
To: Policy and Advocacy Committee Members Date:  July 10, 2025 

From: Rosanne Helms 
 Legislative Manager 

Subject: License Path Restructuring Proposal – Phase I 

Background 

At previous meetings, the Workforce Development Committee considered several 
potential modifications to the licensure process aimed at reducing barriers to entry. 

The Board’s licensing and examination statutes are complex, and any amendments 
must be carefully evaluated to prevent unintended consequences and ensure effective 
implementation.  Staff recommends a phased approach to implementing changes to the 
licensure and examination process. 

• Phase I would involve amendments to the licensing and examination framework. 

• Phase II would implement the transition to the Association of Marital and Family 
Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB) national exam as the clinical exam for 
Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFTs). 

• Phase III would adjust the timing of the Board’s clinical examinations to allow 
candidates to take those exams earlier in the licensure process. 

A summary of the proposed phases is provided in Attachments B, C, and D: 

Attachment B shows a visual summary and description each phase. 

Attachment C summarizes the estimated timeline of each phase. 

Attachment D summarizes the end result of all three phases.   

The focus of today’s discussion will be the Phase I changes (shown in Attachments A-
1 through A-4), with a goal of having those approved by the Board to run as a legislative 
proposal in the next legislative cycle, which begins in January 2026. 
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Phase I: General Licensing Process Changes: LMFT, LCSW and LPCC 

The following changes are proposed to take place in Phase I and have been drafted into 
the LMFT, LCSW, and LPCC practice acts (shown in Attachment A-1, A-2, and A-3, 
respectively).   

a. Timing of the California Law and Ethics Exam:  This proposal would allow 
associates to choose when they take the California law and ethics exam.  

Currently, associates must attempt the California law and ethics exam every year 
as a condition of their registration renewal, until the exam is passed.  
Additionally, this exam must be passed before a subsequent number (or 
licensure) is obtained.  Under this proposal, associates would take the exam 
when they are ready.  It would not be required to be attempted every year in 
order to renew the registration. (However, it still must be passed before a 
subsequent registration number is issued, and also before eligibility to take the 
clinical exam is granted.)  Making this change would prevent delays with 
registration renewal if the associate forgot or was unable to take the exam before 
renewal that year.   

Given the relatively new requirement that associates must now complete 3 hours 
of continuing education covering California law and ethics each year (which 
became effective in 2023), staff believes public protection is maintained. 

b. Age Limit for the California Law and Ethics Exam: This proposal places an 
age limit of 7 years on a passing score for the California Law and Ethics Exam.  

Currently there is no limit on the age of the California law and ethics exam score 
the Board will accept, although there is a 7-year age limit on the clinical exam 
passing score.  Not having an age limit on the California law and ethics exam 
score will have public protection implications the longer the California law and 
ethics exam has been offered (it has been offered since 2016), as the Board 
currently must accept all scores regardless of age. Placing a limit on the age of 
the California law and ethics exam score has the following implications: 

• To obtain a subsequent registration number, the applicant will need to have 
passed the California law and ethics exam no more than seven years prior to 
the Board’s receipt of the application for the subsequent registration number.  
This would include second (or third, etc.) subsequent registration numbers, 
meaning the exam must be passed again for each subsequent registration if 
the score at the time of application is more than 7 years old.   

• In addition, when applying for initial license issuance, the California law and 
ethics exam score will need to have been passed no more than seven years 
prior to the Board’s receipt of that application. 
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Recognizing the potential adverse impact on individuals who submit their 
applications shortly after this age limit takes effect, this proposal includes a three-
year grace period from the anticipated effective date of the bill. During this grace 
period, the seven-year age limit for the California Law and Ethics Examination 
will not apply to any application for initial license issuance or application for a 
subsequent associate registration number received by the Board on or before 
January 1, 2030. 

c. Change in Registration Number Length and Time Supervised Experience 
Hours Valid: This proposal extends the allowable length of time a registration 
number is valid from 6 years to 7 years.  It also extends the amount of time 
supervised experience hours are valid from 6 years to 7 years. 

Extending these timeframes allows applicants an additional year if they need to 
take a break while gaining experience hours due to life events or circumstances, 
which is commonly brought up by those who experience hardship during the 
licensure process.  It will also align the allowable age of experience hours with 
the allowable clinical and law and ethics exam score ages (both 7 years), 
providing a simpler process when the Board eventually transitions to allowing the 
clinical exam to be taken early (Under that eventual scenario, instead of “locking 
hours” upon clinical exam eligibility, all experience hours and exam scores would 
need to be no more than 7 years old when applying for initial license issuance.)   

d. Add an Exception to the Prohibition on Working in a Private Practice with a 
Subsequent Registration Number: The proposal makes a change to the law 
that prohibits an associate from working for a private practice or professional 
corporation employer with a subsequent registration number. Under the proposal, 
the law would continue to prohibit associates with a subsequent associate 
registration number from working with these employers generally.  However, it 
would permit an associate with a subsequent registration number to request a 
one-time, two-consecutive-year hardship extension.  With this extension, they 
may finish gaining their experience hours working for one private practice or 
professional corporation, if the supervisor or employer and the associate submit 
a request to the board providing specified information and showing good cause. 

The Board has discussed the prohibition on private practice with a subsequent 
registration numerous times, most recently in August 2022.  It is an often-
requested discussion topic because it can cause hardship to individuals who, due 
to unforeseen circumstances, need a subsequent registration number to finish 
gaining their experience hours and who already have a job in a private practice.  
At the August 2022 meeting, the possibility of removing the prohibition on private 
practice with a subsequent registration number was discussed.  However, due to 
concerns about potential exploitation of associates, there was not support from 
the Board or stakeholders for its removal.  Today’s proposal offers a more limited 
approach that would apply for a limited time in instances of hardship. 
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e. Technical Clean-Up Changes: These changes entail making minor, technical 
clean-up changes, including the following: 

• Deleting BPC §§4980.398 and 4992.07 (transition scenarios from the 2016 
exam restructure) as those sections are no longer needed.) 

• Deleting the exam rescoring fee for each license type.  Exams are now 
scored electronically, not manually, and therefore this fee is obsolete. 

• Deleting the requirement that if an applicant is unable to pass the clinical 
exam within 7 years of their initial attempt, they must then go back and pass 
the California law and ethics exam again before continuing to attempt the 
clinical exam.  Staff believes placing an age limit on the California law and 
ethics exam score renders this requirement obsolete.   

• Amendments to clarify that the Board may accept a passing clinical exam 
score obtained early from another state. While the Board cannot grant clinical 
exam eligibility before all educational requirements, the California law and 
ethics exam, and all experience hours are completed, some other states allow 
applicants to take the clinical exam earlier (e.g., upon graduation). If an 
applicant subsequently applies to the Board with a passing clinical exam 
score from another state, the current statute is unclear about whether that 
score can be accepted. The proposed amendments will clarify that such a 
score is indeed acceptable. 

• Deleting repetitive language in BPC §4999.46.1.  The remaining sentences in 
that section have been moved to §4999.46(a).   

• Clarifying when the Board shall grant eligibility to take the California law and 
ethics exam (upon approval of an application for registration or an application 
for licensure, and submission of the required application and fee).  (BPC 
§§4980.397(b), 4992.05(b), 4999.53(b)) 

Phase I for LEPs 

The licensure process for Licensed Educational Psychologists (LEPs) (shown in 
Attachment A-4) differs significantly from that of LMFTs, Licensed Clinical Social 
Workers (LCSWs), and Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors (LPCCs). LEPs take 
a single licensing examination that incorporates both clinical content and law and ethics, 
rather than a separate law and ethics exam. Additionally, LEPs are not required to 
register with the Board as an associate to accrue supervised experience hours prior to 
licensure. 

As a result, most of the proposed changes under consideration for the LMFT, LCSW, 
and LPCC practice acts are not applicable to the LEP license. However, one proposed 
change does apply: like the other license types, LEPs are currently subject to a six-year 
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time limit on qualifying experience hours. Staff recommends extending this period to 
seven years, consistent with the proposed changes for the other license types. 

Staff also recommends one minor technical amendment: the deletion of the outdated 
exam rescoring fee.  

