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The Board of Behavioral Sciences (Board) requires a therapist to hold a valid and
current California license if the individual is engaging in therapy via telehealth with a
client who is physically located in California (California Code of Regulations Title 16,
§1815.5(a)).

As was discussed at the Telehealth Committee’s January 2021 meeting, many states
have a similar requirement, though some allow for flexibility so that clients who are
travelling or who are transitioning to living in a new state may obtain temporary services
for continuity of care from an out-of-state licensee.

A number of notable examples from other states were provided at the January 2021
meeting. From those examples, a chart was created to allow for a comparison of
various law components (see Attachment A). A narrative description of other states’
laws are provided in Attachment B":

Below we will discuss the least restrictive and most restrictive practice allowances via
telehealth in other states.

Least Restrictive Example #1: Arizona

Arizona (AZ) has a very simple and straightforward exemption from licensure for
therapists not licensed in AZ providing telehealth services. The therapist may provide
behavioral health services in AZ for no more than 90 days in one calendar year if they
are authorized to perform the services by the state or country where they reside, and if
they inform the client of the limited nature of the services and that they are not licensed
in AZ.

" Overview of state-by-state information provided by the California Association of Marriage and Family
Therapists (CAMFT), “The Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy Across State Lines,” The Therapist,
Volume 28, Issue 5 (September/October 2016), pgs. 65-76.
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Least Restrictive Example #2: District of Columbia

The District of Columbia (DC) provides for several options for telehealth services
provided by out-of-state practitioners:

1.

2.

3.

Any health professional not licensed, registered or certified in DC (whether
licensed or unlicensed in the other state), may provide treatment or advice in any
case of emergency. “Emergency” is not defined, nor is a time limit specified.

A health professional licensed in another state may provide care for a limited
time in DC, or provide professional consultation regarding a specific patient,
provided these services are performed in affiliation with a comparable DC
licensee.

A health professional authorized to practice in a state that adjoins DC may
provide telehealth services to a client in DC if they register with the DC board first
and pay a fee.

Most Restrictive Example #1: Utah

Utah (UT) allows an individual licensed in another state or U.S. territory to practice
mental health therapy may provide short term transitional mental health therapy
remotely to a client in UT if all of the following are met:

(i)

(ii)
(i)
(iv)

(V)

(vi)

the therapist is present in the state or territory where they are licensed to practice;
the client relocates to UT;

the client is a client of the therapist immediately before the client relocates to UT;
the therapist provides the short term transitional mental health therapy remotely to
the client only during the 45-day period beginning on the day on which the client
relocates to UT,;

within 10 days after the day on which the client relocates to UT, the therapist
provides written notice to the division of the therapist’s intent to provide short-term

transitional mental health therapy remotely to the client; and

the therapist does not engage in unlawful conduct or unprofessional conduct.

Most Restrictive Example #2: New Jersey

New Jersey (NJ) allows a therapist who is certified or licensed in another state under
requirements the NJ board considers equivalent, to practice for a period not to exceed
10 consecutive business days or 15 business days in any 90-day period. The
practitioner must provide the NJ board a minimum of 10 days' written notice of intention
to practice in NJ, including a summary of qualifications.
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Recommendation

The material presented above is intended to provide examples of how some other
states handle practice across state lines via telehealth. The Committee may wish to
conduct an open discussion of the requirements of other jurisdictions, and begin to
determine which components to consider when developing a concept for California law.

Attachments

Attachment A: Comparison Chart: Other State Agency Laws Re: Telehealth Practice
by Out-of-State Practitioners

Attachment B: Description of Other State Agency Laws Re: Telehealth Practice by
Out-of-State Practitioners

Attachment C: State of Arizona Law Text
Attachment D: State of Colorado Law Text
Attachment E: District of Columbia Law Text
Attachment F: State of Florida Law Text
Attachment G: State of New Jersey Law Text
Attachment H: State of Utah Law Text
Attachment I: State of Wyoming Law Text
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Attachment A

