



1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S-200 Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 574-7830, (916) 574-8625 Fax www.bbs.ca.gov

To: Board Members Date: April 30, 2021

From: Steve Sodergren Telephone: (916) 574-7841

**Executive Officer** 

**Subject: Election of Officers** 

Business and Professions Code section 4990 requires the Board to elect a Chair and Vice-Chair each year. Currently, Massimiliano (Max) Disposti serves as the Board Chair and Christina Wong is the Vice-Chair. In order to comply with existing law, the Board members should elect both a chair and a vice-chair at this meeting for 2021-2022.

The duties of the Board Chair are as follows:

- Spokesperson for the Board (may attend legislative hearings and testify on behalf of the Board, may attend meetings with DCA or Agency, may attend meetings with stakeholders and legislators).
- Meets and communicates with the executive officer on a regular basis.
- Authors a Board chair message for every quarterly newsletter.
- Communicates with other Board members for Board business.
- Chairs and facilitates Board meetings.
- Assigns Board members to Board committees, appoints the chair for the committee.

In the absence of the Board chair, the Board vice chair will perform the above duties.

Below is a list of Board members and the date on which their term will expire. Members who may not be selected for either position are noted below.

Board Member	Туре	Authority	Appointment	Term	Grace
			Date	Expires	Expires
Crystal Anthony	LCSW	Governor	10/7/2019	6/1/2022	8/1/2022
Deborah Brown*	Public	Governor	8/20/2012	6/1/2021	11/28/2021
Massimiliano Disposti	Public	Senate	6/1/2019	6/1/2023	6/1/2024
Ross Erlich	Public	Assembly	2/6/2020	6/1/2023	6/1/2024
Susan Friedman	Public	Governor	11/29/2020	6/1/2023	8/1/2022
Diana Herweck	LPCC	Governor	10/22/2020	6/1/2024	8/1/2024
Christopher Jones	LEP	Governor	6/29/2020	6/1/2024	6/1/2024
Johnathan Maddox*	LMFT	Governor	9/14/2017	6/1/2021	11/28/2021
Kelly Ranasinghe	Public	Governor	6/29/2020	6/1/2021	11/28/2021
John Sovec	LMFT	Governor	12/11/2019	6/1/2022	8/1/2022
Wendy Strack	Public	Governor	11/29/2020	6/1/2023	8/1/2023
Yvette Casares Willis	Public	Governor	1/21/2021	6/1/2021	11/28/2021
Christina Wong*	LCSW	Governor	5/10/2011	6/1/2021	11/28/2021

<sup>\*</sup>These members are not eligible for consideration.