
             Law & Ethics Examination 
                               FAQs  
 

 

IMPORTANT 
 
• REGISTRANTS MUST TAKE A CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS EXAMINATION: 

Those who hold an ASW, AMFT or APCC registration will be required to take a 
California Law and Ethics examination a minimum of one time per renewal cycle until 
the examination has been passed.  

• PASSING SCORE REQUIRED FOR SUBSEQUENT REGISTRATIONS: 
Applicants will NOT be able to obtain a subsequent (2nd or 3rd) ASW, AMFT or  
APCC registration without first passing the California Law and Ethics examination. 

 
 

 

Are all registrants required to take the California Law and Ethics examination?  

Yes, all registrants are required to take the California Law and Ethics examination a minimum of 
one time per renewal cycle until the examination has been passed.  

What is a renewal cycle? 

A renewal cycle is for a period of one year.  
Example: The registration expires 09/30/17, renewal cycle is from 10/01/17 to 09/30/18.  
 

What happens if I don’t take the California Law and Ethics examination before my 
registration’s expiration date? 

Your registration will NOT be permitted to renew until you have taken the California Law and 
Ethics examination. 
 

What if I don’t pass the California Law and Ethics examination before my registration 
expires? 

If you take the California Law and Ethics examination a minimum of one time during the renewal 
cycle and the renewal fee has been paid the registration will update. 
 

What happens if I submit my renewal early and haven’t yet taken the California Law and 
Ethics examination? 

Your registration will not update until you have taken the California Law and Ethics examination.  
 

Once I take the California Law and Ethics examination how long will it take for the 
registration to update? 

The Board receives examination results within 24-48 hours of the examination date.  So long as 
the registrant has paid the renewal fee the renewal will update as soon as the examination results 
are received. 
 

What happens if I don’t pass the California Law and Ethics examination? 

You may apply for re-examination immediately however, you may not retake the examination until 
a minimum of 90 days have passed from the date you last took the examination.  
 



 
When is the 12-hour course in California Law and Ethics examination required? 

If a registrant fails to obtain a passing score on the California Law and Ethics examination prior to 
the registration’s expiration date, you must attach proof of completing a 12-hour course in 
California Law and Ethics to regain eligibility to take the California Law and Ethics examination 
during your next renewal cycle. The course is required once per renewal cycle until a passing 
score is obtained. 
 

Where can I take the 12-hour California Law and Ethics course from? 

The 12-hour California Law and Ethics course shall be taken through an acceptable continuing 
education provider, a county, state or other governmental entity, or a college or university.  
 

What happens if I’m required to take the 12-hour course but am unable to complete it before 
my registration expires? 

You will not be permitted to retake the California Law and Ethics examination until the Board 
receives proof of course completion. Your registration will NOT be permitted to renew until you 
have completed the required course and taken the California Law and Ethics examination.  
Remember, if you do not take the examination at least once during any one-year renewal cycle, 
you will not be permitted to renew your registration until the examination has been taken.  

 
What is the waiting period between examination attempts? How many attempts will I have to 
pass the California Law and Ethics examination during a renewal cycle?  

The examination may be retaken after a 90-day waiting period, so long as an application for re-
examination has been submitted to the Board along with the $100 processing fee which would 
provide registrants with at least three (3) attempts to pass the examination during each renewal 
cycle. To obtain the maximum number of attempts, applicants must submit a re-examination 
application and processing fee to the Board in a timely manner and it is suggested to submit with a 
tracking method of the mailing. 

 
What happens if I haven’t passed the California Law and Ethics examination by my 
registration’s 6-year time limit? 

California law permits a registration to be renewed a maximum of five (5) times before being 
cancelled. An individual cannot be granted a subsequent registration number unless he or she has 
passed the Law and Ethics examination. There are no exceptions. 
 

What happens once I pass the California Law and Ethics examination? 

If you are still earning your hours of supervised experience, you will continue as a registrant until 
you have completed your hours. Once you have met all education and experience requirements, 
you will receive an approval letter from the Board. Upon receipt of the approval letter you will then 
apply for the Clinical Examination to the appropriate entity for your license type. It is important to 
remember you must take the examination within one year of the approval.   

What if I am an ASW or MFT Associate and have previously passed the Standard Written 
examination? 

You will have fulfilled the Law and Ethics examination requirement unless your Standard Written 
examination score is more than seven (7) years old. 


	Are all registrants required to take the California Law and Ethics examination?
	What is a renewal cycle?
	What happens if I don’t take the California Law and Ethics examination before my registration’s expiration date?
	What if I don’t pass the California Law and Ethics examination before my registration expires?
	What happens if I submit my renewal early and haven’t yet taken the California Law and Ethics examination?
	Once I take the California Law and Ethics examination how long will it take for the registration to update?
	What happens if I don’t pass the California Law and Ethics examination?
	When is the 12-hour course in California Law and Ethics examination required?
	Where can I take the 12-hour California Law and Ethics course from?
	What happens if I’m required to take the 12-hour course but am unable to complete it before my registration expires?
	What is the waiting period between examination attempts? How many attempts will I have to pass the California Law and Ethics examination during a renewal cycle?
	What happens if I haven’t passed the California Law and Ethics examination by my registration’s 6-year time limit?
	What happens once I pass the California Law and Ethics examination?
	What if I am an ASW or MFT Associate and have previously passed the Standard Written examination?