COMPARISON OF OTHER STATE AGENCY LAWS RE:
TELEHEALTH PRACTICE BY OUT-OF-STATE PRACTITIONERS

State Limit: Client May Only Provide Must Reside or | Must Notify Board License Required
Agency Number of Disclosure Therapy in Certain | Practice Outside and Jurisdictions
Days in Year Required Circumstances the State
California 30 days No Not specified No No Licensed as a
Board of gsyfhollolgist Iqt the
octoral level in
Psychology another state or
territory of the United
States or in Canada.
Arizona 90 days Must inform Not specified Yes No Must be authorized
(AZ) client not to perform these
licensed in AZ services in another
and of limited state, country or
nature of pursuant to the laws
services. of a federally
recognized tribe.
Colorado 20 days Must inform Not specified Yes No Currently licensed or
(CO) client not certified in another
licensed in state; services
CO. performed only within

the scope of that
license.
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State Limit: Client May Only Provide Must Reside or | Must Notify Board License Required
Agency Number of Disclosure Therapy in Certain | Practice Outside and Jurisdictions
Days in Year Required Circumstances the State
District of No limit No In an emergency Yes Must register if License not required
Columbia only EXCEPT: licensed in adjoining | in case of
(DC) e If provided for a state. emergency.
limited time in (Not required if Otherwise must be
affiliation with an providing emergency | licensed, registered
in-state licensee; services, or if or certified as a
or providing time- health professional in
e Iflicensed in limited services in another state.
. affiliation with a DC
adJoman state . licensee).
and registers with
DC board.
Florida 15 days No Not specified Yes No Licensed or certified
(FL) to practice by a state
or territory of the
U.S. or by a foreign
country or province.
New 10 No Not specified Yes Must notify within 10 | Certified or licensed
Jersey (NJ) | consecutive days and provide in another state.
business summary of
days or 15 qualifications
business
days in any
90-day
period.
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State Limit: Client May Only Provide Must Reside or | Must Notify Board License Required
Agency Number of Disclosure Therapy in Certain | Practice Outside and Jurisdictions
Days in Year Required Circumstances the State
Utah (UT) | 45 days No e Person must have | Yes Must notify within 10 | Licensed in a state or
been a client days. territory of the U.S.
immediately before
relocating.
e Only allows short-
term transitional
therapy.
Wyoming 30 days No Not specified Yes No Duly authorized to
(WY) perform the activities

and services under
the laws of the state
or county of the
person’s residency.
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Attachment B

DESCRIPTION OF OTHER STATE AGENCY LAWS RE:
TELEHEALTH PRACTICE BY OUT-OF-STATE PRACTITIONERS

California Board of Psychology

In addition, the Board of Psychology permits a person who is licensed as a psychologist
at the doctoral level in another state or territory of the United States or in Canada to
offer psychological services in California for a period not to exceed 30 days in any
calendar year (not specific to telehealth — see Business and Professions Code §2912).

Arizona (Attachment C)

Arizona provides an exemption from licensure for a therapist who is not a resident there,
if the person performs behavioral health services in Arizona for no more than 90 days in
one calendar year, is authorized to perform the services by the state or country where
they reside, and if they inform the client of the limited nature of the services and that
they are not licensed in Arizona (Arizona Revised Statutes 32-3271).

Colorado (Attachment D)

Colorado permits therapists licensed in other states to practice there if the services
provided are within the scope of the person’s license, do not exceed 20 days per year,
are otherwise in compliance with Colorado law, and if they disclose that they are not
licensed in Colorado (Colorado Revised Statutes 12-245-217(2)(e)).

District of Columbia (Attachment E)

The District of Columbia (D.C.) provides a licensure exemption to practitioners of health
occupations if treatment is provided or advice is provided in any case of emergency. It
also provides an exemption to a health occupation licensee in another state who is
providing care for a limited time or who is called on to provide professional consultation
by or on behalf of a specific patient, to treat that specific patient, provided it is done in
affiliation with a comparable state licensee. Its laws also contain a practice allowance
for licensees of adjoining states under certain conditions (Code of the District of
Columbia §3-1205.02).

Florida (Attachment F)

Florida provides a licensure exemption to nonresident therapists if services are
performed for no more than 15 days in any calendar year, and if the person is licensed
or certified to practice those services by either a U.S. state or territory, or a foreign
country or province (Florida Statute 494-014(4)(d)).

