



1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S-200 Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 574-7830 www.bbs.ca.gov Gavin Newsom, Governor State of California

Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency
Department of Consumer Affairs

Graduating on or After January 1, 2020? Make Your Hours Count!

A new law* will affect individuals graduating on or after January 1, 2020. These applicants may only count post-degree hours of experience gained under the "90-day rule" if the workplace required the applicant to complete Live Scan fingerprinting prior to gaining those hours.

What is the "90-day rule"?

The "90-day rule" is a clause in the law that allows applicants for registration as an Associate Marriage and Family Therapist, Associate Professional Clinical Counselor, or Associate Clinical Social Worker (Associate), whose Associate application is received within 90 days of the qualifying degree award date, to count supervised experience gained during the window of time between the degree award date and the issue date of the Associate registration number.

How is this rule changing, and when?

Those who graduate on or after January 1, 2020 may <u>only</u> count post-degree hours of supervised experience gained under the 90-day rule if the workplace required the applicant to complete Live Scan fingerprinting prior to gaining post-degree experience hours. Post-degree hours may only be counted as of the date recorded at the bottom of the Request for Live Scan Service form.

What will be required of applicants?

Applicants must obtain a copy of their completed "State of California Request for Live Scan Service" form and provide a copy to the Board when applying for licensure in order to count post-degree experience hours gained under the 90-day rule.

What happens if the applicant's employer does not require fingerprinting, or if the applicant cannot obtain a copy of the completed "Request for Live Scan Service" form? Post-degree experience hours gained during the window of time between the degree award date and the issue date of the Associate registration number will not count.

How can applicants ensure that they meet the new requirement?

Applicants must obtain a copy of their completed "Request for Live Scan Service" form from the employer and keep it in a safe place. The applicant must submit a copy of this form upon application for licensure. Other documentation cannot be accepted as the law does not allow for any alternatives.

Does this apply to MFT or PCC Trainees?

The Live Scan requirement does not apply to trainees. However, if there is a possibility that a Trainee will be continuing to work for the same agency after graduation, the individual will need to have been fingerprinted by that agency before they can count any post-degree hours under the 90-day rule at that agency. The fingerprinting may be completed while a Trainee.

Will I still have to fingerprint for the Board when I apply for my registration number? Yes. Fingerprints are not transferrable across agencies or employers. You will need still need to do Live Scan fingerprints specifically for the Board as part of your associate application.

* Business and Professions Code sections 4980.43, 4996.23 and 4999.46