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Summary:

This bill would require the Board to consider including a course in menopausal mental
or physical health in its continuing education (CE) requirements.

Existing Law:

1) Requires the director of the Department of Consumer Affairs to establish, by
regulation, guidelines to prescribe components for mandatory continuing education
programs administered by any board within the department. The guidelines shall be
developed to ensure that mandatory continuing education is used as a means to
create a more competent licensing population, thereby enhancing public protection.
(Business and Professions Code (BPC) §166)

2) Requires licensees of the Board of Behavioral Sciences (Board), upon renewal of
their license, to certify to the Board that they have completed at least 36 hours of
approved continuing education in or relevant to their field of practice in the past 2
years. (BPC §8§4980.54(c), 4989.34(a), 4996.22(a), 4999.76(a)).

3) Requires that 6 hours of the required 36 hours of continuing education taken in a
renewal period be in the subject of law and ethics. (California Code of Regulations
(CCR) Title 16, §1887.3(c))

4) Specifies that continuing education training, education, and coursework must be
from approved providers and must incorporate one or more of the following (BPC
§8§4980.54(h), 4989.34(c), 4996.22(f), 4999.76(f) :

a) Aspects of the discipline that are fundamental to the understanding or practice of
the profession for which licensed;

b) Aspects of the discipline for which licensed where significant recent
developments have occurred; and



c) Aspects of other disciplines that enhance the understanding or practice of the
profession for which licensed.

5) Specifies that the required continuing education be obtained from either an
accredited or approved school, or from a source specified by the Board as
acceptable in regulations. (BPC §§ 4980.54(f), 4989.34(b), 4996.22(d), 4999.76(d))

6) Specifies in regulations that in addition to an accredited or approved school, a
continuing education provider may be a board-recognized approval agency, a
provider approved or registered by a board-recognized approval agency, or a
professional association that is recognized by the Board as a continuing education
provider. (16 CCR §1887.4.3(a))

This Bill:

1) Requires the Board to consider including a course in menopausal mental or physical
health as part of its continuing education requirements for licensed marriage and
family therapists (LMFTs), educational psychologists (LEPs), clinical social workers
(LCSWs), and professional clinical counselors (LPCCs). (BPC §§4980.54, 4989.34,
4996.22, 4999.76)

2) Also provides a similar requirement for the Medical Board of California, the Board of
Registered Nursing, the Board of Psychology, and the Physician Assistant Board.
(BPC §§2191, 2811.5, 2914 .4, 3524.5))

Comment:

1) Author’s Intent. The author’s office states there is a lack of knowledge in the
general population, and a lack of training in medical schools, regarding menopause.
They believe that coursework in menopause mental and physical health will bring
awareness to the issues that those experiencing menopause face.

2) Course Content Already Permitted. The Board’s licensing laws already permit
continuing education coursework that is in or relevant to the practice of that
profession. The Board would currently accept a course in menopausal mental
health toward continuing education requirements.

There is an extremely wide variety of continuing education courses available to the
Board’s licensees, covering numerous topics in a wide range of specialties, that
pertain to the practice of the professions the Board regulates. Aside from requiring a
California law and ethics CE course, the Board leaves it to the licensee to determine
what course CE topics are most relevant and beneficial to them in their practice.

The Board should consider whether requiring certain courses, which already pertain
to the practice of the Board’s professions and are therefore already permitted, raises
the question of whether or not courses covering other topics should also be required.



3)

4)

5)

6)

Relevance of Menopausal Physical Health. This bill specifies the Board must
consider including a course in menopausal mental or physical health in its CE
requirements. While mental and physical health can be interrelated, it is debatable
whether a course that solely covered menopausal physical heath, with no inclusion
of mental health, would be relevant to the practice of the professions the Board
regulates.

Related Legislation. AB 2581 (Maienschein) requires the Board to consider
including a course in maternal mental health in its continuing education
requirements.

Support and Opposition.

Support:
California Retired Teachers Association

Opposition:
None at this time.

History.

04/10/24 Read second time and amended.

04/09/24 From committee: Amend, and do pass as amended and re-refer to Com.
on APPR. (Ayes 18. Noes 0.) (April 9).

