
   

 

    
 

     
  

 

 

 

   
  

    

        
     

     
     

  

   
      

   
  

 
  

 

 GUIDE TO LCSW OUT-OF-STATE 
APPLICANT REQUIREMENTS 
For Applications Submitted on or After
January 1, 2020 

Applicant Type  
Do you meet ALL o f  the following requirements?  

 I have held a license as a  Clinical Social Worker  in another  United States  jurisdiction 
for at least two years.  

 The license I  hold is current, and has  been active and unrestricted for at least two 
years immediately  before the date I submit my application to the Board.  

 The license I  hold is  at  the highest level  for independent clinical practice in that  
jurisdiction.  

 The degree that qualified me for this license is a master’s  degree obtained from a  
school  or department of social work that is  accredited by the Commission on 
Accreditation of the Council on Social  Work  Education (CSWE).  

If YES,  go to Path  A ( LICENSURE  BY  CREDENTIAL)  
If NO,  Skip to  Path  B ( LICENSURE  BY  EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE)  

Path A – LICENSURE BY CREDENTIAL 
Applicants who qualify for this path (as specified in Business and Professions Code 
(BPC) section 4996.17.1) must meet all of the following requirements: 

1. EXAMINATION: You must pass the California Law and Ethics Examination. You will 
be eligible to take this exam after your Application for Licensure has been approved. 

2. QUALIFYING DEGREE: The degree that qualified you for licensure in another 
United States jurisdiction must be a master’s degree obtained from a school or 
department of social work that is accredited by the CSWE. 

3. COURSEWORK: You must complete the following California-specific coursework. 
Courses must be taken from a school or department of social work that is accredited 
by CSWE, a school holding a regional or national institutional accreditation 
recognized by the U.S. Department of Education (USDE), a school approved by the 
California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE), or an acceptable 
continuing education provider. Undergraduate coursework cannot be accepted. 

37A-642 (Revised 07/2020) 1 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf


   

    
 

 
   

    
  

 
  

 
  

  

  
  

 
   

 
  

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  
 

  
 

  
 

  
  

 
  

 

    
 

  
  

  
 

 
  

 
 

   

  
   

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

   
 
 

    

          

Path A – LICENSURE BY CREDENTIAL (continued) 

REQUIRED CALIFORNIA-SPECIFIC COURSEWORK 
Course Length Content Required 

California Law and Ethics 12 hours Instruction must include advertising, scope of 
practice, scope of competence, treatment of minors, 
confidentiality, dangerous patients, psychotherapist-
patient privilege, recordkeeping, patient access to 
records, state and federal laws relating to 
confidentiality of patient health information, dual 
relationships, child abuse, elder and dependent 
adult abuse, online therapy, insurance 
reimbursement, civil liability, disciplinary actions and 
unprofessional conduct, ethics complaints and 
ethical standards, termination of therapy, standards 
of care, relevant family law, therapist disclosures to 
patients, the application of legal and ethical 
standards in different types of work settings, and 
licensing law and licensing process. See BPC 
section 4996.17.1. 

California Cultures and the 
Social and Psychological 
Implications of Socioeconomic 
Position 

15 hours or 1 
semester unit 

Instruction must include an understanding of various 
California cultures and the social and psychological 
implications of socioeconomic position. See BPC 
section 4996.17.1. 

Child Abuse Assessment and 7 hours Instruction must include detailed knowledge of the 
Reporting in California California Child Abuse Neglect and Reporting Act 

(In addition to the course provider 
(CANRA). It must also include assessment and 
methods of reporting of sexual assault, neglect, 

types listed above, this may be a severe neglect, general neglect, willful cruelty or 
course sponsored or offered by a unjustifiable punishment, corporal punishment or 
professional association or a local, injury, and abuse in out-of-home care. The training 
county or state department of shall also include physical and behavioral indicators 
health or mental health) of abuse, crisis counseling techniques, community 

resources, rights and responsibilities of reporting, 
consequences of failure to report, caring for a 
child’s needs after a report is made, sensitivity to 
previously abused children and adults, and 
implications and methods of treatment for children 
and adults. See BPC sections 28 and 4996.17.1 
and Title 16, California Code of Regulations section 
1807.2. 

Suicide Risk Assessment and 
Intervention 

(Does not need to be California-
specific) 

6 hours of 
coursework 
or applied 
experience 

• Required of those submitting an application for 
licensure on or after January 1, 2021 (otherwise 
will be required upon license renewal) 

• See BPC section 4996.27 for details. 

Note: 1 semester unit = 15 hours; 1 quarter unit = 10 hours;  1 semester unit = 1.5 quarter units 
37A-642 (Revised 07/2020) 2 
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Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 

Applicants who do not qualify for Path A “Licensure by Credential” must meet the 
following requirements as specified in Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 
4996.17.2. This is a summary - see the Application for Licensure for more information. 

1. EXAMINATIONS: You must pass both of the following exams: 

• California Law and Ethics Exam: You will be eligible to take this exam upon 
issuance of your Associate registration or upon approval of your Application for 
Licensure. 

• Association of Social Work Boards - Clinical Exam: If you have already passed 
this exam, the Board may be able to accept your passing score if: 

o You do not currently hold a license in another state or country, your passing 
score must be less than seven (7) years old; 

o You currently hold a license or registration in another state or country and 
the license or registration is active and in good standing at the time of 
application and is not revoked, suspended, surrendered, denied or otherwise 
restricted or encumbered, a passing score of any age will be accepted; 

o The Board receives official verification of your passing score from the 
Association of Social Work Boards. Please follow the instructions in the 
Application for Licensure. 