New Jersey (Attachment G)

Allows a license exemption if the therapist is certified or licensed in another state under
licensing requirements their board considers equivalent. Such a practitioner may
practice for a period not to exceed 10 consecutive business days or 15 business days in
any 90-day period. The practitioner must also reside outside of, and their major practice
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must be outside of, the state of New Jersey, and they must give the board a summary of
qualifications and a minimum of 10 days' written notice of intention to practice in the
state of New Jersey (New Jersey Statutes 45:8B-6).

Utah (Attachment H)

Provides an allowance to engage in acts within the definition of a mental health
therapist practice without a Utah license for an individual who is licensed, in good
standing, to practice mental health therapy in a state or territory of the United States
outside of Utah. Such a person may provide short term transitional mental health
therapy remotely to a client in Utah only if (Utah Code 58-60-107):

(i) theindividual is present in the state or territory where the individual is licensed
to practice mental health therapy or substance use disorder counseling;

(i) the client relocates to Utah;

(i) the client is a client of the individual immediately before the client relocates to
Utah;

(iv) the individual provides the short term transitional mental health therapy or short
term transitional substance use disorder counseling remotely to the client only
during the 45-day period beginning on the day on which the client relocates to
Utah;

(v) within 10 days after the day on which the client relocates to Utah, the individual
provides written notice to the division of the individual's intent to provide short-
term transitional mental health therapy or short-term transitional substance use
disorder counseling remotely to the client; and

(vi) the individual does not engage in unlawful conduct or unprofessional conduct.

Wyoming (Attachment |)

Wyoming provides a licensure exemption to a nonresident rendering services in
Wyoming for no more than 30 calendar days per year, if the person is authorized to
perform the activities and services under the laws of the state or country of the person’s
residency (Wyoming Statutes 33-38-103(a)(iv)).

Wyoming also permits unlicensed persons to provide nonclinical case management
services to assist a client. The law defines “case management services” to include
advocacy, crisis intervention, linkage, monitoring and follow-up and referral. Each of
those terms is then defined. For example, “crisis intervention” is defined as intervention
and stabilization provided in situations requiring immediate action or resolution for a
specific client. The case manager may provide the initial intervention in a crisis situation
and assist the client in gaining access to other needed clinical crisis intervention.
(Wyoming Statutes 33-38-103(d)).

VIl -10



ATTACHMENT C: STATE OF ARIZONA

Arizona Revised Statutes (excerpts from Title 32, Chapter 33 related to telepractice)

32-3251. Definitions

In this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires:

15. "Telepractice” means providing behavioral health services through interactive audio, video or electronic
communication that occurs between the behavioral health professional and the client, including any
electronic communication for evaluation, diagnosis and treatment, including distance counseling, in a
secure platform, and that meets the requirements of telemedicine pursuant to section 36-3602.

32-3271. Exceptions to licensure; jurisdiction
A This chapter does not apply to:

1. A person who is currently licensed, certified or regulated pursuant to another chapter of this title
and who provides services within the person's scope of practice if the person does not claim to be
licensed pursuant to this chapter.

2. A person who is not a resident of this state if the person:

(a) Performs behavioral health services in this state for not more than ninety days in any one
calendar year as prescribed by board rule.

(b) Is authorized to perform these services pursuant to the laws of the state or country in which
the person resides or pursuant to the laws of a federally recognized tribe.

(c) Informs the client of the limited nature of these services and that the person is not licensed in
this state.

32-3286. Unlawful practice; unlawful use of title; violation; classification; civil penalty; exception
A Except as prescribed in section 32-3271, a person not licensed pursuant to this chapter shall not engage
in the practice of behavioral health.

Arizona Administrative Code (excerpts related to telepractice from Title 4, Chapter 6)

R4-6-101. Definitions
A. The definitions at A.R.S. § 32-3251 apply to this Chapter. Additionally, the following definitions apply to
this Chapter, unless otherwise specified:
28. “Electronic signature” means an electronic sound, symbol, or process that is attached to or logically
associated with a record and that is executed or adopted by an individual with the intent to sign the
record.

