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Board of Behavioral Sciences

Associate Marriage and Family Therapist
OUT-OF-STATE AND OUT-OF-COUNTRY APPLICANTS

This guide is for Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (AMFT) applicants with a degree
earned outside of California. “Out-of-State” means a degree from a school located outside of
California, or from an online program that is not designed to meet California’s requirements.
“Out-of-Country” means a degree earned from a school located outside of the United States or
its territories.

AMFT applicants with an out-of-state or out-of-country degree must meet the educational
requirements specified in Business and Professions Code (BPC) sections 4980.74, 4980.78 and
4980.81. This document provides a summary of those requirements.
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1. How will | know if my degree qualifies for registration as an AMFT?

California law requires a degree to meet certain minimum requirements to qualify for
AMFT registration. The law allows for some types of coursework to be remediated, and
also allows a limited number of units to be remediated. Unfortunately, in some cases an
applicant’s degree will not qualify at all, and a new degree would be required. This guide
will help you determine whether your degree qualifies.

Note: If you have been licensed for two or more years in another U.S. state, and hold a
current LMFT license in good standing at the highest level in the other state, you may be
able to qualify for LMFT licensure under “Path A” regardless of degree qualifications. See
the Guide to LMFT Qut-of-State Applicant Requirements for more information (access at
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LMF T>Out-of-State Applicants).
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2. What are the minimum degree requirements for AMFT registration?

If your out-of-state or out-of-country degree does NOT fully contain ALL of the minimum
requirements listed below, it will NOT qualify for AMFT registration in California and a
new degree would be required in order to qualify.

®» These are minimums only - see question 4 for ADDITIONAL requirements you must
meet prior to approval of your Application for LMFT Licensure.

v' A master’s or doctorate degree obtained from a school that holds a regional or
national institutional accreditation recognized by the United States Department
of Education (USDE), or a school approved by the California Bureau for Private
Postsecondary Education (BPPE)

v’ Degree fully contains a minimum of 48 semester units or 72 quarter units

v’ Degree fully contains a minimum of 12 semester units or 18 quarter units in
marriage, family and child counseling and systems approaches to treatment

v’ Degree fully contains 6 semester units or 9 quarter units of practicum that
includes 225 hours of supervised face-to-face counseling experience (up to 75 of
those hours may be client-centered advocacy)

= Exception: If you hold a current LMFT license in good standing in another state or
country at the highest level, the practicum requirements are waived

3. What additional coursework must | take prior to issuance of my AMFT
registration?

You must complete a California Law and Ethics course as described below.

» If you completed a 2 semester unit or 3 quarter unit law and ethics course that
does NOT contain California content:

You must complete a 12-hour California Law and Ethics course that contains the
content specified in BPC section 4980.78(b)(2). This course must be taken from an
acceptable continuing education provider.

» If you completed a law and ethics course that is LESS THAN 2 semester units or
3 quarter units:

You must complete a graduate level California law and ethics course to bring your total
to 2 semester units or 3 quarter units. This course must be taken from an accredited or
approved school (see question 5 for details). A CE course will not be accepted.
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4. What additional units and coursework must | complete prior to approval of
my Application for LMFT Licensure?

Prior to approval of your Application for LMFT Licensure, you will be required to complete
additional units and coursework if any of the following are deficient within your degree:

Overall Units: If you began your degree program on or after August 1, 2012 OR
graduated after December 31, 2018, and your degree contained less than 60 semester
units or 90 quarter units, you must take graduate level coursework to bring your total to
60 semester units or 90 quarter units (you may remediate a maximum of 12 semester
units or 18 quarter units). CE courses will not be accepted.

Additional Coursework: You must also complete “Additional Coursework” at the
graduate level from an acceptable CE provider as specified in BPC sections 4980.78 and
4980.81 prior to approval of your Application for LMFT Licensure. Certain courses must
be California-specific. See the chart beginning on page 5 for a list of courses and
required content.

REMEDIATION OF UNITS AND ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK

If you are remediating overall degree units and are deficient in Additional Coursework,
you may fulfill both at the same time.

For Example:

You take a course on “Multicultural Counseling Theories and Techniques.”

®» The course provides education about California cultures.

v’ This course may then also count toward fulfilling Additional Coursework
Item d) “California Cultures and the Social and Psychological Implications of
Socioeconomic Position.”

