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GUIDE TO LPCC OUT-OF-STATE 
APPLICANT REQUIREMENTS 
For Applications Submitted on or After 
January 1, 2020 

 

 

Applicant Type 
Do you meet ALL of the following requirements? 

 I have held a license as a Professional Clinical Counselor in another United States 
jurisdiction for at least two years. 

 The license I hold is current, and has been active and unrestricted for at least two years 
immediately before the date I submit my application to the Board. 

 The license I hold is at the highest level for independent clinical practice in that jurisdiction. 

 The degree that qualified me for this license is a master’s or doctoral degree obtained from 
a school holding a regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by the U.S. 
Department of Education (USDE), or a school approved by the California Bureau for 
Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE). 

If YES, go to Path A (LICENSURE BY CREDENTIAL) 
If NO,  Skip to Path B (LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE) 

 

Path A – LICENSURE BY CREDENTIAL 
Applicants who qualify for this path (as specified in Business and Professions Code (BPC) 
section 4999.60) must meet all of the following requirements. See the Application for Licensure 
– Out-of-State for details. 

1. EXAMINATION:  You must pass the California Law and Ethics Examination. You will be 
eligible to take this exam after your Application for Licensure has been approved. 

2. QUALIFYING DEGREE:  The degree that qualified you for licensure in another United 
States jurisdiction must be a master’s or doctoral degree obtained from a school that 
holds a regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by the USDE, or a 
school approved by the BPPE. 

3. ASSESSMENT AND TREATMENT OF COUPLES AND FAMILIES:  If the scope of 
practice for the license you hold in the other state permitted treatment of couples and 
families without restrictions or additional coursework, you will be permitted to treat 
couples and families in California if you complete a minimum of 6 hours of continuing 
education specific to marriage and family therapy in each license renewal cycle. If the 
scope of your out-of-state license qualifies, you will be provided with written confirmation 
from the Board of Behavioral Sciences stating that you may treat couples and families 

 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lpc/lpc_app_oos_01012016.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lpc/lpc_app_oos_01012016.pdf
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Path A – LICENSURE BY CREDENTIAL (continued) 
 
After your license has been issued. You must provide a copy of this confirmation letter to 
your couple and family clients and certain supervisees. 

4. COURSEWORK:  You must complete the coursework described below. Courses must 
be taken from a school that holds a regional or national institutional accreditation 
recognized by the USDE, a school approved by the BPPE, or an acceptable continuing 
education provider. Undergraduate coursework cannot be accepted.  

REQUIRED CALIFORNIA-SPECIFIC COURSEWORK 
1 semester unit = 15 hours;   1 quarter unit = 10 hours;   1 semester unit = 1.5 quarter units 

Course Length Content Required 

California Law and Ethics 12 hours See BPC section 4999.60(a)(4)(A) for details. 

California Cultures and 
the Social and 
Psychological 
Implications of 
Socioeconomic Position 

15 hours or 
1 semester 

unit 

Instruction must include an understanding of various 
California cultures and the social and psychological 
implications of socioeconomic position. See BPC 
section 4999.60 

Child Abuse Assessment 
and Reporting in 
California 

(In addition to the course 
provider types listed above, 
this may be a course 
sponsored or offered by a 
professional association or 
a local, county or state 
department of health or 
mental health) 

7 hours Instruction must include detailed knowledge of the 
California Child Abuse Neglect and Reporting Act 
(CANRA). It must also include assessment and 
methods of reporting of sexual assault, neglect, 
severe neglect, general neglect, willful cruelty or 
unjustifiable punishment, corporal punishment or 
injury, and abuse in out-of-home care. The training 
shall also include physical and behavioral indicators of 
abuse, crisis counseling techniques, community 
resources, rights and responsibilities of reporting, 
consequences of failure to report, caring for a child’s 
needs after a report is made, sensitivity to previously 
abused children and adults, and implications and 
methods of treatment for children and adults. See 
BPC sections 28 and 4999.60 and Title 16, California 
Code of Regulations section 1807 

Suicide Risk Assessment 
and Intervention 

(Does not need to be 
California-specific) 

6 hours of 
coursework 
or applied 
experience 

• Required of those submitting an application for 
licensure on or after January 1, 2021 (otherwise 
will be required upon license renewal) 

• See BPC section 4999.66 for details. 