(Note: The language shown in Attachment A-4 assumes that amendments to BPC 
§4989.20 that are currently running in SB 775 become law on January 1, 2025.) 

Need for Regulations  

If the proposed statutory amendments are successfully adopted, corresponding 
regulatory changes will be required to ensure consistency with the statute. 

Workforce Development Committee Discussion 

At its April 4, 2025 meeting, the Workforce Development Committee reviewed the draft 
LMFT practice act language and directed staff to make revisions based on its 
discussion. The Committee also requested draft language for the LCSW and LPCC 
practice acts, and more limited amendments for the LEP practice act, to be presented at 
the next Policy and Advocacy Committee meeting. 

Recommendation 

Conduct an open discussion about the proposed language for Phase I for each license 
type shown in Attachments A-1 through A-4. Direct staff to make any discussed 
changes and any nonsubstantive changes to the language, and to bring to the Board for 
consideration as a legislative proposal.  

Attachments  

Attachment A-1: Licensure Pathway Restructuring Proposal - Phase I – LMFT 

Attachment A-2: Licensure Pathway Restructuring Proposal - Phase I – LCSW 

Attachment A-3: Licensure Pathway Restructuring Proposal - Phase I – LPCC 

Attachment A-4: Licensure Pathway Restructuring Proposal - Phase I – LEP 

Attachment B: Licensing Process Restructuring: Summary of Phases  

Attachment C: Licensing Process Restructuring: Timeline 

Attachment D: Licensing Process Restructuring: End Result (Phases I, II, and III) 
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ATTACHMENT A-1 
Licensure Pathway Restructuring Proposal - Phase 1 

LMFT 

LICENSED MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS (LMFTs) 

Business and Professions Code (BPC) §4980.397. REQUIRED EXAMINATIONS 

(a) A registrant or an applicant for licensure as a marriage and family therapist shall 
pass the following two examinations as prescribed by the board: 

(1) A California law and ethics examination. 

(2) A clinical examination. 

(b) Upon registration with the board, an associate marriage and family therapist shall, 
within the first year of registration, take an examination on California law and ethics. The 
board shall grant eligibility to take the California law and ethics examination upon 
approval of an application for registration or an application for licensure, and submission 
of the required application and fee. 

(c) The board may grant A registrant or an applicant for licensure may take eligibility to 
take the clinical examination only upon meeting all of the following requirements: 

(1) Completion of all required supervised work experience. 

(2) Completion of all education requirements. 

(3) Passage of the California law and ethics examination. 

BPC §4980.398. EXAMINATION RESTRUCTURE TRANSITION SCENARIOS 

(a) Each applicant who had previously taken and passed the standard written 
examination but had not passed the clinical vignette examination shall also obtain a 
passing score on the clinical examination in order to be eligible for licensure. 

(b) An applicant who had previously failed to obtain a passing score on the standard 
written examination shall obtain a passing score on the California law and ethics 
examination and the clinical examination. 

(c) An applicant who had obtained eligibility for the standard written examination shall 
take the California law and ethics examination and the clinical examination. 

(d) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 
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BPC §4980.399. CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS: EXAMINATION AND 
CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(a) Except as provided in subdivision (a) of Section 4980.398, each Each applicant and 
registrant shall obtain a passing score on a board-administered California law and 
ethics examination in order to qualify for licensure.  The California law and ethics 
examination shall be passed no more than seven years prior to the board’s receipt of 
the application for initial license issuance. 

(b) A registrant shall participate in a board-administered California law and ethics 
examination before their registration renewal. 

(cb) If an applicant fails the California law and ethics examination, they may retake the 
examination after any waiting period as specified in regulation, upon payment of the 
required fees, without further application. and submission of a re-examination 
application. 

(dc) The board shall not issue a subsequent associate registration number unless the 
applicant has passed the California law and ethics examination no more than seven 
years prior to the board’s receipt of the application for the subsequent associate 
registration number.   

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the seven year age limit on the California 
law and ethics examination shall not apply to any application for initial license issuance 
or subsequent associate registration number received by the Board on or before 
January 1, 2030.   

(e) A registrant shall complete a minimum of three hours of continuing education on the 
subject of California law and ethics during each renewal period to be eligible to renew 
their registration., regardless of whether they have passed the California law and ethics 
examination. The coursework shall be obtained from a board-accepted provider of 
continuing education, as specified in Section 4980.54. 

BPC §4980.40. QUALIFICATIONS 

An applicant for licensure shall satisfy all of the following qualifications: 

(a) Meet the educational requirements of Section 4980.36 or both Sections 4980.37 and 
4980.41, as applicable. 

(b) Be at least 18 years of age. 
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(c) Have at least two years of supervised experience as specified in this chapter and its 
corresponding regulations. 

(d) Successfully pass a California law and ethics examination and a clinical 
examination. An applicant who has successfully passed a previously administered 
written examination may be subsequently required to take and pass another written 
examination.Each exam shall be passed no more than seven years prior to the board’s 
receipt of the application for initial license issuance.  

(e) Not be subject to denial of licensure under Section 480. The board shall not issue a 
registration or license to any person who has been convicted of a crime in this or 
another state or in a territory of the United States that involves sexual abuse of children 
or who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 of the Penal Code or the 
equivalent in another state or territory, in accordance with Section 480. 

BPC §4980.41. ELIGIBILITY TO SIT FOR LICENSING EXAMINATIONS; 
COURSEWORK OR TRAINING 

(a) An applicant for licensure whose education qualifies him or herthem under Section 
4980.37 shall complete the following coursework or training in order to be eligible to sit 
for the licensing examinations clinical examination as specified in subdivision (d) of 
Section 4980.40: 

(1) A two semester or three quarter unit course in California law and professional ethics 
for marriage and family therapists, which shall include, but not be limited to, the 
following areas of study: 

(A) Contemporary professional ethics and statutory, regulatory, and decisional laws that 
delineate the profession’s scope of practice. 

(B) The therapeutic, clinical, and practical considerations involved in the legal and 
ethical practice of marriage and family therapy, including family law. 

(C) The current legal patterns and trends in the mental health profession. 

(D) The psychotherapist-patient privilege, confidentiality, the patient dangerous to self or 
others, and the treatment of minors with and without parental consent. 

(E) A recognition and exploration of the relationship between a practitioner’s sense of 
self and human values and his or hertheir professional behavior and ethics. 
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This course may be considered as part of the 48 semester or 72 quarter unit 
requirements contained in Section 4980.37. 

(2) A minimum of seven contact hours of training or coursework in child abuse 
assessment and reporting as specified in Section 28 and any regulations promulgated 
thereunder. 

(3) A minimum of 10 contact hours of training or coursework in human sexuality as 
specified in Section 25, and any regulations promulgated thereunder. When coursework 
in a master’s or doctor’s degree program is acquired to satisfy this requirement, it shall 
be considered as part of the 48 semester or 72 quarter unit requirement contained in 
Section 4980.37. 

(4) For persons who began graduate study on or after January 1, 1986, a master’s or 
doctor’s degree qualifying for licensure shall include specific instruction in alcoholism 
and other chemical substance dependency as specified by regulation. When 
coursework in a master’s or doctor’s degree program is acquired to satisfy this 
requirement, it shall be considered as part of the 48 semester or 72 quarter unit 
requirement contained in Section 4980.37. Coursework required under this paragraph 
may be satisfactory if taken either in fulfillment of other educational requirements for 
licensure or in a separate course. The applicant may satisfy this requirement by 
successfully completing this coursework from a master’s or doctoral degree program at 
an accredited or approved institution, as described in subdivision (b) of Section 
4980.37, or from a board-accepted provider of continuing education, as described in 
Section 4980.54. 

(5) For persons who began graduate study during the period commencing on January 1, 
1995, and ending on December 31, 2003, a master’s or doctor’s degree qualifying for 
licensure shall include coursework in spousal or partner abuse assessment, detection, 
and intervention. For persons who began graduate study on or after January 1, 2004, a 
master’s or doctor’s degree qualifying for licensure shall include a minimum of 15 
contact hours of coursework in spousal or partner abuse assessment, detection, and 
intervention strategies, including knowledge of community resources, cultural factors, 
and same gender abuse dynamics. Coursework required under this paragraph may be 
satisfactory if taken either in fulfillment of other educational requirements for licensure or 
in a separate course. The applicant may satisfy this requirement by successfully 
completing this coursework from a master’s or doctoral degree program at an 
accredited or approved institution, as described in subdivision (b) of Section 4980.37, or 
from a board-accepted provider of continuing education, as described in Section 
4980.54. 