04/02/24 Re-referred to Com. on B. & P.

04/01/24 From committee chair, with author's amendments: Amend, and re-refer to
Com. on B. & P. Read second time and amended.

02/26/24 Referred to Com. on B. & P.

02/09/24 From printer. May be heard in committee March 10.

02/08/24 Read first time. To print.
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AMENDED IN ASSEMBLY APRIL 10, 2024
AMENDED IN ASSEMBLY APRIL 1, 2024

california legislature—2023-24 regular session

ASSEMBLY BILL No. 2270

Introduced by Assembly Member Maienschein
(Coauthor: Assembly Member Bains)

February 8, 2024

An act to add Scctions 2191.3, 2811.7, 2914.4, 3524.6, 4980.56.
498935499629 and-4999-77te amend Sections 2191, 2811.5, 3524.5,
4980.54, 4989.34, 4996.22, and 4999.76 of, and to add Section 2914.4
to, the Business and Professions Code, relating to healing arts.

legislative counsel’s digest

AB 2270, as amended, Maienschein. Healing arts: continuing
education: menopausal mental or physical health.

Existing law, the Medical Practice Act, establishes the Medical Board
of California and sets forth its powers and duties relating to the licensure
and regulation of physicians and—surgeens: surgeons, including
osteopathic physicians and surgeons. Existing law, the Nursing Practice
Act, establishes the Board of Registered Nursing and sets forth its
powers and duties relating to the licensure and regulation of the practice
of nursing. Existing law, the Psychology Licensing Law, establishes the
Board of Psychology and sets forth its powers and duties relating to the
licensure and regulation of psychologists. Existing law, the Physician
Assistant Practice Act, establishes the Physician Assistant Board and
sets forth its powers and duties relating to the licensure and regulation
of physician assistants.
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Existing law, the Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Act, the
Clinical Social Worker Practice Act, the Licensed Professional Clinical
Counselor Act, and the Educational Psychologist Practice Act, provides
for the licensure and regulation of the practices of marriage and family
therapy, clinical social work, professional clinical counseling, and
education psychology, respectively, by the Board of Behavioral
Sciences.

Existing law establishes continuing education requirements for all of
these various healing arts practitioners.

This bill would require-licensees—under-these-provisions-to-have-the

N  thei . s . lncati |
professional-development requirements: the above-specified boards, in
determining their continuing education requirements, to consider
including a course in menopausal mental or physical health.

Vote: majority. Appropriation: no. Fiscal committee: yes.
State-mandated local program: no.

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

1 SECTION 1. Section 2191 of the Business and Professions

2 Code is amended to read:

3 2191. (a) Indetermining its continuing education requirements,

4 the board shall consider including a course in human sexuality,

5 defined as the study of a human being as a sexual being and how

6 heershefunetions they function with respect thereto, and nutrition

7 to be taken by those licensees whose practices may require

8 knowledge in those areas.

9 (b) The board shall consider including a course in child abuse
10 detection and treatment to be taken by those licensees whose
11 practices are of a nature that there is a likelihood of contact with
12 abused or neglected children.

13 (c) The board shall consider including a course in acupuncture
14 to be taken by those licensees whose practices may require
15 knowledge in the area of acupuncture and whose education has
16 not included instruction in acupuncture.

17 (d) The board shall encourage every physician and surgeon to
18 take nutrition as part of-his—er-her their continuing education,
19 particularly a physician and surgeon involved in primary care.
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(e) The board shall consider including a course in elder abuse
detection and treatment to be taken by those licensees whose
practices are of a nature that there is a likelihood of contact with
abused or neglected persons 65 years of age and older.

(f) In determining its continuing education requirements, the
board shall consider including a course in the early detection and
treatment of substance abusing pregnant women to be taken by
those licensees whose practices are of a nature that there is a
likelihood of contact with these women.

(g) In determining its continuing education requirements, the
board shall consider including a course in the special care needs
of—drug—addieted drug-addicted infants to be taken by those
licensees whose practices are of a nature that there is a likelihood
of contact with these infants.