B. For the purposes of this Chapter, notifications or communications required to be “written” or “in writing”
may be transmitted or received by mail, electronic transmission, facsimile transmission or hand delivery and
may not be transmitted or received orally. Documents requiring a signature may include a written signature
or electronic signature as defined in subsection (A)(28).

R4-6-1106. Telepractice

A. Except as otherwise provided by statute, an individual who provides counseling, social work, marriage and
family therapy, or substance abuse counseling via telepractice to a client located in Arizona shall be licensed
by the Board.

B. Except as otherwise provided by statute, a licensee who provides counseling, social work, marriage and
family therapy, or substance abuse counseling via telepractice to a client located outside Arizona shall
comply with not only A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 33, and this Chapter but also the laws and rules of the
jurisdiction in which the client is located.

C. An individual who provides counseling, social work, marriage and family therapy, or substance abuse
counseling via telepractice shall:

1. In addition to complying with the requirements in R4-6-1101, document the limitations and risks
associated with telepractice, including but not limited to the following;
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Inherent confidentiality risks of electronic communication,
Potential for technology failure,
Emergency procedures when the licensee is unavailable, and
Manner of identifying the client when using electronic communication that does not involve video;
2. In addition to complying with the requirements in R4-6-1103, include the following in the progress note
required under R4-6-1103(H):
a. Mode of session, whether interactive audio, video, or electronic communication; and
b. Physical location of the client during the session.

oo oo

Please review the Board’s statutes and rules in their entirety for the most up to date, accurate information.
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Attachment D
State of Colorado

Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS) 2020

CRS 12-245-217. Scope of article - exemptions. (1) Any person engaged in the
practice of religious ministry shall not be required to comply with the provisions of this
article 245; except that the person shall not hold himself or herself out to the public by
any title incorporating the terms "psychologist", "social worker", "licensed social worker",
"LSW", "licensed clinical social worker", "clinical social worker", "LCSW", "licensed
marriage and family therapist", "LMFT", "licensed professional counselor”, "LPC",
"addiction counselor", "licensed addiction counselor", "LAC", "certified addiction
counselor", or "CAC" unless that person has been licensed or certified pursuant to this

article 245.
(2) The provisions of this article 245 shall not apply to:

(a) The practice of employment or rehabilitation counseling as performed in the private
and public sectors; except that the provisions of this article 245 shall apply to
employment or rehabilitation counselors practicing psychotherapy in the field of mental
health;

(b) Employees of the state department of human services, employees of county
departments of human or social services, or personnel under the direct supervision and
control of the state department of human services or any county department of human
or social services for work undertaken as part of their employment;

(c) Persons who are licensed pursuant to section 22-60.5-210 and who are not licensed
under this article 245 for work undertaken as part of their employment by, or contractual
agreement with, the public schools;

(d) Mediators resolving judicial disputes pursuant to part 3 of article 22 of title 13;

(e) A person who resides in another state and who is currently licensed or certified as a
psychologist, marriage and family therapist, clinical social worker, professional
counselor, or addiction counselor in that state to the extent that the licensed or certified
person performs activities or services in this state, if the activities and services are:

(I) Performed within the scope of the person's license or certification;
(I1) Do not exceed twenty days per year in this state;

(111) Are not otherwise in violation of this article 245; and

(

IV) Disclosed to the public that the person is not licensed or certified in this state;
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(f) A professional coach, including a life coach, executive coach, personal coach, or
business coach, who has had coach-specific training and who serves clients exclusively
asa

coach, as long as the professional coach does not engage in the practice of psychology,
social work, marriage and family therapy, licensed professional counseling,
psychotherapy, or addiction counseling, as those practices are defined in this article
245,

(g) Students who are enrolled in a school program and are practicing as part of a school
practicum or clinical program; or

(h) A professional practicing auricular acudetox in accordance with section 12-245-233.

(3) Nothing in this section limits the applicability of section 18-3-405.5, which applies to
any person while practicing psychotherapy as defined in this article 245.

