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Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834 

Telephone: (916) 574-7830 
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Associate Clinical Social Worker 

Frequently Asked Questions 
Revised January 1, 2020 

The information provided in this publication is supplemental and is intended to serve as 
a quick answer guide for common questions for those pursuing licensure as a Licensed 
Clinical Social Worker (LCSW). The Board’s Statutes and Regulations contain the 
official legal code sections. The Board encourages you to thoroughly read the Statutes 
and Regulations pertaining to the clinical social work profession. 

A. ASW REGISTRATION; LAW AND ETHICS EXAM 
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open my own office? ...................................................................................................... 4 

6. When am I required to renew my ASW registration?........................................................ 4 

7. Are ASWs required to take an exam to renew?................................................................ 4 

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
www.bbs.ca.gov


 

     

    

 
   

    

       

     
 

  

        

   

    

   

        

    

    

      

     

   

    

    

   

    

   

      

     

     
    

       
 

8. What happens if I don’t pass the California Law and Ethics Exam? ................................. 4 

9. Where can I take the 12-hour California Law and Ethics course? .................................... 5 

10. What happens if I haven’t passed the Law and Ethics Exam by my registration’s 6-year 
time limit?....................................................................................................................... 5 

11. How do I obtain a second or third (subsequent) ASW registration number? .................. 5 

12. Can I work in a private practice under a subsequent ASW registration number? ........... 5 

13. What happens once I pass the Law and Ethics Exam? .................................................. 5 

B. EXPERIENCE HOURS, SUPERVISION & EMPLOYMENT 

14. What is the breakdown for the experience required to become a LCSW? ..................... 6 

15. What is triadic supervision? ............................................................................................ 7 

16. What is the definition of “telehealth counseling”? ........................................................... 7 

17. How many telehealth hours can I gain?.......................................................................... 7 

18. How far back can hours of experience be counted? What is the six-year rule?.............. 7 

19. How do I determine the amount of supervision I need each week?................................ 8 

20. What is the required ratio of supervision to individual or group psychotherapy hours? .. 8 

21. Can I be paid as a 1099 / independent contractor or bill clients directly? ....................... 8 

22. Can I be employed as a volunteer? ................................................................................ 8 

23. Who is eligible to supervise ASWs? ............................................................................... 9 

24. How many supervisees can participate in a session of group supervision? ................... 9 

25. Can group supervision be broken into one-hour increments? ...................................... 10 

26. Can I receive supervision via videoconferencing or over the telephone? ..................... 10 

27. Do my supervisor and I have to be employed by the same employer?......................... 10 

28. Does my supervisor have to be on site?....................................................................... 10 

29. Where can I find more information about supervision?................................................. 11 

30. What forms must I use to record my experience hours and supervision?..................... 11 

31. How do I fill out Experience Verification forms or the Weekly Tracking Log if I have 
more than one supervisor in the same work setting?................................................... 12 

32. When do I need to send in supervision-related forms?................................................. 12 



 

 

 

 

  

      

   
   

     

  
   

   
   

   

     
   

    

    

  
   

   

      
 

  

C. APPLYING FOR LICENSURE 

33. Should I be concerned about abandonment of my Application for Licensure? ............. 13 

34. What type of employment documentation does the Board require with my Application 
for Licensure? .............................................................................................................. 13 

35. Do I need to send in originals of my W-2s or most recent pay stub?............................ 13 

36. What additional coursework do I need to take prior to submitting an Application for 
Licensure? ................................................................................................................... 14 

37. What is required for the Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention requirement that 
takes effect January 1, 2021?...................................................................................... 15 

38. Is my additional coursework too old?............................................................................ 15 

39. How can I provide verification of my experience if my supervisor is deceased or 
incapacitated?.............................................................................................................. 15 