(h) In determining its continuing education requirements, the
board shall consider including a course providing training and
guidelines on how to routinely screen for signs exhibited by abused
women, particularly for physicians and surgeons in emergency,
surgical, primary care, pediatric, prenatal, and mental health
settings. In the event the board establishes a requirement for
continuing education coursework in spousal or partner abuse
detection or treatment, that requirement shall be met by each
licensee within no more than four years from the date the
requirement is imposed.

(1) In determining its continuing education requirements, the
board shall consider including a course in the special care needs
of individuals and their families facing end-of-life issues, including,
but not limited to, all of the following:

(1) Pain and symptom management.

(2) The psycho-social dynamics of death.

(3) Dying and bereavement.

(4) Hospice care.

(j) In determining its continuing education requirements, the
board shall give its highest priority to considering a course on pain
management and the risks of addiction associated with the use of
Schedule IT drugs.

(k) In determining its continuing education requirements, the
board shall consider including a course in geriatric care for
emergency room physicians and surgeons.
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() In determining its continuing education requirements, the
board shall consider including a course in menopausal mental or
physical health.

SEC. 2. Section 2811.5 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

2811.5. (a) Each person renewing their license under Section
2811 shall submit proof satisfactory to the board that, during the
preceding two-year period, they have been informed of the
developments in the registered nurse field or in any special area
of practice engaged in by the licensee, occurring since the last
renewal thereof, either by pursuing a course or courses of
continuing education in the registered nurse field or relevant to
the practice of the licensee, and approved by the board, or by other
means deemed equivalent by the board.

(b) Notwithstanding Section 10231.5 of the Government Code,
the board, in compliance with Section 9795 of the Government
Code, shall do the following:

(1) By January 1, 2019, deliver a report to the appropriate
legislative policy committees detailing a comprehensive plan for
approving and disapproving continuing education opportunities.

(2) By January 1, 2020, report to the appropriate legislative
committees on its progress implementing this plan.

(c) For purposes of this section, the board shall, by regulation,
establish standards for continuing education. The standards shall
be established in a manner to ensure that a variety of alternative
forms of continuing education are available to licensees, including,
but not limited to, online, academic studies, in-service education,
institutes, seminars, lectures, conferences, workshops, extension
studies, and home study programs. The standards shall take
cognizance of specialized areas of practice, and content shall be
relevant to the practice of nursing and shall be related to the
scientific knowledge or technical skills required for the practice
of nursing or be related to direct or indirect patient or client care.
The continuing education standards established by the board shall
not exceed 30 hours of direct participation in a course or courses
approved by the board, or its equivalent in the units of measure
adopted by the board.

(d) The board shall audit continuing education providers at least
once every five years to ensure adherence to regulatory
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requirements, and shall withhold or rescind approval from any
provider that is in violation of the regulatory requirements.

(e) The board shall encourage continuing education in spousal
or partner abuse detection and treatment. In the event the board
establishes a requirement for continuing education coursework in
spousal or partner abuse detection or treatment, that requirement
shall be met by each licensee within no more than four years from
the date the requirement is imposed.

(f) Inestablishing standards for continuing education, the board
shall consider including a course in the special care needs of
individuals and their families, including, but not limited to, all of
the following:

(1) Pain and symptom management, including palliative care.

(2) The psychosocial dynamics of death.

(3) Dying and bereavement.

(4) Hospice care.

(g) In establishing standards for continuing education, the board
shall consider including a course in menopausal mental or physical
health.

(&)

(h) This section shall not apply to licensees during the first two
years immediately following their initial licensure in California
or any other governmental jurisdiction, except that, beginning
January 1, 2023, those licensees shall complete one hour of direct
participation in an implicit bias course offered by a continuing
education provider approved by the board that meets all the same
requirements outlined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (f) of Section
2786, including, but not limited to, the identification of the
licensees previous or current unconscious biases and
misinformation and corrective measures to decrease implicit bias
at the interpersonal and institutional levels, including ongoing
policies and practices for that purpose.

(i) The board may, in accordance with the intent of this section,
make exceptions from continuing education requirements for
licensees residing in another state or country, or for reasons of
health, military service, or other good cause.

