
Board of Behavioral Sciences 
PROPOSED REGULATIONS 

EXAMINATION RESTRUCTURE 
Title 16, Division 18, California Code of Regulations 

OPERATIVE DATE:  01/01/2016 
 

ARTICLE 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS 

AMEND § 1805. APPLICATIONS  
 

(a) Applications submitted to the board for registration or licensure shall be on a form prescribed 
by the board. 

(b) A 180-day waiting period is required between examinations for any applicant retaking an 
examination.  In the event special or unusual circumstances occur that impact the examination, 
the Board’s Executive Officer may allow for a lesser period of time, as long as the integrity of the 
examination or examination security is not compromised. 
 
Note: Authority Cited: Sections 4980.60, 4988.2, and 4990.20 (a), Business and Professions Code.  Reference: Sections 4980.30, 
4980.40, 4980.44, 4980.50, 4989.20, 4992, 4992.1, 4996.2, 4996.18, 4999.42, 4999.50 and 4999.54, 4999.53, Business and 
Professions Code. 

ADD §1805.01. DEFINITIONS 
For purposes of this division, the following definitions apply: 

(a) “Application for licensure” means the following: 

(1) The individual submits documentation of completed education and experience required 
for licensure to the Board for review; and, 

(2) By submitting this information, seeks to be made eligible to take the required 
examinations. 

 
(b) “Registrant” means an individual who holds a current or delinquent intern registration. 
 
Note: Authority Cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20(a), Business and Professions Code.  Reference: Sections 4980.03(b), 
4980.30, 4980.40, 4980.44, 4984.01, 4989.20, 4992, 4996.2, 4996.28, 4999.45, 4999.46 and 4999.50, Business and Professions 
Code. 

ADD §1805.05. REEXAMINATION 
(a) A 90-day waiting period is required between attempts for applicants retaking a California law 
and ethics examination. 
 
(b) A 180-day waiting period is required between attempts for applicants retaking a clinical 
examination. 
 
(c) Waiting periods for national examinations that are accepted by the board shall be 
determined by that national testing entity. 
 
(d) The Board’s Executive Officer may allow for a lesser waiting period, as long as the integrity 
of the examination or examination security is not compromised. 
 
Note: Authority Cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20(a), Business and Professions Code.  Reference: Sections 4980.50, 4984.72, 
4989.22, 4992.1, 4996.4, 4999.52, 4999.54 and 4999.64, Business and Professions Code. 
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AMEND § 1806. ABANDONMENT OF APPLICATION 
 

An application shall be deemed abandoned under any of the following circumstances:  
 
(a) The application has not been completed by the applicant within one (1) year after it has been 
filed. An application shall be deemed complete when all documents and information required 
have been submitted to the board.  
 
(b) The applicant does not submit information required in order to correct the deficiencies 
specified in a deficiency letter within one (1) year from the date of the deficiency letter.  
 
(c) The applicant fails to sit for the standard written examination within one (1) year after being 
notified of initial eligibility to take the standard written examination. 
 
(c) Applications for licensure, as defined in section 1805.01(a), shall be deemed abandoned if 
the applicant fails to take or retake an examination within the following time frames: 

(1) The applicant fails to sit for the California law and ethics examination within one (1) year 
after being notified of initial eligibility to take the examination. 

(2) The applicant does not retake the California law and ethics examination within one (1) 
year after being notified of failing the examination.  

(d)(3) The applicant fails to sit for the clinical vignette examination within one (1) year of 
being notified of passing the standard written examination. 

(4) The applicant fails to sit for the clinical examination within one (1) year of being notified 
of passing the California law and ethics examination. 

(5) An applicant does not retake the clinical examination or the licensed educational 
psychologist written examination within one (1) year from the date the applicant was notified 
of failing the examination. 

(e) The applicant fails to sit for the jurisprudence and ethics examination required in Section 
4999.52 and 4999.54 of the Code within one (1) year after being notified of initial eligibility to 
take the jurisprudence and ethics examination. 

(f) The applicant fails to sit for the examination required in 4999.54 (b) (2) of the Code within 
one (1) year after being notified of initial eligibility to take the examination. 

(g) The applicant fails to sit for an examination required in 4999.52 (c) (5) of the Code within one 
(1) year after being notified of initial eligibility to take that examination.  

(h) An applicant fails to retake an examination within one (1) year from the date the applicant 
was notified of failing an examination.  

(i)(d) The applicant fails to pay the initial license fee within one (1) year after notification by the 
board of successful completion of examination requirements. 

