
   

 

 
 

     
  

 

 
   

   
  

   
  

      
 

  
   

    
  

      
       

 

   
  
      

   

        
     

     
  

   
 

   
    

   
  

 

 GUIDE TO LMFT OUT-OF-STATE 
APPLICANT REQUIREMENTS 
For Applications Submitted on or After
January 1, 2020 

Applicant Type 
Do you meet ALL of the following requirements? 

 I have held a license as a Marriage and Family Therapist in another United States 
jurisdiction for at least two years. 

 The license I hold is current, and has been active and unrestricted for at least two 
years immediately before the date I submit my application to the Board. 

 The license I hold is at the highest level for independent clinical practice in that 
jurisdiction. 

 The degree that qualified me for this license is a master’s or doctoral degree obtained 
from a school holding a regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by the 
U.S. Department of Education (USDE), or a school approved by the California Bureau 
for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE). 

If YES, go to Path A (LICENSURE BY CREDENTIAL) 
If NO,  Skip to Path B (LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE) 

Path A – LICENSURE BY CREDENTIAL 
Applicants who qualify for this path (as specified in Business and Professions Code 
(BPC) section 4980.72) must meet all of the following requirements. See the Application 
for Licensure – Out-of-State for details. 

1. EXAMINATION: You must pass the California Law and Ethics Examination. You will
be eligible to take this exam after your Application for Licensure has been approved.

2. QUALIFYING DEGREE: The degree that qualified you for licensure in another
United States jurisdiction must be a master’s or doctoral degree obtained from a
school that holds a regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by the
USDE, or a school approved by the BPPE.

3. COURSEWORK: You must complete the following California-specific coursework.
Courses must be taken from a school that holds a regional or national institutional
accreditation recognized by the USDE, a school approved by the BPPE, or an
acceptable continuing education provider. Undergraduate coursework cannot be
accepted.
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California Law and  Ethics  12 hours  Instruction must include  advertising, scope of  
practice, scope of competence, treatment of  minors,  
confidentiality, dangerous patients, psychotherapist-
patient privilege, recordkeeping, patient access  to  
records,  state and federal laws  relating to 
confidentiality of patient  health information, dual  
relationships,  child abuse, elder and dependent  
adult abuse, online therapy, insurance 
reimbursement, civil liability, disciplinary actions and 
unprofessional conduct,  ethics complaints and  
ethical standards,  termination of therapy, standards  
of care, relevant  family law, therapist disclosures to 
patients, the application of  legal  and ethical  
standards in different  types  of work settings, and 
licensing law and licensing process.  See BPC  
section 4980.72.  

California Cultures and the  15 hours  or 1 Instruction must include  an understanding of  various  
Social and Psychological  semester unit  California cultures and the social and psychological  
Implications of Socioeconomic  implications of socioeconomic position.  See BPC  
Position  section 4980.72.  

Child Abuse Assessment  and  7 hours  Instruction must include  detailed knowledge of  the  
Reporting in California  California Child Abuse Neglect and Reporting Act  

(CANRA).  It must also include  assessment and 
(In addition to  the course provider  methods  of reporting of sexual assault, neglect,  
types listed above,  this  may be a severe neglect, general  neglect, willful cruelty or  
course sponsored or offered by a unjustifiable punishment, corporal punishment or  
professional association or a local,  injury, and abuse in out-of-home care. The training 
county or  state department of  shall also include physical and behavioral indicators  
health or mental health)  of abuse,  crisis counseling techniques, community  

resources, rights and responsibilities of reporting,  
consequences of  failure to report, caring for a 
child’s needs after a report is  made, sensitivity  to  
previously abused children and adults, and 
implications and methods of treatment  for children 
and adults.  See BPC  sections 28 and 4980.72.  

Suicide Risk Assessment and  6 hours of  • Required of those  submitting an application for 
Intervention  coursework  licensure on or after January 1, 2021  (otherwise

or applied will be required upon license renewal) 
(Does not need to be California-

experience  specific)  • See BPC  section 4980.396  for details. 

