 
showing degree title 
and date of conferral. 

MUST BE IN AN 
ENVELOPE SEALED 
BY THE SCHOOL OR 
EMAILED BY THE 
SCHOOL AS 
DIRECTED 

DCA BBS 37A-203B (Revised 06/2023) 8 State of California 

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=4996.23.3.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=4996.23.3.
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/sample_written_oversight_agreement.pdf
mailto:BBSLCSWtranscripts@dca.ca.gov
https://bbs.ca.gov/pdf/electronic_transcripts.pdf
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LCSW>Forms/Pubs


  

 
  

 

  

 

 

 

 

H. DEGREE OBTAINED OUTSIDE THE U.S. 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

 Disregard this section if you are currently registered with the BBS 
as an Associate 

If your degree was earned outside of the United States or its territories, 
you must obtain a comprehensive evaluation of your degree in order to 
determine equivalency to a master's from a program accredited by the 
CSWE as specified in BPC section 4996.18(e). The evaluation must be 
performed by the CSWE or a CSWE-approved agency, and must include 
the following: 

• A statement that the degree has been evaluated for equivalency with 
CSWE standards. 

• If the evaluation is performed by a CSWE-approved agency, the 
evaluation must include a statement that the agency is approved by 
the CSWE. 

The Board has the right to request additional information and to make the 
final determination of whether a degree meets all requirements including 
coursework, regardless of evaluation or accreditation. 

Must be provided in an envelope SEALED BY THE EVALUATING 
AGENCY or emailed to the Board BY THE AGENCY to 
BBSLCSWtranscripts@dca.ca.gov 

In addition to the evaluation, a transcript is required as stated in section G 
above. 

Degree evaluation by 
a foreign credential 
evaluation service (if 
applicable). 
MUST BE IN AN 
ENVELOPE SEALED 
BY THE EVALUATING 
AGENCY OR EMAILED 
BY THE AGENCY AS 
DIRECTED 

I. CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS COURSE 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

 Disregard this section if you are currently registered with the BBS 
as an Associate 

Attach a certificate of completion for 12 hours of coursework that covers, 
at minimum, all of the following content pertaining to California Law and 
Ethics: 

Advertising, scope of practice, scope of competence, treatment 
of minors, confidentiality, dangerous patients, psychotherapist-
patient privilege, recordkeeping, patient access to records, 
state and federal laws related to confidentiality of patient health 
information, dual relationships, child abuse, elder and 
dependent adult abuse, online therapy, insurance 
reimbursement, civil liability, disciplinary actions and 

(continued on next page) 

Proof of completion of 
12- hour California 
Law and Ethics 
course 

DCA BBS 37A-203B (Revised 06/2023) 9 State of California 
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I. CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS COURSE (continued) 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

unprofessional conduct, ethics complaints and ethical 
standards, termination of therapy, standards of care, relevant 
family law, therapist disclosures to patients, the application of 
legal and ethical standards in different types of work settings, 
and licensing law and process. 

This course must be taken from a Board-accepted continuing education 
provider, including a school that holds a CSWE accreditation, a school 
that holds a regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by 
the United States Department of Education (USDE), or a school 
approved by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE). 

See the Board’s website for more information on acceptable course 
providers (access at www.bbs.ca.gov >Licensees>Continuing 
Education>Where to find CE Courses). 

Proof of completion of 
12- hour California Law 
and Ethics course 

J. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

The courses listed on the next page must be completed prior to approval 
of your Application for Licensure. A course description or syllabus will be 
required if the course content is not easily identifiable by the course title. 

Note:  If you have already submitted proof of completion with an Associate 
application, it is not necessary for you to resubmit. 

See the Board’s website for more information on acceptable course 
providers (access at www.bbs.ca.gov >Licensees>Continuing 
Education>Where to find CE Courses). 

Proof of completion of 
all additional 
coursework listed on 
the next page 

DCA BBS 37A-203B (Revised 06/2023) 10 State of California 
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J. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK (continued) 

ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK LENGTH CONTENT REQUIRED 

Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention 

6 hours of 
coursework or 
applied 
experience 

See pages 8-9 of the Guide 
to Out-of-State Applicant 
Requirements for ALL 
course content 
requirements 
(access at 
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pd 
f/lcsw_guide.pdf) 

Provision of Mental Health Services via 
Telehealth 
(must include law and ethics related to 
telehealth) 

3 hours 

Child Abuse Assessment and Reporting in 
California 7 hours 

Human Sexuality 10 hours 

Aging, Long Term Care and Elder/Dependent 
Adult Abuse 

10 hours 

Spousal/Partner Abuse Assessment, 
Detection, and Intervention 15 hours 

Alcoholism and Other Chemical Substance 
Abuse and Dependency 15 hours 

California Cultures and the Social and 
Psychological Implications of 
Socioeconomic Position 

15 hours or 1 
semester unit 

K. APPLY FOR INITIAL LICENSE ISSUANCE 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

Upon meeting all requirements for licensure, you must submit a 
Request for Initial License Issuance and $200 initial licensure fee 
(access at https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/initial_lic_iss.pdf). 