(6) For persons who began graduate study on or after January 1, 2001, an applicant 
shall complete a minimum of a two semester or three quarter unit survey course in 
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psychological testing. When coursework in a master’s or doctor’s degree program is 
acquired to satisfy this requirement, it may be considered as part of the 48 semester or 
72 quarter unit requirement of Section 4980.37. 

(7) For persons who began graduate study on or after January 1, 2001, an applicant 
shall complete a minimum of a two semester or three quarter unit survey course in 
psychopharmacology. When coursework in a master’s or doctor’s degree program is 
acquired to satisfy this requirement, it may be considered as part of the 48 semester or 
72 quarter unit requirement of Section 4980.37. 

(b) The requirements added by paragraphs (6) and (7) of subdivision (a) are intended to 
improve the educational qualifications for licensure in order to better prepare future 
licentiates for practice and are not intended in any way to expand or restrict the scope of 
practice for licensed marriage and family therapists. 

BPC §4980.43. SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE; ASSOCIATES OR TRAINEES 

(a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), all applicants shall have an active associate 
registration with the board in order to gain postdegree hours of supervised experience. 

(b) (1) Postdegree hours of experience gained before the issuance of an associate 
registration shall be credited toward licensure if all of the following apply: 

(A) The registration applicant applies for the associate registration and the board 
receives the application within 90 days of the granting of the qualifying master’s degree 
or doctoral degree. 

(B) For applicants completing graduate study on or after January 1, 2020, the 
experience is obtained at a workplace that, prior to the registration applicant gaining 
supervised experience hours, requires completed Live Scan fingerprinting. The 
applicant shall provide the board with a copy of that completed State of California 
“Request for Live Scan Service” form with the application for licensure. 

(C) The board subsequently grants the associate registration. 

(2) The applicant shall not be employed or volunteer in a private practice or a 
professional corporation until the applicant has been issued an associate registration by 
the board. 

(c) Supervised experience that is obtained for purposes of qualifying for licensure shall 
be related to the practice of marriage and family therapy and comply with the following: 
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(1) A minimum of 3,000 hours completed during a period of at least 104 weeks. 

(2) A maximum of 40 hours in any seven consecutive days. 

(3) A minimum of 1,700 hours obtained after the qualifying master’s or doctoral degree 
was awarded. 

(4) A maximum of 1,300 hours obtained prior to the award date of the qualifying 
master’s or doctoral degree. 

(5) A maximum of 750 hours of counseling and direct supervisor contact prior to the 
award date of the qualifying master’s or doctoral degree. 

(6) Hours of experience shall not be gained prior to completing either 12 semester units 
or 18 quarter units of graduate instruction. 

(7) Hours of experience shall not have been gained more than sixseven years prior to 
the date the application for licensure was received by the board, except that up to 500 
hours of clinical experience gained in the supervised practicum required by subdivision 
(c) of Section 4980.37 and subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) of 
Section 4980.36 shall be exempt from this sixseven-year requirement. 

(8) A minimum of 1,750 hours of direct clinical counseling with individuals, groups, 
couples, or families, that includes not less than 500 total hours of experience in 
diagnosing and treating couples, families, and children. 

(9) A maximum of 1,200 hours gained under the supervision of a licensed educational 
psychologist providing educationally related mental health services that are consistent 
with the scope of practice of an educational psychologist, as specified in Section 
4989.14. 

(10) A maximum of 1,250 hours of nonclinical practice, consisting of direct supervisor 
contact, administering and evaluating psychological tests, writing clinical reports, writing 
progress or process notes, client-centered advocacy, and workshops, seminars, training 
sessions, or conferences directly related to marriage and family therapy that have been 
approved by the applicant’s supervisor. 

(11) It is anticipated and encouraged that hours of experience will include working with 
elders and dependent adults who have physical or mental limitations that restrict their 
ability to carry out normal activities or protect their rights. 

This subdivision shall only apply to hours gained on and after January 1, 2010. 
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(d) An individual who submits an application for licensure between January 1, 2016, and 
December 31, 2020, may alternatively qualify under the experience requirements of this 
section that were in place on January 1, 2015. 

BPC §4980.50. EXAMINATION; ISSUANCE OF LICENSE; EXAMINATION RECORD 
RETENTION; SEVEN YEAR LIMITATION ON CLINICAL EXAMINATION 

(a) Every applicant who meets the educational and experience requirements and 
applies for a license as a marriage and family therapist shall be examined by the board. 
The examinations shall be as set forth in subdivision (d) of Section 4980.40 and as 
specified in regulation. The examinations shall be given at least twice a year at a time 
and place and under supervision as the board may determine. The board shall examine 
the candidate with regard to the candidate’s knowledge and professional skills and 
judgment in the utilization of appropriate techniques and methods. 

(b) The board shall not deny any applicant who has submitted a complete application for 
examination, admission to the licensure examinations required by this section if the 
applicant meets the educational and experience requirements of this chapter, and has 
not committed any acts or engaged in any conduct that would constitute grounds to 
deny licensure. 

(c) The board shall not deny any applicant, whose application for licensure is complete, 
admission to the clinical examination, nor shall the board postpone or delay any 
applicant’s clinical examination, solely upon the receipt by the board of a complaint 
alleging acts or conduct that would constitute grounds to deny licensure. 

(d) If an applicant for examination who has passed the California law and ethics 
examination is the subject of a complaint or is under board investigation for acts or 
conduct that, if proven to be true, would constitute grounds for the board to deny 
licensure, the board shall permit the applicant to take the clinical examination for 
licensure, but may notify the applicant that licensure will not be granted pending 
completion of the investigation. 

(e) Notwithstanding Section 135, the board may deny any applicant who has previously 
failed either the California law and ethics examination or the clinical examination 
permission to retake either examination pending completion of the investigation of any 
complaints against the applicant. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the board from 
denying an applicant admission to any examination or refusing to issue a license to any 
applicant when an accusation or statement of issues has been filed against the 
applicant pursuant to Sections 11503 and 11504 of the Government Code, respectively, 
or the applicant has been denied in accordance with subdivision (b) of Section 485. 

(f) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the board may destroy all examination 
materials two years following the date of an examination. 

(g) An applicant for licensure shall not be eligible to participate in the clinical 
examination if the applicant fails to obtain a passing score on the clinical examination 
within seven years from their initial attempt, unless the applicant takes and obtains a 
passing score on the current version of the California law and ethics examination. 
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(hg) A passing score on the clinical examination shall be accepted by the board for a 
period of seven years from the date the examination was taken. The clinical 
examination shall be passed no more than seven years prior to the board’s receipt of 
the application for initial license issuance. 

(ih) An applicant for licensure who has qualified pursuant to this chapter shall be issued 
a license as a marriage and family therapist in the form that the board deems 
appropriate. 

BPC §4984.01. ASSOCIATE REGISTRATION; DURATION; RENEWAL 

(a) The associate marriage and family therapist registration shall expire one year from 
the last day of the month in which it was issued. 

(b) To renew the registration, subject to the additional limitations imposed by subdivision 
(d), the registrant shall, on or before the expiration date of the registration, complete all 
of the following actions: 

(1) Apply for renewal on a form prescribed by the board. 

(2) Pay a renewal fee prescribed by the board. 

(3) Participate in the California law and ethics examination pursuant to Section 
4980.399 each year until successful completion of this examination. 

(43) Notify the board whether they have been convicted, as defined in Section 490, of a 
misdemeanor or felony, and whether any disciplinary action has been taken against 
them by a regulatory or licensing board in this or any other state subsequent to the last 
renewal of the registration. 

(54) Certify under penalty of perjury their compliance with the continuing education 
requirements set forth in Section 4980.54. 

