- Law Changes for 2019
- LCSW, LMFT, LPCC: Upcoming License Renewal Fee Increase (SB 1188):
All licensees with an expiration date on or after July 1, 2018 will experience a fee increase upon renewal. This is a result of the passage of SB 1188 (Chapter 557, Statutes of 2017), and the increased revenue will provide additional funds to the Mental Health Practitioner Education Fund (more info):
- LMFTs: Biennial renewal fee will increase from $140 to $150
- LCSWs: Biennial renewal fee will increase from $110 to $120
- LPCCs: Biennial renewal fee will increase from $175 to $195
- LMFT Out-of-State Educational Requirements (BPC §4980.81):
Applicants shall meet (each of) the following educational requirements:
- A minimum of two semester units of instruction in the diagnosis, assessment, prognosis, and treatment of mental disorders, including severe mental disorders, evidence-based practices, and promising mental health practices that are evaluated in peer reviewed literature.
- At least one semester unit or 15 hours of instruction in psychological testing AND at least one semester unit or 15 hours of instruction in psychopharmacology.
- LPCC Core Content Areas (AB 1917):
No applicant shall be deficient (prohibits remediation outside of the applicant’s qualifying degree program) in the required core content areas of:
- Assessment, appraisal, and testing of individuals, as specified.
- Principles of the diagnostic process and the use of diagnostic tools, as specified.
- LPCC Treatment of Couples and Families (CCR §1820.7):
LPCCs shall obtain Board confirmation of qualifications to treat couples and families, and shall provide a copy of this confirmation to:
- 1) Couple or family clients prior to commencement of treatment.
- 2) An associate marriage and family therapist or trainee prior to commencement of supervision.
- 3) Another LPCC or Associate PCC gaining supervised experience to comply with requirements to treat couples or families prior to commencement of supervision.
- Subsequent Registration Associates and Interns (BPC: ASW: §4992.09(f),(g); IMF: §4980.39(f),(g); APCC: §4999.55(f),(g))
Applicants who obtained a subsequent (2nd or 3rd) ASW, IMF, or APCC registration anytime during 2016, must pass the California Law and Ethics Exam, in order to renew their registration in 2017.
In addition, on or after January 1, 2017, applicants for subsequent ASW, IMF, or APCC registration must pass the California Law and Ethics Exam, before a subsequent registration may be issued.
- Pending Legislation
For further information regarding pending legislation see California's Legislative Information website, which provides the bill's language, history, status, and analysis as provided by the California State Legislature
BBS Position on Pending Bills
**There are no pending bills at this time**
Detailed bill information may be found by clicking the links in the "Bill Number" column below.
Bill Number Author Sponsor Title Version Board Position Status AB 8 Chu Mental Health America of California Pupil Health: Mental Health Professionals March 19, 2019 Support Pending AB 613 Low Author Professions and Vocations Regulatory Fees February 14, 2019 Support Pending AB 630 Low Board of Behavioral Sciences Board of Behavioral Sciences: Marriage and Family Therapists: Clinical Social Workers: Educational Psychologists: Professional Clinical Counselors: Required Notice March 28, 2019 Sponsor Pending AB 769 Smith California Association for Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors (CALPCC) Federally Qualified Health Centers and Rural Health Clinics: Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor February 19, 2019 Support Pending AB 1145 Garcia Author Child Abuse: Reportable Conduct February 21, 2019 Support Pending AB 1651 Medina California Association os School Psychologists (CASP) Licensed Educational Psychologists: Supervision of Associates and Trainees March 27, 2019 Support if Amended Pending SB 10 Beall Steinberg Institute; Mental Health Services Oversight & Accountability Commission; Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors Mental Health Services: Peer, Parent, Transition-Age, and Family Support Specialist Certification January 23, 2019 Support if Amended Pending SB 163 Portantino DIR/Floortime Coalition of California Health Care Coverage: Pervasive Developmental Disorder or Autism April 9, 2019 Support Pending SB 601 Morrell R Street Institute State Agencies: Licenses: Fee Waiver March 28, 2019 Support Pending SB 660 Pan California Faculty Association Postsecondary Education: Mental Health Counselors February 22, 2019 Support Pending SB 679 Bates Board of Behavioral Sciences Healing Arts: Therapists and Counselors: Licensing April 10, 2019 Sponsor Pending SB 786 Senate Committee on Business, Professions & Economic Development Board of Behavioral Sciences Healing Arts April 11, 2019 Support Pending
- Approved Legislation
- Citizen's Guide to Participation
- Pending Regulation
The following regulations are pending approval from the Office of Administrative Law:
Substantial Relationship and Rehabilitation Criteria (Regulations to Implement AB 2138)
This proposal amends Title 16, California Code of Regulations sections 1812, 1813, 1814, 1888, and 1888.1, and the Board’s “Uniform Standards Related to Substance Abuse and Disciplinary Guidelines (Revised October 2015),” which are incorporated into the Board’s regulations by reference via section 1888.
This proposal makes regulation changes necessary in order to implement AB 2138 (Chapter 995, Statutes of 2018). Beginning July 1, 2020, AB 2138 makes changes to the law regarding when licensing boards can deny, suspend, or revoke a license due to prior convictions or discipline. Proposed changes to the regulations to comply with AB 2138 include modifying the Board’s substantial relationship criteria, which helps the Board evaluate whether a crime or act was substantially related to the professions it regulates, and modifying the Board’s criteria to evaluate the rehabilitation of an individual when considering denying, suspending, or revoking a license or registration.
Application Abandonment, Examination Rescoring and Subsequent APCC Registration Fee
This proposal would add section 1805.08; amend sections 1806 and 1816.1; and repeal section 1816.3 of Division 18 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations. This proposal would specify the types of exams that may be rescored by the Board; clarify and update application abandonment criteria; and clarify the fee required to apply for a subsequent Associate Professional Clinical Counselor registration.
- Approved Regulation
- How to Participate in the Rulemaking Process