40. Do I need to resubmit fingerprints with my Application for Licensure ........................... 16 

41. What happens once I submit my Application for Licensure? ........................................ 16 

42. Do I need to maintain a current ASW registration number to participate in the clinical 
exam? .......................................................................................................................... 16 

43. Must I continue to have supervision after my experience hours have been approved? 17 

44. Once I pass both exams, can I start practicing independently?.................................... 17 



A. ASW REGISTRATION; LAW AND ETHICS EXAM 

 

 

 
 
 

  

 
 

      
 

 
  

 
  

 
         

 
 

 

    
 

 
   

      
 

 
   

  
      

  
  

 
 

  
  

    
      

   
    

   
   

   

 
     

 

1. What coursework must be completed prior to applying for ASW registration? 

All applicants must possess a master’s degree in social work from an accredited school 
of social work. Applicants with out-of-state education, experience or licensure, who 
apply for registration as an ASW are required to complete a 12-hour course in California 
Law and Professional Ethics. 

All accredited social work schools in California have notified the Board that the 
California Law and Ethics requirement has been met by their graduates. No other 
coursework is required for ASW registration. 

Statutes cited: Business and Professions Code (BPC) sections 4996.17, 4996.18 and 4996.17.2 

2. When can my hours begin counting towards the LCSW licensing 
requirements? 

This depends on when you applied for ASW registration, as the law changed effective 
January 1, 2019. 

If you applied for ASW registration PRIOR TO January 1, 2019: 
Hours of work experience and supervision may only begin counting once your ASW 
registration number has been issued. 

If you applied for ASW registration AFTER January 1, 2019: 
If the Board receives your application for ASW registration within 90 days of your 
degree award date, and you are thereafter issued an ASW registration, all postdegree 
hours of supervised experience may be credited. Hours gained under this “90-day rule” 
must comply with all experience and supervision requirements in order to count toward 
licensure. 

For applicants graduating on or after January 1, 2020: 
Hours may only be accepted under the “90-day-rule” described above IF the hours are 
obtained at a workplace that, prior to the applicant gaining hours, required live scan 
fingerprinting. The applicant must provide documentation to the Board consisting of a 
copy of the processed “State of California Request for Live Scan Service” form. This 
form must be submitted with the application for licensure in order for the hours gained 
between graduation and registration issuance to be accepted. A copy of the processed 
form is the ONLY acceptable documentation specified in law. There are no exceptions. 
See the FAQ about the 90-day rule for more information about the new requirements. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.23(b) 

3 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/90day_rule.pdf


 

 

 

    
   

  
 

    

 

  
   

  
  

     
    

 
         
 

 

  

 
    

  
  

 

      

 
     

    
 

 

      
    

  

      

 

    

     
    

  
 
 

3. When can I begin working in a private practice setting? 

4. Are there any limitations on working in a private practice? 

You may not work in a private practice until your ASW registration number has been 
issued by the Board. You may work in private practice for a maximum of six (6) years, 
until your first ASW registration has met its maximum length. There are no exceptions. 

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4996.23(c) and 4996.28(c) 

5. Now that my ASW registration has been issued, can I start practicing 
independently / open my own office? 

No. Independent practice cannot begin until you have completed all licensure 
requirements and the Board issues you a license. Independent practice (or opening 
your own office) is considered unlicensed practice and is subject to disciplinary action 
by the Board. Additionally, you are prohibited from billing clients directly until licensed. 

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4991.1, 4992.3 and 4996; Regulation cited: Title 16, California Code of Regulations 
(CCR) section 1881 

6. When am I required to renew my ASW registration? 

Registrations expire annually and have a total six-year time limit. Your registration’s 
expiration date will be printed on your registration certificate. You will be mailed a 
courtesy renewal notice 90 days prior to your expiration date. The Board encourages 
renewing online because it takes effect instantly as long as all renewal requirements are 
met. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.28(c) 

7. Are ASWs required to take an exam to renew? 

Yes. Associates who have not yet passed the LCSW California Law and Ethics Exam 
MUST have taken this exam during their renewal cycle in order to renew. There are no 
exceptions. 