SEC. 3. Section 2914.4 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:
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2914.4. In determining its continuing professional development,
the board shall consider including a course in menopausal mental
or physical health.

SEC. 4. Section 3524.5 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

3524.5. (a) The board may require a licensee to complete
continuing education as a condition of license renewal under
Section 3523 or 3524. The board shall not require more than 50
hours of continuing education every two years. The board shall,
as it deems appropriate, accept certification by the National
Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA),
or another qualified certifying body, as determined by the board,
as evidence of compliance with continuing education requirements.

(b) (1) The board shall adopt regulations to require that, on and
after January 1, 2022, all continuing education courses for licensees
under this chapter contain curriculum that includes the
understanding of implicit bias.

(2) Beginning January 1, 2023, continuing education providers
shall ensure compliance with paragraph (1).

(3) Beginning January 1, 2023, the board shall audit continuing
education providers at least once every five years to ensure
adherence to regulatory requirements, and shall withhold or rescind
approval from any provider that is in violation of the regulatory
requirements.

(¢) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision (b), a
continuing education course dedicated solely to research or other
issues that does not include a direct patient care component is not
required to contain curriculum that includes implicit bias in the
practice of physician assistants.

(d) In order to satisfy the requirements of subdivision (a),
continuing education courses shall address at least one or a
combination of the following:

(1) Examples of how implicit bias affects perceptions and
treatment decisions of physician assistants, leading to disparities
in health outcomes.

(2) Strategies to address how unintended biases in
decisionmaking may contribute to health care disparities by shaping
behavior and producing differences in medical treatment along
lines of race, ethnicity, gender identity, sexual orientation, age,
socioeconomic status, or other characteristics.
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(e) In determining its continuing education requirements, the
board shall consider including a course in menopausal mental or
physical health.

SEC. 5. Section 4980.54 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

4980.54. (a) The Legislature recognizes that the education and
experience requirements in this chapter constitute only minimal
requirements to ensure that an applicant is prepared and qualified
to take the licensure examinations as specified in subdivision (d)
of Section 4980.40 and, if an applicant passes those examinations,
to begin practice.

(b) Inorder to continuously improve the competence of licensed
and registered marriage and family therapists and as a model for
all psychotherapeutic professions, the Legislature encourages all
licensees and registrants to regularly engage in continuing
education related to the profession or scope of practice as defined
in this chapter.

(c) (1) Except as provided in subdivision<e}; (f), the board shall
not renew any license pursuant to this chapter unless the applicant
certifies to the board, on a form prescribed by the board, that the
applicant has completed not less than 36 hours of approved
continuing education in or relevant to the field of marriage and
family therapy in the preceding two years, as determined by the
board.

(2) The board shall not renew any registration pursuant to this
chapter unless the registrant certifies under penalty of perjury to
the board, and on a form prescribed by the board, that they have
completed not less than three hours of continuing education on the
subject of California law and ethics during the preceding year.

(d) The board shall have the right to audit the records of any
applicant to verify the completion of the continuing education
requirement. Applicants shall maintain records of completion of
required continuing education coursework for a minimum of two
years and shall make these records available to the board for
auditing purposes upon request.

(e) In determining its continuing education requirements, the
board shall consider including a course in menopausal mental or
physical health.

()
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(f) The board may establish exceptions from the continuing
education requirements of this section for good cause, as defined
by the board.

)

(g) The continuing education shall be obtained from one of the
following sources:

(1) An accredited school or state-approved school that meets
the requirements set forth in Section 4980.36 or 4980.37. Nothing
in this paragraph shall be construed as requiring coursework to be
offered as part of a regular degree program.

(2) Other continuing education providers, as specified by the
board by regulation.

)

(h) The board shall establish, by regulation, a procedure for
identifying acceptable providers of continuing education courses,
and all providers of continuing education, as described in
paragraphs (1) and (2) of subdivision<f); (g), shall adhere to
procedures established by the board. The board may revoke or
deny the right of a provider to offer continuing education
coursework pursuant to this section for failure to comply with this
section or any regulation adopted pursuant to this section.

