

Instructions and Important Information

Read Carefully Before Completing Your Application

Renew online at <u>www.breeze.ca.gov</u> for faster processing

REGISTRATION 6-YEAR LIMIT AND SUBSEQUENT REGISTRATIONS

An Associate registration may be renewed a maximum of five (5) times, for a total six (6)-year length. If your registration was issued six or more years ago, do NOT submit the attached application - it will be rejected. Instead, submit an *Application for Subsequent Registration*, available online at <u>www.bbs.ca.gov/applicants</u> (you must meet the requirements in effect at the time of application, which includes a passing score on the California Law and Ethics Exam).

EXAM REQUIREMENT FOR RENEWAL

You are required to have taken the California Law and Ethics Exam prior to renewal in order for your renewal application to be approved (unless you have already passed the exam).

CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) REQUIREMENT FOR RENEWAL

You must certify that you have completed three (3) hours of CE in California Law and Ethics, taken during your registration renewal period [between the first day after your last expiration date (or issue date) and the date you sign the renewal form]. This course is required for each yearly renewal, and is required regardless of whether you have passed the California Law and Ethics Exam. All CE must be taken from a Board-accepted provider. See the <u>AB 1759 FAQ</u> (access at www.bbs.ca.gov>Updates/FAQs>Updates).

Do NOT submit proof of CE with your application. You must retain your CE certificates for at least two years from the date of your renewal. The Board performs random CE audits. If audited, you must provide copies of your CE certificates at that time.

CONVICTION OR DISCIPLINE

Check the box next to "Yes" on the application if, since your last renewal, either of the following have occurred:

- 1. You have had any license (includes registrations, certificates, or other means to engage in practice) disciplined by a government agency. "Discipline" includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender, probation or any other restriction. "License" includes professional registrations, certificates, or other means to engage in practice. Do NOT report disciplinary action taken by the California Board of Behavioral Sciences.
- You been convicted of, pled guilty to, or pled nolo contendere to any misdemeanor or felony in the United States, its territories, or a foreign country? Convictions dismissed under sections 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 1203.41 of the Penal Code (or equivalent non-California law) must be disclosed. If you have obtained a dismissal of such a conviction,

submit a certified copy of the court order. Do NOT include:

- Offenses prior to your 18th birthday
- Charges dismissed under section 1000.3 of the Penal Code
- Convictions under sections 11357(b), (c), (d), (e) or section 11360(b) of the Health and Safety Code which are two (2) years or older
- Traffic violations for which a fine of \$500 or less was imposed

HOW TO APPLY

Do NOT mail your application more than 90 days prior to your expiration date.

- Renew online at www.breeze.ca.gov OR complete the attached application.
- FEE: Attach a \$150 check or money order payable to "Behavioral Sciences Fund."
- Submit your application and fee to the address below:

Board of Behavioral Sciences 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200 Sacramento CA 95834

TO CONFIRM RECEIPT OF APPLICATION

To confirm receipt, mail your application using a method that includes tracking. You may also contact your bank to see if your check has been cashed.

EMAIL AND MAILING ADDRESS REQUIREMENTS

Registrants are required to maintain a current mailing address with the Board. This address will appear on public license searches. Registrants are also required to maintain a current email address with the Board if they have one. Email addresses are not subject to public disclosure. If either of your addresses have changed, be sure to update it ASAP online at <u>www.breeze.ca.gov.</u>

APPLICATION PROCESSING TIME

Allow 30 days for processing. Once your application has been approved your status will be updated online at <u>www.breeze.ca.gov</u>, and you will receive confirmation in the mail. **Do not assume your registration has been renewed until you verify your status online.**

EXPIRED REGISTRATION - CONSEQUENCES

If your renewal is not postmarked on or before your registration's expiration date, your registration will expire. While your registration is expired you may not work in a private practice or professional corporation. In addition, hours of experience in any setting will not count during that time.

NOTICE ON COLLECTION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION

Please read the <u>Notice on Collection of Personal Information</u> (access at bbs.ca.gov>About the Board>Other Information> Policies).

QUESTIONS?

Visit the Contact Us link at <u>www.bbs.ca.gov</u> and select an option under "Message the Board."

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION RENEWAL



Office Use Only:

Carefully read the "Instructions and Important Information" FIRST

Do not submit more than 90 days prior to your expiration date Attach \$150 Fee

Allow 30 Days for Processing

Renew at www.breeze.ca.gov for faster processing

Registration Type and Number (mark one):	AMFT # APCC #	ASW #	
Expiration Date:		Amount Enclosed:	
Legal Name*: Last		First	Middle

* You must use your legal name as established legally by your birth certificate, marriage or domestic partnership certificate, or divorce decree (for example). If you have a name change that you would like processed with your application, you must attach the "Notification of Name Change" form and all required documentation. This form is available online at https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/change_name.pdf. Your registration will reflect your new name only if a complete "Notification of Name Change" is received with your application. Do not send original documents unless specifically requested.

CONVICTION OR DISCIPLINE - MARK ONE: Yes No

Since your last renewal, have you been convicted of, pled guilty to, or pled nolo contendere to a misdemeanor or felony, or have you had any disciplinary action taken by any regulatory or licensing board in this or any other state, as described in the "Instructions and Important Information"?

CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) - MARK ONE: Ves No

Have you completed three (3) hours of CE in California Law and Ethics as described in the "Instructions and Important Information"?

I have read and understand the attached Instructions and Important Information. I swear under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all statements, answers and representations on this form are true, complete and accurate. I understand that providing false information or omitting pertinent information may be grounds for disciplinary action.

Signature of Applicant

Date