To apply for the exam, download the exam application from the Board’s website and 
mail it in with the required fee. Allow 4-6 weeks for processing. See the FAQs about the 
Law and Ethics Exam for more information. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4992.09 

8. What happens if I don’t pass the California Law and Ethics Exam? 

You do not need to pass the exam in order to renew; you just need to have taken it. You 
may retake the exam after at least 90 days have passed from the date you last took the 
exam. See the Request for Re-Examination for more information. 
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If you don’t pass the exam prior to your registration’s expiration date, you must 
complete a 12-hour course in California Law and Ethics before you will be allowed to 
retake the exam during your NEXT renewal cycle. You will not be allowed to retake the 
exam after your registration expires until you submit proof of course completion. See the 
FAQs about the Law and Ethics Exam for more information. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4992.09; Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1805.05 

9. Where can I take the 12-hour California Law and Ethics course? 

The course must be taken through a school that holds a regional or national institutional 
accreditation recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, a school approved by 
the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, or an acceptable continuing 
education provider. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4992.09 

10. What happens if I haven’t passed the Law and Ethics Exam by my 
registration’s 6-year time limit? 

California law permits a registration to be renewed a maximum of five (5) times before 
being cancelled. ASWs may apply for a subsequent (second or third) registration 
number. You cannot be granted a subsequent number unless you have passed the Law 
and Ethics Exam. There are no exceptions. 

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4992.09 and 4996.28 

11. How do I obtain a second or third (subsequent) ASW registration number? 

12. Can I work in a private practice under a subsequent ASW registration 
number? 

Submit the ASW Subsequent Registration application with the required fee. Be sure to 
submit it in advance of your registration’s expiration date to allow time for processing 
and to avoid a lapse in your registration. 

Only those who have been issued a first ASW registration number may work in a private 
practice. An applicant issued a subsequent ASW number cannot work in a private 
practice. All other work settings are permissible. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.28(c) 

13. What happens once I pass the Law and Ethics Exam? 

If you are still earning your hours of supervised experience, you will continue as a 
registrant until you have completed your hours. No further exams are required until you 
apply for licensure. You may apply for licensure once you have met all education and 
experience requirements. Upon approval of your Application for, you will be required to 
take and pass the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Clinical Level Exam. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4992.05; Regulation cited:  Title 16, CCR section 1877.1 
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14. What is the breakdown for the experience required to become a LCSW? 

California law requires 3,000 hours of supervised post-degree professional experience, 
including 104 supervised weeks, in order to qualify for LCSW licensure. 

3,000 Hours of Supervised Experience 

Breakdown of Requirements 

Category Minimum or Maximum 

Clinical psychosocial diagnosis, assessment, and 
treatment, including psychotherapy or counseling 

Minimum 2,000 hours 
(no maximum) 

Face-to-face individual or group psychotherapy Minimum 750 hours 
(of the above 2,000 – no 
maximum) 

Client-centered advocacy, consultation, evaluation, 
research, workshops, seminars, training sessions 
or conferences, and direct supervisor contact 

Maximum 1,000 hours 

Supervision by an LCSW Minimum 1,700 hours 
(no maximum) 

Supervision by a Licensed Educational 
Psychologist 

Maximum 1,200 hours (see 
question 23 for other 
restrictions) 

Supervision by any other type of qualified licensed 
mental health professional 

Maximum 1,300 hours 

104 “Supervised Weeks” 

Breakdown of Requirements 

NOTE: A “supervised week” is a week in which an ASW meets with a supervisor for 
either one (1) hour of individual or triadic supervision, or 

two (2) hours of group supervision 

Supervision Amount & Type Minimum 

One (1) hour of Individual or Triadic supervision per 
week 

52 weeks 

One (1) hour of Individual or Triadic supervision by 
an LCSW per week 

13 weeks (of the above 52) 
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Additionally, the following is required: 

• A minimum of one (1) hour of individual or triadic supervision, or two (2) hours of 
group supervision within the same week in which experience is claimed; 

• A minimum of one (1) hour of individual or triadic supervision, or two (2) hours of 
group supervision per week for each work setting; 

• A maximum of 40 hours of experience earned in any week between all settings 
may be credited; and, 

• A maximum of six (6) hours of individual, triadic, or group supervision in any 
week may be credited. 