If you have not yet passed the ASWB Clinical Exam, you will be eligible to take it 
after approval of your Application for Licensure and after passing the California 
Law and Ethics Exam. 

2. SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE: Your experience must be substantially equivalent to 
California’s requirements as described below. 

• If you are licensed as an LCSW in another state or country at the highest 
level for independent clinical practice: Your requirements will depend on 
whether you were licensed at the highest level for independent clinical practice in 
a jurisdiction of the United States vs. another country. It will also depend on how 
many hours were required for that license by the other state or country, as 
described below: 
o If you are licensed in another United States jurisdiction that requires at least 

3,000 hours of experience: You do not need to submit verification of 
experience. 

o If you are licensed in another country: You must submit verification of 3,000 
hours of substantially equivalent experience that includes 104 supervised 
weeks. 

o If you are licensed in another state or country that requires less than 3,000 
hours of experience:  You may make up the deficit using time actively 
licensed in good standing in another state or country at the rate of 100 hours 
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Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 

per month licensed at the highest level (up to a maximum of 1,200 hours). You 
do not need to submit verification of these hours. 

If additional hours are needed and will be gained in California, you must first 
register as an Associate and comply with all requirements for hours gained in 
California. 

• All other applicants: You will need to submit verification of substantially 
as described below: equivalent supervised experience totaling 3,000 hours 

o Experience must have been supervised by a licensed mental health professional 
and gained within the six (6) years prior to the Board’s receipt of your application. 

o If any experience will be obtained in California, you must first register as an 
Associate and comply with all requirements for hours gained in California. 

o If you are not licensed in another state or country at the highest level for 
independent clinical practice, you must have 104 weeks of supervision. 

For questions about supervised experience requirements, contact bbs.lcsw@dca.ca.gov 

3. QUALIFYING DEGREE: You must hold a master’s degree from a CSWE-accredited 
school or department of social work. If your degree was obtained outside of the United 
States, you must obtain a degree evaluation in accordance with BPC section 
4996.18(e). 

4. 12-HOUR CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS COURSE: You must complete a 12-hour 
course in California Law and Ethics. This course must be completed prior to 
registration as an Associate (or prior to submitting your Application for Licensure if you 
do not need to apply for Associate registration). See BPC section 4996.17.2(d)(2)(F) 
for course content requirements. 

5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK: You must complete coursework in accordance with 
BPC section 4996.17.2, some of which must be California-specific. See the chart 
beginning on page 5 for details. If it will take you a significant amount of time to 
complete your coursework, you may want to consider registering as an Associate while 
you are taking the courses as it will allow you to work in California as a clinical social 
worker under supervision. 

The California Law and Ethics course and Additional Coursework listed under #4 and 
#5 above may be taken from a CSWE accredited school or department of social work, 
a school with a regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by the USDE, 
a school approved by the BPPE, or an acceptable continuing education provider. 
Undergraduate coursework cannot be accepted. If you are unsure whether your degree 
or other coursework qualifies (or is deficient), submit your Application for Licensure and 
fee, and we will provide you with the results of the evaluation. For questions about 
educational requirements, contact bbs.asw@dca.ca.gov 
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ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK 
LCSW OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS 

Path B – LICENSURE BY EDUCATION/EXPERIENCE 
1 semester unit = 15 hours; 1 quarter unit = 10 hours; 1 semester unit = 1.5 quarter units 

Course Length Content Required 

a) Suicide Risk Assessment 
and Intervention 

6 hours of 
coursework 
or applied 
experience 

All applicants submitting an application on or after January 
1, 2021 (otherwise will be required upon license renewal). 
See BPC section 4996.27 

b) California Law and Ethics 12 hours See BPC section 4996.17.2(d)(2)(F) for requirements. 

c) Child Abuse Assessment 
and Reporting in California 

7 hours Must include detailed knowledge of the California Child 
Abuse Neglect and Reporting Act (CANRA). It must also 
include assessment and methods of reporting of sexual 
assault, neglect, severe neglect, general neglect, willful 
cruelty or unjustifiable punishment, corporal punishment or 
injury, and abuse in out-of-home care. The training shall 
also include physical and behavioral indicators of abuse, 
crisis counseling techniques, community resources, rights 
and responsibilities of reporting, consequences of failure to 
report, caring for a child’s needs after a report is made, 
sensitivity to previously abused children and adults, and 
implications and methods of treatment for children and 
adults. See BPC sections 28 and 4996.17.2 and Title 16, 
California Code of Regulations (16CCR) section 1807.2. 

d) Human Sexuality 10 hours Must include the study of the physiological, psychological, 
and social cultural variables associated with sexual 
behavior, gender identity, and the assessment and 
treatment of psychosexual dysfunction. See BPC sections 
25 and 4996.17.2 and 16CCR section 1807. 

e) Alcoholism / Other 
Chemical Substance 
Dependency 

15 hours See BPC section 4996.17.2 and 16CCR section 1810. 

f) Spousal or Partner Abuse 
Assessment, Detection and 
Intervention 

15 hours Must cover spousal or partner abuse assessment, detection 
and intervention strategies. See BPC section 4996.17.2. 

g) Aging, Long Term Care and 
Elder/Dependent Adult 
Abuse 

10 hours Must cover aging and long-term care, biological, social, 
psychological aspects of aging, and instruction on the 
assessment and reporting of, as well as treatment related to, 
elder and dependent adult abuse and neglect. See BPC 
sections 4996.17.2 and 4996.25. 

h) California Cultures and the 
Social and Psychological 
Implications of 
Socioeconomic Position 

15 hours or 
1 semester 

unit 

Must include an understanding of various California cultures 
and the social and psychological implications of 
socioeconomic position. See BPC section 4996.17.2. 
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