Do not submit the form/fee at this time – it will be rejected. 

AFTER you pass BOTH 
exams, submit a Request for 
Initial License Issuance and 
$200 fee 

DCA BBS 37A-203B (Revised 06/2023) 11 State of California 
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Important Information for 
LICENSED CLINICAL 
SOCIAL WORKER 
APPLICANTS 

1. AVOID YOUR FILE BEING CLOSED BY MEETING THE TIME FRAMES BELOW 

In accordance with Title 16, California Code of Regulations (CCR) section 1806, an 
application shall be deemed abandoned and be closed in any of the following 
circumstances: 

• You do not submit evidence that you have cleared the deficiencies specified in the 
deficiency letter within one (1) year from the date of the initial deficiency letter. 

• You fail to sit for examination within one (1) year after being notified of eligibility. 

• You fail to pay the initial license fee within one (1) year after notification by the board of 
successful completion of examination requirements. 

To re-open an abandoned application, you must submit a new application, fee and all 
required documentation, as well as meet all current licensure requirements in effect at the 
time the new application is submitted. 

2. EXAMINATIONS 

Once the Board evaluates your application, you will receive one of the following: 

• A notice describing any deficiencies in your application OR 
• A notice of eligibility to take your required examination(s). 

o You will not be eligible to take the National Association of Social Work Boards 
(ASWB) Clinical Examination until you have passed the LCSW California Law and 
Ethics Exam. 

o You will receive information on registering for each exam upon approval of your 
application. 

The examinations contain objective multiple-choice questions and are offered at locations 
throughout California and in other states. Upon receipt of your notice of eligibility, it is your 
responsibility to contact the testing administrator to schedule your examination. Further 
information about the examination process is provided under the Exams tab on the Board’s 
website (access at https://www.bbs.ca.gov/exams). 
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
LICENSED CLINICAL 
SOCIAL WORKER 

APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
Path B – Licensure via Education and Experience 

Out-of-State and Out-of-Country Applicants 

Avoid application deficiencies! 
Carefully read the preceding Application Instructions to ensure all 

requirements are met pertaining to the documents listed below: 

☐ Completed Application (form number 37A-203B) 

☐ Official sealed transcript with degree title and date of conferral posted* 

☐ Proof of completion of 12-hour California Law and Ethics course* 

☐ Proof of completion of Additional Coursework 

☐ Sealed Verification of License or Registration in Another State or Country 
(if applicable) 

☐ Sealed Verification of passing the ASWB Clinical Exam (if applicable) 

☐ Out-of-State Experience Verification forms and Verification of Supervisor’s 
License (if applicable) 

☐ In-State Experience Verification forms and related documents listed on pages 
7-8 of the Application Instructions (if applicable) 

☐ Sealed evaluation of degree earned outside the United States* (if applicable) 

☐ Completed Request for Live Scan Service form* OR 
Two completed fingerprint “hard cards” with the $49 fingerprint card processing 
fee (check or money order payable to the Behavioral Sciences Fund) 

☐ Fee(s) payable to the Behavioral Sciences Fund 

*Not required if currently registered with the BBS as an Associate 



3. REQUEST FOR TESTING ACCOMMODATION – DISABILITY OR ENGLISH AS A 
SECOND LANGUAGE 

Refer to the Board’s website for information on how to apply for testing accommodations 
(access at https://www.bbs.ca.gov/exams). 

4. NONDISCRIMINATION AND ADA COORDINATOR 

The Executive Officer of the Board has been designated to coordinate and carry out the 
Board’s compliance with the nondiscrimination requirements of Title II of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). Information concerning the provisions of the ADA, and the rights 
provided thereunder, are available from the ADA coordinator. 

5. PUBLIC ADDRESS 

The address you enter on your application is public information and will be placed on the 
Internet pursuant to BPC section 27. If you do not want your home or work address available 
to the public, use an alternate mailing address such as a post office box. Email addresses are 
not subject to public disclosure. 

6. EMAIL AND MAILING ADDRESS CHANGES 

You are required to maintain a current mailing address with the Board. You are also 
required to maintain a current email address with the Board if you have one. When you 
have a change in your mailing or email address, be sure to update it ASAP online at 
www.breeze.ca.gov. 

7. STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 

To obtain a copy of the Board’s Statutes and Regulations, please access it from the Board’s 
website (go to www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant and scroll to the bottom of the page). 

8. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OR OTHER TAXPAYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER 

Disclosure of your tax identification number on your application is mandatory. You may 
provide either your Social Security Number, your Federal Employer Identification Number, 
or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, as applicable. Section 30 of the Business 
and Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USCA 405 (c) (2) (c)) authorizes 
collection of these tax identification numbers. Your tax identification number will not be 
deemed a public record and shall not be open to the public. Your tax identification number 
will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any 
judgment or order for family support in accordance with section 17520 of the Family Code, 
or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination entity 
which utilizes a national examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting 
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  state. If you fail to disclose your tax identification number, your application for initial or 
renewal license will not be processed AND you will be reported to the Franchise Tax 
Board, which may assess a $100 penalty against you. 

9. STATE TAX OBLIGATION 

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 31(e), the State Board of Equalization 
and the Franchise Tax Board may share taxpayer information with the Board. If a licensee 
or applicant does not pay their state tax obligation, their license or registration may be 
suspended. 

10. NOTICE OF COLLECTION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION: 

Please see the Notice on Collection of Personal Information (access at 
www.bbs.ca.gov>About Us>About the Board>Other Information>Policies). 

11. QUESTIONS? 

Please visit the Contact Us link at www.bbs.ca.gov and select an option under “Message 
the Board.” 
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
LICENSED CLINICAL 
SOCIAL WORKER 
Out-of-State or Out-of-Country Applicant 

APPLICATION FOR PATH B. 
LICENSURE BY EDUCATION AND EXPERIENCE 

Office Use Only: 

Avoid delays and deficiencies - Carefully read the Application Instructions FIRST 

  

   

  

FEE:  Attach a fee in the amount specified in the Application Instructions. 

SSN or ITIN* Birth Date:  mm/dd/yyyy E-Mail Address 

Legal Name** Last First Middle 

Public Address of Record*** Number and Street 

City State Zip Code Phone 

If you have ever been known by another name, list the full name(s) and dates of use below 
(attach any additional names and dates): 

Full Name Dates of  Use (from/to) 

Full Name Dates of  Use (from/to) 

* Disclosure of your tax identification number is mandatory. You may provide either your Social Security 
Number, your Federal Employer Identification Number, or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, as 
applicable. This number must match the number you provide on your fingerprint forms. See Important 
Information for Applicants for more information about how your tax identification number is used. 

** You must use your legal name. Your “legal name” is the name established legally by your birth 
certificate, marriage or domestic partnership certificate, or divorce decree (for example). 

*** The address you enter on this application is public information and will be placed on the Internet 
pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 27. All correspondence from the Board will be 
mailed to this address. If you do not want your home or work address available to the public, use an 
alternate mailing address such as a post office box. 
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Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

1. Have you ever served in the United States Armed Forces or the Yes, Currently No 
California National Guard? (OPTIONAL) Yes, Previously 

2. Have you ever applied for or been issued a license, registration or certificate Yes  No 
to practice clinical social work or any other health care profession in 
California or any other state? 

If YES, provide the information requested below (continue on an additional 
sheet if needed): 

State 
Type of License, Registration 

or Certificate 
License, Registration 
or Certificate Number 

Date 
Issued Status 

3. Within the 7 years preceding your submission of 
this application, were you denied a professional 
health care license (“license” includes 
registrations, certificates, or other means to 
engage in practice) OR had a professional 
health care license or privilege suspended, 
revoked, or otherwise disciplined, OR 
voluntarily surrendered any such license in 
California or any other state or territory of the 
United States, or by any other governmental 
agency or a foreign country? 

Yes No 

If YES, we recommend that you complete the 
Background Statement form, available on the 
Board’s website, to facilitate processing of your 
application (access at bbs.ca.gov>Consumers> 
Criminal Convictions>Forms). 

We recommend that you answer “Yes” even if 
you have previously reported it to the Board, and 
indicate the type of professional license that was 
denied, suspended, disciplined, or surrendered, 
including the date(s) of the denial, suspension, 
disciplinary action, You do not need to resubmit 
documentation previously on file. 

4. If you hold or have held a license or registration to practice clinical social Yes No 
work outside of California, and that state or country does NOT have a 
public online license lookup that contains information on disciplinary 

N/A 

actions, have you attached a Verification of License or Registration form 
for each license or registration held? 