(c) An expired registration may be renewed by completing all of the actions described in 
paragraphs (1) to (54), inclusive, of subdivision (b). 

(d) The registration may be renewed a maximum of fivesix times. No registration shall 
be renewed or reinstated beyond sixseven years from the last day of the month during 
which it was issued, regardless of whether it has been revoked. When no further 
renewals are possible, an applicant may apply for and obtain a subsequent associate 
registration number if the applicant meets the educational requirements for a 
subsequent associate registration number and has passed the California law and ethics 
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examination no more than seven years prior to the board’s receipt of the application for 
the subsequent associate registration number. An applicant who is issued a subsequent 
associate registration number pursuant to this subdivision shall not be employed or 
volunteer in a private practice. 

(e) Notwithstanding subdivision (d), an applicant applying for or who currently holds a 
subsequent associate registration number may request that the board grant them a two-
consecutive-year hardship extension to allow them to be employed or volunteer at one 
private practice or professional corporation employer with their subsequent associate 
registration number.   

1) An associate shall not be issued more than one extension.  

2) The extension is only valid for the one private practice or professional 
corporation employer for which it is requested.   

3) Work for the employer shall not commence until the extension is approved by 
the board. 

4) The application shall be jointly signed under penalty of perjury and dated by 
the associate, the supervisor, and if the supervisor is not employed by the 
supervisee’s employer or is a volunteer, a representative of the employer. 

5) The board shall grant the extension provided that the application is signed, all 
information required is provided, and good cause is demonstrated.  The 
application must contain all of the following: 

A. The date the extension is needed; 

B. The name of the employer where the associate will be gaining hours; 

C. An attestation that the employer is a private practice or a professional 
corporation; 

D. The name, license type, and license number of the current supervisor; 

E. A showing of good cause for the applicant being unable to complete the 
licensure process within seven years.  Good cause may include, but is not 
limited to, extended medical leave, family caregiving responsibilities, 
difficulties finding employment, or circumstances beyond the applicant’s 
control; and 
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F. A description of the plan for the associate to gain the needed hours toward 
licensure during the two-year extension period. 

BPC §4984.7. FEE SCHEDULE 

(a) The board shall assess the following fees relating to the licensure of marriage and 
family therapists: 

(1) The application fee for an associate registration shall be one hundred fifty dollars 
($150). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a 
maximum of three hundred dollars ($300). 

(2) The annual renewal fee for an associate registration shall be one hundred fifty 
dollars ($150). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to 
a maximum of three hundred dollars ($300). 

(3) The fee for the application for licensure shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250). The 
board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of five 
hundred dollars ($500). 

(4) (A) (i) The fee for the clinical examination shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250). 
The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of 
five hundred dollars ($500). 

(ii) The fee for the California law and ethics examination shall be one hundred fifty 
dollars ($150). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to 
a maximum of three hundred dollars ($300). 

(B) An applicant who fails to appear for an examination, after having been scheduled to 
take the examination, shall forfeit the examination fee. 

(C) The amount of the examination fees shall be based on the actual cost to the board 
of developing, purchasing, and grading each examination and the actual cost to the 
board of administering each examination. The examination fees shall be adjusted 
periodically by regulation to reflect the actual costs incurred by the board. 

(5) The fee for rescoring an examination shall be twenty dollars ($20). 

(65) The fee for the issuance of an initial license shall be two hundred dollars ($200). 
The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of 
four hundred dollars ($400). 
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(76) The fee for the two-year license renewal shall be two hundred dollars ($200). The 
board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of four 
hundred dollars ($400). 

(87) The renewal delinquency fee shall be one-half of the fee for license renewal. A 
person who permits their license to expire is subject to the delinquency fee. 

(98) The fee for issuance of a replacement registration, license, or certificate shall be 
twenty dollars ($20). 

(109) The fee for issuance of a certificate or letter of good standing shall be twenty-five 
dollars ($25). 

(1110) The fee for issuance of a retired license shall be forty dollars ($40). 

(b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2021. 

BPC §4984.72. FAILED CLINICAL EXAMINATION; REEXAMINATION; NEW 
APPLICATION REQUIREMENT 

(a) Effective January 1, 2016, anAn applicant who fails the clinical examination may, 
within one year from the notification date of that failure, retake the examination as 
regularly scheduled without further application upon payment of the fee for the 
examination. Thereafter, the applicant shall not be eligible for further examination until 
he or she filesthey file a new application, meets all requirements in effect on the date of 
application, and pays all required fees. 

(b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 
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ATTACHMENT A-2 
Licensure Pathway Restructuring Proposal - Phase 1 

LCSW 

LICENSED CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKERS (LCSWs) 

Business and Professions Code (BPC) 

§ 4992.05. REQUIRED EXAMINATIONS 

(a) A registrant or an applicant for licensure as a clinical social worker shall pass the 
following two examinations as prescribed by the board: 

(1) A California law and ethics examination. 

(2) A clinical examination. 

(b) Upon registration with the board, an associate clinical social worker registrant, within 
the first year of registration, shall take an examination on California law and ethics. 
The board shall grant eligibility to take the California law and ethics examination 
upon approval of an application for registration or an application for licensure, and 
submission of the required application and fee. 

(c) The board may grant A registrant or an applicant for licensure may take eligibility to 
take the clinical examination only upon meeting all of the following requirements: 

(1) Completion of all education requirements. 

(2) Passage of the California law and ethics examination. 

(3) Completion of all required supervised work experience. 

§ 4992.07. EXAMINATION RESTRUCTURE TRANSITION SCENARIOS 

(a) An applicant who had previously taken and passed the standard written examination 
but had not passed the clinical vignette examination shall also obtain a passing 
score on the clinical examination in order to be eligible for licensure. 

(b) An applicant who had previously failed to obtain a passing score on the standard 
written examination shall obtain a passing score on the California law and ethics 
examination and the clinical examination. 

(c) An applicant who had obtained eligibility for the standard written examination shall 
take the California law and ethics examination and the clinical examination. 

(d) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 
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§ 4992.09. CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS: EXAMINATION AND CONTINUING 
EDUCATION 

(a) Except as provided in subdivision (a) of Section 4992.07, an Each applicant and 
registrant shall obtain a passing score on a board-administered California law and 
ethics examination in order to qualify for licensure. The California law and ethics 
examination shall be passed no more than seven years prior to the board’s receipt of 
the application for initial license issuance.   

(b) A registrant shall participate in a board-administered California law and ethics 
examination before their registration renewal. 

(cb) If an applicant fails the California law and ethics examination, they may retake the 
examination after any waiting period as specified in regulation, upon payment of the 
required fees, without further application.and submission of a re-examination 
application. 

(dc) The board shall not issue a subsequent associate registration number unless the 
applicant has passed the California law and ethics examination no more than seven 
years prior to the board’s receipt of the application for the subsequent associate 
registration number. 

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the seven year age limit on the California 
law and ethics examination shall not apply to any application for initial license issuance 
or subsequent associate registration number received by the Board on or before 
January 1, 2030.   

(e) A registrant shall complete a minimum of three hours of continuing education inon 
the subject of California law and ethics during each renewal period to be eligible to 
renew their registration., regardless of whether they have passed the California law 
and ethics examination. The coursework shall be obtained from a board-accepted 
provider of continuing education, as specified in Section 4996.22. 

§ 4992.1. ELIGIBILITY FOR EXAMINATION; EXAMINATION RECORD RETENTION; 
SEVEN YEAR LIMITATION ON CLINICAL EXAMINATION 

(a) Only individuals who have the qualifications prescribed by the board under this 
chapter are eligible to take an examination under this chapter. 

(b) Every applicant who is issued a clinical social worker license shall be examined by 
the board. 

(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the board may destroy all examination 
materials two years following the date of an examination. 
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(d) The board shall not deny any applicant, whose application for licensure is complete, 
admission to the clinical examination, nor shall the board postpone or delay any 
applicant’s clinical examination, solely upon the receipt by the board of a complaint 
alleging acts or conduct that would constitute grounds to deny licensure. 

