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ASSOCIATE CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER
SUPERVISOR INFORMATION & QUALIFICATIONS

Licensed mental health professionals interested in providing supervision to Associate Clinical Social Workers
(ASWs) must meet certain minimum qualifications, including maintaining a current and valid license as a mental
health professional. This document provides a broad overview of the requirements that a supervisor of an ASW
must meet. For further information, please review the Statutes and Requlations pertaining to LCSW licensure.

Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) — LCSWs supervising an ASW must:

Possess a current and valid California license

Be licensed in California or any other state for at least two years prior to commencement of supervision
Complete a minimum 15 contact hours in supervision training

Have practiced psychotherapy or provided direct supervision of ASWs, Marriage and Family Therapist
(MFT) Interns or Trainees who performed psychotherapy in two of the past five years immediately
preceding the commencement of supervision. (NOTE: ASWSs are required to obtain 1,700 hours of the
total 3,200 hours of post-master’s degree experience under an LCSW to qualify for licensure.)

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist — MFTs supervising an ASW must:

Possess a current and valid California license

Be licensed in California or any other state for at least two years prior to commencement of supervision
Complete a minimum of 15 contact hours in supervision training

Have practiced psychotherapy or provided direct supervision of ASWs, Marriage and Family Therapist
(MFT) Interns or Trainees who performed psychotherapy in two of the past five years immediately
preceding the commencement of supervision.

Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC) — LPCCs supervising an ASW must:

Possess a current and valid California license

Be licensed in California or any other state for at least two years prior to commencement of supervision
Complete a minimum of 15 contact hours in supervision training

Have practiced psychotherapy or directly supervised associates or marriage and family therapist interns
or trainees who perform psychotherapy as part of their clinical practice in two of the past five years
immediately preceding the commencement of supervision.

15 Hours of Supervisor Training

LCSWs, LPCCs and MFTs supervising ASWs must complete a minimum of 15 contact hours in supervision
training prior to commencement of supervision. Once completed, the licensee does not need to complete it
again before supervising ASWs in the future.

ASW Supervised Experience Requirements

The Board has several resources relating to the supervision and experience requirements, including:
= Forms and Publications (download forms, FAQs, etc) - www.bbs.ca.gov/forms.shtml

= Experience Calculators (use a pre-formatted spreadsheet to calculate information relating to
experience requirements) - www.bbs.ca.gov/app-reg/exp_calc.shtml

= Online License/Registration Verification (verify licenses and registrations instantly) -
https://www.breeze.ca.gov/datamart/selSearchType CADCA.do?from=loginPage

= BBS Subscriber List (stay up to date on the latest BBS related news and laws) -
www.bbs.ca.gov/quick_links/subscribe.shtml

= Board Meetings Calendar (check for meetings in your area; attend and be heard!) -
www.bbs.ca.gov/bd_activity/bd_mtgs.shtml

= Qutreach Events (keep up on upcoming outreach events) - www.bbs.ca.gov/bd_activity/outreach.shtml
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