An application submitted after an a previous application has been abandoned shall be treated 
as a new application, including requiring the applicant to pay any fees required, and to meet 
current requirements. 

Note: Authority Cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20 (a), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4980.30, 4980.35, 
4980.397(a), 4980.398, 4980.399, 4980.40, 4980.44, 4980.72, 4984.01, 4984.7, 4984.72, 4989.20, 4989.22(b) 4989.68, 4992, 
4992.05(a), 4992.07, 4992.09, 4996.1, 4996.3, 4996.4, 4996.17, 4996.18, 4996.28, 4999.42, 4999.50, 4999.52, 4999.53, 4999.54, 
4999.55, 4999.60, 4999.61, 4999.64, 4999.100, and 4999.120, Business and Professions Code. 
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ARTICLE 2. FEES 

AMEND § 1816. RENEWAL FEES 
 

(a) The annual renewal fee for marriage and family therapist intern registration is seventy-five 
dollars ($75.00).  

(b) The annual renewal fee for associate clinical social worker registration is seventy-five dollars 
($75.00).  
(c) The fee for associate clinical social worker extension is fifty dollars ($50.00).  

(d)(c) The annual renewal fee for professional clinical counselor interns is one hundred dollars 
($100.00).  

(e)(d) The biennial active renewal fee for a licensed marriage and family therapist is one 
hundred thirty dollars ($130.00).  

(f)(e) The biennial active renewal fee for a licensed educational psychologist is eighty dollars 
($80.00).  

(g)(f) The biennial active renewal fee for a licensed clinical social worker is one hundred dollars 
($100.00).  

(h)(g) The biennial active renewal fee for a licensed professional clinical counselor is one 
hundred seventy-five dollars ($175.00).  
(i) The annual renewal fee for licenses issued pursuant to Section 4999.54 (a)(1) of the Code is one 
hundred fifty dollars ($150.00).  

(j)The biennial renewal fee for a board-approved continuing education provider is two hundred dollars 
($200.00).  

(k) For the period of January 1, 2001 through December 31, 2002, the biennial renewal fee for a marriage 
and family therapist is twenty-five dollars ($25.00).  

(l) For the period of January 1, 2001 through December 31, 2002, The biennial renewal fee for a licensed 
educational psychologist is twenty-five dollars ($25.00).  

(m) For the period of January 1, 2001 through December 31, 2002, The biennial renewal fee for a 
licensed clinical social worker is twenty-five dollars ($25.00).  
Note: Authority Cited: Sections 4980.54, 4980.60, and 4990.20 (a), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4980.54, 
4984.7, 4989.68, 4996.3, 4996.6, 4996.18, 4996.22, and 4999.120, Business and Professions Code. 

AMEND § 1816.2. EXAMINATION FEES  
 

(a) The licensed clinical social worker standard written California law and ethics examination fee 
shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00).    

(b) The board administered licensed clinical social worker written clinical vignette examination 
fee shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00). 
(c) The marriage and family therapist standard written examination fee shall be one hundred dollars 
($100.00).  

(d) The marriage and family therapist written clinical vignette examination fee shall be one hundred 
dollars ($100.00).  

(c) The licensed marriage and family therapist California law and ethics examination fee shall be 
one hundred dollars ($100.00).   

(d) The board administered licensed marriage and family therapist clinical examination fee shall 
be one hundred dollars ($100.00).   
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(e)(e) The licensed educational psychologist written examination fee shall be one hundred 
dollars ($100.00).  

(f)(f)The licensed professional clinical counselor jurisprudence California law and ethics 
examination shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00).  

(g)(g) The licensed professional clinical counselor examination described in Section 4999.54(b) 
of the Code shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00).  
(h) The fee for the licensed professional clinical counselor written examination shall be one hundred and 
fifty dollars ($150.00).  
 
Note: Authority Cited: 4980.60 and 4990.20 (a), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4984.7, 4989.68, 4996.3(a), 
4996.4, 4999.54, and 4999.120, Business and Professions Code.  

AMEND § 1816.3. EXAMINATION RESCORING FEES  
 

The fee for rescoring any board administered licensed marriage and family therapist, licensed 
clinical social worker, or licensed educational psychologist, or licensed professional clinical 
counselor written examination shall be twenty dollars ($20.00).  
 
Note: Authority cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4984.7, 4989.68, and 
4996.3, and 4999.120, Business and Professions Code.  

AMEND § 1816.4. EXAMINATION ELIGIBILITY APPLICATION FEES  
 
(a) The fee for the licensed marriage and family therapist examination eligibility application shall 
be one hundred dollars ($100.00).  

