



1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S-200 Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 574-7830, (916) 574-8625 Fax www.bbs.ca.gov

To: Committee Members **Date:** December 18, 2023

From: Steve Sodergren

Executive Officer

Subject: Review and Discussion of the Development of a Board-Developed Law

and Ethics Continuing Education Course

To renew a registration, an Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (AMFT), Associate Social Worker (ASW), and an Associate Professional Clinical Counselor (APCC) must:

- Take a minimum of 3 hours of continuing education (CE) coursework in California law and ethics during each renewal period.
- Participate in the California Law & Ethics Examination once per renewal period until passed.
- Pay a renewal fee of \$150.

The required CE coursework must be taken through one of the following providers:

- An accredited school, college or university that meets the accreditation requirements specified in Business and Professions Code §4980.54 (for LMFTs), §4989.34 (for LEPs), §4996.22 (for LCSWs), or §4999.76 (for LPCCs).
- A school, college or university approved by the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.
- A Board-recognized approval agency as provided in Title 16, California Code of Regulations section 1887.4.1(a).
- A provider who has been approved by a Board-recognized approval agency.
- An organization, institution, association, or entity that is recognized by the Board as a CE provider, as provided in Title 16, California Code of Regulations section 1887.4.3(a)(3).

The cost of the CE courses can range from \$30 to \$100. To ease the financial burden that is placed on associates, staff are recommending the creation of a Board-developed,

online 3-hour California Law & Ethics CE course that will be offered free of charge to associates. This course would be webinar-based and would be able to record an associate's participation. Staff would develop and update the coursework on an annual basis to ensure new law changes are addressed. The development of this course may require the Board to contract with a third-party to assist in the design and administration.

Recommendation

Conduct an open discussion regarding the creation of a Board developed, no-cost, online 3-hour California Law & Ethics CE course.