(4) The provisions of section 12-245-703 do not apply to employees of community
mental health centers or clinics as those centers or clinics are defined by section 27-66-
101, but persons practicing outside the scope of employment as employees of a facility
defined by section 27-66-101 are subject to the provisions of section 12-245-703.

Source: L. 2019: Entire title R&RE with relocations, (HB 19-1172), ch. 136, p. 1235, § 1, effective October
1. L. 2020: (2)(e)(IV) amended and (2)(g) and (2)(h) added, (HB 20-1206), ch. 304, p. 1528, § 11,
effective July 14. Editor's note: This section is similar to former § 12-43-215 as it existed prior to 2019.
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Attachment E
District of Columbia

Code of the District of Columbia
§ 3-1205.02. Exemptions.

(a) The provisions of this chapter prohibiting the practice of a health occupation without
a District of Columbia license, registration, or certification shall not apply:

(1) To an individual who administers treatment or provides advice in any case of
emergency;

(2) To an individual employed in the District by the federal government, while he or she
is acting in the official discharge of the duties of employment;

(2A) To an individual engaged in the practice of pharmaceutical detailing for less than
30 consecutive days per calendar year,;

(3) To an individual, licensed, registered, or certified to practice a health occupation in a
state, who is providing care to an individual, an animal, or group for a limited period of
time, or who is called from a state in professional consultation by or on behalf of a
specific patient, animal, or client to visit, examine, treat, or provide advice regarding the
specific patient, animal, or client in the District, or to give a demonstration of a
procedure or clinic in the District; provided, that the individual engages in the provision
of care, consultation, demonstration, or clinic in affiliation with a comparable health
professional licensed, registered, or certified pursuant to this chapter;

(3A) To an individual retained to testify as an expert witness in any court or
administrative proceeding, hearing, or trial;

(4) To a health professional who is authorized to practice a health occupation in any
state adjoining the District who treats patients in the District if:

(A) The health professional does not have an office or other regularly appointed place in
the District to meet patients;

(B) The health professional registers with the appropriate board and pays the
registration fee prescribed by the board prior to practicing in the District; and

(C) The state in which the individual is licensed allows individuals licensed by the

District in that particular health profession to practice in that state under the conditions
set forth in this section.
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(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subparagraphs (A), (B), and (C) of subsection
(a)(4) of this section, a health professional practicing in the District pursuant to
subsection (a)(4) of this section shall not see patients, animals, or clients in the office or
other place of practice of a District licensee, or otherwise circumvent the provisions of
this chapter.

(Mar. 25, 1986, D.C. Law 6-99, § 502, 33 DCR 729; Mar. 25, 2009, D.C. Law 17-353, §
188(b), 56 DCR 1117; July 18, 2009, D.C. Law 18-26, § 2(e)(3), 56 DCR 4043; Mar. 26,
2014, D.C. Law 20-96, § 102(1), 61 DCR 1184; Oct. 22, 2015, D.C. Law 21-36, §
5032(a), 62 DCR 10905.)
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Attachment F
Florida Law

Florida Statute 491.014 Exemptions.—

(1) No provision of this chapter shall be construed to limit the practice of physicians
licensed pursuant to chapter 458 or chapter 459, or psychologists licensed pursuant to
chapter 490, so long as they do not unlawfully hold themselves out to the public as
possessing a license, provisional license, registration, or certificate issued pursuant to
this chapter or use a professional title protected by this chapter.

(2) No provision of this chapter shall be construed to limit the practice of nursing,
school psychology, or psychology, or to prevent qualified members of other professions
from doing work of a nature consistent with their training and licensure, so long as they
do not hold themselves out to the public as possessing a license, provisional license,
registration, or certificate issued pursuant to this chapter or use a title protected by this
chapter.

(3) No provision of this chapter shall be construed to limit the performance of activities
of a rabbi, priest, minister, or member of the clergy of any religious denomination or
sect, or use of the terms “Christian counselor” or “Christian clinical counselor” when the
activities are within the scope of the performance of his or her regular or specialized
ministerial duties and no compensation is received by him or her, or when such
activities are performed, with or without compensation, by a person for or under the
auspices or sponsorship, individually or in conjunction with others, of an established and
legally cognizable church, denomination, or sect, and when the person rendering
service remains accountable to the established authority thereof.