(b) The fee for the licensed clinical social worker examination eligibility application shall be one 
hundred dollars ($100.00).  

(c) The fee for the licensed educational psychologist examination eligibility application shall be 
one hundred dollars ($100.00).  

(d) The fee for the licensed professional clinical counselor examination eligibility application 
shall be one hundred and eighty dollars ($180.00).  
 
Note: Authority Cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20 (a), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4984.7, 4989.68, 
4996.3, and 4999.120, Business and Professions Code. 

AMEND § 1816.5. REPLACEMENT AND CERTIFICATION FEES  
 

(a) The fee for issuance of any replacement registration, license, or certificate shall be twenty 
dollars ($20.00).  

(b) The fee for issuance of a certificate or letter of good standing shall be twenty-five dollars 
($25.00).  
Note: Authority cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4984.7, 4989.68, and 
4996.63, and 4999.120, Business and Professions Code. 

AMEND § 1816.6. INACTIVE LICENSE FEES  
 

(a) The fee for issuance or renewal of an inactive licensed marriage and family therapist license 
shall be sixty-five dollars ($65.00).  

(b) The fee for issuance or renewal of an inactive licensed clinical social worker license shall be 
fifty dollars ($50.00).  
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(c) The fee for issuance or renewal of an inactive licensed educational psychologist license shall 
be forty dollars ($40.00).  

(d) The fee for issuance or biennial renewal of an inactive licensed professional clinical 
counselor license shall be eighty seven dollars and fifty cents ($87.50).  

(e) The fee for issuance or annual renewal of an inactive license issued pursuant to Section 
4999.54(a)(1) of the Code shall be seventy five dollars ($75.00).  
Note: Authority Cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20 (a), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4984.7, 4984.8, 
4989.44, 4989.68, 4996.3, 4997, and 4999.112 and 4999.120, Business and Professions Code. 

AMEND § 1816.7. DELINQUENT FEES  
 

(a) The delinquency fee for the licensed marriage and family therapist license shall be sixty-five 
dollars ($65.00).  

(b) The delinquency fee for the licensed clinical social worker license shall be fifty dollars 
($50.00).  

(c) The delinquency fee for the licensed educational psychologist license shall be forty dollars 
($40.00).  

(d) The delinquency fee for the licensed professional clinical counselor license shall be eighty 
seven dollars and fifty cents ($87.50).  

(e) The delinquency fee for the license issued pursuant to Section 4999.54(a)(1) of the Code 
shall be seventy five dollars ($75.00).  

(f) The delinquency fee for the continuing education provider approval shall be one hundred 
dollars ($100).  
Note: Authority cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 163.5, 4984.7, 4989.60 
4989.68, 4996.6 4996.3, and 4999.104, 4999.120 Business and Professions Code. 

ARTICLE 3. LICENSED PROFESSIONAL CLINICAL COUNSELORS 

ADD § 1822.50. EXAMINATIONS 
(a) The written examinations shall test for minimum acceptable competency to practice 
professional clinical counseling without causing harm to the public health, safety or welfare, and 
shall consist of the following:  

(1) A California law and ethics examination designed to assess the applicant’s knowledge of 
and ability to apply legal and ethical standards relating to the practice of professional clinical 
counseling. 

(2) A clinical examination designed to assess an applicant’s knowledge of 
psychotherapeutic principles and methods in treatment and their application, and the ability 
to make judgments about appropriate techniques, methods and objectives as applicable to 
the professional clinical counselor scope of practice. 

(b) The clinical examination as described in subsection (a)(2) may be a board administered 
examination or a national examination determined by the board to be acceptable. 

(c) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 4990.20(a), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4999.52, 4999.53, and 4999.55, 
Business and Professions Code. 
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ADD § 1822.51. ELIGIBILITY FOR LAW AND ETHICS EXAMINATION 
(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, eligibility to take the California law and ethics 
examination requires an applicant to, at minimum, meet one of the following: 

(1) The applicant holds a current, delinquent or cancelled intern registration, submits a 
request and pays the fee to take the examination. 

(A) When a registrant who holds a current or delinquent registration takes the 
examination and does not pass, the registrant shall complete a 12-hour course on 
California law and ethics as specified in section 4999.55(e) of the Code, in order to be 
eligible to take the examination during the next renewal cycle. 

(2) The applicant currently has an approved application for licensure. 

(b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 4990.20(a), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4999.52, 4999.53, 4999.55, and 4999.100, 
Business and Professions Code. 