 
 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
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Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 
 

Applicants who do not qualify for Path A “Licensure by Credential” must meet the following 
requirements, specified in Business and Professions Code (BPC) sections 4999.61 & 
4999.62. See the instructions in the Application for Licensure – Out-of-State for details. 

1. EXAMINATIONS:  You must pass both of the following exams: 

• California Law and Ethics Exam:  You will be eligible to take this exam after 
issuance of your Associate number or approval of your Application for Licensure. 

• National Clinical Mental Health Counselor (NCMHCE) Exam:  If you have already 
passed this exam, the Board may be able to accept your passing score as follows: 

o If you do not currently hold a license in another state or country, your passing 
score must be less than seven (7) years old; 

o If you currently hold a license or registration in another state or country and the 
license or registration is active and in good standing at the time of application and 
is not revoked, suspended, surrendered, denied or otherwise restricted or 
encumbered, a passing score of any age will be accepted; 

o The Board receives official verification of your passing score from the National 
Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC). Please follow the instructions in the 
Application for Licensure. 

If you have not yet passed the NCMHCE, you will be eligible to take it after approval 
of your Application for Licensure and after passing the Law and Ethics Exam. 

2. SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE:  Your experience must be substantially equivalent to 
California’s requirements as described below. 

• If you are licensed as an LPCC in another state or country at the highest level 
for independent clinical practice:  Your requirements will depend on whether you 
were licensed at the highest level for independent clinical practice in a jurisdiction of 
the United States vs. another country. It will also depend on how many hours were 
required for that license by the other state or country, as described below: 

o If you are licensed in another United States jurisdiction that requires at least 
3,000 hours of experience:  You do not need to submit verification of experience. 

o If you are licensed in another country:  You must submit verification of 3,000 
hours of substantially equivalent experience that includes 104 supervised weeks. 

o If you are licensed in another state or country that requires less than 3,000 hours 
of experience:  You may make up the deficit using time actively licensed in good 
standing in another state or country at the rate of 100 hours per month licensed at 
the highest level (up to a maximum of 1,200 hours). You do not need to submit 
verification of these hours. 

 
If additional hours are needed and will be gained in California, you must first register 
as an Associate and comply with all requirements for hours gained in California. 
 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lpc/lpc_app_oos_01012016.pdf
https://www.nbcc.org/Exams/ScoreReport
https://www.nbcc.org/Exams/ScoreReport
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lpc/pcci_app_oos_01012016.pdf
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Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE (continued) 

• All other applicants: 
You must submit verification of substantially equivalent supervised experience 
totaling 3,000 hours as described below: 

o Experience must have been supervised by a licensed mental health professional. 

o Experience must have been gained within the six (6) years prior to the Board’s 
receipt of your California application. 

o If you are not licensed in another state or country at the highest level for 
independent clinical practice, you must have 104 weeks of supervision. 

o If any experience will be obtained in California, you must first register as an 
Associate and comply with all requirements for hours gained in California. 

For questions about supervised experience requirements, contact:  bbs.lpcc@dca.ca.gov 

3. QUALIFYING DEGREE:  Your degree must be a master’s or doctoral degree obtained 
from a school that holds a regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by 
the USDE, or a school approved by the BPPE. If your degree was obtained outside of 
the United States, you must obtain a degree evaluation in accordance with BPC section 
4999.40(c). See Summary of LPCC Out-of-State Education Requirements on the next 
page for other minimum degree requirements. 

4. DEGREE REMEDIATION:  You must remediate any deficiencies in your degree 
program where allowed as specified in BPC section 4999.62. This may include overall 
units, core content areas (CCAs), and/or advanced coursework. Certain coursework 
may be made up while you are registered as an Associate. See the chart on the next 
page for a summary, the list of CCAs beginning on page 6, and the instructions in the 
Application for Licensure for full details. 
 

5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK:  You must complete coursework in accordance with 
BPC section 4999.62, some of which must be California-specific. See the chart 
beginning on page 7 for details. Courses may be taken from a school with a regional or 
national institutional accreditation recognized by the USDE, a school approved by the 
BPPE, or an acceptable continuing education provider. Undergraduate coursework 
cannot be accepted. If it will take you a significant amount of time to complete your 
coursework, you may want to consider registering as an Associate while you are taking 
the courses as it will allow you to work as a clinical counselor in California under 
supervision. 