(e) If an applicant for examination who has passed the California law and ethics 
examination is the subject of a complaint or is under board investigation for acts or 
conduct that, if proven to be true, would constitute grounds for the board to deny 
licensure, the board shall permit the applicant to take the clinical examination for 
licensure, but may notify the applicant that licensure will not be granted pending 
completion of the investigation. 

(f) Notwithstanding Section 135, the board may deny any applicant who has previously 
failed either the California law and ethics examination or the clinical examination 
permission to retake either examination pending completion of the investigation of 
any complaint against the applicant. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the board 
from denying an applicant admission to any examination, or refusing to issue a 
license to any applicant when an accusation or statement of issues has been filed 
against the applicant pursuant to Section 11503 or 11504 of the Government Code, 
or the applicant has been denied in accordance with subdivision (b) of Section 485. 

(g) An applicant shall not be eligible to participate in the clinical examination if the 
applicant fails to obtain a passing score on the clinical examination within seven 
years from their initial attempt, unless the applicant takes and obtains a passing 
score on the current version of the California law and ethics examination. 

(hg) A passing score on the clinical examination shall be accepted by the board for a 
period of seven years from the date the examination was taken. The clinical 
examination shall be passed no more than seven years prior to the board’s receipt of 
the application for initial license issuance.   

§ 4996.1. ISSUANCE OF LICENSE 

(a) Effective January 1, 2016, the The board shall issue a clinical social worker license 
to each applicant who qualifies pursuant to this article and who successfully passes 
a California law and ethics examination and a clinical examination. An applicant who 
has successfully passed a previously administered written examination may be 
subsequently required to take and pass another written examination. Each exam 
shall be passed no more than seven years prior to the board’s receipt of the 
application for initial license issuance. 

(b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 
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§ 4996.3. FEE SCHEDULE 

(a) The board shall assess the following fees relating to the licensure of clinical social 
workers: 

(1) The application fee for registration as an associate clinical social worker shall be 
one hundred fifty dollars ($150). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee 
at a higher amount, up to a maximum of three hundred dollars ($300). 

(2) The fee for annual renewal of an associate clinical social worker registration shall 
be one hundred fifty dollars ($150). The board may adopt regulations to set the 
fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of three hundred dollars ($300). 

(3) The fee for application for licensure shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250). The 
board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum 
of five hundred dollars ($500). 

(4) (A) (i) The fee for the board-administered clinical examination, if the board 
chooses to adopt this examination in regulations, shall be two hundred fifty 
dollars ($250). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher 
amount, up to a maximum of five hundred dollars ($500). 

(ii) The fee for the California law and ethics examination shall be one hundred 
fifty dollars ($150). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a 
higher amount, up to a maximum of three hundred dollars ($300). 

(B) An applicant who fails to appear for an examination, after having been 
scheduled to take the examination, shall forfeit the examination fees. 

(C) The amount of the examination fees shall be based on the actual cost to the 
board of developing, purchasing, and grading each examination and the 
actual cost to the board of administering each examination. The written 
examination fees shall be adjusted periodically by regulation to reflect the 
actual costs incurred by the board. 

(5) The fee for rescoring an examination shall be twenty dollars ($20). 

(65) The fee for issuance of an initial license shall be two hundred dollars ($200). 
The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a 
maximum of four hundred dollars ($400). 

(76) The fee for the two-year license renewal shall be two hundred dollars ($200). 
The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a 
maximum of four hundred dollars ($400). 

(87) The renewal delinquency fee shall be one-half of the fee for license renewal. A 
person who permits their license to expire shall be subject to the delinquency fee. 

(98) The fee for issuance of a replacement registration, license, or certificate shall be 
twenty dollars ($20). 
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(109) The fee for issuance of a certificate or letter of good standing shall be twenty-
five dollars ($25). 

(1110) The fee for issuance of a retired license shall be forty dollars ($40). 

(b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2021. 

§ 4996.4. FEE FOR REEXAMINATION 

(a) Effective January 1, 2016, an An applicant who fails the clinical examination may, 
within one year from the notification date of failure, retake that examination as 
regularly scheduled, without further application, upon payment of the required 
examination fees. Thereafter, the applicant shall not be eligible for further 
examination until he or she files they file a new application, meets all current 
requirements, and pays all required fees. 

(b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 

§ 4996.23. SUPERVISED POST-MASTER'S EXPERIENCE 

(a) To qualify for licensure, each applicant shall complete 3,000 hours of post-master’s 
degree supervised experience related to the practice of clinical social work. Except 
as provided in subdivision (b), experience shall not be gained until the applicant is 
registered as an associate clinical social worker. 

(b) Postdegree hours of experience gained before the issuance of an associate 
registration shall be credited toward licensure if all of the following apply: 

(1) The registration applicant applies for the associate registration and the board 
receives the application within 90 days of the granting of the qualifying master’s 
or doctoral degree. 

(2) For applicants completing graduate study on or after January 1, 2020, the 
experience is obtained at a workplace that, prior to the registration applicant 
gaining supervised experience hours, requires completed Live Scan 
fingerprinting. The applicant shall provide the board with a copy of that completed 
“State of California Request for Live Scan Service” form with the application for 
licensure. 

(3) The board subsequently grants the associate registration. 

(c) The applicant shall not be employed or volunteer in a private practice or a 
professional corporation until the applicant has been issued an associate registration 
by the board. 

(d) The experience shall be as follows: 
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(1) (A) At least 1,700 hours shall be gained under the supervision of a licensed 
clinical social worker. The remaining required supervised experience may be 
gained under the supervision of a physician and surgeon who is certified in 
psychiatry by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, licensed 
professional clinical counselor, licensed marriage and family therapist, 
psychologist licensed pursuant to Chapter 6.6 (commencing with Section 
2900), licensed educational psychologist, or licensed clinical social worker. 

(B) A maximum of 1,200 hours gained under the supervision of a licensed 
educational psychologist providing educationally related mental health 
services that are consistent with the scope of practice of an educational 
psychologist, as specified in Section 4989.14. 

(2) A minimum of 2,000 hours in clinical psychosocial diagnosis, assessment, and 
treatment, including psychotherapy or counseling; however, at least 750 hours 
shall be face-to-face individual or group psychotherapy provided in the context of 
clinical social work services. 

(3) A maximum of 1,000 hours in client-centered advocacy, consultation, evaluation, 
research, direct supervisor contact, and workshops, seminars, training sessions, 
or conferences directly related to clinical social work that have been approved by 
the applicant’s supervisor. 

(4) A minimum of two years of supervised experience is required to be obtained over 
a period of not less than 104 weeks and shall have been gained within the six 
seven years immediately preceding the date on which the application for 
licensure was received by the board. 

(5) No more than 40 hours of experience may be credited in any seven consecutive 
days. 

(6) For hours gained on or after January 1, 2010, no more than six hours of 
supervision, whether individual, triadic, or group supervision, shall be credited 
during any single week. 

(e) An individual who submits an application for licensure between January 1, 2016, and 
December 31, 2020, may alternatively qualify under the experience requirements of 
this section that were in place on January 1, 2015. 

§ 4996.28. ASSOCIATE CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER; REGISTRATION 
EXPIRATION; RENEWAL 

(a) Registration as an associate clinical social worker shall expire one year from the last 
day of the month during which it was issued. To renew a registration subject to the 
additional limitations imposed by subdivision (c), the registrant shall, on or before the 
expiration date of the registration, complete all of the following actions: 
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(1) Apply for renewal on a form prescribed by the board. 

(2) Pay a renewal fee prescribed by the board. 

(3) Notify the board whether they have been convicted, as defined in Section 490, of 
a misdemeanor or felony, and whether any disciplinary action has been taken by 
a regulatory or licensing board in this or any other state, subsequent to the last 
renewal of the registration. 

(4) Participate in the California law and ethics examination pursuant to Section 
4992.09 each year until successful completion of this examination. 

(54) Certify under penalty of perjury their compliance with the continuing education 
requirements set forth in Section 4996.22. 

(b) An expired registration may be renewed by completing all of the actions described in 
paragraphs (1) to (54), inclusive, of subdivision (a). 