®» The course also contained content that covers “experiences of race, ethnicity, class,
spirituality, sexual orientation, gender, and disability, and their incorporation into the
psychotherapeutic process.”

v’ This course may then also count toward fulfilling Additional Coursework
item 1) “Multicultural Development and Cross-Cultural Interaction.”

5. Who is an acceptable course provider?

®» For Overall Degree Units OR
®» California Law and Ethics (2 semester units or 3 quarter units) course

Courses must be taken at the graduate level from a school with a regional or national
institutional accreditation recognized by the USDE, or from a school approved by the
BPPE. CE courses will not be accepted.

Continued on next page
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5. Who is an acceptable course provider? (continued)

®» 12-hour California Law and Ethics course OR
®» Additional Coursework

Must be taken at the graduate level from an accepted continuing education provider
(access at www.bbs.ca.gov>Licensees>Continuing Education).

6. What if my degree is from a school located outside of the United States?

In addition to meeting the requirements listed in this document, you must obtain an
evaluation of your degree by a foreign credential evaluation service to determine
equivalency with California’s requirements, and submit it with your AMFT application (per
BPC section 4980.76). The evaluation service must be a member of the National
Association of Credential Evaluation Services (www.naces.org). You will also be required
to submit an official transcript.

Suggestion: Before paying a credentials evaluation service for an evaluation, compare
your degree to California’s requirements by using the optional “Out-of-Country Degree
Program Worksheet” contained in the Application for AMFT Registration to help you
determine whether to proceed.

For QUESTIONS about out-of-state or out-of-country requirements,
contact:

bbs.amft@dca.ca.gov

For information about EXPERIENCE and EXAMINATION
requirements that you must meet prior to licensure:

See Path B of the Guide to LMFT Out-of-State Applicant Requirements (access at
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LMFT>Out of State and Out-of-Country Applicants).
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.}'i BBEBS summary - LMFT Out-of-State/Out-of-Country Education Requirements

Board of Behavioral Sciences

Degree program began Minimum 48 semester units or 72 quarter units
1. OVERALL prior to 8/1/2012 —> within degree or cannot qualify for licensure
DEGREE
UNITS Degree program began e Minimum 48 semester or 72 quarter units
on or after 8/1/2012 —> within degree or cannot qualify for licensure

e If above minimum is met, must complete 60
semester units or go quarter units total prior to
approval of Application for Licensure

2. CALIFORNIA LAW Completed a 2 semester 12-hour California Law and Ethics course

AND ETHICS unit or 3, duagiepunitlay prior to issuance of Associate
and Ethics course but no

(L&E) COURSE California content registration
(see BPC section
4980.78(b)(2) for
required course
content)

No Law and Ethics course 2 semester unit or 3 quarter unit
or course is short units California Law and Ethics course prior to
issuance of Associate registration

3. PRACTICUM }
Holds a current license
e 6semesteror9 in good standing in Practicum requirement waived
quarter units AND another state or
e 225 hours of country as an LMFT at
supervised face-to- the highest level

face counseling
experience (up to
75 hours may be
client-centered

Degree program must meet practicum
All Others S unit/hour re.:quwen.wents or cannot
qualify for licensure

advocacy)
4. MARRIAGE, FAMILY & CHILD 5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK
COUNSELING & SYSTEMS APPROACH Must remediate prior to approval of
12 semester units or 18 quarter units Application for Licensure. Required
within degree or cannot qualify for licensure courses listed on the following pages.
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ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK REQUIRED PRIOR TO LMFT LICENSURE

FOR APPLICANTS WITH AN OUT-OF-STATE OR OUT-OF-COUNTRY DEGREE

Note: 1 semester unit = 15 hours; 1 quarter unit = 10 hours
1 semester unit = 1.5 quarter units

COURSE LENGTH | CONTENT REQUIRED

a) Provision of Mental Health 3 hours of | Must include law and ethics related to telehealth.
Services via Telehealth coursework | See Business and Professions Code (BPC)

section 4980.395.

b) Suicide Risk Assessment 6 hours of | See BPC section 4980.396.
and Intervention coursework

or applied
experience

c) Mental Health Recovery 45 hours or | Instruction must cover principles of mental health
Oriented Care and Methods 3 semester | recovery-oriented care and methods of service
of Service Delivery units delivery in recovery-oriented practice

environments, including structured meetings with
various consumers and family members of
consumers of mental health services to enhance
understanding of their experience of mental
iliness, treatment and recovery.