 
If you are unsure whether your degree or other coursework qualifies (or is deficient), submit 
your Associate Professional Clinical Counselor Registration Application or Application for 
Licensure and fee, and we will provide you with the results of the evaluation. For questions 
about educational requirements, contact:  bbs.apcc@dca.ca.gov 
 

NOTE:  ASSESSMENT OR TREATMENT OF COUPLES AND FAMILIES 
If you would like to be authorized to assess or treat couples and families once licensed, submit 
the Request for Confirmation of Qualifications to Assess and Treat Couples and Families with 
your Application for Licensure. You may also submit it at a later date. 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/applicants/lpcc.html
mailto:bbs.lpcc@dca.ca.gov
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lpc/pcci_app_oos_01012016.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lpc/pcci_app_oos_01012016.pdf
mailto:bbs.apcc@dca.ca.gov
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lpc/lpcc_met-lmft-reqmt_app.pdf
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Summary - LPCC Out-of-State Education Requirements & Remediation 
Path B - LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 

 

1. OVERALL 
DEGREE 
UNITS 

Degree program began 
prior to 8/1/2012 

Degree program began 
after 8/1/2012 

5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK 
Must remediate prior to approval of 
Licensing application. Required courses 
listed on following pages. 

Minimum 48 semester units or 72 quarter units 
within degree or cannot qualify 

• Minimum 48 semester or 72 quarter units 
within degree or cannot qualify 

• Must complete 60 semester units or 90 quarter 
units total 

• Must remediate prior to approval of Licensing 
application 

      

 

4. ADVANCED COURSEWORK 
• 15 semester units or 22.5 quarter units to 

develop knowledge of specific treatment 
issues or special populations 

• Must remediate prior to approval of 
Licensing application 

3. PRACTICUM 
• 6 semester or 9 

quarter units and 
• 280 hours of 

supervised face-to-
face counseling 
experience 

Holds a valid license in good 
standing in another state or 

country as an LPCC at the 
highest level for independent 

clinical practice 

All Others 

Practicum requirement waived 

Degree program must meet 
practicum unit/hour requirements 

or cannot qualify 

2. CORE CONTENT 
AREAS (CCAs - see next page) 

• Minimum 7 of 13 CCAs 
must be within degree or 
will not qualify for license 

• Assessment & Diagnosis 
CCAs must be within 
degree or will not qualify 

• If unlicensed: Must 
remediate prior to 
Associate registration 

• If licensed*: Must 
remediate prior to 
approval of Licensing 
application 

2A. 
California 

Law & 
Ethics 
Course 

(see BPC 
section 
4999.62) 
for course 
content 
require-
ments) 

Completed a 
3 semester unit or  
4 quarter unit L&E 

course but no 
California content 

No L&E course or 
course is short units 

12-hour California L&E 
course prior to 

issuance of Associate 
registration required 

3 semester unit or  
4 quarter unit 

California L&E course 
prior to issuance of 

Associate registration 
 *Must hold a valid 

license as specified 
in BPC section 
4999.62(b)(1)(D)(iv) 
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2. CORE CONTENT AREAS - LPCC OUT-OF-STATE DEGREES 
Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 

3 semester units or 4 quarter units of graduate level coursework is required in each of the following 
areas. At least 7 of these content areas must be fully within your qualifying degree. 

All 13 areas are required prior to licensure. See BPC section 4999.62 
CORE CONTENT AREA: REQUIRED CONTENT: 
1. Counseling & 

psychotherapeutic 
theories & 
techniques 

The counseling process in a multicultural society, an orientation to wellness and 
prevention, counseling theories to assist in selection of appropriate counseling 
interventions, models of counseling consistent with current professional research and 
practice, development of a personal model of counseling, and multidisciplinary 
responses to crises, emergencies, and disasters. 

2. Human growth and 
development 
across the lifespan 

Normal and abnormal behavior and an understanding of developmental crises, 
disability, psychopathology, and situational and environmental factors that affect both 
normal and abnormal behavior. 

3. Career 
development 
theories & 
techniques 

Career development decision-making models and interrelationships among and 
between work, family, and other life roles and factors, including the role of 
multicultural issues in career development. 

4. Group counseling 
theories & 
techniques 

Principles of group dynamics, group process components, developmental stage 
theories, therapeutic factors of group work, group leadership styles and approaches, 
pertinent research and literature, group counseling methods, and evaluation of 
effectiveness. 