An applicant for licensure cannot be approved to sit for the clinical exam without 
completing both the 3,000 hours of professional experience and the 104 required 
supervised weeks. 

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4996.23 and 4996.23.1; Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1874 

15. What is triadic supervision? 

Triadic supervision is defined as face-to-face supervision consisting of one supervisor 
and two supervisees. It is counted under the law as equivalent to individual supervision. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.23.1(b)(2) 

16. What is the definition of “telehealth counseling”? 

17. How many telehealth hours can I gain? 

Telehealth refers to the mode of delivering health care services and public health via 
information and communication technologies to facilitate the diagnosis, consultation, 
treatment, education, care management, and self-management of a patient’s health 
care while the patient is at the originating site and the health care provider is at a distant 
site. ASWs are encouraged to familiarize themselves with the “Standards of Practice for 
Telehealth,” available in the Board’s Statutes and Regulations. There is no limit on the 
number of telehealth hours that can be counted toward the supervised experience 
requirements. 

Statutes cited: BPC sections 2290.5 and 4996.23; Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1815.5 

18. How far back can hours of experience be counted? What is the six-year rule? 

The Board cannot accept hours of experience older than six (6) years from the date the 
Board receives your Application for Licensure. The law does not allow the Board to 
grant exceptions. 

For example, the Board receives an Application for Licensure on 4/27/2018. The Board 
can only accept hours earned by this applicant (under all ASW numbers) between 
4/27/2012 and 4/27/2018 if all other requirements are met. 
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It is important to note that if your Application for Licensure is abandoned, you will be 
required to re-apply. Your six (6)-year period will be recalculated to six (6) years back 
from the date your new application is received. For more information on abandonment, 
see question 33. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.23 

19. How do I determine the amount of supervision I need each week? 

20. What is the required ratio of supervision to individual or group psychotherapy 
hours? 

“One unit” of supervision = one (1) hour of individual or triadic supervision OR two (2) 
hours of group supervision. 

ASWs are required to obtain one (1) unit of supervision, as defined above, during any 
week in which experience is gained in each setting. 

If the ASW provides more than 10 hours of direct clinical counseling during a single 
week in a work setting, the ASW must receive a total of two (2) units of supervision in 
that same week in that setting. 

EXAMPLE #1: An ASW works one job and provides 25 hours of direct clinical 
counseling in a single week. This applicant must receive two (2) units of supervision 
during this week. 

EXAMPLE #2: An ASW works two jobs, and provides 12 hours of direct clinical 
counseling at Job A and nine (9) hours of direct clinical counseling at Job B during the 
same week. This ASW must receive a total of three (3) units of supervision during that 
week - two (2) units at Job A and one (1) unit at Job B. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.23.1 

21. Can I be paid as a 1099 / independent contractor or bill clients directly? 

22. Can I be employed as a volunteer? 

You must be either a paid W-2 employee or a volunteer employee. You also may not bill 

clients directly. There are limited circumstances under which you may be paid under a 

1099. If you work as a volunteer in any setting other than a private practice, and receive 

reimbursement for expenses actually incurred, receiving a 1099 for those 

reimbursements is acceptable. If you have received a stipend or educational loan 

repayment from a program designed to encourage demographically underrepresented 

groups to enter the profession, or to improve recruitment and retention in underserved 

regions or settings, a 1099 for the stipend or loan repayment is acceptable. Those paid 

under a 1099 may be audited by the Board to ensure the payment was for one of the 

above purposes. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.23.2(g), (h) and (i) 
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23. Who is eligible to supervise ASWs? 