DCA BBS 37A-203B (Revised 06/2023) Page 2 of 2 State of California 

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/conv_background_statement_form.pdf


  

Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

5. CLINICAL EXAMINATION 
If you have passed the Association of Social Work Boards Clinical Exam, Yes  No 
have you requested an official sealed score report? N/A 

6. EXPERIENCE 
Are you required to submit supervised work experience hours? Yes  No 
(see Application Instructions to determine) 

If YES, have you attached the required verification of experience? Yes  No 

7. OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS 
Have you submitted official sealed transcripts verifying your 
qualifying master’s degree (if not previously submitted)? 
See the Application Instructions for all requirements. 

8. CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS COURSE (12 hours) 

Have you attached documentation of completion of the 
required 12-hour course in California Law and Ethics as 
described in the Application Instructions? 

N/A 

Yes – Sealed Transcripts via Mail 

Yes – Electronic Transcripts 

No 

Yes  No 

Previously Submitted 
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Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

9. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK 
List the titles of the courses you have completed and the course providers below. 
See the Application Instructions for information on course content and provider requirements. 
Attach documentation of completion unless previously submitted. 

a) Child Abuse Assessment and Reporting in California (7 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

b) Human Sexuality (10 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

c) Alcoholism and Other Chemical Substance Dependency (15 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

d) Spousal or Partner Abuse Assessment, Detection and Intervention (15 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

e) Aging, Long Term Care; Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse (10 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

f) California Cultures, and the Social and Psychological Implications of Socioeconomic Position 
(15 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

g) Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention (6 hours) 
Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

DCA BBS 37A-203 (Revised 06/2023) Page 4 of 5 State of California 



     

  

    

Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

BACKGROUND INFORMATION – RESPONSE IS VOLUNTARY 
Some criminal convictions will appear on the Board's background check and may require additional 
investigation prior to a licensing determination. For information on which convictions the Board is 
permitted to consider, see the Criminal Conviction FAQ (access at bbs.ca.gov>Consumers> 
Criminal Convictions>Publications). All currently pending criminal actions will appear on the Board’s 
background check and may require additional investigation prior to a licensing determination. 

You are not required to disclose any past convictions or pending criminal cases on this application. 
In some cases, voluntarily providing information with the application about convictions that the 
Board is permitted to consider may help an application get processed more quickly. You may 
therefore choose to complete the Background Statement form (access at 
bbs.ca.gov>Consumers> Criminal Convictions>Forms) and submit it with your application along 
with evidence of rehabilitation. The form is available on the Board's website, and includes areas to 
report convictions the board is permitted to consider, or pending criminal actions. 

You can also submit the Background Statement form and evidence of rehabilitation after you 
submit your application or in response to inquiries from the Board. You may seek legal assistance 
from a lawyer or legal aid organization before providing any information about your criminal history. 
The Board will not deny your application because you exercised your right not to provide criminal 
history information in your initial application. 

NOTE:  Knowingly making a false statement of fact that is required to be revealed in this 
application may be grounds for denial of this application 

Signature of Applicant: ______________________________________  Date: ____________ 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA – BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY Gavin Newsom, Governor 

Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834 

(916) 574-7830 
www.bbs.ca.gov 

VERIFICATION OF LICENSE OR REGISTRATION 
IN ANOTHER STATE OR COUNTRY 

PART 1. APPLICANT: If you hold or have held a license or registration in another state or country, or 
if you are submitting supervised experience gained in another state or country, and that state or 
country does NOT have a public online license lookup that contains information on disciplinary 
actions, this form must be completed. Complete Part 1 and mail this form and any necessary fees to 
that licensing agency. 

Verification For: Applicant Applicant’s Supervisor 
Name of California Applicant: 

Last First Middle Date of Birth 

Name of Individual to be Verified: 
Last First Middle License Number 

I hereby authorize the release of my information to the California Board of Behavioral Sciences. 

Signature of individual to be verified: _________________________________ Date:___________ 

PART 2. LICENSING AGENCY: 
Please return completed form to the above mailing address or email to BBSLicCerts@dca.ca.gov 

1. Full name as shown in your records: ________________________________________________ 

2.  License or Registration Title: _____________________________________________________ 

3.  License or Registration Status:  ____________________________________________________ 

Issue Date: _____________ Expiration Date: _____________ 

4. Any disciplinary action?   No Yes  (If YES, attach an explanation) 

Signature of Person Completing Form 

Printed Name and Title 

State Board or Licensing Agency Name 

Date 

State Board/Licensing Agency 
Stamp Here 

State Phone Number 

DCA BBS 37A-306 (Revised 06/2023) 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA - BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY Gavin Newsom, Governor 

Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834 

Telephone: (916) 574-7830 
www.bbs.ca.gov 

CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER 

OUT OF STATE OR OUT-OF-COUNTRY EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION 

Have your out-of-state or out-of-country supervisor complete this form. See the Application Instructions 
for information on experience and supervisor requirements. Be sure to: 

o Use a separate form for each supervisor and o Provide an original or electronic signature 
employer and have the signer initial any changes 

o Make sure this form is complete and correct o Submit with your Application for Licensure 
prior to the supervisor signing 

APPLICANT NAME: ______________________________________ 

APPLICANT’S EMPLOYER INFORMATION 
Applicant’s Employer’s Name: Telephone 

Address: Number and Street City State Zip Code 

SUPERVISOR INFORMATION 
Supervisor’s Name Telephone Email Address (OPTIONAL) 

License Type License Number State Date First Licensed 

Physicians: Were you certified in Psychiatry by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology during 
the entire period of supervision?  Yes No 

If YES, provide certificate number:_________________ 
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APPLICANT NAME: _______________________________________ 

EXPERIENCE INFORMATION 

Dates of experience: From ____________ to  ____________ 
(mm/dd/yyyy) (mm/dd/yyyy) 

1. Total weeks (Minimum 104 overall): 

2. Total hours of clinical psychosocial diagnosis, assessment, and treatment, including 
individual or group psychotherapy / counseling (Minimum 2,000 overall): 

A. 

3. Of the above hours, how many were gained performing face-to-face individual or 
group psychotherapy/counseling (Minimum 750 overall): 

4. Total hours of client-centered advocacy, consultation, evaluation, research, 
workshops, seminars, training sessions or conferences and direct supervisor 
contact* (Maximum 1,000 overall): 

B. 

5. Total hours of experience  (Minimum 3,000 overall): (A + B = C) C. 

NOTE:  Knowingly providing false information or omitting pertinent information may be 
grounds for denial of the application. All information on this form is subject to verification. 

I hereby certify that the applicant gained the experience hours in compliance with the 
requirements of the state or country in which they were earned. 

Signature of Supervisor: _____________________________________ Date: ______________ 
ORIGINAL OR ELECTRONIC SIGNATURE REQUIRED 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA - BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, ANDHOUSING AGENCY Gavin Newsom, Governor 

Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834 

Telephone: (916) 574-7830 
www.bbs.ca.gov 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR LIVE SCAN FINGERPRINTING 

AND PRIVACY NOTICES 

Live Scan Fingerprinting is available only in California. Live Scan fingerprint results will be 
submitted to the Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
(FBI) electronically. 

If you need to have your fingerprints taken in another state, you must use the "hard card" 
fingerprint method. To request hard cards and instructions, send an email to 
BBS.Fingerprint@dca.ca.gov with "Fingerprint Hard Cards" in the subject line, and include 
your mailing address. Please be advised that the DOJ processing time for hard card 
fingerprints is a minimum of 8 to 12 weeks, or longer. In order to avoid processing delays 
and additional costs that result from invalid fingerprint cards, fingerprints must be taken at a 
law enforcement agency in the state of residence. 

Fingerprint Fees - Paid to Live Scan Site 
If you have your prints taken via Live Scan, you must pay the fingerprint fees below 
directly to the site where you have your Live Scan fingerprints taken: 

DOJ FINGERPRINT PROCESSING FEE: $32.00 
FBI FINGERPRINT PROCESSING FEE: $17.00 

In addition to these processing fees, there may be a service charge associated with 
the Live Scan site you visit. The Live Scan service site will collect the above fees at the 
time you are fingerprinted. The Live Scan service charge may vary from location to 
location. 

Complete the Request for Live Scan Service Form 

You must complete and submit the attached Request for Live Scan Service form at the 
Live Scan site. Make sure that the information provided in Section 3 of the form matches 
the information on your BBS application. Once your fingerprints have been scanned, the 
Live Scan Operator will complete Section 4 of this form and return the second and third 
copies to you. 

The second copy of this form, with Section 4 completed by the Live Scan Operator, 
must be MAILED to the BBS in order to retrieve your fingerprint results from the DOJ. 
Retain the third copy for your records as a proof of payment. 
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Live Scan Fingerprint Locations 

You must visit an approved Live Scan Service Site. Most local Police and Sheriff 
Departments offer the Live Scan fingerprinting service. Some large school districts, 
passport services, and stores with generalized fingerprinting expertise may also offer Live 
Scan. A current listing of Live Scan sites is available on the DOJ website at 
https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/locations. 