ADD § 1822.52. TIME FRAMES - LAW & ETHICS EXAMINATION 
(a) An applicant for licensure shall take the California law and ethics examination during the 
following time frames in accordance with section 1806: 

(1) Within one year from the date the applicant was notified of initial eligibility to take the 
examination. 

(2) Within one year from the date the applicant was notified of failing the examination. 

(b) Registrants shall take the California law and ethics examination during the following time 
frames: 

(1) A registrant whose intern registration is issued on or after January 1, 2016 shall take the 
examination prior to the registration’s first expiration date, and shall continue to take the 
examination a minimum of once during each renewal cycle until passed. 

(2) A registrant whose intern registration was issued prior to January 1, 2016, shall take the 
examination a minimum of once during each renewal cycle until passed. 

(3) Should a registrant fail to take the examination as specified in (1) or (2) above, he or she 
will not be permitted to renew his or her registration until the examination has been taken, 
except during the grace period specified in section 4999.55(c) of the Code. 

(4) Registrants who are eligible to retake the California law and ethics examination may do so 
after the required waiting period upon submission of the following: 

(A) A request to take the examination including the required fee. 

(B) If required, proof of completion of the 12-hour California law and ethics course as 
described in section 4999.55(e) of the Code. 

(c) A registrant who has an approved application for licensure shall be subject to subdivisions 
(a) and (b). 

(c)(d) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 4990.20, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4999.52, 4999.53, 4999.55 and 4999.100, 
Business and Professions Code. 
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ARTICLE 4. LICENSED MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS 

AMEND § 1829. EXAMINATIONS 

The written examinations shall consist of the following:  

(a) A standard written examination designed to determine an applicant's knowledge, familiarity 
with the field, and practical understanding of the principles, techniques, objectives, theory and 
laws under which he or she must operate; and  

(b) A written clinical vignette examination designed to assess the applicant's judgment, 
knowledge of the application of psychosocial and psychotherapeutic methods and measures in 
treatment, and ability to assume professional responsibilities.  

(c) This section shall become inoperative on January 1, 2016. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 4980.40 and 4980.60, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 4980.40, Business and 
Professions Code. 

ADD § 1829.1. REQUIRED EXAMINATIONS  
 

(a) The written examinations shall test for minimum acceptable competency to practice marriage 
and family therapy without causing harm to the public health, safety or welfare, and shall consist 
of the following:  

(1) A California law and ethics examination designed to assess the applicant’s knowledge of 
and ability to apply legal and ethical standards relating to the practice of marriage and family 
therapy. 

(2) A clinical examination designed to assess an applicant’s knowledge of 
psychotherapeutic principles and methods in treatment and their application, and the ability 
to make judgments about appropriate techniques, methods and objectives as applicable to 
the marriage and family therapist scope of practice. 

(b) The clinical examination as described in subsection (a)(2) may be a board administered 
examination or a national examination determined by the board to be acceptable. 

(c) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 4980.40 and 4980.60, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4980.397, 4980.398, 
4980.399 and 4980.50, Business and Professions Code. 

ADD § 1829.2. ELIGIBILITY FOR LAW AND ETHICS EXAMINATION 
(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, eligibility to take the California law and ethics 
examination requires an applicant to, at minimum, meet one of the following: 

(1) The applicant holds a current, delinquent or cancelled intern registration, submits a 
request and pays the fee to take the examination. 

(A) When a registrant who holds a current or delinquent registration takes the 
examination and does not pass, the registrant shall complete a 12-hour course on 
California law and ethics as specified in section 4980.399(e) of the Code, in order to be 
eligible to take the examination during the next renewal cycle. 

(2) The applicant currently has an approved application for licensure. 
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(b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20(a), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4980.397, 4980.398, 
4980.399, 4980.50, and 4984.01, Business and Professions Code.  

ADD § 1829.3.  TIME FRAMES - LAW & ETHICS EXAMINATION  

(a) An applicant for licensure shall take the California law and ethics examination during the 
following time frames in accordance with section 1806: 

(1) Within one year from the date the applicant was notified of initial eligibility to take the 
examination. 

(2) Within one year from the date the applicant was notified of failing the examination. 

(b) Registrants shall take the California law and ethics examination during the following time 
frames: 

(1) A registrant whose intern registration is issued on or after January 1, 2016 shall take the 
examination prior to the registration’s first expiration date, and shall continue to take the 
examination a minimum of once during each renewal cycle until passed. 

(2) A registrant whose intern registration was issued prior to January 1, 2016, shall take the 
examination a minimum of once during each renewal cycle until passed. 