d) California Cultures and the 15 hours or | Instruction must include an understanding of
Social and Psychological 1 semester | various California cultures and the social and
Implications of unit psychological implications of socioeconomic
Socioeconomic Position position.

e) Diagnosis, Assessment, 2 semester | Must include diagnosis, assessment, prognosis
Prognosis and Treatment of units and treatment of mental disorders, including:
Mental Disorders ,

e Severe mental disorders
¢ Promising mental health practices
e Evidence-based practices
f) Psychological Testing 15 hours or | Instruction must cover psychological testing.
1 semester
unit
g) Psychopharmacology 15 hours or | Instruction must cover psychopharmacology.
1 semester
unit
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ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK REQUIRED PRIOR TO LMFT LICENSURE

FOR APPLICANTS WITH AN OUT-OF-STATE OR OUT-OF-COUNTRY DEGREE (continued)

COURSE

LENGTH

CONTENT REQUIRED

h) Developmental Issues from
Infancy to Old Age

15 hours or 1
semester unit

Instruction must include:

e Developmental Issues from infancy to old

(if deficient in age
a §mgle topic e The effects of developmental issues on
listed, may e : , .
. individuals, couples and family relationships.
remediate by
taking 3 hours | e The psychological, psychotherapeutic, and
of instruction health implications of developmental issues

in each and their effects.

missing topic) | | 1he understanding of the impact that

personal and social insecurity, social stress,
low educational levels, inadequate housing
and malnutrition have on human
development.

i) Child Abuse Assessment 7 hours Instruction must include detailed knowledge of

and Reporting in California the California Child Abuse Neglect and
Reporting Act (CANRA). It must also include
assessment and methods of reporting of sexual
assault, neglect, severe neglect, general neglect,
willful cruelty or unjustifiable punishment,
corporal punishment or injury, and abuse in out-
of-home care. The training shall also include
physical and behavioral indicators of abuse,
crisis counseling techniques, community
resources, rights and responsibilities of
reporting, consequences of failure to report,
caring for a child’s needs after a report is made,
sensitivity to previously abused children and
adults, and implications and methods of
treatment for children and adults. See BPC
section 28.

j) Aging, Long Term Care and 10 hours Instruction must cover aging and long-term care,
Elder/Dependent Adult including biological, social, cognitive and
Abuse, End-of-Life and psychological aspects of aging, end-of-life, grief,
Grief and instruction on the assessment and reporting

of, as well as treatment related to, elder and

dependent adult abuse and neglect.
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ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK REQUIRED PRIOR TO LMFT LICENSURE FOR

APPLICANTS WITH AN OUT-OF-STATE OR OUT-OF-COUNTRY DEGREE (continued)

COURSE CONTENT REQUIRED

k) Spousal/Partner Abuse 15 hours | Instruction must cover spousal and partner abuse
Assessment, Detection and assessment, detection, intervention strategies,
Intervention and same-gender abuse dynamics.

1) Multicultural Development 15 hours or | Instruction must include experiences of race,
and Cross-Cultural 1 semester | ethnicity, class, spirituality, sexual orientation,
Interaction unit gender, and disability, and their incorporation into

the psychotherapeutic process.

m) Human Sexuality 10 hours | Instruction must include the study of physiological,
psychological, and social-cultural variables
associated with sexual behavior, sexual
dysfunctions, sexual orientation, gender identity,
and gender dysphoria. See Title 16, California
Code of Regulations section 1807.

n) Substance Use Disorders 15 hours | See BPC section 4980.81(a)(7).

o) Co-Occurring Disorders and 15 hours | See BPC section 4980.81(a)(7).

Addiction
p) Miscellaneous Content No specific | Instruction must include:
number of I . . .
hours e Childbirth, child rearing, parenting and step-
" parenting
required, . . -
but content | ® Marriage, divorce and blended families
mustbe | e Cultural factors relevant to abuse of partners
adequately and family members
covered | o Poverty and deprivation
within the . . .
. , e Financial and social stress
applicant’s
coursework | ® Effects of trauma

e The psychological, psychotherapeutic,
community and health implications of the
matters and life events that arise in marriage
and family relationships within a variety of
California cultures.
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