(c) A registration as an associate clinical social worker may be renewed a maximum of 
fivesix times. No registration shall be renewed or reinstated beyond sixseven years 
from the last day of the month during which the registration was issued, regardless 
of whether the registration has been revoked. When no further renewals are 
possible, an applicant may apply for and obtain a subsequent associate clinical 
social worker registration number if the applicant meets all requirements for 
registration in effect at the time of their application for a subsequent associate 
clinical social worker registration number and has passed the California law and 
ethics examination pursuant to Section 4992.09 no more than seven years prior to 
the board’s receipt of the application for the subsequent associate registration 
number. An applicant issued a subsequent associate registration number pursuant 
to this subdivision shall not be employed or volunteer in a private practice. 

(d) Notwithstanding subdivision (c), an applicant applying for or who currently holds a 
subsequent associate registration number may request that the board grant them a two-
consecutive-year hardship extension to allow them to be employed or volunteer at one 
private practice or professional corporation employer with their subsequent associate 
registration number.   

1) An associate shall not be issued more than one extension.  

2) The extension is only valid for the one private practice or professional 
corporation employer for which it is requested.   

3) Work for the employer shall not commence until the extension is approved by 
the board. 
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4) The application shall be jointly signed under penalty of perjury and dated by 
the associate, the supervisor, and if the supervisor is not employed by the 
supervisee’s employer or is a volunteer, a representative of the employer. 

5) The board shall grant the extension provided that the application is signed, all 
information required is provided, and good cause is demonstrated.  The 
application must contain all of the following: 

A. The date the extension is needed; 

B. The name of the employer where the associate will be gaining hours; 

C. An attestation that the employer is a private practice or a professional 
corporation; 

D. The name, license type, and license number of the current supervisor; 

E. A showing of good cause for the applicant being unable to complete the 
licensure process within seven years.  Good cause may include, but is not 
limited to, extended medical leave, family caregiving responsibilities, 
difficulties finding employment, or circumstances beyond the applicant’s 
control; and 

F. A description of the plan for the associate to gain the needed hours toward 
licensure during the two-year extension period. 
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ATTACHMENT A-3 
Licensure Pathway Restructuring Proposal - Phase 1 

LPCC 

LICENSED PROFESSIONAL CLINICAL COUNSELORS (LPCCs) 

Business and Professions Code (BPC) §4999.46. SUPERVISED POST-MASTER’S 
EXPERIENCE 

(a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), all applicants shall have an active associate 
registration with the board in order to gain postdegree hours of supervised 
experience. An associate or applicant for licensure shall be under the supervision of 
a supervisor at all times. An associate shall inform each client, before performing 
any professional services, that the associate is unlicensed and under supervision.  

(b) (1) Postdegree hours of experience gained before the issuance of an associate 
registration shall be credited toward licensure if all of the following apply: 

(A) The registration applicant applies for the associate registration and the board 
receives the application within 90 days of the granting of the qualifying 
master’s degree or doctoral degree. 

(B) For applicants completing graduate study on or after January 1, 2020, the 
experience is obtained at a workplace that, prior to the registration applicant 
gaining supervised experience hours, requires completed Live Scan 
fingerprinting. The applicant shall provide the board with a copy of that 
completed State of California “Request for Live Scan Service” form with their 
application for licensure. 

(C) The board subsequently grants the associate registration. 

(2) The applicant shall not be employed or volunteer in a private practice or a 
professional corporation until they have been issued an associate registration by 
the board. 

(c) Supervised experience that is obtained for the purposes of qualifying for licensure 
shall be related to the practice of professional clinical counseling and comply with 
the following: 

(1) A minimum of 3,000 postdegree hours performed over a period of not less than 
two years (104 weeks). 

(2) Not more than 40 hours in any seven consecutive days. 

(3) Not less than 1,750 hours of direct clinical counseling with individuals, groups, 
couples, or families using a variety of psychotherapeutic techniques and 
recognized counseling interventions. 
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(4) A maximum of 1,250 hours of nonclinical practice, consisting of direct supervisor 
contact, administering and evaluating psychological tests, writing clinical reports, 
writing progress or process notes, client-centered advocacy, and workshops, 
seminars, training sessions, or conferences directly related to professional 
clinical counseling that have been approved by the applicant’s supervisor. 

(5) A maximum of 1,200 hours gained under the supervision of a licensed 
educational psychologist providing educationally related mental health services 
that are consistent with the scope of practice of an educational psychologist, as 
specified in Section 4989.14. 

(d) An individual who submits an application for licensure between January 1, 2016, and 
December 31, 2020, may alternatively qualify under the experience requirements of 
this section that were in place on January 1, 2015. 

(ed) Experience hours shall not have been gained more than six seven years prior to 
the date the application for licensure was received by the board. 

BPC §4999.46.1. RESPONSIBILITIES OF ASSOCIATES 

(a) An associate or applicant for licensure shall be under the supervision of a supervisor 
at all times. 

(b) An associate shall do both of the following: 

(1) Inform each client, before performing any professional services, that the 
associate is unlicensed and under supervision. 

(2) Renew the registration a maximum of five times. A registration shall not be 
renewed or reinstated beyond six years from the last day of the month during 
which it was issued, regardless of whether it has been revoked. 

(c) When no further renewals are possible, an applicant may apply for and obtain a 
subsequent associate registration number if the applicant meets the educational 
requirements for a subsequent associate registration number and has passed the 
California law and ethics examination. An applicant issued a subsequent associate 
registration number shall not be employed or volunteer in a private practice. 

§ 4999.50. ISSUANCE OF LICENSE; REQUIREMENTS 

(a) The board may issue a professional clinical counselor license to any person who 
meets all of the following requirements: 

(1) He or she has They have received a master’s or doctoral degree described in 
Section 4999.32 or 4999.33, as applicable. 
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(2) He or she has They have completed at least 3,000 hours of supervised 
experience in the practice of professional clinical counseling. 

(3) He or she provides They provide evidence of a passing score, as determined by 
the board, on the examinations designated in Section 4999.53. Each exam shall 
be passed no more than seven years prior to the board’s receipt of the application 
for initial license issuance. 

(b) An applicant for licensure who has satisfied the requirements of this chapter shall be 
issued a license as a professional clinical counselor. 

§ 4999.52. EXAMINATION; BOARD DETERMINATION; EXAMINATION ADMISSION 
DENIAL 

 (a) Every applicant for a license as a professional clinical counselor shall take one or 
more examinations, as determined by the board, to ascertain their knowledge, 
professional skills, and judgment in the utilization of appropriate techniques and 
methods of professional clinical counseling. 

(b) The examinations shall be given at least twice a year at a time and place and under 
supervision as the board may determine. 

(c) The board shall not deny any applicant admission to an examination who has 
submitted a complete application for examination admission if the applicant meets 
the educational and experience requirements of this chapter and has not committed 
any acts or engaged in any conduct that would constitute grounds to deny licensure. 

(d) The board shall not deny any applicant, whose application for licensure is complete, 
admission to the clinical examination, nor shall the board postpone or delay any 
applicant’s clinical examination, solely upon the receipt by the board of a complaint 
alleging acts or conduct that would constitute grounds to deny licensure. 

(e) If an applicant for the examination specified by paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of 
Section 4999.53, who has passed the California law and ethics examination, is the 
subject of a complaint or is under board investigation for acts or conduct that, if 
proven to be true, would constitute grounds for the board to deny licensure, the 
board shall permit the applicant to take this examination, but may notify the applicant 
that licensure will not be granted pending completion of the investigation. 

(f) Notwithstanding Section 135, the board may deny any applicant who has previously 
failed either the California law and ethics examination, or the examination specified 
by paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 4999.53, permission to retake either 
examination pending completion of the investigation of any complaints against the 
applicant. 
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(g) Nothing in this section shall prohibit the board from denying an applicant admission 
to any examination or refusing to issue a license to any applicant when an 
accusation or statement of issues has been filed against the applicant pursuant to 
Section 11503 or 11504 of the Government Code, respectively, or the application 
has been denied in accordance with subdivision (b) of Section 485. 

(h) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the board may destroy all examination 
materials two years following the date of an examination. 

(i) If the examination specified by paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 4999.53 is 
not passed within seven years of an applicant for licensure’s initial attempt, the 
applicant shall obtain a passing score on the current version of the California law and 
ethics examination in order to be eligible to retake this examination. 