5. Assessment, 
appraisal, & testing 
of individuals 

Basic concepts of standardized and nonstandardized testing and other assessment 
techniques, norm-referenced and criterion-referenced assessment, statistical 
concepts, social and cultural factors related to assessment and evaluation of 
individuals and groups, and ethical strategies for selecting, administering, and 
interpreting assessment instruments and techniques in counseling. DEGREE 
CANNOT BE DEFICIENT IN THIS AREA; REMEDIATION NOT PERMITTED 

6. Multicultural 
counseling theories 
& techniques 

Counselors' roles in developing cultural self-awareness, identity development, 
promoting cultural counseling theories social justice, individual and community 
strategies for working with and advocating for diverse and techniques populations, 
and counselors' roles in eliminating biases and prejudices, and processes of 
intentional and unintentional oppression and discrimination. 

7. Principles of the 
diagnostic process 

Differential diagnosis, and the use of current diagnostic tools, such as the current 
edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, the impact of co-occurring substance 
use disorders or medical psychological disorders, established diagnostic criteria for 
mental or emotional disorders, and the treatment modalities and placement criteria 
within the continuum of care. DEGREE CANNOT BE DEFICIENT IN THIS AREA; 
REMEDIATION NOT PERMITTED 

8. Research and 
evaluation 

Studies that provide an understanding of research methods, statistical analysis, the 
use of evaluation research to inform evidence-based practice, the importance of 
research in advancing the profession of counseling, and statistical methods used in 
conducting research, needs assessment, and program evaluation. 

9. Professional 
orientation, ethics 
& law in counseling 

Professional ethical standards and legal considerations, licensing law and process, 
regulatory laws that delineate the profession's scope of practice, counselor-client 
privilege, confidentiality, the client dangerous to self or others, treatment of minors 
with or without parental consent, relationship between practitioner's sense of self and 
human values, functions and relationships with other human service providers, 
strategies for collaboration, and advocacy processes needed to address institutional 
and social barriers that impeded access, equity, and success for clients. 

 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
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2. CORE CONTENT AREAS - LPCC OUT-OF-STATE DEGREES (continued) 
Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 

CORE CONTENT AREA: REQUIRED CONTENT: 
10. Psychopharmacology The biological bases of behavior, basic classifications, indications, and 

contraindications of commonly prescribed psychopharmacological medications so 
that appropriate referrals can be made for medication evaluations and so that side 
effects of those medications can be identified. 

11. Addictions 
counseling 

Substance abuse, co-occurring disorders, and addiction, major approaches to 
identification, evaluation, treatment, and prevention of substance abuse and 
addiction, legal and medical aspects of substance abuse, populations at risk, the 
role of support persons, support systems, and community resources. 

12. Crisis or trauma 
counseling 

Crisis theory; multidisciplinary responses to crises, emergencies, or disasters; 
cognitive, affective, behavioral, and neurological effects associated with trauma; 
brief, intermediate, and long-term approaches; and assessment strategies for clients 
in crisis and principles of intervention for individuals with mental or emotional 
disorders during times of crisis, emergency, or disaster. 

13. Advanced counseling 
& psychotherapeutic 
theories and 
techniques 

The application of counseling constructs, assessment and treatment planning, 
clinical interventions, therapeutic relationships, psychopathology, or other clinical 
topics. 

 
5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK 
LPCC OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS 

Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 
Note: 1 semester unit = 15 hours; 1 quarter unit = 10 hours 

1 semester unit = 1.5 quarter units 

Course Length Content Required 

a) Suicide Risk Assessment and 
Intervention 

6 hours of 
coursework 
or applied 
experience 

All applicants submitting an application on or after 
January 1, 2021 (otherwise will be required upon 
license renewal). See BPC section 4999.66 

b) Human Sexuality 10 hours Instruction must include the study of the physiological, 
psychological, and social cultural variables associated 
with sexual behavior, gender identity, and the 
assessment and treatment of psychosexual 
dysfunction. See BPC sections 25 and 4999.62 and 
Title 16, California Code of Regulations section 1807 

c) Spousal/Partner Abuse 
Assessment, Detection and 
Intervention 

15 hours Instruction must cover spousal and partner abuse 
assessment, detection, intervention strategies, and 
same-gender abuse dynamics. See BPC section 
4999.62 

 
  

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
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5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK 

LPCC OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS (continued) 
Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 