     
 

Path A – LICENSURE BY CREDENTIAL (continued)

Note: 1 semester unit = 15 hours; 1 quarter unit = 10 hours 
1 semester unit = 1.5 quarter units 

37A-642 (Revised 07/2020) 2 

REQUIRED CALIFORNIA-SPECIFIC COURSEWORK 
Course Length Content Required 
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Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 

Applicants who do not qualify for Path A “Licensure by Credential” must meet the 
following requirements as specified in Business and Professions Code (BPC) sections 
4980.74, 4980.78 and 4980.81. See the Application for Licensure – Out-of-State for 
more details. 

1. EXAMINATIONS: You must pass both of the following exams:

• California Law and Ethics Exam: You will be eligible to take this exam after
issuance of your Associate number or after approval of your Application for
Licensure.

• California LMFT Clinical Exam: You will be eligible to take this exam after
approval of your Application for Licensure and after passing the California Law
and Ethics Exam.

2. SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE: Your experience must be substantially equivalent
to California’s requirements as described below.

• If you are licensed as an LMFT in another state or country at the highest
level for independent clinical practice:  Your requirements will depend on
whether you were licensed at the highest level for independent clinical practice
in a jurisdiction of the United States vs. another country. It will also depend on
how many hours were required for that license by the other state or country, as
described below:

o If you are licensed in another United States jurisdiction that requires at
least 3,000 hours of experience:  You do not need to submit verification of
your experience. 

o If you are licensed in another country:  You must submit verification of
3,000 hours of substantially equivalent experience that includes 104
supervised weeks.

o If you are licensed in another state or country that requires less than 3,000
hours of experience:  You may make up the deficit using time actively
licensed in good standing in another state or country at the rate of 100
hours per month licensed at the highest level (up to a maximum of 1,200
hours). You do not need to submit verification of these hours.

If additional hours are needed and will be gained in California, you must first 
register as an Associate and comply with all requirements for hours gained in 
California. 

• All other applicants: You must submit verification of substantially equivalent
 described below:supervised experience totaling 3,000 hours as
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Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE (continued) 

• Experience must have been supervised by
professional. 

 a licensed mental health 

• Experience must have been gained within the six
receipt of your California application. 

 (6) years prior to the 
Board’s 

• Up to 1,300 hours may have been gained prior to the issuance of your 
qualifying degree. 

• If you are not licensed in another state or country at the highest level for 
independent clinical practice, you must have 104 weeks of supervision. 

• If any experience will be obtained in California, you must first register as 
an Associate 
California. 

and comply with all requirements for hours gained in 

For questions about supervised experience requirements, contact: bbs.lmft@dca.ca.gov 

3. QUALIFYING DEGREE: Your degree must be a master’s or doctoral degree 
obtained from a school that holds a regional or national institutional accreditation 
recognized by the USDE, or a school approved by the BPPE. If your degree was 
obtained outside of the United States, you must obtain a degree evaluation in 
accordance with BPC section 4980.76. See Summary of LMFT Out-of-State 
Education Requirements on the next page for other minimum degree 
requirements. 

4. DEGREE REMEDIATION: You must remediate any deficiencies in your degree 
program where allowed as specified in BPC section 4980.78. See the chart on the 
next page for a summary, and the Application for Licensure for details. 

5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK: You must complete coursework in accordance 
with BPC sections 4980.78 and 4980.81, some of which must be California-
specific. See the chart beginning on page 6 for details. Courses may be taken from 
a school that holds a regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by 
the USDE, a school approved by the BPPE, or an acceptable continuing education 
provider. Undergraduate coursework cannot be accepted. If it will take you a 
significant amount of time to complete your coursework, you may want to consider 
registering as an Associate while you are taking the courses as it will allow you to 
work as a therapist in California under supervision. 

If you are unsure whether your degree or coursework qualifies (or is deficient), submit 
your Associate Marriage and Family Therapist Registration Application or Application 
for Licensure and fee, and we will provide you with the results of the evaluation. 

