

SUMMARY OF SUPERVISOR QUALIFICATIONS

For Supervisors of Associate Professional Clinical Counselors (APCCs)

A licensed mental health professional who provides supervision to an Associate Professional Clinical Counselor (APCC) is required to meet certain minimum qualifications as specified in California law. This document provides a summary of those requirements. Links to additional information and resources are provided on the next page.

1. License Requirements

A supervisor of an APCC must meet the following licensure requirements:

- Possess a current and active California license in good standing that is not under suspension or probation as one of the following:
 - Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC)
 - Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)
 - Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT)
 - Licensed Educational Psychologist (LEP)*
 - Licensed Psychologist
 - Licensed Physician and Surgeon certified in Psychiatry by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology
- Have held an active license as one of the above in California or any other state for at least two (2) years out of the last five (5) years prior to the commencement of supervision.

*LEPs may only supervise up to 1,200 hours, which must consist of educationally related mental health services that are consistent with the LEP scope of practice described in Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 4989.14).

2. Practice Requirements

A supervisor of an APCC must meet the following practice requirements:

- Have practiced psychotherapy during at least two (2) years out of the last five (5) years prior to the commencement of supervision (or, if an LEP, has provided psychological counseling pursuant to BPC section 4989.14); OR
- Provided direct supervision to APCCs, Associate Clinical Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapist Trainees, or Associate Marriage and Family Therapists who perform psychotherapy during at least two (2) years out of the last five (5) years prior to the commencement of supervision. Supervision of psychotherapy performed by a

student shall be accepted if substantially equivalent to the supervision required for registrants.

3. Training Requirements

A supervisor of an APCC who is an LPCC, LCSW, LMFT or LEP must complete a minimum of 15 hours of supervision training that meets the course provider and course content requirements specified in regulation within 60 days of the commencement of supervision. Six hours of continuing professional development (CPD) in supervision is required each renewal cycle thereafter.

NOTE: Licensed Psychologists and Psychiatrists are exempt from these training and CPD requirements but are strongly encouraged to complete supervisor training and CPD.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND RESOURCES

<u>Supervisor Resources</u> (supervision-related publications and forms)

<u>LPCC Applicants</u> Page (forms and publications for applicants and APCCs)

Statutes and Regulations

BBS Email Subscriber's List (stay up-to-date on the latest BBS news and updated laws)