



1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S-200 Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 574-7830, (916) 574-8625 Fax www.bbs.ca.gov

To: Board Members **Date:** February 4, 2022

From: Steve Sodergren Telephone: (916) 574-7904

Executive Officer

Subject: Election of Officers

Business and Professions Code section 4990(g) requires the Board to elect a chairperson and vice chairperson each year.

Currently, Massimiliano (Max) Disposti serves as the Board chairperson. Because of the departure of Board member Christina Wong, the vice chairperson position is vacant. Board policy #B-15-3 establishes that nominations to fill the position of vice chairperson may be made and voted on at the next scheduled Board meeting. To comply with existing law, the Board members should elect a vice-chairperson at this meeting. The elected Board member will serve as vice chair until the next elections during the May 2022 Board meeting.

The Board vice chairperson performs the following duties in the absence of the Board chair:

- Acts as a spokesperson for the Board (may attend legislative hearings and testify on behalf of the Board, may attend meetings with DCA or Agency, may attend meetings with stakeholders and legislators).
- Meets and communicates with the executive officer on a regular basis.
- Authors a Board chair message for every quarterly newsletter.
- Communicates with other Board members for Board business.
- Chairs and facilitates Board meetings.
- Assigns Board members to Board committees, appoints the chair for the committee.

The next page is a list of Board members and the date on which their term will expire.

Board Member	Type	Authority	Appointment Date	Term Expires	Grace Expires
Massimiliano Disposti	Public	Senate	6/1/2019	6/1/2023	6/1/2024
Crystal Anthony	LCSW	Governor	10/7/2019	6/1/2022	8/1/2022
Yvettte Casares Willis	Public	Governor	1/21/2021	6/1/2025	8/1/2025
Ross Erlich	Public	Assembly	2/6/2020	6/1/2023	6/1/2024
Susan Friedman	Public	Governor	3/5/2020	6/1/2022	8/1/2022
Diana Herweck	LPCC	Governor	10/22/2020	6/1/2024	8/1/2024
Justin Huft	LMFT	Governor	9/23/2021	6/1/2025	8/1/2025
Christopher Jones	LEP	Governor	6/29/2020	6/1/2024	8/1/2024
Abigail Ortega	LCSW	Governor	11/10/2021	6/1/2025	8/1/2025
Kelly Ranasinghe	Public	Governor	6/29/2020	6/1/2025	8/1/2025
John Sovec	LMFT	Governor	12/11/2019	6/1/2022	8/1/2022
Wendy Strack	Public	Governor	11/29/2020	6/1/2023	8/1/2023
Annette Walker	Public	Governor	11/10/2021	6/1/2025	8/1/2025