For questions about educational requirements, contact:  bbs.amft@dca.ca.gov 
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Summary of LMFT Out-of-State Education Requirements & Remediation 

Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 

1. OVERALL 
DEGREE 
UNITS 

Degree program began 
prior to 8/1/2012 

Degree program began 
after 8/1/2012 

Minimum 48 semester units or 72 quarter units 
within degree or cannot qualify 

• Minimum 48 semester or 72 quarter units 
within degree or cannot qualify 

• Must complete 60 semester units or 90 quarter 
units total 

• Must remediate prior to approval of Licensing 
application 

2. CALIFORNIA LAW 
AND ETHICS 
(L&E) COURSE 
(see BPC section 
4980.78(b)(2) for 
course content 
requirements) 

Completed a 2 semester 
unit or 3 quarter unit L&E 
course but no California 

content 

No L&E course or course is 
short units 

12-hour California L&E course prior to 
issuance of Associate registration 

2 semester unit or 3 quarter unit 
California L&E course prior to issuance of 

Associate registration 

3. PRACTICUM 
• 6 semester or 9 

quarter units and 
• 225 hours of 

supervised face-to-
face counseling 
experience (up to 
75 hours may be 
client-centered 
advocacy) 

Holds a valid license in 
good standing in another 

state or country as an 
MFT at the highest level 
for independent clinical 

practice 

All Others 

Practicum requirement waived 

Degree program must meet practicum 
unit/hour requirements or cannot 

qualify 

4. MARITAL AND FAMILY 
COUNSELING/SYSTEMS APPROACH 

12 semester units or 18 quarter units 
within degree or cannot qualify 

37A-642 (Revised 07/2020) 5 

5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK 
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courses listed on the following pages. 



   

  
 

    
     

 
   

  
 

 
 

 

 
  

  

  
 

 

 
 

 

   
 

   
    

  
  

 

  
 

 
 

 
 

 

  
 

 
 

   
  

 

 
 

 
  

   
   
  

 

   
 

 

   
 

   
 

 

  
 

  

5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK 
LMFT Out-of-State Applicants 

Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 
Note: 1 semester unit = 15 hours; 1 quarter unit = 10 hours 

1 semester unit = 1.5 quarter units 
Course Length Content Required 

a) Suicide Risk Assessment and 
Intervention 

6 hours of 
coursework 
or applied 
experience 

All applicants submitting an application on or after 
January 1, 2021 (otherwise will be required upon 
license renewal). See BPC section 4980.396 

b) Mental Health Recovery 
Oriented Care and Methods of 
Service Delivery 

45 hours or 
3 semester 

units 

Instruction must cover principles of mental health 
recovery-oriented care and methods of service delivery 
in recovery-oriented practice environments, including 
structured meetings with various consumers and family 
members of consumers of mental health services to 
enhance understanding of their experience of mental 
illness, treatment and recovery. See BPC section 
4980.81. 

c) California Cultures and the 
Social and Psychological 
Implications of Socioeconomic 
Position 

15 hours or 
1 semester 

unit 

Instruction must include an understanding of various 
California cultures and the social and psychological 
implications of socioeconomic position. See BPC 
section 4980.81. 

d) Diagnosis, Assessment, 
Prognosis and Treatment of 
Mental Disorders 

2 semester 
units 

Must include diagnosis, assessment, prognosis and 
treatment of mental disorders, including: 
• Severe mental disorders 
• Promising mental health practices 
• Evidence-based practices 

See BPC section 4980.81. 

e) Psychological Testing 15 hours or 
1 semester 

unit 

Instruction must cover psychological testing. See BPC 
section 4980.81. 

f) Psychopharmacology 15 hours or 
1 semester 

unit 

Instruction must cover psychopharmacology. See BPC 
section 4980.81. 
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5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK (continued) 

LMFT Out-of-State Applicants 
Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 

Course Length Content Required 

   

  
 

    
   

   
 