Only licensed mental health professionals may supervise ASWs, as follows: 

• LCSWs 

• Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFT) 

• Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors (LPCC) 

• Licensed Clinical Psychologists 

• Licensed Educational Psychologists (LEP) (Note: LEPs may only supervise up to 
1,200 hours, which must consist of educationally related mental health services 
that are consistent with the LEP scope of practice described in BPC section 
4989.14) 

• Licensed Physicians certified in Psychiatry by the American Board of Psychiatry 
and Neurology 

Additionally, the supervisor must meet all of the following: 

• If the supervisor is an LCSW, LPCC or LMFT, the supervisor must have 
completed a one-time 15-hour course in supervision (Licensed Clinical 
Psychologists and Physicians certified in Psychiatry are not required to take the 
supervision course); and 

• Maintain a current and active California license that is not under suspension or 
probation. (You can check your supervisor’s status any time here); and 

• Have been licensed in California or any other state for at least two (2) years out 
of the last five (5) years prior to the commencement of supervision; and 

• Have practiced psychotherapy during at least two (2) years out of the last five (5) 
years prior to the commencement of supervision (or, if an LEP, has provided 
psychological counseling pursuant to BPC section 4989.14); OR 

• Provided direct supervision to ASWs, Associate Professional Clinical Counselors, 
Marriage and Family Therapist (MFT) Trainees, and/or Associate MFTs who 
perform psychotherapy during at least two (2) years out of the last five (5) years 
prior to the commencement of supervision. Supervision of psychotherapy 
performed by a student (social work intern or a professional clinical counselor 
trainee) shall be accepted if the supervision performed is substantially equivalent 
to the supervision required for registrants. 

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4989.14 and 4996.20 Regulations cited: Title 16, CCR sections 1870 and 1874 

24. How many supervisees can participate in a session of group supervision? 

Group supervision sessions shall include no more than eight (8) persons receiving 
supervision, even if there are two (2) or more supervisors present. Group supervisors 
must ensure that the amount and degree of supervision is appropriate for each 
supervisee. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.23.1(b)(3) 
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25. Can group supervision be broken into one-hour increments? 

Group supervision can be broken into one-hour sessions, as long as both increments 
(full two hours) are provided in the same week as the experience being claimed. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.23.1(b)(3) 

26. Can I receive supervision via videoconferencing or over the telephone? 

An ASW working in an exempt setting (governmental entity; school, college, or 
university; or an institution that is both nonprofit and charitable) may obtain supervision 
via live two-way videoconferencing. The supervisor is responsible for ensuring that the 
client confidentiality is preserved. 

Individual and group supervision may not be provided over the telephone in any setting. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.23.1 

27. Do my supervisor and I have to be employed by the same employer? 

28. Does my supervisor have to be on site? 

Only in a private practice setting does a supervisor need to be employed by, and 
practice at, the same site as the registrant’s employer. Alternatively, the supervisor may 
be an owner of the private practice. However, if the site is a professional corporation, 
the supervisor must be employed full-time at the site and be actively engaged in 
performing professional services at the site. 

In a setting that is not a private practice, the supervisor may be employed by the ASW’s 
or applicant’s employer on either a paid or volunteer basis. If the supervisor is not 
employed by the supervisee’s employer or is a volunteer, a written oversight agreement 
that addresses the supervisor’s and employer’s responsibilities must be signed by the 
supervisor and the employer prior to commencement of supervision. Please see the 
Board’s website for a sample written oversight agreement. 

In any setting, ASWs and applicants may only perform services at the places where 
their employers permit business to be conducted, which may include performing 
services at other locations, so long as the services are performed under the direction 
and control of their employer and supervisor, and in compliance with the laws pertaining 
to supervision. 