(j) A passing score on the clinical examination shall be accepted by the board for a 
period of seven years from the date the examination was taken. 

(i) The clinical exam shall be passed no more than seven years prior to the board’s 
receipt of the application for initial license issuance. 

§ 4999.53. REQUIRED EXAMINATIONS 

(a) Effective January 1, 2016, a A registrant or an applicant for licensure as a 
professional clinical counselor shall pass the following examinations as prescribed 
by the board: 

(1) A California law and ethics examination. 

(2) A clinical examination administered by the board, or the National Clinical Mental 
Health Counselor Examination if the board finds that this examination meets the 
prevailing standards for validation and use of the licensing and certification tests 
in California. 

(b) Upon registration with the board, an associate professional clinical counselor shall, 
within the first year of registration, take an examination on California law and ethics. 
The board shall grant eligibility to take the California law and ethics examination 
upon approval of an application for registration or an application for licensure, and 
submission of the required application and fee. 

(c) The board may grant A registrant or an applicant for licensure may  eligibility to take 
the clinical examination or the National Clinical Mental Health Counselor 
Examination, as established by the board through regulation, only upon meeting all 
of the following requirements: 

(1) Completion of all required supervised work experience. 

(2) Completion of all education requirements. 
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(3) Passage of the California law and ethics examination. 

(d) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 

§ 4999.55. CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS: EXAMINATION AND CONTINUING 
EDUCATION 

(a) Each applicant and registrant shall obtain a passing score on a board-administered 
California law and ethics examination in order to qualify for licensure.  The California 
law and ethics examination shall be passed no more than seven years prior to the 
board’s receipt of the application for initial license issuance. 

(b) A registrant shall take a board-administered California law and ethics examination 
before their registration renewal. 

(cb) If an applicant fails the California law and ethics examination, they may retake the 
examination after any waiting period as specified in regulation, upon payment of the 
required fees, without further application. and submission of a re-examination 
application. 

(dc) The board shall not issue a subsequent associate registration number unless the 
applicant has passed the California law and ethics examination no more than seven 
years prior to the board’s receipt of the application for the subsequent associate 
registration number. 

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the seven year age limit on the California 
law and ethics examination shall not apply to any application for initial license issuance 
or subsequent associate registration number received by the Board on or before 
January 1, 2030.   

(e) A registrant shall complete a minimum of three hours of continuing education inon 
the subject of California law and ethics during each renewal period in order to be 
eligible to renew their registration., regardless of whether or not they have passed 
the California law and ethics examination. The coursework shall be obtained from a 
board-accepted provider of continuing education, as specified in Section 4999.76. 

§ 4999.64. REEXAMINATION 

(a) Effective January 1, 2016, an An applicant who fails the examination specified in 
paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 4999.53 may, within one year from the 
notification date of that failure, retake the examination as regularly scheduled without 
further application upon payment of the fee for the examination. Thereafter, the 
applicant shall not be eligible for further examination until he or she files they file a 
new application, meets all requirements in effect on the date of application, and pays 
all required fees. 

(b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016. 
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§ 4999.100. EXPIRATION OF ASSOCIATE REGISTRATION; RENEWAL 

(a) An associate registration shall expire one year from the last day of the month in 
which it was issued. 

(b) To renew a registration subject to the additional limitations imposed by subdivision 
(d), the registrant, on or before the expiration date of the registration, shall do the 
following: 

(1) Apply for a renewal on a form prescribed by the board. 

(2) Pay a renewal fee prescribed by the board. 

(3) Notify the board whether they have been convicted, as defined in Section 490, of 
a misdemeanor or felony, or whether any disciplinary action has been taken by 
any regulatory or licensing board in this or any other state, subsequent to the 
registrant’s last renewal. 

(4) Participate in the California law and ethics examination pursuant to Section 
4999.53 each year until successful completion of this examination. 

(54) Certify under penalty of perjury their compliance with the continuing education 
requirements set forth in Section 4999.76. 

(c) An expired registration may be renewed by completing all of the actions described in 
paragraphs (1) to (5)(4), inclusive, of subdivision (b). 

(d) The associate registration may be renewed a maximum of fivesix times. Registration 
shall not be renewed or reinstated beyond sixseven years from the last day of the 
month during which it was issued, regardless of whether it has been revoked. When 
no further renewals are possible, an applicant may apply for and obtain a 
subsequent associate registration number if the applicant meets the educational 
requirements for registration in effect at the time of the application for a subsequent 
associate registration number and has passed the California law and ethics 
examination described in Section 4999.53 no more than seven years prior to the 
board’s receipt of the application for the subsequent registration number. An 
applicant who is issued a subsequent associate registration number pursuant to this 
subdivision shall not be employed or volunteer in a private practice. 

(e) Notwithstanding subdivision (d), an applicant applying for or who currently holds a 
subsequent associate registration number may request that the board grant them a two-
consecutive-year hardship extension to allow them to be employed or volunteer at one 
private practice or professional corporation employer with their subsequent associate 
registration number.   

1) An associate shall not be issued more than one extension.  
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2) The extension is only valid for the one private practice or professional 
corporation employer for which it is requested.   

3) Work for the employer shall not commence until the extension is approved by 
the board. 

4) The application shall be jointly signed under penalty of perjury and dated by 
the associate, the supervisor, and if the supervisor is not employed by the 
supervisee’s employer or is a volunteer, a representative of the employer. 

5) The board shall grant the extension provided that the application is signed, all 
information required is provided, and good cause is demonstrated.  The 
application must contain all of the following: 

A. The date the extension is needed; 

B. The name of the employer where the associate will be gaining hours; 

C. An attestation that the employer is a private practice or a professional 
corporation; 

D. The name, license type, and license number of the current supervisor; 

E. A showing of good cause for the applicant being unable to complete the 
licensure process within seven years.  Good cause may include, but is not 
limited to, extended medical leave, family caregiving responsibilities, 
difficulties finding employment, or circumstances beyond the applicant’s 
control; and 

F. A description of the plan for the associate to gain the needed hours toward 
licensure during the two-year extension period. 

§ 4999.120. FEE SCHEDULE 

(a) The board shall assess the following fees relating to the licensure of professional 
clinical counselors: 

(1) The fee for the application for licensure shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250). 
The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a 
maximum of five hundred dollars ($500). 
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(2) The fee for the application for associate registration shall be one hundred fifty 
dollars ($150). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher 
amount, up to a maximum of three hundred dollars ($300). 

(3) (A) (i) The fee for the board-administered clinical examination, if the board 
chooses to adopt this examination in regulations, shall be two hundred fifty 
dollars ($250). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher 
amount, up to a maximum of five hundred dollars ($500). 

(ii) The fee for the California law and ethics examination shall be one 
hundred fifty dollars ($150). The board may adopt regulations to set the 
fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of three hundred dollars ($300). 

(B) An applicant who fails to appear for an examination, after having been 
scheduled to take the examination, shall forfeit the examination fees. 

(C) The amount of the examination fees shall be based on the actual cost to the 
board of developing, purchasing, and grading each examination and the 
actual cost to the board of administering each examination. The written 
examination fees shall be adjusted periodically by regulation to reflect the 
actual costs incurred by the board. 

(4) The fee for the issuance of a license shall be two hundred dollars ($200). The 
board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum 
of four hundred dollars ($400). 

(5) The fee for the annual renewal of an associate registration shall be one hundred 
fifty dollars ($150). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher 
amount, up to a maximum of three hundred dollars ($300). 

(6) The fee for the two-year license renewal shall be two hundred dollars ($200). The 
board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum 
of four hundred dollars ($400). 

(7) The renewal delinquency fee shall be one-half of the fee for license renewal. A 
person who permits their license to expire shall be subject to the delinquency fee. 

(8) The fee for issuance of a retired license shall be forty dollars ($40). 

(9) The fee for rescoring an examination shall be twenty dollars ($20). 

(109) The fee for issuance of a replacement license or registration shall be twenty 
dollars ($20). 

(1110) The fee for issuance of a certificate or letter of good standing shall be twenty-
five dollars ($25). 

