
Board of Behavioral Sciences 
Order of Adoption 

 

The Board of Behavioral Sciences of the Department of Consumer Affairs 
hereby adopts regulations in Division 18 of Title 16 of the California Code of 

Regulations, as follows: 

1805.08. EXAMINATION RESCORING. 

Candidates may request a rescoring of any board-developed examination administered 
via paper-and-pencil by submitting the required fee, along with a request that states the 
type of examination to be rescored, and the date the examination to be rescored was 
taken. The request shall be submitted in writing to the Board. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 4984.7, 4989.68, 4996.3, and 4999.120, Business and Professions 
Code. 

1806. ABANDONMENT OF APPLICATION. 
An application shall be deemed abandoned under any of the following circumstances: 
circumstances described in this section. An application submitted after a previous 
application has been abandoned shall be treated as a new application, requiring the 
applicant to pay any fees required, and to meet current requirements. 
 
(a) The application has not been completed by the applicant within one (1) year after it 
has been filed. An application shall be deemed complete when all documents and 
information required have been submitted to the board.  
 
(b)(a) The applicant does not submit information required in order to correct the 
deficiencies specified in a deficiency letter within one (1) year from the date of the 
deficiency letter. 
 
(b) The applicant for licensure, as defined in section 1805.01(a), does not maintain an 
active licensure application. An applicant maintains an “active licensure application” by 
participating in a required examination, as defined below, at least once every 365 days.  

(1) The initial 365-day examination participation period shall begin on the date the 
applicant was sent a notification approving his or her licensure application.  

(2) Subsequent 365-day examination participation periods shall begin on the date 
the applicant most recently participated in a required examination. 

(3) “Required examination” is defined as an initial attempt or retake of an 
examination required by section 4980.397, 4989.20, 4992.05, or 4999.53 of the 
Code. 



(c) Applications for licensure, as defined in section 1805.01(a), shall be deemed 
abandoned if the applicant fails to take or retake an examination within the following 
time frames: 

(1) The applicant fails to sit for the California law and ethics examination within one 
(1) year after being notified of initial eligibility to take the examination. 

(2) The applicant does not retake the California law and ethics examination within 
one (1) year after being notified of failing the examination. 

(3) The applicant fails to sit for the clinical examination within one (1) year of being 
notified of passing the standard written examination. 

(4) The applicant fails to sit for the clinical examination within one (1) year of being 
notified of passing the California law and ethics examination. 

(5) An applicant does not retake the clinical examination or the licensed educational 
psychologist written examination within one (1) year from the date the applicant was 
notified of failing the examination. 

(d)(c) The applicant fails to pay the initial license fee within one (1) year after notification 
by the board of successful completion of examination requirements. 

An application submitted after a previous application has been abandoned shall be 
treated as a new application, requiring the applicant to pay any fees required, and to 
meet current requirements. 

Note: Authority Cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20(a), Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 4980.30, 4980.35, 4980.397(a), 4980.398, 4980.399, 
4980.40, 4980.44, 4980.72, 4984.01, 4984.7, 4984.72, 4989.20, 4989.22(b), 4989.68, 
4992, 4992.05(a), 4992.07, 4992.09, 4996.1, 4996.3, 4996.4, 4996.17, 4996.18, 
4996.28, 4999.42, 4999.50, 4999.53, 4999.54, 4999.55, 4999.60, 4999.61, 4999.64, 
4999.100, and 4999.120, Business and Professions Code. 

1816.1. INITIAL LICENSE AND REGISTRATION FEES. 

(a) The fee for initial issuance of the marriage and family therapist license shall be one 
hundred thirty dollars ($130.00). 

(b) The fee for initial issuance of the licensed educational psychologist license shall be 
eighty dollars ($80.00). 

(c) The fee for initial issuance of the licensed clinical social worker license shall be one 
hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(d) The fee for initial issuance of the licensed professional clinical counselor license 
shall be two hundred dollars ($200.00). 

(e) The fee for initial application of the associate professional clinical counselor 
registration application shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00). 



Note: Authority Cited: Sections 4980.60, and 4990.20 (a), Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 4984.7, 4989.68, 4996.3 and 4999.120, Business and 
Professions Code. 

1816.3. EXAMINATION RESCORING FEES. 

The fee for rescoring any board administered licensed marriage and family therapist, 
licensed clinical social worker, licensed educational psychologist, or licensed 
professional clinical counselor examination shall be twenty dollars ($20.00). 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 4980.60 and 4990.20, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 4984.7, 4989.68, 4996.3, and 4999.120, Business and Professions 
Code. 

 

 
 
Dated:___________  Signed:____________________________________ 
         Steve Sodergren, Assistant Executive Officer 
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