Whether a supervisor is required to be on site depends on the situation. Supervisors 
must consider their responsibilities as defined in LCSW law, which includes taking 
responsibility for, and control of, the quality of clinical social work services being 
provided. Among other responsibilities, supervisors are required to do all of the 
following, whether they are on site or off site: 

10 
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• Ensure that the extent, kind and quality of clinical social work performed by the 
ASW is consistent with the training and experience of the person being 
supervised. 

• Monitor and evaluate the supervisee’s assessment, diagnosis and treatment 
decisions and providing regular feedback. 

• Monitor and evaluate the ability of the ASW to provide services at the site(s) 
where he or she will be practicing and to the particular clientele being served. 

• Monitor and address clinical dynamics, including, but not limited to, 
countertransference-, intrapsychic-, interpersonal-, or trauma-related issues that 
may affect the supervisory or the practitioner-patient relationship. 

• Ensure compliance with all laws governing the practice of clinical social work. 

• Review the supervisee’s progress notes, process notes, and other patient 
treatment records, as deemed appropriate by the supervisor. 

• With the client’s written consent, providing direct observation or review of audio 
or video recordings of the supervisee’s counseling or therapy, as deemed 
appropriate by the supervisor. 

Upon request by the Board, a supervisor is required to provide the Board with 
documentation that verifies the supervisor’s compliance with all requirements. 

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4996.20 and 4996.23.3; Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1870 

29. Where can I find more information about supervision? 

Please see the Guide to Supervision for ASWs. 

30. What forms must I use to record my experience hours and supervision? 

While gaining your hours of experience, use the following forms, available on the 
Board’s website: 

Responsibility Statement for Supervisors of an ASW:  Your supervisor must sign this 
form prior to commencing supervision and provide you with the original. Retain for 
future submission with your Application for Licensure. 

Supervisory Plan:  Your supervisor must sign this form prior to commencing supervision 
and provide you with the original. Retain for future submission with your Application for 
Licensure. 

Experience Verification: This form is completed upon the termination of your supervised 
experience with your supervisor, and must indicate the total hours completed in each 
category under your supervisor, your supervisor’s license information and certain 
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information about your employer. Your supervisor will sign the form and provide you 
with the original for submission with your Application for Licensure. 

Optional Form - Weekly Tracking Log: Log your hours on this form on a weekly basis 
and have your supervisor sign weekly. You will retain the original logs. 

Submission of forms as directed in the licensure application instructions will 
lessen the possibility that the licensing evaluator will need to request additional 
information from you, which will delay the approval of your application. 

31. How do I fill out Experience Verification forms or the Weekly Tracking Log if I 
have more than one supervisor in the same work setting? 

If you are receiving supervision from two individuals in one employment setting, 
document the hours from each supervisor on separate forms. As long as the time 
periods on the two forms overlap and the employment setting is the same, the BBS will 
combine the experience and supervision together when evaluating your experience. 

32. When do I need to send in supervision-related forms? 

All supervision-related forms (Supervisor Responsibility Statement, Supervisory Plan, 
and Experience Verification forms) must be submitted with the Application for Licensure. 

12 
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33. Should I be concerned about abandonment of my Application for Licensure? 

Yes – and abandonment could have major consequences, such as losing experience hours 
that are too old. Once an application is abandoned, an applicant may reapply, but must pay a 
new application fee and meet all current requirements. One of those requirements is that your 
hours are less than six (6) years old. 

If your Application for Licensure is abandoned, you would lose any hours of 
experience that are more than six (6) years old, based on the date the Board receives 
the new Application for Licensure. See question 18 for more information about the six (6)-
year rule. 

