



1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S-200 Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 574-7830, (916) 574-8625 Fax www.bbs.ca.gov

То:	Board Members	Date:	February 1, 2022
From:	Rosanne Helms Legislative Manager	Telephone:	(916) 574-7897

Subject: Licensing Committee Update

The Licensing Committee held its last meeting on November 19, 2021. The Board formed the Licensing Committee in order to conduct an in-depth discussion about several topics related to the licensing process.

At the November 19, 2021 meeting, the Committee discussed the current six-year limit on the age of experience hours, as well as the six-year length of an associate registration number. The Committee directed staff to do further research and to resume the discussion at the next meeting.

At previous meetings, the Licensing Committee had worked to develop a proposal to delete the requirement that renewing registrants with a failing California law and ethics exam score must complete a 12-hour California law and ethics course. Instead, this would be replaced with a 3-hour California law and ethics course requirement for all renewing registrants. This proposal was approved by the Board, and is currently being pursued as a legislative proposal.

The next meeting of the Licensing Committee is to be determined.