Consider calling the Live Scan service provider for hours of operation, fees, and 
appointment times if necessary. You must present valid photo identification (i.e., driver’s 
license, military ID, or passport) at the Live Scan site. 

Filling Out Your Live Scan Form 
To facilitate prompt and accurate processing, please TYPE or print legibly in ink. 

SECTION 1: Type of Application: LIC/CERT/PERMIT 

Check the box for the applicable registration or license you are applying for with the BBS. 
Even if you are applying for more than one registration or license type, CHECK THE BOX 
FOR ONLY ONE LICENSE TYPE. Your fingerprint results will be put towards ALL 
registrations and licenses you hold. You do not need to pay or be fingerprinted for each 
individual BBS license type. 

SECTION 2: This section is already completed. 

SECTION 3: 

Name of Applicant: Enter your full name 

Alias: Indicate all other names used 

Date of Birth: Indicate your month/day/year of birth 

Sex: Mark the appropriate box 

Height: Indicate your height in feet and inches 

Weight: Indicate your weight in pounds (lbs.) 

Eye Color: Indicate eye color abbreviation: 
BLK - Black GRY - Gray MAR - Maroon BLU - Blue GRN - Green 
PNK – Pink BRO - Brown HAZ - Hazel MUL - Multicolor 

Hair Color: Indicate hair color abbreviation: 
BAL - Bald BRO - Brown SDY - Sandy BLK - Black 
GRY - Gray WHI - White BLN - Blonde RED - Red 
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Place of Birth: Indicate the state or country of birth 

Social Security Enter your SSN or individual taxpayer ID number. Must match the 
Number: number provided on your application. 

Driver’s License Enter your Driver’s license number if you have one. 
No: 

Address: Enter a mailing address of your choice. You may use a business 
address, your home address, or any current address. This 
address will not be viewable by the public, and will be used 
solely for the BBS’ records. 

Your BBS File number: 
Enter your BBS file number. If you are a brand new applicant and do not currently hold an 
identifying number, leave this line blank. 

If Resubmission, list Original ATI No. 
This is only used for a second fingerprinting due to a prior fingerprint rejection. The ATI No. 
allows you to be re-fingerprinted without paying the DOJ and FBI processing fee (service 
charges may still apply.) 

Applicant Signature 
Sign and date the application to indicate that you have read the included Privacy Notice, 
Privacy Act Statement and Applicant’s Privacy Rights. 

SECTION 4: 
To be completed by the Live Scan operator. 
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REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE 

Privacy Notice 
As Required by Civil Code § 1798.17 

Collection and Use of Personal Information. The California Justice Information Services 
(CJIS) Division in the Department of Justice (DOJ) collects the information requested on this 
form as authorized by Business and Professions Code sections 4600-4621, 7574-7574.16, 
26050-26059, 11340-11346, and 22440-22449; Penal Code sections 11100-11112, and 
11077.1; Health and Safety Code sections 1522, 1416.20-1416.50, 1569.10-1569.24, 1596.80-
1596.879, 1725-1742, and 18050-18055; Family Code sections 8700-87200, 8800-8823, and 
8900-8925; Financial Code sections 1300-1301, 22100-22112, 17200-17215, and 28122-
28124; Education Code sections 44330-44355; Welfare and Institutions Code sections 9710-
9719.5, 14043-14045, 4684-4689.8, and 16500-16523.1; and other various state statutes and 
regulations. The CJIS Division uses this information to process requests of authorized entities 
that want to obtain information as to the existence and content of a record of state or federal 
convictions to help determine suitability for employment, or volunteer work with children, elderly, 
or disabled; or for adoption or purposes of a license, certification, or permit. In addition, any 
personal information collected by state agencies is subject to the limitations in the Information 
Practices Act and state policy. The DOJ's general privacy policy is available at 
http://oag.ca.gov/privacy-policy. 

Providing Personal Information. All the personal information requested in the form must be 
provided. Failure to provide all the necessary information will result in delays and/or the 
rejection of your request. 

Access to Your Information. You may review the records maintained by the CJIS Division in 
the DOJ that contain your personal information, as permitted by the Information Practices Act. 
See below for contact information. 

Possible Disclosure of Personal Information. In order to process applications pertaining to 
Live Scan service to help determine the suitability of a person applying for a license, 
employment, or a volunteer position working with children, the elderly, or the disabled, we may 
need to share the information you give us with authorized applicant agencies. The information 
you provide may also be disclosed in the following circumstances: 

• With other persons or agencies where necessary to perform their legal duties, and their 
use of your information is compatible and complies with state law, such as for 
investigations or for licensing, certification, or regulatory purposes. 

• To another government agency as required by state or federal law. 