In accordance with Title 16, California Code of Regulations (CCR) section 1806, an 
application shall be deemed abandoned in any of the following circumstances: 

• Applicant does not submit the remaining documents or information requested in the 
application deficiency letter within one (1) year from the date of the deficiency letter; 

• Applicant does not complete the application within one (1) year after it has been filed; 

• Applicant who has submitted experience hours does not sit for an examination within 
one (1) year after being notified of initial eligibility to take the examination; 

• Applicant who has submitted experience hours does not take an examination within 
one (1) year from the date the applicant was notified of failing an examination; or, 

• The applicant fails to pay the initial license fee within one (1) year after notification by 
the Board of successful completion of LCSW requirements. 

Statute cited:  BPC section 4996.23; Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1806 

34. What type of employment documentation does the Board require with my 
Application for Licensure? 

If a Paid Employee: You must provide a copy of your W-2 for each year of paid 
employment in each work setting with your Application for Licensure. If your W-2 is not 
available, you may submit a copy of your “Wage and Income Transcript” from the Internal 
Revenue Service. W-2s are required for all tax years during which you gained experience. 
For the current tax year, include a photocopy of your most recent pay stub. A copy of your 
1040 or other tax filing form is not acceptable. 

If a Volunteer Employee: You must provide a letter from your employer verifying your status 
as a volunteer with your Application for Licensure. A sample letter verifying volunteer status 
is available on the Board’s website. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.23.2 

35. Do I need to send in originals of my W-2s or most recent pay stub? 

Originals are not required - photocopies are acceptable. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.23.2 
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36. What additional coursework do I need to take prior to submitting an 
Application for Licensure? 

In addition to possessing a master’s degree in social work from an accredited school of 
social work, an applicant must complete specific courses prior to submitting an 
Application for Licensure. 

Course Required of: Length Content Required 

1. Suicide Risk 
Assessment and 
Intervention 

All applicants submitting 
an application on or 
after January 1, 2021 

(otherwise will be 
required upon license 
renewal). 

6 hours of 
coursework or 
applied experience 

See BPC section 4996.27 

2. Child Abuse Assessment 
and Reporting in 
California 

All applicants 7 hours • See Business & 
Professions Code Section 
28 

• Course must be based on 
California law 

3. Human Sexuality All applicants 10 hours See BPC sections 25 and 
4996.17.2 and 16CCR 
section 1807. 

4. Alcoholism and 
Chemical Substance 
Abuse & Dependency 

All applicants 15 hours See BPC section 4996.17.2 
and 16CCR section 1810. 

5. Aging, Long Term Care 
and Elder/Dependent 
Adult Abuse 

Applicants who entered 
a MSW program after 
1/1/2004 

10 hours See BPC sections 
4996.17.2 and 4996.25. 

6. California Law and 
Ethics 

Applicants with an OUT-
OF-STATE degree 

12 hours See BPC section 
4996.17.2(d)(2)(F) 

7. California Cultures and 
Socioeconomic Position 

Applicants with an OUT-
OF-STATE degree 

15 hours See BPC section 
4996.17.2(d)(2)(G) 

8. Spousal/Partner Abuse 
Assessment, Detection, 
and Intervention 

Applicants with an OUT-
OF-STATE degree 

15 hours See BPC section 
4996.17.2(d)(2)(D) 

9. Spousal/Partner Abuse 
Assessment, Detection, 
and Intervention 

All IN-STATE applicants 
EXCEPT for those who 
entered a MSW 
program prior to 
01/01/1995 

• No specific number of hours for 
those who entered a MSW program 
prior to 12/31/03, but must be of 
sufficient length to cover the topics 
of assessment, detection and 
intervention 

• 15 hours for those who entered a 
MSW program after 1/1/2004 

BPC 
section 
4996.2(f) 
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37. What is required for the Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention 
requirement that takes effect January 1, 2021? 

“Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention” (required of all applicants on and after 
January 1, 2021) does not have to be an actual course. If this content was included 
within your supervised experience, and you can obtain a written certification from the 
program’s director of training, or from your primary supervisor stating that the training 
was included within your supervised experience, it may be accepted in lieu of a course. 