)

(i) Training, education, and coursework by approved providers
shall incorporate one or more of the following:

(1) Aspects of the discipline that are fundamental to the
understanding or the practice of marriage and family therapy.

(2) Aspects of the discipline of marriage and family therapy in
which significant recent developments have occurred.

(3) Aspects of other disciplines that enhance the understanding
or the practice of marriage and family therapy.

&

(7) A system of continuing education for licensed marriage and
family therapists shall include courses directly related to the
diagnosis, assessment, and treatment of the client population being
served.

&

(k) The continuing education requirements of this section shall
comply fully with the guidelines for mandatory continuing
education established by the Department of Consumer Affairs
pursuant to Section 166.
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SEC. 6. Section 4989.34 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read.:

4989.34. (a) Torenew a license, a licensee shall certify to the
board, on a form prescribed by the board, completion in the
preceding two years of not less than 36 hours of approved
continuing education in, or relevant to, educational psychology.

(b) (1) The continuing education shall be obtained from either
an accredited university or a continuing education provider as
specified by the board by regulation.

(2) The board shall establish, by regulation, a procedure
identifying acceptable providers of continuing education courses,
and all providers of continuing education shall comply with
procedures established by the board. The board may revoke or
deny the right of a provider to offer continuing education
coursework pursuant to this section for failure to comply with this
section or any regulation adopted pursuant to this section.

(c) In determining its continuing education requirements, the
board shall consider including a course in menopausal mental or
physical health.

te)

(d) Training, education, and coursework by approved providers
shall incorporate one or more of the following:

(1) Aspects of the discipline that are fundamental to the
understanding or the practice of educational psychology.

(2) Aspects of the discipline of educational psychology in which
significant recent developments have occurred.

(3) Aspects of other disciplines that enhance the understanding
or the practice of educational psychology.

(e) The board may audit the records of a licensee to verify
completion of the continuing education requirement. A licensee
shall maintain records of the completion of required continuing
education coursework for a minimum of two years and shall make
these records available to the board for auditing purposes upon its
request.

te)

(f) The board may establish exceptions from the continuing
education requirements of this section for good cause, as
determined by the board.

4
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(g) The continuing education requirements of this section shall
comply fully with the guidelines for mandatory continuing
education established by the Department of Consumer Affairs
pursuant to Section 166.

SEC. 7. Section 4996.22 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

4996.22. (a) (1) Except as provided in subdivision—e)}; (d),
the board shall not renew any license pursuant to this chapter unless
the applicant certifies to the board, on a form prescribed by the
board, that the applicant has completed not less than 36 hours of
approved continuing education in or relevant to the field of social
work in the preceding two years, as determined by the board.

(2) The board shall not renew any license of an applicant who
began graduate study before January 1, 2004, pursuant to this
chapter unless the applicant certifies to the board that during the
applicant’s first renewal period after the operative date of this
section, the applicant completed a continuing education course in
spousal or partner abuse assessment, detection, and intervention
strategies, including community resources, cultural factors, and
same gender abuse dynamics. On and after January 1, 2005, the
course shall consist of not less than seven hours of training.
Equivalent courses in spousal or partner abuse assessment,
detection, and intervention strategies taken before the operative
date of this section or proof of equivalent teaching or practice
experience may be submitted to the board and at its discretion,
may be accepted in satisfaction of this requirement. Continuing
education courses taken pursuant to this paragraph shall be applied
to the 36 hours of approved continuing education required under
paragraph (1).

(3) The board shall not renew any registration pursuant to this
chapter unless the registrant certifies under penalty of perjury to
the board, and on a form prescribed by the board, that they have
completed not less than three hours of continuing education in the
subject of California law and ethics during the preceding year.

(b) In determining its continuing education requirements, the
board shall consider including a course in menopausal mental or
physical health.

)
(c) The board shall have the right to audit the records of any
applicant to verify the completion of the continuing education
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requirement. Applicants shall maintain records of completion of
required continuing education coursework for a minimum of two
years and shall make these records available to the board for
auditing purposes upon request.

te)

(d) The board may establish exceptions from the continuing
education requirement of this section for good cause as defined
by the board.