 
 

 

 

  
 

 

 

 
 

 

    

  
   

 
  

  

   
 

 
 

  

   
 

  
 

 
  

 
  

 
  

 
   

  

 

  
 

  

   
 

 
   

  

  

 

   

 
 

  

g) Developmental Issues from 
Infancy to Old Age 

h) Child Abuse Assessment and 
Reporting in California 

i) Aging, Long Term Care and 
Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse, 
End-of-Life and Grief 

j) Spousal/Partner Abuse 
Assessment, Detection and 
Intervention 

15 hours or 
1 semester 

unit 

(if deficient 
in a single 
topic listed, 

may 
remediate 
by taking 3 

hours of 
instruction 
on each 
missing 
topic) 

7 hours 

10 hours 

15 hours 

Instruction must include: 

• Developmental Issues from infancy to old age 

• The effects of developmental issues on 
individuals, couples and family relationships. 

• The psychological, psychotherapeutic, and health 
implications of developmental issues and their 
effects. 

• The understanding of the impact that personal and 
social insecurity, social stress, low educational 
levels, inadequate housing and malnutrition have 
on human development. 

See BPC section 4980.81. 

Instruction must include detailed knowledge of the 
California Child Abuse Neglect and Reporting Act 
(CANRA). It must also include assessment and 
methods of reporting of sexual assault, neglect, severe 
neglect, general neglect, willful cruelty or unjustifiable 
punishment, corporal punishment or injury, and abuse 
in out-of-home care. The training shall also include 
physical and behavioral indicators of abuse, crisis 
counseling techniques, community resources, rights 
and responsibilities of reporting, consequences of 
failure to report, caring for a child’s needs after a report 
is made, sensitivity to previously abused children and 
adults, and implications and methods of treatment for 
children and adults. See BPC sections 28 and 4980.81 
and Title 16, California Code of Regulations section 
1807.2 

Instruction must cover aging and long-term care, 
including biological, social, cognitive and psychological 
aspects of aging, end-of-life, grief, and instruction on 
the assessment and reporting of, as well as treatment 
related to, elder and dependent adult abuse and 
neglect. See BPC section 4980.81. 

Instruction must cover spousal and partner abuse 
assessment, detection, intervention strategies, and 
same-gender abuse dynamics. See BPC section 
4980.81. 
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5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK (continued) 
LMFT Out-of-State Applicants 

Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 
Course Length Content Required 

   

  
 

     
   

  
 

 
 

 

   
  

  

     

  
 

   

    

 
 

  

   
 

 
 
 

 

 
 

 

  
 

  
   

 
  
  
   
   

 
  

  
 

 

 

k) Multicultural Development and 15 hours or Instruction must include experiences of race, ethnicity, 
Cross-Cultural Interaction 1 semester class, spirituality, sexual orientation, gender, and 

unit disability, and their incorporation into the 
psychotherapeutic process. See BPC section 4980.81. 

l) Human Sexuality 10 hours Instruction must include the study of the physiological, 
psychological, and social cultural variables associated 
with sexual behavior, gender identity, and the 
assessment and treatment of psychosexual 
dysfunction. See BPC sections 25 and 4980.81 and 
Title 16, California Code of Regulations section 1807 

m) Substance Use Disorders 15 hours See BPC section 4980.81. 

n) Co-Occurring Disorders and 15 hours See BPC section 4980.81. 
Addiction 

o) Miscellaneous Content No specific 
number of 

hours 
required, 

but content 
must be 

adequately 
covered 

within the 
applicant’s 
coursework 

Instruction must include: 

• Childbirth, child rearing, parenting and step-
parenting 

• Marriage, divorce and blended families 
• Cultural factors relevant to abuse of partners and 

family members 
• Poverty and deprivation 
• Financial and social stress 
• Effects of trauma 
• The psychological, psychotherapeutic, community 

and health implications of the matters and life 
events that arise in marriage and family 
relationships within a variety of California cultures 

See BPC section 4980.81. 
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