(b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2021. 
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ATTACHMENT A-4 
Licensure Pathway Restructuring Proposal - Phase 1 

LEP 

LICENSED EDUCATIONAL PSYCHOLOGISTS (LEPs) 

Business and Professions Code (BPC) §4989.20 LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS 

(a) The board may issue a license as an educational psychologist if the applicant satisfies, 
with proof satisfactory to the board, the following requirements: 

(1) Possession of, at minimum, a master’s degree in psychology, educational psychology, 
school psychology, counseling and guidance, or a degree deemed equivalent by the 
board. This degree shall be obtained from an educational institution approved by the 
board according to the regulations adopted under this chapter. 

(2) Attainment of 18 years of age. 

(3) Is not subject to denial of licensure pursuant to Section 480. 

(4) Successful completion of 60 semester units or 90 quarter units of 
postgraduate study  in pupil personnel services. 

(5) Two school terms  of full-time, or the equivalent to full-time, experience as a licensed 
or credentialed school psychologist in the public schools or in another school setting as 
specified in regulations. The experience shall be gained over a period of at least two 
school terms. The applicant shall not be credited with experience obtained more than 
sixseven years immediately preceding the date on which the application for licensure was 
received by the board.  

(6) If the experience required by paragraph (5) was completed while holding a California 
credential in a school located in California, completion of one of the following: 

(A) A minimum of 1,200 hours of supervised professional experience in an accredited 
school psychology program. 

(B) One school term of full-time, or the equivalent to full-time, experience as a California 
credentialed school psychologist in the California public schools, or in another school 
setting as specified in regulations, obtained under the direction of a California-licensed 
educational psychologist. The experience shall be gained over a period of at least one 
school term. The applicant shall not be credited with experience obtained more than 
sixseven years immediately preceding the date on which the application for licensure was 
received by the board. 

(7) If the experience required by paragraph (5) was not completed while holding a 
California credential in a school located in California, completion of one of  the following: 

(A) A minimum of 1,200 hours of  supervised professional 
experience gained  in California in  an accredited school psychology program, gained no 
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more than sixseven years immediately preceding the date on which the application for 
licensure was received by the board.  

(B) One school term of full-time, or the equivalent to full-time, experience as 
a California  credentialed school psychologist in the California public schools, or in 
another school setting as specified in regulations,  obtained under the direction of 
a  California licensed educational psychologist. The experience shall be gained over a 
period of at least one school term. The applicant shall not be credited with experience 
obtained more than sixseven years immediately preceding the date on which the 
application for licensure was received by the board.  

(8)  Passage of the licensed educational psychologist written examination 
administered  by the board. A passing score on this examination shall be accepted by the 
board for a period of seven years from the date the examination was taken. This exam 
shall be passed no more than seven years prior to the board’s receipt of the application 
for initial license issuance. 

(b) For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply: 

(1) “Full time” means the days or hours of creditable service the employer requires to be 
performed by the employee in a school term under their collective bargaining agreement 
or employment agreement. It shall consist of a minimum of 175 days, or 1,050 hours, per 
school term. 

(2) “Equivalent to full time” means the days or hours of creditable service that a person 
who is employed on a part-time basis would be required to perform in a school term if 
they were employed full time in that part-time position. 

(3) “School term” means a minimum period of 35 weeks beginning the first day and ending 
the last day creditable service is required to be performed by a member employed on a 
full-time basis, excluding any period that has been excluded pursuant to a publicly 
available written contractual agreement. The school term shall also be the same for an 
individual who is not employed on a full-time basis who is performing the same duties as 
a member employed on a full-time basis. 

BPC §4989.68 FEE SCHEDULE 

(a) The board shall assess the following fees relating to the licensure of educational 
psychologists: 

(1) The application fee for licensure shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250). The 
board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of 
five hundred dollars ($500). 

(2) The fee for issuance of the initial license shall be two hundred dollars ($200). The 
board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of 
four hundred dollars ($400). 
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(3) The fee for the two-year license renewal shall be two hundred dollars ($200). The 
board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of 
four hundred dollars ($400). 

(4) The delinquency fee shall be one-half of the fee for license renewal. A person who 
permits their license to expire shall be subject to the delinquency fee. 

(5) The written examination fee shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250). The board 
may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of five 
hundred dollars ($500). An applicant who fails to appear for an examination, once 
having been scheduled, shall forfeit any examination fees they paid. 

(6) The fee for rescoring a written examination shall be twenty dollars ($20). 

(76) The fee for issuance of a replacement registration, license, or certificate shall be 
twenty dollars ($20). 

(87) The fee for issuance of a certificate or letter of good standing shall be twenty-five 
dollars ($25). 

(98) The fee for issuance of a retired license shall be forty dollars ($40). 

(b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2021. 
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ATTACHMENT B 
Licensing Process Restructuring 

Summary of Phases 

• Adjust timing of CA Law & 
Ethics Exam 

• Set age limit for CA Law & 
Ethics Exam 

• Change registration number 
length and time supervised 

experience hours valid (from 6 
to 7 years) 

• Add exception to prohibition 
on working in a private 

practice with a subsequent 
registration number 

• Technical clean-up changes 

(Outside variables: Subject to 
legislative process) 

• Adoption of AMFTRB National 
Exam as the LMFT Clinical Exam 

(Outside variables: Staff to 
negotiate with AMFTRB on 
implementation; subject to 
legislative and regulation process) 

• Early Eligibility for National 
Clinical Exams (at 850 clinical 
counseling experience hours) 

Outside variables: 

-Must negotiate with each 
national exam entity and obtain 
approval. 

-Change to abandonment criteria, 
which will necessitate a 
grandparenting process for 
existing exam eligible applicants. 

-Subject to legislative process. 

PHASE I PHASE II PHASE III 

Estimated Timeframe: 

Run legislation: January 2026 

Estimated effective: Jan. 1, 2027 

Estimated Timeframe: 

Run legislation: January 2025 

Legislation effective: Jan. 1, 2026 

Run regulations: October 2025 

Est, regulations effective: Jan. 1, 2027 

Estimated Timeframe: 

Run legislation: January 2027 

Estimated effective: Jan. 1, 2028 

5 - 39 



Blank Page 

5 - 40 



2025 2025 2025 2025 2026 2026 2026 2026 2027 2027 2027 2027 2028 
Jan-Mar Apr-June July-Sept Oct-Dec Jan-Mar Apr-June July-Sept Oct-Dec Jan-Mar Apr-June July-Sept Oct-Dec Jan-Mar 

PHASE I EFFECTIVE

PHASE II Leg. Effective 
EFFECTIVE 

PHASE III EFFECTIVE 

Phase 1: Adjust timing of CA Law & Ethics Exam 
Set age limit for CA Law & Ethics Exam 
Change registration number length and time supervised experience hours are valid 
Add exception to prohibition on working in private practice with a subsequent registration number 
Technical Cleanup 

Phase 2: Adoption of the AMFTRB National Exam as the LMFT Clinical Exam 

Phase 3: Early eligibility for National Clinical Exams (at 850 clinical counseling experience hours) 

LEGISLATION 

Licensing Process Restrtucturing 
Attachment C 

Timeline 

LEGISLATION 

LEGISLATION 
REGULATION 
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ATTACHMENT D 
Licensing Process Restructuring – End Result 

Phases I, II and III 

Register as 
Associate. Begin 

gaining post-
degree hours. 

Take CA Law and 
Ethics Exam when 

desired. (3 hour CA 
law and ethics 

continuing 
education course 
must be taken by 

renewal every year 
to support 

competency.) 

Eligible to take national 
clinical exam when 875 

direct clinical counseling 
experience hours gained, 

and all education 
requirements for 

licensure complete. 

If subsequent 
number needed 
(at 7 years), CA 
L&E Exam must 

be passed no 
more than 7 

years ago.  Hours 
gained expire as 
they become 7 

years old. 

Apply for 
Licensure 

At the time of 
applying for 

initial license 
issuance, all of 
the following 
must be no 
more than 7 

years old: 

-All experience 
hours (except 

500 clinical 
practicum hours 

for MFT) 

-CA Law and 
Ethics Exam 

Passing Score 

-Clinical Exam 
Passing Score 
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