(4) No person shall be required to be licensed, provisionally licensed, registered, or
certified under this chapter who:

(a) Is a salaried employee of a government agency; a developmental disability facility
or program; a mental health, alcohol, or drug abuse facility operating under chapter 393,
chapter 394, or chapter 397; the statewide child care resource and referral network
operating under s. 1002.92; a child-placing or child-caring agency licensed pursuant to
chapter 409; a domestic violence center certified pursuant to chapter 39; an accredited
academic institution; or a research institution, if such employee is performing duties for
which he or she was trained and hired solely within the confines of such agency, facility,
or institution, so long as the employee is not held out to the public as a clinical social
worker, mental health counselor, or marriage and family therapist.

(b) Is a salaried employee of a private, nonprofit organization providing counseling
services to children, youth, and families, if such services are provided for no charge, if
such employee is performing duties for which he or she was trained and hired, so long
as the employee is not held out to the public as a clinical social worker, mental health
counselor, or marriage and family therapist.

(c) Is a student providing services regulated under this chapter who is pursuing a
course of study which leads to a degree in a profession regulated by this chapter, is
providing services in a training setting, provided such services and associated activities
constitute part of a supervised course of study, and is designated by the title “student
intern.”

(d) Is not a resident of this state but offers services in this state, provided:
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1. Such services are performed for no more than 15 days in any calendar year; and

2. Such nonresident is licensed or certified to practice the services provided by a state
or territory of the United States or by a foreign country or province.

(5) No provision of this chapter shall be construed to limit the practice of any individual
who solely engages in behavior analysis so long as he or she does not hold himself or
herself out to the public as possessing a license issued pursuant to this chapter or use a
title protected by this chapter.

(6) Nothing in subsections (2)-(4) shall exempt any person from the provisions of s.
491.012(1)(a)-(c), (1), and (m).

(7) Except as stipulated by the board, the exemptions contained in this section do not
apply to any person licensed under this chapter whose license has been suspended or
revoked by the board or another jurisdiction.

(8) Nothing in this section shall be construed to exempt a person from meeting the
minimum standards of performance in professional activities when measured against
generally prevailing peer performance, including the undertaking of activities for which
the person is not qualified by training or experience.

History.—ss. 15, 19, ch. 87-252; ss. 12, 19, 20, ch. 90-263; s. 4, ch. 91-429; s. 120, ch.
92-149; s. 34, ch. 93-39; s. 15, ch. 95-279; s. 512, ch. 97-103; s. 18, ch. 97-198; s. 210,
ch. 97-264; s. 157, ch. 98-403; s. 171, ch. 99-397; s. 128, ch. 2001-277; s. 63, ch. 2006-
227; s. 25, ch. 2010-210; s. 27, ch. 2013-252.
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Attachment G
State of New Jersey

New Jersey Statutes: State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners Law
45:8B-6. Unlicensed persons, certain activities permitted.

An individual who is not a licensed practicing marriage and family therapist or a licensed
associate marriage and family therapist shall not be limited in his activities:

(a) As part of his duties as an employee of:

(1) an accredited academic institution, a federal, State, county or local governmental
institution or agency, or a research facility while performing those duties for which he
was employed by the institution, agency or facility;

(2) an organization which is nonprofit and which is, in the opinion of the board, a bona
fide community agency, while performing those duties for which he was employed by
the agency;

(3) a proprietary organization while performing those duties for which he was employed
by the organization, provided his marriage and family therapy duties are under the direct
supervision of a licensed practicing marriage and family therapist.

(b) As a student of marriage and family therapy, marriage and family therapy intern or
person preparing for the practice of marriage and family therapy under qualified
supervision in a training institution or facility recognized by the board, provided he is
designated by such titles as "marriage and family therapy intern," or others, clearly
indicating the training status.