If this content was included within your qualifying degree program, you will need to 
obtain a written certification from the registrar or training director of your school or 
program stating that this coursework was included within the curriculum required for 
graduation, or within the coursework that was completed by you. Otherwise, this 
requirement may be met by taking a six-hour course from a school that holds a regional 
or national institutional accreditation recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, a 
school approved by the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE), 
or an acceptable continuing education provider. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.27 

38. Is my additional coursework too old? 

Coursework may have been taken at any time in the past. 

39. How can I provide verification of my experience if my supervisor is deceased 
or incapacitated? 

The Board will review documentation on a case by case basis in order to make a 
determination. However, we recommend that you submit all of the following: 

• If your supervisor is deceased, documentation such as a copy of the obituary 

• The previously signed, original Supervisor Responsibility Statement 

• The previously signed, original Supervisory Plan 

• Documentation of logged hours 

• Documentation by the employer verifying employment of the supervisor and 
supervisee 

• The written oversight agreement for supervision if your supervisor was not 
employed by your employer. 

Statutes cited:  BPC sections 4996.23, 4996.23.2 and 4996.23.3; Regulations cited: Title 16, CCR section 1870 and 
1870.1 
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40. Do I need to resubmit fingerprints with my Application for Licensure 

Applicants do not need to resubmit fingerprints if one or more of the following is true at 
the time the Board receives the application: 

• Applicant still possesses a current ASW registration number. 

• Applicant has an ASW number that has been cancelled for less than 30 days. 

Regulation cited:  Title 16, CCR section 1815 

41. What happens once I submit my Application for Licensure? 

The Board will evaluate your application and notify you either that: 

• There are one or more deficiencies in your application. You will have one (1) year 
from the date of the initial deficiency notice to clear all deficiencies 

OR 

• You have been found eligible for examination, and will be provided with information 
on how to register. 

Once you pass both required exams: Download the Request for Initial License 
Issuance form, and submit it with the required fee. Your license will be issued within 30 
business days from the date of receipt. 

Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1806 

42. Do I need to maintain a current ASW registration number to participate in the 
clinical exam? 

The Board encourages all individuals to maintain a current Associate registration and to 

continue recording experience hours until licensed as an LCSW, as a safeguard in the 

event that some of the hours submitted are unable to be accepted by the Board either 

now or in the future due to application abandonment and/or the “six-year rule” (see 

question 33 for more information). 

Whether you are required by law to maintain a registration, however, will depend on the 

type of setting you are working in. If working in a private practice, you are required to 

maintain a current Associate registration until your LCSW license has been issued. If 

you are working in an exempt setting (an institution that is both non-profit and 

charitable, a school or a governmental entity), or other non-private practice setting, you 

are not required to maintain a registration once you have submitted your experience 

hours. However, your employer may require it as a condition of employment. 

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4996.14 and 4996.23 Regulation cited: Title 16, CCR section 1806 
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43. Must I continue to have supervision after my experience hours have been 
approved? 

Once the required number of experience hours are gained, you must receive a 
minimum of one hour of direct supervisor contact per week for each practice setting in 
which direct clinical counseling is performed. Once the required number of experience 
hours are gained, further supervision for nonclinical practice shall be at the supervisor’s 
discretion. 

Statute cited: BPC section 4996.23.1(g) 

44. Once I pass both exams, can I start practicing independently? 

No. A successful examinee still must submit a Request for Initial License Issuance form 
and fee before the Board will issue a LCSW license. Submit this form and fee upon 
completion of all licensure requirements– do not submit sooner as it will be rejected. 
Your license will be issued within 30 business days from the date of receipt. 
Independent practice cannot begin until the Board issues a license. Otherwise it is 
considered unlicensed practice, which is subject to disciplinary action by the Board. 

Statutes cited: BPC sections 4996 and 4996.3 
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