S

(e) The continuing education shall be obtained from one of the
following sources:

(1) An accredited school of social work, as defined in Section
4991.2, or a school or department of social work that is a candidate
for accreditation by the Commission on Accreditation of the
Council on Social Work Education. Nothing in this paragraph shall
be construed as requiring coursework to be offered as part of a
regular degree program.

(2) A school, college, or university accredited by a regional or
national institutional accrediting agency that is recognized by the
United States Department of Education or a school, college, or
university that is approved by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary
Education.

(3) Another continuing education provider, as specified by the
board by regulation.

te)

(f) The board shall establish, by regulation, a procedure for
identifying acceptable providers of continuing education courses,
and all providers of continuing education, as described in
paragraphs (1) and (2) of subdivision-&); (e), shall adhere to the
procedures established by the board. The board may revoke or
deny the right of a provider to offer continuing education
coursework pursuant to this section for failure to comply with this
section or any regulation adopted pursuant to this section.

&

(g) Training, education, and coursework by approved providers
shall incorporate one or more of the following:

(1) Aspects of the discipline that are fundamental to the
understanding, or the practice, of social work.

(2) Aspects of the social work discipline in which significant
recent developments have occurred.
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(3) Aspects of other related disciplines that enhance the
understanding, or the practice, of social work.

)

(h) A system of continuing education for licensed clinical social
workers shall include courses directly related to the diagnosis,
assessment, and treatment of the client population being served.

)

(i) The continuing education requirements of this section shall
comply fully with the guidelines for mandatory continuing
education established by the Department of Consumer Affairs
pursuant to Section 166.

&)

(j) The board may adopt regulations as necessary to implement
this section.

SEC. 8. Section 4999.76 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

4999.76. (a) (1) Except as provided in subdivision—e)}; (d),
the board shall not renew any license pursuant to this chapter unless
the applicant certifies to the board, on a form prescribed by the
board, that the applicant has completed not less than 36 hours of
approved continuing education in or relevant to the field of
professional clinical counseling in the preceding two years, as
determined by the board.

(2) The board shall not renew any registration pursuant to this
chapter unless the registrant certifies under penalty of perjury to
the board, and on a form prescribed by the board, that they have
completed not less than three hours of continuing education in the
subject of California law and ethics during the preceding year.

(b) In determining its continuing education requirements, the
board shall consider including a course in menopausal mental or
physical health.

)

(c) The board shall have the right to audit the records of any
applicant to verify the completion of the continuing education
requirement. Applicants shall maintain records of completed
continuing education coursework for a minimum of two years and
shall make these records available to the board for auditing
purposes upon request.

e
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(d) The board may establish exceptions from the continuing
education requirement of this section for good cause, as defined
by the board.

N

(e) The continuing education shall be obtained from one of the
following sources:

(1) A school, college, or university that is accredited or
approved, as defined in Section 4999.12. Nothing in this paragraph
shall be construed as requiring coursework to be offered as part
of a regular degree program.

(2) Other continuing education providers as specified by the
board by regulation.

(f) The board shall establish, by regulation, a procedure for
identifying acceptable providers of continuing education courses,
and all providers of continuing education, as described in
paragraphs (1) and (2) of subdivision—€); (e), shall adhere to
procedures established by the board. The board may revoke or
deny the right of a provider to offer continuing education
coursework pursuant to this section for failure to comply with this
section or any regulation adopted pursuant to this section.

5

(g) Training, education, and coursework by approved providers
shall incorporate one or more of the following:

(1) Aspects of the discipline that are fundamental to the
understanding or the practice of professional clinical counseling.

(2) Significant recent developments in the discipline of
professional clinical counseling.

(3) Aspects of other disciplines that enhance the understanding
or the practice of professional clinical counseling.

)

(h) A system of continuing education for licensed professional
clinical counselors shall include courses directly related to the
diagnosis, assessment, and treatment of the client population being
served.

)

(i) The continuing education requirements of this section shall
fully comply with the guidelines for mandatory continuing
education established by the Department of Consumer Affairs
pursuant to Section 166.
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