(3) Should a registrant fail to take the examination as specified in (1) or (2) above, he or she 
will not be permitted to renew his or her registration until the examination has been taken, 
except during the grace period specified in section 4980.399(c) of the Code. 

(4) Registrants who are eligible to retake the California law and ethics examination may do so 
after the required waiting period upon submission of the following: 

(A) A request to take the examination including the required fee. 

(B) If required, proof of completion of the 12-hour California law and ethics course as 
described in section 4980.399(e) of the Code. 

(c) A registrant who has an approved application for licensure shall be subject to subdivisions 
(a) and (b). 

(c)(d) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20(a), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4980.397, 4980.398, 
4980.399, 4980.50, and 4984.01, Business and Professions Code.   
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ARTICLE 6. LICENSED CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKERS 

AMEND § 1877. EXAMINATIONS 

The written examinations shall consist of the following:  

(a) A standard written examination designed to determine an applicant's knowledge, familiarity 
with the field, and practical understanding of the principles, techniques, objectives, theory and 
laws under which he or she must operate; and 

(b) A written clinical vignette examination designed to assess the applicant's judgment, 
knowledge of the application of psychosocial and psychotherapeutic methods and measures in 
treatment, and ability to assume professional responsibilities. 

(c) This section shall become inoperative on January 1, 2016. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 4990.20, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 4992.1, Business and Professions 
Code. 

ADD § 1877.1. REQUIRED EXAMINATIONS 

(a) The written examinations shall test for minimum acceptable competency to practice clinical 
social work without causing harm to the public health, safety or welfare, and shall consist of the 
following:  

(1) A California law and ethics examination designed to assess the applicant’s knowledge of 
and ability to apply legal and ethical standards relating to the practice of clinical social work. 

(2) A clinical examination designed to assess an applicant’s knowledge of psychosocial 
principles and methods in treatment and their application, and the ability to make judgments 
about appropriate techniques, methods and objectives as applicable to the clinical social 
worker scope of practice. 

(b) The clinical examination as described in subsection (a)(2) may be a board administered 
examination or a national examination determined by the board to be acceptable. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 4990.20, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4992.1, 4992.05, 4992.07 and 
4992.09, Business and Professions Code. 

ADD § 1877.2. ELIGIBILITY FOR LAW AND ETHICS EXAMINATION 
 

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, eligibility to take the California law and ethics 
examination requires an applicant to, at minimum, meet one of the following: 

(1) The applicant holds a current, delinquent or cancelled associate registration, submits a 
request and pays the fee to take the examination. 

(A) When a registrant who holds a current or delinquent registration takes the 
examination and does not pass, the registrant shall complete a 12-hour course on 
California law and ethics as specified in section 4992.09(e) of the Code, in order to be 
eligible to take the examination during the next renewal cycle. 

(2) The applicant currently has an approved application for licensure. 

(b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 4990.20(a), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4992.05, 4992.07, 4992.09, 4992.1, 
and 4996.28 Business and Professions Code. 
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ADD § 1877.3.  TIME FRAMES - LAW & ETHICS EXAMINATION 
(a) An applicant for licensure shall take the California law and ethics examination during the 
following time frames in accordance with section 1806: 

(1) Within one year from the date the applicant was notified of initial eligibility to take the 
examination. 

(2) Within one year from the date the applicant was notified of failing the examination. 

(b) Registrants shall take the California law and ethics examination during the following time 
frames: 

(1) A registrant whose associate registration is issued on or after January 1, 2016 shall take 
the examination prior to the registration’s first expiration date, and shall continue to take the 
examination a minimum of once during each renewal cycle until passed. 

(2) A registrant whose associate registration was issued prior to January 1, 2016, shall take 
the examination a minimum of once during each renewal cycle until passed. 

(3) Should a registrant fail to take the examination as specified in (1) or (2) above, he or she 
will not be permitted to renew his or her registration until the examination has been taken, 
except during the grace period specified in section 4992.09(c) of the Code. 

(4) Registrants who are eligible to retake the California law and ethics examination may do so 
after the required waiting period upon submission of the following: 

(A) A request to take the examination including the required fee. 

(B) If required, proof of completion of the 12-hour California law and ethics course as 
described in section 4992.09(e) of the Code. 

(c) A registrant who has an approved application for licensure shall be subject to subdivisions 
(a) and (b). 

(d) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 4990.20(a), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 4992.05, 4992.07, 4992.09, 4992.1, 
4996.4 and 4996.28 Business and Professions Code. 
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