



1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S-200 Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 574-7830, (916) 574-8625 Fax www.bbs.ca.gov

То:	Committee Members	Date:	November 1, 2021
From:	Rosanne Helms, Legislative Manager	Telephone:	(916) 574-7897
Subject:	Overview of the Purpose of the Licensing Committee and Identification of Issues for Discussion		

## \_\_\_\_\_

## Purpose of the Committee

The Board of Behavioral Sciences (Board) has established a special Licensing Committee (Committee) to conduct an in-depth discussion about several topics related to the licensing process.

## Previous Committee Action

The last meeting of the Committee was on June 25, 2021. At that meeting, the Committee discussed the requirement that renewing registrants with a failing California law and ethics exam score must complete a 12-hour California law and ethics course. It recommended that this requirement be deleted, and instead replaced with a 3-hour California law and ethics course requirement for all renewing registrants. At its September 10, 2021 meeting, the Board directed staff to pursue this change as a legislative proposal in 2022.

## **Issues for Discussion**

The issues below have been identified as topics for future Committee discussion.

- 1. The 12-hour California law and ethics course requirement for renewing registrants with a failing California law and ethics exam score. *(Discussion completed as noted above.)*
- 2. The allowable age of a passing California law and ethics examination score.
- 3. Whether California law and ethics examination attempts should be limited to only those pursuing licensure (i.e. those with a current or delinquent registration number or open application).
- 4. Whether or not the number of exam attempts should be limited.
- 5. Accepting the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE) from Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC) applicants who may have

taken and passed the examination prior to gaining all required experience hours (which is when the Board grants eligibility to take the examination).

- 6. The six-year limit of registration numbers, the prohibition on working in a private practice with a subsequent number, and the requirement that experience hours be no more than six years old. (These together are commonly referred to as "the six-year rule.") *(To be discussed today.)*
- 7. Consideration of registration of trainees in practicum.