(c) As a practicing marriage and family therapist for a period not to exceed 10
consecutive business days or 15 business days in any 90-day period, if he resides
outside and his major practice is outside of the State of New Jersey, and gives the
board a summary of his qualifications and a minimum of 10 days' written notice of his
intention to practice in the State of New Jersey under this subsection, provided he (1) is
certified or licensed in another state under requirements the board considers to be the
equivalent of requirements for licensing as a marriage and family therapist under this
act, or (2) resides in a state which does not certify or license marriage and family
therapists and the board considers his professional qualifications to be the equivalent of
requirements for licensing under this act; and is not adjudged and notified by the board
that he is ineligible for licensing under this act.

(d) (Deleted by amendment, P.L.2005, c.49.)

(e) (Deleted by amendment, P.L.2017, ¢.350)

L.1968, c.401, s.6; amended 1995, ¢.366, s.5; 2005, c.49, s.1; 2017, c.350, s.3.
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Utah Code ATTACHMENT H: STATE OF UTAH

58-60-107 Exemptions from licensure.

(1) Except as modified in Section 58-60-103, the exemptions from licensure in Section 58-1-307
apply to this chapter.

(2) In addition to the exemptions from licensure in Section 58-1-307, the following may engage in
acts included within the definition of practice as a mental health therapist, subject to the stated
circumstances and limitations, without being licensed under this chapter:

(a) the following when practicing within the scope of the license held:

(i) a physician and surgeon or osteopathic physician and surgeon licensed under Chapter 67,
Utah Medical Practice Act, or Chapter 68, Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act;

(i) an advanced practice registered nurse, specializing in psychiatric mental health nursing,
licensed under Chapter 31b, Nurse Practice Act; and

(iif) a psychologist licensed under Chapter 61, Psychologist Licensing Act;

(b) a recognized member of the clergy while functioning in a ministerial capacity as long as the
member of the clergy does not represent that the member of the clergy is, or use the title of, a
license classification in Subsection 58-60-102(5);

(c) an individual who is offering expert testimony in a proceeding before a court, administrative
hearing, deposition upon the order of a court or other body having power to order the
deposition, or a proceeding before a master, referee, or alternative dispute resolution
provider;

(d) an individual engaged in performing hypnosis who is not licensed under this title in a
profession which includes hypnosis in its scope of practice, and who:

(i)
(A) induces a hypnotic state in a client for the purpose of increasing motivation or altering
lifestyles or habits, such as eating or smoking, through hypnosis;
(B) consults with a client to determine current motivation and behavior patterns;
(C) prepares the client to enter hypnotic states by explaining how hypnosis works and what
the client will experience;
(D) tests clients to determine degrees of suggestibility;
(E) applies hypnotic techniques based on interpretation of consultation results and analysis of
client's motivation and behavior patterns; and
(F) trains clients in self-hypnosis conditioning;
(i) may not:
(A) engage in the practice of mental health therapy;
(B) use the title of a license classification in Subsection 58-60-102(5); or
(C) use hypnosis with or treat a medical, psychological, or dental condition defined in
generally recognized diagnostic and statistical manuals of medical, psychological, or
dental disorders;

(e) an individual's exemption from licensure under Subsection 58-1-307(1)(b) terminates when
the student's training is no longer supervised by qualified faculty or staff and the activities are
no longer a defined part of the degree program,;

(f) an individual holding an earned doctoral degree or master's degree in social work, marriage
and family therapy, or clinical mental health counseling, who is employed by an accredited
institution of higher education and who conducts research and teaches in that individual's
professional field, but only if the individual does not engage in providing or supervising
professional services regulated under this chapter to individuals or groups regardless of
whether there is compensation for the services;

(g) an individual in an on-the-job training program approved by the division while under the
supervision of qualified persons;
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(h) an individual providing general education in the subjects of alcohol, drug use, or substance
use disorders, including prevention;

(i) an individual providing advice or counsel to another individual in a setting of their association
as friends or relatives and in a nonprofessional and noncommercial relationship, if there is no
compensation paid for the advice or counsel; and

(j) an individual who is licensed, in good standing, to practice mental health therapy or substance
use disorder counseling in a state or territory of the United States outside of Utah may provide
short term transitional mental health therapy remotely or short term transitional substance use
disorder counseling remotely to a client in Utah only if:

() the individual is present in the state or territory where the individual is licensed to practice
mental health therapy or substance use disorder counseling;

(ii) the client relocates to Utah;

(i) the client is a client of the individual immediately before the client relocates to Utah;

(iv) the individual provides the short term transitional mental health therapy or short term
transitional substance use disorder counseling remotely to the client only during the 45 day
period beginning on the day on which the client relocates to Utah;

(v) within 10 days after the day on which the client relocates to Utah, the individual provides
written notice to the division of the individual's intent to provide short term transitional mental
health therapy or short term transitional substance use disorder counseling remotely to the
client; and

(vi) the individual does not engage in unlawful conduct or unprofessional conduct.

Amended by Chapter 16, 2013 General Session
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State of Wyoming

Wyoming Statutes

TITLE 33 - PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER 38 - PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS, MARRIAGE AND FAMILY
THERAPISTS, SOCIAL WORKERS AND CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY SPECIALISTS
33-38-103. Exemptions.

(a) Nothing in this act shall be construed to apply to the activities and services of:

(i) Qualified members of other legally recognized professions who are otherwise
licensed or certified by this state, such as physicians, psychologists or registered
nurses, from performing services consistent with the laws of this state, their training and
the code of ethics of their professions, provided they do not represent themselves to be
practicing the professions regulated under this act and do not represent themselves to
be professional counselors, clinical social workers, marriage and family therapists or
addiction therapists, or certified social workers, certified addictions practitioners or
certified mental health workers;

(i) Repealed By Laws 1997, ch. 153, 2.

(iii) A student pursuing a course of study in these professions in an accredited institution
of higher education if these activities are performed under clinical supervision and
constitute a part of the supervised course of study, provided that such a person be
designated a "student";

(iv) Nonresidents who render services in this state for not more than thirty (30) days
during any calendar year, provided that the persons are duly authorized to perform the
activities and services under the laws of the state or county of the person's residency;

(v) A rabbi, priest, minister, clergy or any person acting as a lay religious counselor of
any religious denomination or sect provided the activities and services are within the
scope of the performance of regular or specialized ministerial duties, the counseling is
clearly identified as being based on religious principles and there is no fee for services
regulated under this act. This paragraph does not preclude acceptance of donations of
any kind;

(vi) Persons offering unpaid volunteer services for organizations or charities provided
that these persons are approved by the organizations or agencies for whom the
services are rendered;

(vii) School social workers and school counselors certified under the professional
teaching standards board when employed by local school districts.

(b) Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 181, 3.
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(c) Nothing in this act shall prevent a qualified person exempted by this section from
being licensed or certified under this act.

(d) Nothing in this act shall prevent persons who are not licensed or certified under this
act from providing nonclinical case management services to assist the client. Case
management services include advocacy, crisis intervention, linkage, monitoring and
followup and referral. For purposes of this subsection:

(i) "Advocacy" means advocacy on behalf of a specific client for the purpose of
accessing needed services;

(ii) "Crisis intervention" means intervention and stabilization provided in situations
requiring immediate action or resolution for a specific client. The case manager may
provide the initial intervention in a crisis situation and assist the client in gaining access
to other needed clinical crisis intervention;

(iii) "Linkage" means working with clients or service providers to secure access to
services. Activities include making telephone calls to agencies to arrange appointments
or services following the initial referral process and preparing clients for appointments;

(iv) "Monitoring and followup" means contacting the client or others to ensure that a
client is following a prescribed service plan and monitoring the progress and impact of
that plan;

(v) "Referral" means arranging initial appointments with service providers or informing
clients of services available and addresses and telephone numbers of agencies
providing services.

(e) Nothing in this act shall prevent persons who are not licensed or certified under this
act from advising or directing an individual regarding the conduct and behavior required
as a participant of a program or system.

(f) Nothing in this act shall prevent persons who are not licensed or certified under this
act from providing facilitation, leadership or instruction in educational programs
addressing behaviors or life skills. This subsection shall not apply to persons providing
facilitation, leadership or instruction to persons in the custody of the department of
corrections unless the persons in custody have been subjected to mental health
screening.
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