

#### 1. APPLY WITHIN 90 DAYS OF GRADUATING

In order to count supervised experience during the window of time between your degree award date and the issue date of your Associate registration, your Associate application must be received by the Board within 90 days of your qualifying degree award date. Please note that you are not permitted to work in a private practice or professional corporation until your Associate registration has been issued.

### 2. KEEP YOUR COMPLETED WORKPLACE LIVE SCAN FINGERPRINTING FORM

If you graduated on or after January 1, 2020, you may only count post-degree hours of experience gained under the "90-day rule" if your workplace required you to complete Live Scan fingerprinting prior to gaining hours with that employer, and you submit a copy of your completed "State of California Request for Live Scan Service" form when applying for licensure. For more information, see the **90-Day Rule FAQs**.

### 3. SUBMIT A COMPLETE APPLICATION PACKET

Application deficiencies delay application processing. Carefully follow application instructions and use the checklist provided in the application packet. Keep a copy of everything for your records. For confirmation that the Board received your application, mail your application using a method that provides delivery confirmation.

### 4. CREATE A BREEZE ACCOUNT

BreEZe is the California Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) online service portal and provides the fastest and easiest way to change your address, apply for your initial law and ethics exam, and more. You can sign up for a BreEZe account at <a href="https://www.breeze.ca.gov">www.breeze.ca.gov</a>.

### 5. LEARN THE REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL OF YOUR REGISTRATION

- You must take the Law and Ethics Exam for your registration type during your renewal cycle (unless you have already passed it). Be sure to submit your exam application with the required fee early to avoid renewal delays.
- You must complete three hours of continuing education in law and ethics during each renewal cycle.
- · You must pay a renewal fee.

### **6. RENEW YOUR REGISTRATION TIMELY**

Once you are registered as an Associate, you must renew your registration every year and pay a renewal fee. If your registration expires, you will not be able to count hours gained during the period in which your registration lapsed. Remember that your registration is valid for six years and that you must apply for a subsequent registration number if you need to maintain a registration after six years. Be sure to allow for adequate processing time.

# 7. CAREFULLY READ THE EXAM CANDIDATE HANDBOOK

The Candidate Handbook for each exam contains important information that will help you to be prepared for your test day. It includes test center policies, such as identification requirements, requirements related to canceling or rescheduling an appointment, and what is allowed at the test center. In addition, it contains information about the exam itself, including the examination outline, the number of questions in the exam, and several sample questions. See the **Exams** tab of the Board's website.

# 10 TIPS FOR A SMOOTHER LICENSING PROCESS

### 8. AVOID LOSING EXPERIENCE HOURS

There are a number of avoidable events that could result in losing your hard-earned experience hours. Don't let this happen! Be sure to:

- · Follow the 90-day rule.
- Read the FAQs for Associates and refer to it often (access at <u>www.bbs.ca.gov</u>>Applicant>[License Type]>Forms/Pubs).
- Ensure that your supervisor meets all requirements.
- Ensure that you are employed as either a W-2 employee or a volunteer, and not as an independent contractor.
- Ensure that a <u>Supervision Agreement</u> is completed within 60 days of commencing supervision with each supervisor.
- Ensure that your supervisor signs your experience log on a weekly basis.
- Ensure that you complete all hours of experience within the six (6)-year period immediately preceding submission of your Application for Licensure.
- After applying for licensure: It is still possible to lose hours after submitting your licensure application (even after it has been approved). You can avoid this by doing the following:

- Clear any deficiencies in your Application for Licensure within one year of receiving a deficiency notice.
- Take the Clinical exam within one year of approval of your Application for Licensure; and, if you don't pass the exam, make sure to take it within one year from your last attempt. If you don't test within these time frames, you will have to reapply for licensure, and the Board can only accept experience hours gained within the six years prior to receiving your new application.

#### 9. EMAIL QUESTIONS

Emailing is the fastest and most efficient method to communicate with the Board. By emailing your question, Board staff can research and respond to your questions more thoroughly. This will also give you the advantage of being able to retain the response in writing. Email us via the **Contact Us** button on our website.

## 10. STAY INFORMED ABOUT WHAT IS HAPPENING WITH BBS

It is important that you keep informed of possible changes to laws that may affect your license or your pathway to licensure. Sign up for our **email subscriber's list** to receive notifications of major updates. Better yet, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter for even more updates and information.

