

1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S-200 Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 574-7830 www.bbs.ca.gov



Gavin Newsom, Governor State of California

Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency Department of Consumer Affairs

### Continuing Education (CE) Regulation Changes for Licensees LMFTs, LCSWs, LEPs and LPCCs

Effective July 1, 2023

The Board of Behavioral Sciences (board) has obtained approval of changes to its continuing education (CE) regulations. These changes take effect July 1, 2023. CE-related laws are contained in both statutes (Business and Professions Code or BPC) and in Title 16, Division 18 of the California Code of Regulations (16 CCR).

This document provides a summary of the regulation changes, but we recommend you read the <u>full legal text</u> of the updated regulations (access at www.bbs.ca.gov>About Us>Law Changes>Regulations).

### Who do the updated CE regulations apply to?

The CE-related regulation changes apply to all of the following:

- Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFT)
- Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW)
- Licensed Educational Psychologists (LEP)
- Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors (LPCC)
- Board-accepted providers of CE

### What changes were made to the CE requirements and why?

The changes are intended to update, streamline and provide clarity in the CE regulations, as well as strengthen consumer protection, and include the following:

• CE for Initial Renewal Periods:

Require 36 hours of CE, rather than 18 hours of CE during a new licensee's initial renewal period.

Previously, the initial renewal period (the time frame between license issuance and expiration date) for some new licensees was as short as one year. Now, the initial

renewal period is two years for all licensees, which provides adequate time to complete 36 hours.

This change applies to the following individuals:

- New licensees whose initial license expires after July 1, 2023.
- Licensees who are renewing their license for the first time, if their renewal application is received by the Board on or after July 1, 2023, regardless of expiration date.

### • <u>CE Course Content Requirements:</u>

Updates and clarifies certain requirements pertaining to CE course content (see page 3 for details).

• CE Waiver Criteria:

CE exceptions are now called temporary CE waivers, and many changes have been made to the requirements to qualify for a temporary CE waiver *(see page 3 for details).* 

• New LEPs Renewing an Initial License:

Changes the acceptable providers and course content requirements for the Child Abuse Assessment and Reporting and Alcoholism and Substance Dependency courses required for first-time renewals of an LEP license. *(see page 3 for details).* 

• CE for Participation in an Occupational Analysis:

Credits a licensee who completes a Board occupational analysis survey with six hours of CE (see page 4 for details).

• CE for Course Taught:

Places some limitations on counting CE for a course taught by the licensee (see page 4 for details).

• Law and Ethics Courses for Supervisors:

Clarifies that a course taken on law and ethics designed specifically to meet supervisor training requirements cannot also be accepted toward meeting the six-hour law and ethics course required of all licensees each for renewal period. *(see page 5 for details).* 

• Participation in Law and Ethics Review Committee:

Clarifies that in order for a licensee's participation in a law and ethics review committee to be credited toward CE, on or after July 1, 2023, it must have been with a mental health professional organization. In addition, documentation of participation must consist of a letter or certificate from the organization.

• Repeal outdated regulations pertaining to the board's former CE provider approval program.

### What are the changes pertaining to CE content requirements?

16 CCR Sections 1807.2, 1810 (renumbered to 1807.3), and 1887.4.0

### General CE Course Content Requirements

All CE providers must follow the new general content requirements for courses offered on or after July 1, 2023 (see new language in <u>16 CCR section 1887.4.0</u> for details; if you want to see what has changed, see the <u>regulation text</u>).

#### LEP CE Changes for New Licensees

The changes to CE requirements for new LEPs renewing their license for the first time are as follows:

- The Alcoholism and Other Chemical Substance Dependency training must cover substance abuse (as opposed to only substance dependency).
- Acceptable providers for the above course has changed. A governmental entity or licensed health facility will no longer be acceptable if the entity does not qualify as a board-accepted provider of CE.

### The above changes apply to the following individuals:

- New LEPs whose initial license expires after July 1, 2023.
- New LEPs who are renewing their license for the first time, if their renewal application is received by the Board on or after July 1, 2023, regardless of expiration date.

### What are the changes pertaining to temporary CE waivers (aka CE exceptions)?

16 CCR Section 1887.2 and Temporary CE Waiver Request Forms

**For licenses that expire after July 1, 2023, the changes listed below take effect.** Please note that temporary waiver requests must be submitted at least 60 days prior to the license's expiration date. For example, if a license expires on July 31, 2023, the waiver request form and documentation must be received by the Board no later than May 31, 2023. The new CE waiver forms are available on the Board's website.

- No longer allows temporary CE waivers for being absent from California due to military service or residing in another country. At the time the prior regulations were written, online CE was limited. Now, all CE may be taken online and such courses are widely available.
- Implements new CE waiver request forms and instructions.
- Modifies temporary CE waiver criteria for licensees impacted by their own health condition. This includes reducing the amount of detail required pertaining to

personal health information, and newly requiring documentation of a drop in income during the period of disability as specified in the regulation and on the CE waiver request forms.

- Modifies temporary CE waiver criteria for licensees who are the primary caregiver of an immediate family member with a total physical or mental disability, as specified in the regulation and on the CE waiver request forms.
- Limits the scope of the personal health information of a licensee applying for a temporary CE waiver (or if a caregiver of an immediate family member, the family member's personal health information).
- Requires licensees who have been granted a temporary CE waiver to complete the 6-hour law and ethics course required of all active licensees each renewal period, even if approved for a waiver. This ensures that all practicing licensees remain informed of changes to laws and ethical codes.

### What is an Occupational Analysis and how do I get CE credit for completing one?

16 CCR Section 1887.3(j)

A licensee who completes a Board of Behavioral Sciences occupational analysis (OA) survey in full on or after July 1, 2023 will be credited with six hours of CE. An OA is a comprehensive study of a profession that is performed approximately every five years. Licensees complete a survey, the results of which help to determine the important tasks that are currently performed by practicing licensees. Results of the OA are used to develop a current description of practice, including core competencies, which help to form the basis for development of licensing examinations.

The board will make an announcement there is an opportunity for licensees to participate.

## What are the changes I need to know if I teach courses and want to claim them toward my CE?

### 16 CCR Section 1887.3

Licensees may fulfill a maximum of 18 hours of the 36-hour CE requirement by teaching CE courses during a single renewal period for a board-accepted provider. This was previously unlimited. This will provide increased consumer protection by encouraging licensees to obtain CE on topics in addition to the courses taught continually.

### This new limitation applies to the following individuals:

- Licensees whose license expires after July 1, 2023.
- Licensees whose renewal application is received by the Board on or after July 1, 2023, regardless of the expiration date.

# What are the changes I need to know if I am a supervisor of an Associate or MFT Trainee and want to count my supervisor training hours toward my CE?

#### 16 CCR Section 1887.3

Supervisors may apply their supervisor course training hours to their overall CE requirements as long as the training was taken from a Board-accepted CE provider **with one exception**:

A course taken on law and ethics designed specifically to meet supervisor training requirements **cannot** also be accepted toward meeting the six-hour law and ethics course required of all licensees each renewal period. In other words, a single course will not fulfill both requirements. However, all such courses **do** count toward the overall 36-hour CE requirement.

#### This change applies to the following individuals:

- Licensees whose license expires after July 1, 2023.
- Licensees whose renewal application is received by the Board on or after July 1, 2023, regardless of the expiration date.