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STEP 1: OBTAIN A MASTER’S DEGREE
F |VE STE PS STEP 2: REGISTER WITH THE BOARD

STEP 3: PASS THE CA LAW & ETHICS EXAM
TO STEP 4: APPLY FOR LICENSURE

LICE NSU RE STEP 5: PASS THE CLINICAL EXAM




MASTER’S DEGREE

I 17 = = [

An educational institution approved by the California Bureau for Private Post Secondary Education X X

An educational institution accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family X

Therapy Education (COAMFTE)

An educational institution accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) X

An Educational institution approved by one of the following: Western Association of Schools and X

Colleges, Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, Middle States Association of Colleges
and Secondary Schools, New England Association of Schools and Colleges, North Central Association of
Colleges and Secondary Schools, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

* Submit the Registration Application,
Transcripts, Livescan, Degree Program Cert
(LMFT & LPCC), Fee ($150)

REGISTERING * Allows a candidate to collect supervised
WITH THE experience hours

* Valid for six years (renewable five consecutive
BOARD ey s vears

* Must take the California Law & Ethics to renew

* Registrants can apply for a subsequent
registration after six years (Need to have
passed the California Law & Ethics and cannot
practice in non-exempt setting)

6/24/2021



6/24/2021

90 DAY RULE

An applicant for registration can begin to collect post degree supervised
experience hours if:

* The Board receives the application for registration within 90 days from the
date of graduation (conferral).

* Fingerprinted by the agency where they are gaining hours.

REGISTRATION BY THE NUMBERS

INITIAL APPS SUBSEQUENT APPS  REGISTRANT
RECEIVED RECEIVED POPULATION

AMFT 2,887 742 14,792
ASW 3,237 653 16,572
APCC 1,348 58 5,579
TOTAL APPS 7,472 1,453 36,943
RECEIVED
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Forget to renew (loss of hours, unlicensed
practice)

Unaware that the CA Law & Ethics Exam is
required for renewal

REGISTRATION Unaware of the need to apply for a subsequent
ISSUES registration

Unaware of the prohibition of subsequent
registrations in non-exempt settings

Unable to gain hours within six years (Average
length to collect hours is three years)

CALIFORNIA LAW & ETHICS EXAM

* Simple form and fee for applying

* Applicants will be approved if they have a registration that is current,
delinquent or cancelled

* The CA Law & Ethics Exam can be taken every 90 days

* If the candidate needs to retake the CA Law & Ethics Exam and they have a
current or delinquent renewal, they will have to provide a certificate for
completing a 12-hour CA Law & Ethics course with the retake application
submitted after their last renewal




DEVELOPED BY

SCORED QUESTIONS
PRE-TEST QUESTIONS

TIME ALLOTTED

RETAKE WAIT PERIOD
CURRENT PASS RATE (YTD)
EXAMS ADMINISTERED (YTD)

CALIFORNIA LAW & ETHICS EXAM DETAIL

Board of Behavioral Sciences and  Board of Behavioral Sciences and  Board of Behavioral Sciences and

DCA Office of Professional DCA Office of Professional DCA Office of Professional
Examination Services Examination Services Examination Services

50 50 50

25 25 25

90 Minutes 90 Minutes 90 Minutes

90 Days 90 Days 90 Days

82% 75% 80%

3,543 1,311 3,693

CA LAW &
ETHICS EXAM

ISSUES

Unaware that the CA Law & Ethics Exam is
needed for renewal

Confusion as to when the 12-hour CA Law &
Ethics course is required for retake

There is no limit to the amount of exam attempts

Prevents issuance of a subsequent registration
for those who have not passed

Depending on exam status a passing score may
never expire (Clinical exam and seven-year rule)
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APPLYING FOR LICENSURE

* Applicants must submit the following: Supervisory Plan, Supervisor
Responsibility Statement, Volunteer Letter, W-2s, Experience Verification,
Written Agreements, Fee ($250/5500)

* SIXYEAR RULE: only hours that were gained within the previous six years
from the date the application was received by the Board count (LMFT:
Some practicum will count)

11

LICENSE APPLICATIONS BY THE NUMBERS

LICENSE APPS RECEIVED LICENSING
(FY 20/21 to date) POPULATION

LMFT 3,154 50,208
LCSW 2,553 33,304
LPCC 445 2,692
TOTAL APPS 6,132 86,204
RECEIVED
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LICENSE
APPLICATION
ESUES

Deficiencies (usually run about 20 30%)

Confusion about the six year rule for supervised
experience and the six year limitation of a registration

Evaluation and calculation of hours can be complicated

Non qualifying degrees

Understanding of appropriate supervision settings

CLINICAL EXAM SPECIFICS

Developed By

Scored Questions

Pre-Test Questions

Time Allotted

Days Until Retake

Current Pass Rate (FY YTD)

Exams Administered (FY YTD)

Board of Behavioral Sciences and
DCA Office of Professional
Examination Services

150

25

240 Minutes
120 Days
77%

4,315

National Board for Certified
Counselors and the Center for
Credentialing & Education (CCE)

Approx. 200
N/A

180 Minutes
90 Days
81%

324

Association of Social
Work Boards

150

20

240 Minutes
90 Days
81%

3,584

LIMITATION: Must pass within seven years from first attempt or need to start over by taking the Law & Ethics Exam

Board of Behavioral Sciences and
DCA Office of Professional
Examination Services

100

25

150 Minutes
180 Days
74%

17723
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Candidate not maintaining their exam
eligibility by taking the exam every year

CLINICAL Confusion about accepting the National
EXAM Clinical Mental Health Counselor Exam

ESUES Candidates requesting extension of
exam eligibility

The California exam may not be
recognized by other jurisdictions

QUESTIONS
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