Contact Information. For questions about this notice or access to your records, you may 
contact the Associate Governmental Program Analyst at the DOJ's Keeper of Records at (916) 
210-3310, by email at keeperofrecords@doj.ca.gov, or by mail at: Department of Justice Bureau 
of Criminal Information & Analysis Keeper of Records P.O. Box 903417 Sacramento, CA 
94203-4170. 

http://oag.ca.gov/privacy-policy
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REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE 

Privacy Act Statement 

Authority. The FBI's acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated 
information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your 
application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 
92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal regulations. Providing your fingerprints and 
associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval 
of your application. 

Principal Purpose. Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security 
clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints and 
associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or otherwise 
responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other 
fingerprints in the FBI's Next Generation Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems 
(including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other available records of the 
employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency. The FBI may retain your fingerprints 
and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while 
retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints submitted to 
or retained by NGI. 

Routine Uses. During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your 
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be 
disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as permitted by 
the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the 
Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the FBI's Blanket Routine 
Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to: employing, governmental, or 
authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, contracting, licensing, 
security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law 
enforcement agencies; criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security 
or public safety. 



 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE 

Noncriminal Justice Applicant's Privacy Rights 

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for a 
noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for employment or a license, an immigration or 
naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have certain rights which are discussed 
below. 

• You must be provided written notification1 that your fingerprints will be used to check the 
criminal history records of the FBI. 

• You must be provided, and acknowledge receipt of, an adequate Privacy Act Statement 
when you submit your fingerprints and associated personal information. This Privacy Act 
Statement should explain the authority for collecting your information and how your 
information will be used, retained, and shared.2 

• If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your suitability for 
the employment, license, or other benefit must provide you the opportunity to complete or 
challenge the accuracy of the information in the record. 

• The officials must advise you that the procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or 
update of your criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations 
(CFR), Section 16.34. 

• If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time to 
correct or complete the record (or decline to do so) before the officials deny you the 
employment, license, or other benefit based on information in the criminal history record.3 

You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record check 
will use it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of federal 
statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the National 
Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.4 

If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal history record 
for review and possible challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to provide you a copy of the 
record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting fingerprints and a fee to the FBI. 
Information regarding this process may be obtained at https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-
history-summary-checks 

If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI criminal history record, you 
should send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information to the FBI. 
Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI. The FBI will then forward your 
challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information and request the agency to verify 
or correct the challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official communication from that agency, the FBI 
will make any necessary changes/corrections to your record in accordance with the information 
supplied by that agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.) You can find additional information on 
the FBI website at https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks 

1 Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification 
2 https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement 
3 See 28 CFR 50.12(b) 4 See U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 34 U.S.C. § 40316 (formerly cited as 42 U.S.C. § 
14616), Article IV(c) 

4 See U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 34 U.S.C. § 40316 (formerly cited as 42 U.S.C. § 14616), Article IV(c) 

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement


   

    

   

  
        

           

   

       

  

State of California 
REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE APPLICANT 
BCII 8016 (04/2020) 
Applicant Submission 

SECTION 1 

ORI:  A0462 
(Code assigned by DOJ) 

Type of License: (Mark Only ONE) 

□ Marriage and Family Therapist

□ Educational Psychologist

Type of Application: LIC/CERT/PERMIT

□ Clinical Social Worker

□ Professional Clinical Counselor
SECTION 2 
Agency Authorized to Receive Criminal Record 
Information: 
Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd. Suite S-200 
Sacramento CA 95834 

Mail Code: 01484 

Contact Name:  Fingerprint Unit 
Contact Phone: (916) 574-7830 

SECTION 3 
Name of Applicant: ______________________________ 
(Please Print) Last 

Alias: _________________________________________ 
Last First 

Date of Birth: ____________  Sex: □ Male  □ Female 

Height: ________________   Weight: _______________ 

Eye Color: _____________  Hair Color: ____________ 

Place of Birth: __________________________________ 

Social Security Number: __________________________ 

_____________________________  ______ 
First MI 

Driver’s License No.: ____________________ 

Billing No.: APPLICANT MUST PAY 

Address: 
______________________________________ 
Number and Street 
________________________  ____  ________ 
City State Zip 

BBS File Number: __________________________ 

If Resubmission, list Original ATI No.: 
_________________________________________ 
(Must provide proof of rejection) 

BBS Applicant:  Please mail a copy of this 
form to the address in Section 2 with your 
BBS application. 

Level of Service:  DOJ  FBI 

I have received and read the included Privacy Notice, Privacy Act Statement and Applicant’s Privacy Rights. 