Course Length Content Required 

d) Child Abuse Assessment and 
Reporting in California 

7 hours Instruction must include detailed knowledge of the 
California Child Abuse Neglect and Reporting Act 
(CANRA). It must also include assessment and 
methods of reporting of sexual assault, neglect, severe 
neglect, general neglect, willful cruelty or unjustifiable 
punishment, corporal punishment or injury, and abuse 
in out-of-home care. The training shall also include 
physical and behavioral indicators of abuse, crisis 
counseling techniques, community resources, rights 
and responsibilities of reporting, consequences of 
failure to report, caring for a child’s needs after a report 
is made, sensitivity to previously abused children and 
adults, and implications and methods of treatment for 
children and adults. See BPC sections 28 and 4999.62 
and Title 16, California Code of Regulations section 
1807.2 

e) Aging, Long Term Care and 
Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse 

10 hours Instruction must cover aging and long-term care, 
including biological, social, cognitive and psychological 
aspects of aging, and instruction on the assessment 
and reporting of, as well as treatment related to, elder 
and dependent adult abuse and neglect. See BPC 
section 4999.62 

f) Mental Health Recovery Oriented 
Care and Methods of Service 
Delivery 

45 hours or 
3 semester 

units 

Instruction must cover principles of mental health 
recovery-oriented care and methods of service delivery 
in recovery-oriented practice environments, including 
structured meetings with various consumers and family 
members of consumers of mental health services to 
enhance understanding of their experience of mental 
illness, treatment and recovery. See BPC section 
4999.62 

g) California Cultures and the Social 
and Psychological Implications of 
Socioeconomic Position 

15 hours or 
1 semester 

unit 

Instruction must include an understanding of various 
California cultures and the social and psychological 
implications of socioeconomic position. See BPC 
section 4999.62 

 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf




Accessibility Report





		Filename: 

		lpcc_oos_req_guide.pdf









		Report created by: 

		



		Organization: 

		







[Enter personal and organization information through the Preferences > Identity dialog.]



Summary



The checker found no problems in this document.





		Needs manual check: 0



		Passed manually: 3



		Failed manually: 0



		Skipped: 0



		Passed: 29



		Failed: 0







Detailed Report





		Document





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Accessibility permission flag		Passed		Accessibility permission flag must be set



		Image-only PDF		Passed		Document is not image-only PDF



		Tagged PDF		Passed		Document is tagged PDF



		Logical Reading Order		Passed manually		Document structure provides a logical reading order



		Primary language		Passed		Text language is specified



		Title		Passed		Document title is showing in title bar



		Bookmarks		Passed		Bookmarks are present in large documents



		Color contrast		Passed manually		Document has appropriate color contrast



		Page Content





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged content		Passed		All page content is tagged



		Tagged annotations		Passed		All annotations are tagged



		Tab order		Passed		Tab order is consistent with structure order



		Character encoding		Passed		Reliable character encoding is provided



		Tagged multimedia		Passed		All multimedia objects are tagged



		Screen flicker		Passed		Page will not cause screen flicker



		Scripts		Passed		No inaccessible scripts



		Timed responses		Passed		Page does not require timed responses



		Navigation links		Passed manually		Navigation links are not repetitive



		Forms





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged form fields		Passed		All form fields are tagged



		Field descriptions		Passed		All form fields have description



		Alternate Text





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Figures alternate text		Passed		Figures require alternate text



		Nested alternate text		Passed		Alternate text that will never be read



		Associated with content		Passed		Alternate text must be associated with some content



		Hides annotation		Passed		Alternate text should not hide annotation



		Other elements alternate text		Passed		Other elements that require alternate text



		Tables





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Rows		Passed		TR must be a child of Table, THead, TBody, or TFoot



		TH and TD		Passed		TH and TD must be children of TR



		Headers		Passed		Tables should have headers



		Regularity		Passed		Tables must contain the same number of columns in each row and rows in each column



		Summary		Passed		Tables must have a summary



		Lists





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		List items		Passed		LI must be a child of L



		Lbl and LBody		Passed		Lbl and LBody must be children of LI



		Headings





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Appropriate nesting		Passed		Appropriate nesting










Back to Top

	I have held a license as a Professional Clinical Counselor in another United States: Off
	The license I hold is current and has been active and unrestricted for at least two years: Off
	The license I hold is at the highest level for independent clinical practice in that jurisdiction: Off
	The degree that qualified me for this license is a masters or doctoral degree obtained from: Off