Applicant Signature: _____________________________________ Date: __________ 

SECTION 4 
Live Scan Transaction Completed By: ____________________________________  Date: _____________ 
Transmitting Agency: ___________________________________________ LSID: __________________ 
ATI No.: _________________________   Amount Collected/Billed: _______________________________ 

ORIGINAL – Live Scan Operator SECOND COPY – Requesting Agency THIRD COPY - Applicant 
37A-649 (Revised 06/2020) 



   

    

   

  
        

           

   

       

  

 

________________________  ____  ________ 

_________________________________________ 

State of California 
REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE APPLICANT 
BCII 8016 (04/2020) 
Applicant Submission 

SECTION 1 

ORI:  A0462 
(Code assigned by DOJ) Type of Application: LIC/CERT/PERMIT

Type of License: (Mark Only ONE) 

□ Marriage and Family Therapist □ Clinical Social Worker

□ Educational Psychologist □ Professional Clinical Counselor
SECTION 2 
Agency Authorized to Receive Criminal Record 
Information: 
Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd. Suite S-200 

Mail Code: 01484

Contact Name:  Fingerprint Unit 
Contact Phone: (916) 574-7830 

Sacramento CA 95834 
SECTION 3 
Name of Applicant: ______________________________ _____________________________  ______ 
(Please Print) Last First MI 

Alias: _________________________________________ Driver’s License No.: ____________________ 
Last First 

Date of Birth: ____________  Sex: □ Male  □ Female Billing No.: APPLICANT MUST PAY 
Height: ________________   Weight: _______________ Address: 
Eye Color: _____________  Hair Color: ____________ ______________________________________ 

Number and Street Place of Birth: __________________________________ 

Social Security Number: __________________________ City State Zip 
BBS File Number: __________________________ BBS Applicant:  Please mail a copy of this 

form to the address in Section 2 with your 
If Resubmission, list Original ATI No.: BBS application. 

(Must provide proof of rejection) Level of Service:  DOJ  FBI 

I have received and read the included Privacy Notice, Privacy Act Statement and Applicant’s Privacy Rights. 

Applicant Signature: _____________________________________ Date: __________ 

SECTION 4 
Live Scan Transaction Completed By: ____________________________________  Date: _____________ 
Transmitting Agency: ___________________________________________ LSID: __________________ 
ATI No.: _________________________   Amount Collected/Billed: _______________________________ 

ORIGINAL – Live Scan Operator SECOND COPY – Requesting Agency THIRD COPY - Applicant 
37A-649 (Revised 06/2020) 



   

    

   

  
        

           

   

       

  

 

________________________  ____  ________ 

_________________________________________ 

State of California 
REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE APPLICANT 
BCII 8016 (04/2020) 
Applicant Submission 

SECTION 1 

ORI:  A0462 
(Code assigned by DOJ) Type of Application: LIC/CERT/PERMIT

Type of License: (Mark Only ONE) 

□ Marriage and Family Therapist □ Clinical Social Worker

□ Educational Psychologist □ Professional Clinical Counselor
SECTION 2 
Agency Authorized to Receive Criminal Record 
Information: 
Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd. Suite S-200 

Mail Code: 01484

Contact Name:  Fingerprint Unit 
Contact Phone: (916) 574-7830 

Sacramento CA 95834 
SECTION 3 
Name of Applicant: ______________________________ _____________________________  ______ 
(Please Print) Last First MI 

Alias: _________________________________________ Driver’s License No.: ____________________ 
Last First 

Date of Birth: ____________  Sex: □ Male  □ Female Billing No.: APPLICANT MUST PAY 
Height: ________________   Weight: _______________ Address: 
Eye Color: _____________  Hair Color: ____________ ______________________________________ 

Number and Street Place of Birth: __________________________________ 

Social Security Number: __________________________ City State Zip 
BBS File Number: __________________________ BBS Applicant:  Please mail a copy of this 

form to the address in Section 2 with your 
If Resubmission, list Original ATI No.: BBS application. 

(Must provide proof of rejection) Level of Service:  DOJ  FBI 

I have received and read the included Privacy Notice, Privacy Act Statement and Applicant’s Privacy Rights. 

Applicant Signature: _____________________________________ Date: __________ 

SECTION 4 
Live Scan Transaction Completed By: ____________________________________  Date: _____________ 
Transmitting Agency: ___________________________________________ LSID: __________________ 
ATI No.: _________________________   Amount Collected/Billed: _______________________________ 

ORIGINAL – Live Scan Operator SECOND COPY – Requesting Agency THIRD COPY - Applicant 
37A-649 (Revised 06/2020) 
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